Reviews

6/10

The company has a long history and operates on its own schedule. They are busy and keeping customers informed is not top priority. We weren't really sure exactly when they were arriving to do the work. Our job wasn't simply repaving we had a foot of an old concrete driveway under the ashphalt driveway and they had to remove all of it. It took several trucks and none of us including the men working on knew how deep it went. It was a big job excavating and there was a lot of cable and underground pipes but they were really careful. The job was completed as promised and it's been 1-2 years and it looks good no cracks or weeds so we're satisfied. #flashprizefriday

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
0/10

UPDATE: I was contacted by HomestArs to verify my experience as the company claimed to have no knowledge of their service call. Hopefully the receipts, photos of the repairs and brochures jogged their memory. I called this company because Homestars is my go to place for home related services and seemed to have a lot of positive reviews. My water bill had gone up and someone said check your toilet and sure enough I had toilet that was almost constantly running. So I called for what I thought was a relatively simple job for someone with experience. The person that came did not fix the problem and recommended toilet replacement at around $1,000 each for both washrooms. He did end up soldering a copper pipe that was leaking in the basement but it was unrelated and was not why I called. The soldering job seems fine so I gave 3 stars. We felt pressured and he spent a long time here…after he left we read some other reviews deeper down and I was surprised to see some other reviewers that mention having had a similar high pressure sales experience. So basically the problem was not solved and we did not get new toilets. I ended up looking on youtube and did some adjustments myself and it seems to be better. So in my opinion it was not a great experience and based on this visit I would be hesitant to recommend this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jennifer,

We believe that you may have the incorrect company, as we specialize in underground plumbing.
We don't service out of the Toronto area for our services. On our end we will be conducting a investigation with regards to this review you have posted.


First Review

10/10

I couldn't understand why I couldn't find a ton of reviews about this company after being in business for so long. The reason I have decided is likely because they do a lot of really big jobs so regular yard jobs are a small part of their business. Our yard although not a soccer field in size was a jungle and their team of a dozen strong worked from early morning till most of the day removing stumps, brush piles and even a stone path. They worked really hard, were prompt, professional and experienced. By the time they left at the end of the day they had literally transformed our grown over yard from a jungle to the 18th hole in a day. It was impressive. They also follow up to ensure the sod is watered and appropriately cared for following installation. After installation the subject of sod came up a lot more in conversation and we learned their prices were very reasonable. The only tip I would have for those installing sod is to anticipate visitors and plan accordingly. We learned quickly that Ricky our local Racoon liked to lift the sod for grubs almost daily. Until you have sod it's not the kind of thing you google but this is a BIG issue. We bought bird netting from the local garden supply store and staked it down over the sod and that worked quite well just for the first bit until the grass rooted. We are very happy with our lawn makeover and highly recommend Queensville Sod Farms.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Our dishwasher suddenly stopped working in November. I was told over the phone by another service company that it was likely a certain expensive computer part and it was probably better to just buy a new dishwasher. I contacted Fridgidaire on Social Media to locate a reputable repair service to assess the machine and was promptly contacted by Adams Appliance Service. After a couple emails and not being able to find a review on HomeStars we decided to just wait and really do research into the best machine. Well it took 8-9 months of indecisiveness looking at the array of stainless steel machines at local showrooms, reviewing the confusing sales plus the installation costs and the standard 1 year warranty. It's overwhelming. Finally we decided let's just call and find out the cost to repair versus replacement. I am so glad we did. I called Adams Repair Service and made an appointment. Doug assessed the issue and took time to go over the pros and cons and quoted the price to fix. We decided to go ahead and he ordered 2 parts. Within 2 weeks he returned and they were installed in about 20 minutes and we have been using it every day since. Yay! The cost to repair the machine was far less than the least expensive machine available and Doug was so knowledgable and explained some of the downfalls with machines currently on the market. Overall I think this was the best choice for us as we liked the look of the machine, the features and feel it is a more environmentally responsible choice. I would definitely recommend this company before you rush out and replace an appliance. Everyone I spoke to was lovely, courteous, knowledgeable and professional. As my title says my only regret is I wish I had called sooner!

Was this review helpful?
9/10

Phillip was recommended to us by a friend after they had their water filtration system installed following some health concerns that were traced back to their water. We needed to replace an older model reverse osmossis system and had been putting it off. We finally decided the time was right as we were getting a lot of stuff done around the house. It took 2 people and a very long day but we had the water filter system replaced, a new softener and Phillip even fixed a laundry tub and pointed out some other work that should be done. End result is our water tastes great now and we don't feel the need to buy bottled water which is wasteful and often full of sodium and minerals that were tough to clean on our pet fountain. Another great referral from friends that I am happy to share on Homestars!

Was this review helpful?

