Reviews

10/10

This might not be the least expensive job, but Rocco in St. Catharines is the plumber to trust. I wanted to buy a decent toilet at a big box home store and he gave me the rundown on the quality of big box store toilets, which aren't the greatest, supposedly. When you add their price plus another plumber, it would've equalled what I paid Rocco for a Proflo toilet. He basically recommended it so he didn't have to come back to repair it. I did a little digging around and found out they're a good brand and went for it. The install was done quick and right, accommodated me on my own schedule. I would definitely recommend Reliance. There's no doubt I'd call Rocco again. Thank you!!

Was this review helpful?
2/10

I called them, knowing of their name from a previous quote, seeing their name off the QEW and 24-7-365 service at no extra charge if called on a Holiday/weekend. Well, once they came, I didn't think so. I thought it was just marketing. The guy came, $140 to just show up at the door. Fine, I knew that. He blew with his mouth through a few drain lines, as he later on told me, were full of debris, did not change any parts and charged me another $240 for doing just that?? I am thankful that they brought back the heat for family, but, at what cost? By comparison, from what I recall, when I called another LARGE HVAC company before, they included the initial call price, the $140, into the repair. Either way, I was considering Mr Furnace for a water heater purchase, no longer. I think they're dishonest, albeit their marketing line on their website, and although, there aren't many HVAC choices in the Niagara Region, I would not recommend them or use them ever. They called me for a review I had left on a different site to ask me for details, and, to make me happy, threw in a furnace and A/C, in the spring, maintenance, which, they said, would've prevented this from happening. I guess they made up for the disappointment, in a way, just always thought that the call price would be included in the repairs, should there be any. I guess I was wrong.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with us. I'd love the opportunity to discuss this further. Please give me a call directly 905-651-8228, Randy Norton-General Manager.

10/10

A gentleman in disguise. Frank is very professional. Needed him in a pinch, although I did not tell him that, he happened to be available within a couple of hours. He quoted me a rough price, came, got the job done, nice and quick. Fixed something I screwed up, and did a fantastic job. I won't hesitate to recommend him and call him back. A pleasure doing business. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?
8/10

I got their name from my Dad, who is a pretty picky person. He did tell me to stay with them and follow them in every room so that they do a good job. I guess with duct cleaning, that's probably the case with every company doing duct cleaning, unless, of course, you trust 100% they'll do a good job and they prove to you, before and after they've done a good job. I felt this company did do a good job based on what I saw, how they operate and what went into their vacuum. I read articles about not having to do this, that it's not worth it. After I saw what I saw, I think it's worth it. I don't think this house has been cleaned since it was built 16 years ago. Maybe it doesn't need done every year. Bob at Excellent recommended every 2-3 years. For this price and the work, I think it's worth it for peace of mind.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I got their name from Homesense for a quick furniture delivery. We had a nice wooden table, unscratched which wanted delivered a short distance away. I guess it was a bit pricey for just a table, but when you need it you need it and we don't have large cars to transport it, which I guess long-term is a saving anyway. Happy, they delivered the table quick, unscratched. Would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Gennadiy has always come to give me quotes, even though I did not hire him in the past, as I've always lived around his servicing area, I guess. This time, based on his rating, persistence and price close to average, I decided to give him a try, especially on a smaller job. My thinking is if someone screws up on a small job, imagine what they can do on big jobs. Most companies do not take small jobs, and I'm not talking only about eavestroughing, because it's not worth it to them. Any way, they came when we weren't home, did the job well, fixed a corner by strengthening the eaves and building a downspout, which should've been there to begin with, given the length of the rear and side of the house, but the homebuilder, a large company who was the "last detached home homebuilder in Burlington", decided to cheap out and save $25 per side. As a result, I had water pouring down from the corner of the eaves, and due to the previous owner's concrete piece makeshift patio, water in the basement. This somehow solved the problem, still a little bit of water in the basement, but nowhere near as before. All in all, a good job by Gennadiy and his team and would probably call him for bigger jobs, should I stick around these parts.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks a lot Tudor!

