Reviews

0/10

i installed this company's windows in my house. The sales process through the manufacturer's sales agent went quickly. It always does when they are trying to sell you something. But after the installation, we have been suffering with street noise due to cheap glass, and poor window design. The windows do not close properly. When they do they leak air. If they leak air than noise can get in as well. I am at the point of trashing all these windows and replacing them with another brand. My neighbour has no problem with this windows regarding street noise, but I. Trying to get any service after the sale has been pointless. All you get is excuses. "Glass is not sound proof". Well, if you installed the right thickness and better quality frames it would be. My neighbour's windows are the test. would I buy from here again? Never. Now that I have experienced these windows in my three story downtown toronto home, I would never cheap out again. You get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are sorry we do not know who you are, you do not have a contract with Hometech Window. We do not sell directly to the public so you should be contacting your Dealer with your concerns. It is possible you did not order the correct product for your specialized needs (above normal noisy surroundings) Cardinal IG is our glass supplier, known world wide. They have many superior products than could help with your issue. This is the same glass used in Pella and Anderson windows, so the quality should not be in question. Our windows are governed by CSA and Energy Star, and we are put thru many stringent quality control tests semi annually, and always pass with flying colors. Possibly a bit of research on your end and discussions with your Dealer before placing your order would have helped with your excessive noise issue. Sorry you are upset but again your dealer could have helped you. Please contact us we will be glad to help you - It could be something as simple as - you are not closing your windows correctly. Please be ready to submit your original contract so we know who you purchased these windows from.

10/10

i had a flat screen tv mounted to the wall. A bracket was installed and then the tv mounted to the wall. The work was done perfectly. I will not use any other company to install flat screen tvs again. I was accommodated within 48 hours. The price was perfect. I will recommend this company to all my friends. You will not be sorry.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks a lot!

10/10

I was forced to change the hardwood floor due to water damage, I pulled out the old floor, which was glued down on concrete. I had the floor levelled. I hired ecowoods to install 6mm cork first and then engineered hardwood. The job came out perfectly (I supplied the hardwood and they supplied the cork). The job took two days. I would recommend this company to anyone. From this point onward I will give all my business to Ecowood. I should say that Ecowood rescued me, because another company on homestars was scheduled to do the job. This other company on homestars was scheduled to do the job (tear out the hardwood, level the floor, and install new hardwood. The cost was 2800 plus gst. The work was scheduled over 4 months in advance of the job being done. Before they arrived, I ended up removing the hardwood and levelling the concrete floor myself. All they needed to do was install the hardwood (at that time i wasn't even going to install cork). The work was scheduled more than 4 months before the job was to be done, BUT WHEN THE SHOWED UP THEY WANTED 4000 DOLLARS PLUS HST just to install the wood. I sent them packing AND WILL NEVER USE THEM AGAIN. Fransisco of ecowoods saved me. He came over a few days after I called. Quoted me a fair price for the job. Ecowoods installed the cork and the wood flawlessly, a few weeks later. The process was painless. I am renovating my basement and if i decide to put hardwood down, I will call ecowoods again. As I said, Ecowoods is now my go to company for hardwood installation.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sal
Thank you for your kind review, see you in your next project.
Regards
Ecowoods Inc.

10/10

rosedale coach house had the hardwood floor ripped out and replaced. this resulted in dust everywhere this took place immediately after the tenant moved out. I needed this cleaning done weekly. i got it cleaned within 24 hours. this company is great. other cleaning companies here on homestars....like the one rated as best of 2017 did not even call me back. how rude. In comparison, Sos helped me quickly. The work was done perfectly. The coach house is spotless...inside cupboards, drawers, windows, shutters, etc. It is as clean as it would be if I did the work myself. i will use them again. i would recommend you do the same. I have nothing to complain about and I can only say thank you for running your business very professionally.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

hi there
Thanks for the best review to give us! Happy always to hear from customers!!
I appreciate it for your time to get a great review for us!!
Looking forward to hear again
Best regards Sophie

