Reviews

6/10

I loved the people in the showroom. They helped me find the right product based on my lifestyle and tolerance for maintenance (low!). I found a linoleum that looked okay and ordered it for the kitchen. The workers were late and not clean at all (I ended up cleaning up boot prints and other garbage after they left), but the floor ended up as expected. I'd say good enough, but workers could be more professional.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

I have a 70s-era chair in my house that had been scruffed up from years of wear (not to mention being out-of-date!). I decided a few weeks ago that I may be able to improve the room with a quick fix. Having never done anything like it, I went to Fabricland and was pleasantly surprised to have really useful guidance on both fabrics and process. Location was a bit far, but it worked a charm.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

My lawn needed a spruce-up in the spring and I couldn't face it alone. Yardworx offered a package to get my lawn up and running with aeration, cutting, and flower-bed clean-up. The work was done as advertised and the booking was relatively painless. Prices were a bit hefty, but vaguely similar to those offered elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for using our services

10/10

I hired this company based on the homestars website. They were definitely as advertised. I came home to a clean house and the peace of mind to know that all I had to focus on was meals for the coming guests. Thanks.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Jill,
Thank you so much for hiring us, we truly appreciate your business and this review!

9/10

We used this company based on the great reviews on this website and reasonable cost. Glad we did. They were on time and professional without any errors to the order. All concerns were handled in reasonable time and we could quickly benefit from a great reno. Thanks for referring!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I had the front windows replaced on the front of my 1958 house. Not only was the work done quick and clean, the look of it really improved the facade of my house and brought it into this century. The guys also helped me with what sort of window coverings would be best and made some recommendations of their own!

Was this review helpful?

First Review

6/10

I went to Toys R Us for a toddler bed mostly because I thought it would come at a reasonable price and knew that it wouldn't be used long enough to pay the big bucks. So I spent what I imagined I would have, but the quality I got was far less than I expected. Very plastic, easily marred and scuffed. I think looking back, I'd sooner get a "step up" bed where it's good quality and grows with the child.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Several weeks ago, my main water shut off for my house burst during (of course) the weekend and (of course) at 1am. We called Pete the Plumber first and they heard us out and advised us to call the city instead of spending money on them for nothing. The next day, after the city was done their part, we called Pete back and they fixed the problem with a brand new valve. There were some minor glitches and a revisit needed, but ultimately, I found them friendly, helpful and tidy. Expensive, but that's what you get with after hours work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We know there are many options in the city of Calgary for plumbers-so thank you very much for choosing Pete The Plumber-we will always make sure a job is done right even if a mistake was made-
Thanks again!!

9/10

I had my assessment done prior to moving into my current house and was extremely glad I did. The guy told me about a furnace door that was not yet to code and a back door latch that had evidence of tampering. I was able to secure funds for both repairs and knew to change the locks immediately the day I moved in. Reputable and informative. Answered all of my questions about home inspection and how he sat on a board that was pushing to have it be a regulated profession. That told me he wants all inspectors to have to register and prove themselves and that he is willing himself.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

Joe was great with everything. We spoke about budget concerns and he offered advice, manufacturer recommendations, and consulted every step of the way. There were some delays in installations, but that was not his fault. Personable and professional. My kitchen could win awards!

Was this review helpful?
8/10

Great customer service. Only issue was a late piece of granite, but they handled it well and brought it as soon as they could. The job was done seamlessly the first time (I've had issues with fit in past renos where they had to recut several times). Nice guys, clean. I'm happy with the look too.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the kind review Jill. Our apologies for the late response. Hope you are still enjoying your new countertops.

10/10

My folks used to have a neighbourhood kid take care of snow removal while they were down south in the winter, but last year, we hired Lawnfather. Our neighbours commented how much more prompt and thorough the driveway was with the change and I'm happy knowing that there is a written contract behind it!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

These guys know what they're doing. The junk from my reno piled up over the course of two weeks and then, in one phone call, the (super friendly) guys came, packed it up and took it away. So nice and easy! Called them again 4 months later and got the same great service. Nice to see the consistency!

Was this review helpful?
6/10

Had my home assessed quite soon after I moved in because I was worried that several parts were not to code (a lot was still under warrantee. The guy came and gave a very thorough review, but his manner was very brash and he talked down to me constantly (likely due to my gender it seemed). I was put off at the time, but happy with the paperwork.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

I had terrible gutters in the past few years because of some poor maintenance on the part of the prior homeowners. When the snow melted, my whole pathway would be treacherous with first water, then ice when it all froze again. I finally called these guys and they repaired the whole side of my house (of gutters), so now I can safely walk to my car in the morning (and the mailman doesn't sue!)

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This is a very common problem in Calgary with all the temperature fluctuations. Glad we could help. Gutter Doctor

8/10

This was the very first time I bothered getting a company to assist with storing my stuff while my house was being renovated. After speaking with a few friends who recommended it, I decided to try PODs for my last reno and was very satisfied. They were on time with the unit, it did the job well and the whole reno went off smoothly without all the junk in the way. $300 was worth the cost for less hassle during the work. I'd pass on this recommendation for sure.