1/10

I purchased a WagJag voucher for a 15-register duct cleaning and a dryer vent cleaning, at least that is what the offer was for. When the two workers came to my house, after postponing me that day 3 times, thank God I had a day off, one went downstairs, once proceeded to count the registers, in which he included the returns. So from being at 15 registers per the offer, now I was over because of the returns. That's fine, no big deal. Then they called me downstairs and proceeded to tell me that without actually cleaning the furnace of builder's dust and the a/c unit, there was no point them cleaning my ducts because dust will be back. They will throw in rotor cleaning of the ducts, which, if you ask me should be included, otherwise what is duct cleaning? I'd like to know. Anyway, those two services were $400 plus tax above in beyond my $90 voucher and they would "throw in" the rotor duct cleaning. This is "switch and bait" at its best. Whether they were right or not, this isn't the way to do business. Basically, they get you to buy the voucher and then they come and tell you the service actually costs more. As opposed to me calling 10 companies from here to give me quotes for free to pick one that I want, they get their foot in the door and make you spend more, whether it's necessary or not. I also did not like their attitude and they charged me another $28 including tax for just coming to my door, even though late. I don't think companies like these should be in business and people should be wary of them and their business practice and tactics.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

I had a whole bunch of quotes for this one, weighed all of them, quality vs. warranty. Look-wise, they were all pretty much the same, give or take. Timeline-wise, all said 6-8 weeks. Window Choice had it installed quicker, I would say 5-6 weeks time frame. The salesperson was real nice, we had a conversation about the house, how they provide a couple of locks free of charge because of kids, since he saw I have one. The other companies charged for those locks. No biggie as I wouldn't have opted for them, but it's a "nice to have". Explained everything to me. I decided to go with them because the warranty will probably go beyond my stay in this house and for the price, it couldn't be beat. We just recently moved into the house, the patio door locked on move-in date, but because it was noisy and heavy moving on the tracks, I decided to lube it and such. Afterward it wouldn't lock. That was the reason for the replacement. Happy overall. I might go with them for a couple of windows I'd like replaced, but I'm still deciding on that project if at all. The install went quick and smooth. Even though it happened to be a cold(er) day, there was no door on the house for probably a few minutes, so even though we had a baby, there wasn't any noticeable loss of heat (we even turned the heat up and the fireplace on) while they worked on it. The installers were real nice, quick and cleaned after themselves. Again, I would really recommend this company. Oh, I got their name from a mailbox flyer, and we know that most of those companies aren't even on Homestars. I was surprised to find them here and with a good rating.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

They waterproofed 2/3 of the basement, more or less. This was about 5-6 years ago, and I lived in the house another 3 years afterward. I would say the job was pricey but there were no leaks afterward. The job was done quickly, pretty efficiently and pretty clean I would say. We did some landscaping afterward which pretty much covered their work.

Was this review helpful?
5/10

Their services are part of the monthly tank rental. We moved into this house recently and the Reliance tank was already here. The first problem was that only the hot water would start vigorously then change into an almost trickle. I called them, customer service is always polite, but they sent a punk kid, maybe 19-20 at most fresh from school who basically didn't do a thing. I forgot to mention I had increased the heat on it two notches which made the water almost scalding. He recommended I turned back down one notch and see what happens. I did and then the trickle hot water came back. I called again, this time they sent an older gentleman who drained the tank a little bit, and probably loosened some sediment in it. He said to give it a try this way and see what happens. It works Ok water flow wise on the first floor but I have to wait a good minute on the second floor for the hot water to come into the shower, which I don't think it's normal. My opinion is this. If they would've sent me a properly seasoned HVAC installer in the first place, they would've probably detected my problem and tell me whether or not my tank is defective. Not sure I would do business with this company if I originated the contract. However, there isn't any competition in this industry. Enercare charges the exact same monthly as them. FOLLOW-UP: After about 3 service calls, including a repair, it has been found that we need a new water heater. Needless to say, the last rep recommended a Rheem not a GSW, which we are having installed today, and 10 gal larger also, for a couple more bucks a month.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Please contact me at rmassingham@reliancecomfort.com and I will review this experience with our the team. Thanks for this valuable feedback. ~ Rich