Thanks

0/10

Scheduled the removal and installation of glued down hardwood floor (350 sq feet) months before the install date. Max shows up on the install date and quotes 4000 dollars. i had already takeout 95% of the floor and levelled the concrete. Only area under the stove and one or two boards under the kitchen cabinet needed to be removed and the floor levelled. Price jumped from 1800 for a full removal and installation of the floor to 4000 just for the installation and a small 10 sq foot removal. I will never call this company again. Also, on another job at the same Rosedale location, Max was paid to sand and stain new installation of hardwood (installed by someone else). Completely ruined the floor. The sanding was done poorly. In the light you can see where sander unevenly sanded the floor. burned twice. never again. Learn from my mistakes.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello ____,

It is unfortunate that you were not happy with the quote I gave you in person, however it is very difficult for anyone in home renovations to give you an accurate quote without being on site specially not so simple job like yours, when you wanted to glue hardwood on brick wall around fire place.

The $1800 quote was simply an estimate based on what you explained. When I came to the location and saw what needed to be done, it did not match your original description at all. The prices at Brabus Hardwood are more than competitive in the industry, especially for the high quality of service clients receive.

In regards to the Rosedale job, I am not sure where this complaint is rooted. You were completely happy with the job and even hired me to do more work for you a few months later.

0/10

i was charged 450 dollars to adjust a sagging shower glass door. the fix was done the same day I called. Great service....at least that is what I thought. I was charged a considerable amount for the adjustment. it must be my Rosedale toronto location. i was told if it happens again, to contact the company. I did. No call back. No acknowledgement. Completely ignored. so do yourself a favour and move on and find some other fix it company. Don't waste your time with this place. I will never call them again to deal with any of my rental properties. I suggest you do the same.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Repair or replace. You choose repair. Customer is always right even when they are wrong.

10/10

A family of squirrels decided to find a way into my roof through an edge in one of the dormers. I called Critter control and they promptly visited the location. They solved my problem. the squirrels are gone. i would use their services again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hey Sal thanks for the review! If you have a problem with the squirrels again just give us a shout, we're here to help.

2/10

i originally purchased a $3000 bertazonni range. The same day i paid for it, i wanted to cancel the order. The range was still sitting in the showroom. I was never told it was not cancelable. I was not told before i paid for it that it was a final sale. The customer service before the sale was great. After the sale it was awful. I could have easily cancelled this order at any other high end appliance retailer in toronto, where I have bought over 10 appliances for a number of rental properties I manage. Eventually, I had to order another range (a kitchen aid) just so i could conclude the business deal. the experience was awful. In future, I will never go back here. I would suggest that you can buy anything being sold at this store, elsewhere. Therefore go elsewhere and you will not have to experience this problem. I have learned from this mistake. I am again, in the market for a gas range (wolf), dishwasher (miele), washer/dryer (miele), frig (smeg) and I am shopping elsewhere. Why would i put myself in this position again.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

When it comes to concrete, I have always used joe's company. This project involved lowering the basement floor in my Rosedale house. Joe's guys excavated the floor so I could change all the drains. Then they came back and insulated the floor and poured the concrete. They also waterproofed a 20' linear foot wall, and poured a 40' sidewalk on the side of the house. Everything was done perfectly. The floor is perfectly flat. The wall is now water tight. I could not ask for more. I will use joe's services in the future. Based on his work at this house and his previous work for me in the high park area, along with my neighbours, I would highly recommend him. His work is good. His price is good. There is not much more you can ask.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I have used Joe's services a number of times over the years. This particular mouse problem exists in a house in rosedale. The mouse or mice must have gotten in during the lowering of the basement floor. The window that was missing was poorly boarded up during the work. Joe was able to accommodate me quickly. I would only call this company for any pest issues. thanks again, joe.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for your review. Glad I could be of assistance in the matter. Joe

10/10

took the old skylight out put the new skylight in no leaks installation looks good, both inside and out. i will use their services again. i would recommend the same to anyone else.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much. We appreciate any referrals and were very happy to be of assistance. All the best - Skylights Unlimited.