Was this review helpful?
5/10

The installers were friendly and prompt on the initial assessment and work, but some of the parts were late and little flaws were evident after the first visit. Unfortunately, it took them too long to get both situations repaired and I ended up having to delay some of the other contractors on the project and the reno took far longer than I had budgeted for. Once finally complete, the work was well done, but the process was unnerving.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
7/10

My furnace gave out during a tough weather spell, so I called Right Way because it was listed in our community newsletter. They were able to come within short notice and get the parts necessary for the work. The guys doing the work were nice enough, the parts weren't on hand but came fairly quickly, and the clean-up was good enough. It wasn't the world's most amazing customer service, but the work was completed and I got warm within a day or so.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the feedback Jill. Glad you got warm!

5/10

I found the set up easy enough although I was surprised at the fact that they would only put the display panel behind a door despite my request otherwise. They are also pretty slow to respond through the speaker if there is an alarm, so that was a bit worrying when I had a false alarm. Then, about a month later, there were billing costs that I wasn't briefed on at the start and I had to ask to speak with a few people just to get them explained to me. My house was safe enough, but I ended up dropping the service because it became more of a hassle than it was worth.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Jill,

We are sorry to hear about your experience, please contact me directly at jesi@alarmforce.com so we can make this right.
Thank you
Jesi

8/10

I was hesitant to contract this service out because I can usually get some neighbourhood kid to take over the job while I'm away for lengthy periods in the winter. That said, I was happy I chose Yardworx last year because I had full peace of mind for the entire season. They consistently cleaned the driveway and walkway within my 24h allowable limit from the city and my neighbours even said they did parts of their sidewalk too (bonus). No other companies to compare them to, but I was certainly satisfied.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words .

4/10

I contacted this company because of a promotion for duct cleaning. I found them very unprofessional and ended up leaving a mess downstairs by my furnace. They never briefed me on the work done and showed me very little respect when I asked some questions about how the work was being done. I won't be calling them back again next year.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
7/10

I was very satisfied with the knowledge of the owner and his crew. They took care to measure everything and make sure the whole project was level before making any huge cuts or changes. The work was done several months ago and it seems to be holding up very well.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I assume you are referring to a gutter job? We offer great workmanship warranties on all of our work so you have peace of mind when hiring Guns N Hoses.

3/10

Their customer service people were not very friendly and unable to answer even the simplest questions. That said, the guys who came to my house were friendly enough and seemed to know what they were doing. I think the biggest problem I found was that my lawn didn't seem any more or less healthy than the previous year. I don't know whether their service is really actually needed or whether they even gave me what I paid for. Risky, but certainly didn't ruin my lawn or anything.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

My neighbour had me oversee her kitchen reno while she was away and I found the whole process very organized. The contractors obviously had done very similar kitchens before (a downside I suppose - we all want something unique) but it ran seamlessly throughout the process. It reminded me of how Ikea runs it's box store actually. Nice kitchen; interesting range of choices and storage solutions.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I found the salesperson very approachable and not one of those high-pressure people. He let me wander and test various types of mattresses. He was super informed about the differences among the mattress types, the suppliers, the promotions. Really friendly and provided exactly what they said they would. I even got a free pillow for singing the jingle. Haha.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

I bought overhead lights for my whole top floor and, with their recommended fixtures (based on pics of my place), the result is fantastic. The woman who helped us seemed to pay attention to what I was looking for and led me to products that fit these needs perfectly. The result is a huge improvement. Thanks!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Jill, thank you for the wonderful compliments! We are happy to hear that our staff was able to give you the service you deserve!! Hope to see you again someday soon, and Happy Holidays!!!

8/10

The help was good in the showroom and the product was ready on time. I thought that they were able to recommend the best material for me based on my needs and household properties. I ended up switching what I originally thought was my preference because of this and it worked out well. It's relatively obvious that they aren't as expert as other companies but if you can get a good price, they are worthwhile.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

Chose this company based on my renovator's recommendation and the fact that they had a sale on. I was happy with the product they supplied, but less so with the customer service. They were incapable of many answers I sought and I therefore had to do most of my own research to determine that a few of their answers weren't correct. The product also took 2 weeks longer than anticipated so my kitchen reno was help up and I had to pay the renovator extra for stand by. Not apologetic enough for this either. That said, at least the product was as ordered and looks good in the kitchen.

Was this review helpful?
3/10

The stripping was done very well and this encouraged me from the get go, especially given the better price than some other places who quoted the project. That said, the paint job left many areas of concern due to ill-coverage and neglect of some of the harder to reach areas like under eaves etc. (this is the reason why I hired out - otherwise I would have done it myself!). Paint isn't the world's best quality either so I'm glad I didn't hire them for my house.

Was this review helpful?
7/10

Needed good quality, inexpensive flooring to complete a full kitchen with a budget. Ended up finding linoleum (believe it or not!) that looks fantastic. Deerfoot gave me large enough samples to properly test the color in my kitchen, the ordering process with simple and over-the-phone, and the workmen installing were fantastic. The one glitch in the process was the first fellow I spoke to at the centre who was largely unhelpful - more interested in our rhyming names than in assisting me. But not all of them were like that at all.

Was this review helpful?
1/10

Cabinets look great, but service was next to pathetic. Action closed the factory for 2 weeks vacation in the middle of my renovation, so all other work had to be put on hold meanwhile. A Renovation that should have taken 2 weeks took 6. I would not recommend a company with this type of management and customer service at all. Go elsewhere.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?