0/10

I'm not sure when they opened, but this is a poor excuse for a duct cleaning business. I bought their group buy offer on Buytopia, $59 for a 15-register cleaning, with 10 DOLLARS per register afterwards. This is how this took place on a cold day in Feb. They called that they're nearby and to confirm the address which I did. They came 1 and a half hours later. The first thing one of their people, I believe the boss, did, was went through the whole house, without asking my partner and counted all the registers, to obviously see how much he can gouge us on top of the $59. My understanding was that if 15 registers are covered, then 15 will get cleaned. The offer was obviously not explained properly and misleading. After he proceeded that if he is not paid ahead of the service for the extra registers, plus a $10 fee because we were using a credit card, he won't do anything at all. Since only my partner and baby were home, she agreed, not understanding too much what the fuss was all about. They brought this big tube full of dirty snow on our white carpets without any covering or respect for a house. I forgot to say that on top of that, they smelled like B.O. It took them a whole 15 minutes to clean my ducts. In the past, a smaller 1200 sq ft home took around 2-3 hours and this house is 1305 sq ft. Either way, much too little time and nothing was done. After they left and my wife, who doesn't speak a lot of English, called me to tell me the carpets were wet and dirty, I called them to come and clean up. They basically said their work was done and that they're not coming back. I noticed they also sell their group buy on Groupon. Buyer beware!!!!

Was this review helpful?
0/10

Unlike the reviewer below, I had the total opposite experience. I purchased a voucher through Buytopia, for window cleaning for my condo town. It's a pretty small place compared to a fully detached or even a semi. I made a call, got an appointment pretty fast, so far so good. The day of, a young person, sounded like a student, called me as he was lost. He did have my correct address which is on maps and GPS. Very unprofessional, either way, I gave him directions. To make a long story short, he came, saw my place and left. Since I had his phone, I texted him a few times and no answer. Basically a waste of time. I called the company the day after and I was told the manager wants to talk to me and that he will call me within 15 minutes. That didn't happen either. Can you say unprofessional? I would never use this company or recommend them for ANY work EVER.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hey, Tudor we have notes on our file that you were informed by the technician upon arrival, that we could not service your town home due to the fact that they could not move the ladder to the back due to no access to the back yard and we couldn't drag a 15 ft ladder through your house without causing possible damage. If this is not the case please contact us at 4168029909 and we can have a manager visit the site and see if we can come to a mutually beneficial arrangement.

1/10

This company is horrendous. Reason being, they are the HVAC company of choice, it seems, and I'm not sure why, for most of the builders around GTA. They must be cheap because their customer service is non-existent. I have just moved in a brand new condo town built by Daniels in Erin Mills and my A/C didn't work from the get go. They couldn't start it during the PDI due to the weather being too cold. Any way, I had a tech come and look at it, luckily I had someone available that morning, otherwise their only available repair times are M-F 8-4. Very convenient for most of us who work, wouldn't you say? Then, he said, he had to come again because he didn't have all the parts. Rescheduled for an afternoon. I had someone wait 4 hours for them, no show. They were kept at the morning appointment and Downsview didn't have the brain to send someone else knowing that. Again, brainless and useless customer service. I then gave up and told Daniels that I would like to set this up as a deficiency and they need to own up and have someone there, since they already have a key for my place. Needless to say, Downsview even stood up this person, the second time. If I had my own place, I would never hire this company to install my HVAC, but then again, they wouldn't need my business because all the builders in GTA give them business blindly, probably based on price, once again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
8/10

We use them every two years. I have to admit, they're slightly pricier than the competition, but the job is always well done and Rick has recommendations for me with regards to our fireplace. I would recommend him to anyone. He is very clean and thorough. He always looks at my chimney as well in case it needs tucking or maintenance, which it hasn't so far. One competitor I called told me the way they do the job is without climbing on the roof. Everything is done from the fireplace. I hang up on them. Rick does the job properly, the old-fashioned way.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

They come by the house soliciting every year. I don't normally hire anyone that knocks at the door. I did need an aeration done, so I hired them. I didn't notice until afterwards how the job was done. I thought it wasn't done properly. I contacted them, and they said the service would be re-done in a couple of weeks, when they will be in my neighbourhood. They came and this time it was done to my satisfaction. This is what I call good customer service. Unexpected, especially from a door-knocker service.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?