0/10

my washing machine needed repair. calling miele is worse than having a broken washing machine. i did the request for service online and they did not even call me back after two days; i had to call them. if you call them on the phone, they never answer. you are on hold forever. When they do answer, they book a repair appointment for weeks in the future. You are left without your appliance working for weeks. once the service guy does come, take his name and number and call him directly to get the work done on the side. it will save you time and money and you will get it fixed same day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

I wouldn't trust my roof to just any company. I selected this company based on the reviews of others on this site. The job was done in sept of 2014. It is now oct of 2015 and I have had no issues. The roof looks good and doesn't leak. All the old shingles (5 layers) were removed. My only complaint is that this company is great for large jobs, but if you ever need them to come and do a smaller job for you, they are just uncompetitively priced, almost as if to say they don't want this type of work. As such, my experience with this company will be probably limited to this job only. However, If you were in need of a complete roof replacement, I would recommend them based on the work they did for me. If the job is a small one, you might find them over priced, and difficult to schedule.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I needed a dryer vent installed from the third floor laundry room, up through the ceiling and exhausted out of the roof. This work was done flawlessly. I also had a solar powered roof vent installed that i picked up from the local roof supply store. Again, this was done flawlessly. On the main floor I had two bathroom vents and one dryer vent installed, which exhausted out of the side of the house. The holes through the house walls had already been opened. I would highly recommend using this company. I will continue to use them for all my venting needs, stove vents, dryer vents, even roof vents.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was a pleasure meeting you Sal. We are thrilled to take take of all your venting needs. Your solar powered roof vent is quite impressive but I have to say that your dryer vents are spectacular. Thank you for the review of our services.

10/10

Squirrels had found their way under the second floor deck. I called AAA Gates and within a week they came and inspected the entire perimeter of the second floor deck. They patched up all openings, installed a one-way door, and three days later, after the squirrels vacated the area, they removed the door and close the final opening. The fix was successful. No sign of squirrels. I highly recommend this company. They respond quickly to your phone calls, set appointments promptly, arrive and do a very competent job. If only all companies operated this way. i will continue to use this company for all my squirrel and raccoon problems.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Sal, thank you for your detailed description of how the job unfolded. I especially like your comment..."if only all companies operated this way". In our morning meetings we often talk about servicing the customer the way we, ourselves, would want to be treated. Thank you for writing such a great review. Brad Gates, B.Sc. Owner / President - Awarded HomeStars Best of 2016

10/10

I contacted Foam it on short notice. I was accommodated quickly. The work was done beyond my expectations. I asked for 5" thick spray foam and I got more. The preparation that took place before the job was done meant there was no overspray that needed to be cleaned. Everything was plastic wrapped to ensure the foam stayed away from the veranda, the doors, the windows, the stone steps and walkway. I will have this company back to spray foam my basement walls. I highly recommend this company and I will reuse their services in the future.

Was this review helpful?
0/10

The eaves troughs that were originally installed were misaligned and this caused a leak on two corners of the house. I paid Aluminum masters to come and change the angle. They did, but they still leak. I called them to come and fix it, but i was ignored.

Was this review helpful?
0/10

here is a company i would avoid. Glass shower installed glass door rubs against the stone threshold plus the glass door does not close because the it sags to one side and therefore hits the side wall. At the moment there is a gap between the door and side wall at the top of the door....no gap at all in the middle (in fact it overlaps the wall) and there is a gap at the bottom side of the door. Obviously something is seriously wrong. this company came to adjust this glass three times....3 times same problem. This has taken place over a 60 day period of time. i am having another company come to rip out this glass shower and install one that actually is measured correctly and works. save yourself any headaches and find another glass company.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
4/10

bathroom and kitchen rough-in. old bathroom was gutted and before putting up the walls, the plumbing had to be roughed in. This company did most of the work. We finished the rest.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Sal!
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with our technician. We strive to provide exceptional customer service and offer reasonable pricing, and are very surprised to hear that this expectation was not met. We would like to make things right, please give us a call at the office and let us know what we can do to make a turn around. We value each and every one of our customers and value your business. Thank you, and we hope to hear from you soon.