First Review

8/10

A gentleman came and gave us a quote. It was pretty competitive compared to others we had received. It was a sick Chinese Elm that shouldn't have been left to grow as a tree. It is a bush normally, we were told. They said they were going to come sometime during the week. To our surprise, one day when we got home the tree was cut, the saved wood cut in blocks so we can cut it in firewood, as per our request. They grinded the tree stump and left a large pile of wood chips in our garden. When I called to ask why that wasn't removed he said to leave it there for a month, and it will bring itself down into the ground. NOT!!! I didn't believe him, and eventually we'll clean it up, but it would've been nice to have it removed. That is why I didn't give them a 10.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

They were recommended to us and decided to call them as we had just purchased a house with a wood fireplace. Rick did a good, quick job for a reasonable price. We are also missing the damper lid and he provided us with a quote. We intend to call them to install the said lid to maximize savings on heating costs. I would recommend them to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
7/10

I noticed when I went to Home Depot the other day that it has changed. They renovated it and moved some of the areas around. I wish I would've been told. They brought all the "large" items to the front, moved the electrical small stuff, plugs and such to the back. At least if they were continuing to the back, in the area of the lighting, which is now at the front, but noooo ... I finally found someone who told me where it was. Plumbing, on the other hand, was towards the front. I guess maybe more contractors use it, I don't know. There is a new, large Customer Service counter, inside the store, not Returns, I guess people that can help. They were sitting around. I guess not many customers know about the new changes or how they work. I hope I can find my stuff much easier, with this new design. One can only hope ;)

Was this review helpful?
7/10

We hired this company back in the Fall for a few odds and ends, two new wall plugs to accommodate a flat-screen install as well as the audio/video wiring since they were puncturing the wall as well. The electric work done by Moe was good, the plaster covering, and I do realize they're not Master Plasterers, was ok ... They also installed an additional outside light on the other side of the door from the existing light. The wiring was done on the outside as I didn't want more holes in the wall, from inside. I'm not sure if this is true, but I had a different contractor who came for a different reason, say that it was not to Code. I wish Moe would've told me that or gave me options.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We’d like to thank you for your continued patronage and for the
opportunity to provide our electrical expertise. Whether it’s a simple
light switch or lighting up your entertainment unit, we pride
ourselves on doing the job right, and to the utmost satisfaction of
our clients. While our electrical work is bar-none, our drywall
artistry simply cannot rival that of professional drywall installers.
As such, in situations where drywall damage is un-avoidable, we always
recommend the services of those professional to the trade. And with
over 25 years of experience in the electrical trade, you can rest
assured that our Master licensed Electrical work is always up to code.
Not only do we guarantee it, but we wouldn’t do it any other way. If
you have any questions or concerns, we would be more than happy to
review it with you. Thank you again and we hope to be part of your
next home project.

Sincerest regards,
Moe Zahedi

6/10

We had the window installed by two brothers, who work exclusively for Consumers Choice. They spent a whole day installing the single, large bay window. The window itself is impeccable, great views, it is polarized, and it's a treat to look outside now and enjoy the colours, as opposed to before through a dirty old window. At first the install was perfect. We did find that on one side they had used too much expanding weatherizer filler, which, when it expanded, pushed out, inside the house, a piece of window trim. We had to practically beg, get on the phone several times with customer service, to have them come back to fix it. When they finally came, they ripped out the pieces of plastic trim from both sides, even though there was nothing wrong with the one side, and installed wooden trim in place, which has to be sanded and painted. No big deal, except the one piece of trim to cover the expanded filler, is still not flush with the window. We asked them to fix it right there and then, but their reply was that is the best they can do. We said we were going to call customer service again, and they basically said feel free. FOLLOW-UP to Customer Service contact: Someone finally got to us based more or less on the above review and they sent a more knowledgeable and pleasant person to deal with. Customer service was definitely on their mind. The necessary work to repair the window to our liking was done and we are now very happy.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

We hired Swavek based on a recommendation and price point. He did an excellent job in all the areas we needed done. The price was by far the best out there. He can buy the paint for your as well, if you wish, as he gets a discount, and include it in the price. He is clean, didn't leave a speck of paint anywhere. He is friendly, was great with our doggie, and did the job as quickly and efficiently as possible. Any deficiencies were rectified quickly and without questions. We would definitely hire him again and already recommended him to my parents, and would recommend him to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

George is an excellent person to deal with. Not only he took my phone call and somewhat troubleshooted us with a lock that he does not install at 9 in the evening, but he was very calming, especially after one of our keys was "taken" from us. Subsequently we called him the next day to replace both locks on our house doors. He did an efficient, patient, even if it might have taken longer, job, for a reasonable price. We would definitely hire him in the future.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to write your kind feedback.
Eagle Doors & Locksmith Service Inc

10/10

This location is one of our favourites. It's not as big and with the selection of a Rona Home and Garden, but the service of a couple of associates make up for it. The gentlemen were both in plumbing, and also the people at the back of the store, that sit at the desk, as well as the paint associates are always helpful. I can't say much about the cashiers and the customer service desk people who make it sometimes very hard (store policy maybe???) to return stuff, and make it look and sound like I've done something wrong. Otherwise a great store to shop in, and since it's very close to us, we will definitely repeat.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We had received their flyers and decided, with our neighbour, to order some sod bags, as needed for projects around the house. We decided to go with their darker soil for plant/shrubs beds, as opposed to grass resoding. The soil seems of great quality and we have already put it to use with some cedar bushes we have purchased, as well as flowers. The appointment was made very short notice, and they had delivery in our neighbourhood the same weekend. We didn't need to be home for the delivery, as a credit card or cheque in the mailbox suficed as payment. Great company to deal with and would do it again. Oh, and they will reimburse you $5 for returning your sod bag.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

8/10

Chris was recommended to us by someone who used him for a similar reno. We had him come in to give us a quote. He is very personable and showed us pictures of past projects. He either works by himself, for small projects like our little bathroom, or with more people for larger projects. He had suggestions to our ideas. He started the job by gutting the bathroom. Worked when we weren't home, 8-5, when we would arrive home, everything was so clean, you wouldn't know that our bathroom was getting reno'd. He is very clean. The work was done in a timely manner and to our satisfaction. Even when we had afterwards "deficiencies", he would come to fix it. He also did some side projects for us, like changing some plumbing pipes in the basement and installing laminate in the kitchen. He can pretty much do anything, not just tilling. He can do flooring, bathrooms, kitchens, etc. We will definitely use him again. The above cost included approx. $4000 in fixtures/glass/cabinetry, etc and $6000 labour.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Shopped around for hourly rate. Even though Airworks was a bit higher per hour, it worked better overall than the complicated formulae that other HVAC companies had. He came during his window timeframe. The dispatcher did not take the order properly, so he didn't have the right part at first. Called a colleague who brought the part, then both finished the work in a timely manner. Didn't get charged the extra time because the part was not available. Repaired a hairline gas leak of an old (probably over 30) elbow pipe. Reasonable, quick, efficient, the gas leak is gone. Happy and would call again if need be.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

We had one installer come ... basically from 9 - 5, did the whole house, funny guy ... clean, would definitely use again ... no complaints whatsoever. We picked a very simple design, that matches the age and atmosphere of our house (54 y.o.) Well recommended.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for sharing your positive experience.

0/10

Well, we had them coming as we took over our house. The mistake was that we should've had them come weeks before, to give us time to choose someone else. They use the Minwax Wood Stains brand of stain (yellow container) in Jacobean 2750, brought factory samples, which DO NOT match at all the actual stain that your floor will end up with. It looks exactly like their Dark Walnut. I have seen Oak floors with much darker stains than this, so I'm not sure what it is, the workmanship or the stain brand. Anyway, we're "kinda" getting used to the stain, but it's not 100% what we wanted. We had them install laminate in one room in the basement, thank God it's not a main room. A different installer did that, with horrible matching ... lots of unnecessary cutting of the laminate which resulted in many pieces, making for a very busy look. I'm not sure if can post pictures later here, but I will try to post pictures of the actual workmanship.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?