First Review

8/10

This company was recommended by a friend who also had their ducts cleaned. They arrived on time and did what was needed to be done. I didn't see what came out but noticed significantly less dust after the visit. We hadn't had our ducts cleaned for many years and this time they cut into our vent. See photo. I was not happy about the metal shavings left on the floor as we have little dogs but they did have to pack up quickly due to a really bad storm. Also when I spoke to other people they said that is actually normal like when roofers leave those pesky dangerous nails everywhere, ugh. So just something to be aware of for safety. Otherwise very happy may even rebook earlier as it had been so long.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We had been putting off replacing windows for years and we were so happy with the previous work done by Novak's Aluminum when we were finally ready we made the call. These guys know what they are doing and don't mess around with fancy brochures and up selling. We had pretty much all of our original windows replaced and even a brand new window installed which has made such a huge difference for a dark room. No nonsense, installation done well, great attention to detail and the new windows make a huge difference - no more drafts!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thanks got for the review :)


First Review

8/10

A representative did a detailed estimate on-site and was very thorough making notes, taking measurements and photos. They replaced the ceiling around 3 skylights and repainted the areas. This was for leaking skylights (refer to my previous review on our experience with these replacement skylights) granted last years ice storm was really bad. The team arrived when specified and the job was completed by the date indicated. All of the issues listed appear to have been addressed. This was probably a very small job for this company when you look at their website our "disaster" pales by comparison. Relieved to have had it complete.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We recently refinished the floors in our library and had not cleaned this rug since the last review. Decided last minute it was perfect time to clean it so I phoned and spoke with Mary and it was picked up the SAME DAY. The room took a bit longer than anticipated but no one rushed us to return it and get payment which was so nice because it was quite a stressful time. I would not hesitate to recommend their cleaning services and will likely try the upholstery cleaning in the New Year.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

This company did our neighbours roof and we were impressed with their workmanship. We researched several companies and obtained quotes and ended up choosing Arian and his crew. It has actually been a couple years but the roof looks great and no leaks. There were a lot of nails left on the ground around our house following the job so that is something to look out for but they really worked hard all day and we have a back split so it is a HUGE roof. Overall very pleased. I know they did some follow-up with our neighbour so they are very reliable which is really important especially when dealing with such a large investment in your home.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

Smurthwaite Heating removed a gas line for our old pool heater. Do not expect prompt service as we found it could take a few days but they do the work and remedy the problem and that's what counts. They also installed and serviced our furnace. They are a family run business and have been around for a long time and that says a lot for reputation and quality.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We have purchased many appliances from Card's over the years our latest was a new front loader washing machine. Our old machine gave up during the Christmas holidays and laundry soon accumulated. We headed to Card's and had a new machine installed in less than 48 hours and the laundry piles quickly disappeared.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

We have purchased a number of appliances from Randy's over the years most recently a new dishwasher. As always they were really fast and friendly. The old machine was removed and the new one installed without any problems. I have also purchased replacement bits for our fridge door and they happily ordered it in for me whereas a lot of stores would just try and sell a new fridge. I appreciate their integrity and am honoured to be the first to review their products and services.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

A few weeks ago I smelled gas outside of our home. By sheer coincidence I had seen a Hydro truck down the street earlier in the day so I called the emergency line just to be safe. They sent someone out within an hour and tested our meter and the neighbours as well and to our surprise it was OUR furnace leaking Carbon Monoxide. It was shut off IMMEDIATELY and within 24-48 hours Fred from Markham Heating & Air Conditioning came to our rescue and replaced the defective part. It took longer then we or he (I think) thought it would but he finished everything and was really professional and friendly. It was just in time too as the temperature dropped but we were warm and felt safe. We had no idea that it was leaking and none of our detectors had gone off. We actually feel a lot better now and will be having our air conditioner serviced shortly as it is now super HOT. I can see why this company has been in business for sooo long and was surprised that I am the first to write a review on Homestars but I am happy to share my positive experience and I am sure there will be many more excellent reviews very soon.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We had a leak in the basement for longer then I would like to admit. Every Spring we would prepare for the inevitable with our wet vac. We finally called a professional to look at the issue and got a quote. We were very pleased and it turned out to be a much simplier fix then we imagined and a reasonable price. The job was done in a couple hours and our basement has remained dry for going on 2 years now. Our only regret is not doing it sooner.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We had a wasp infestation in our basement and Vance came the SAME DAY and found 2 nests around our house. We were very concerned having 2 small dogs and he took care of the problem safely. A few short months later we had mice which over the years we had trapped and released but finally it was too much so we called Vance and again he took care of the problem. What made him stand out from all the companies we called was the fact that even though he is clearly busy he makes your call a priority, is prompt and does what is necessary to get the job done FAST. Both times now he was in and out in less time then it took me to call around and research companies none of which were available the same day. Let's face it when you have wasps flying around your house who do you wanna call? Plus the prices are very reasonable.

Was this review helpful?
6/10

recently used a non-local pool company as they had installed a safety cover and we decided to convert to a salt water pool. what a disaster! We called in Jones Pools and they fixed the problem in 20 minutes that the other guys couldn't even figure out and never bothered to return to finish the job! We highly recommend Jones Pools. Go local!!!

Was this review helpful?
8/10

Always professional and courteous. Sometimes more expensive but you get what you pay for...we had recently had a less then positive experience with another pool company and following that negative experience would definitely be willing to pay more for quality and to support local businesses.

Was this review helpful?
3/10

We had skylights installed just when the company started and they were great although when we had the roof done shortly after they leaked. The roofers blamed the Skylights and the Skylight company blamed the roofers therefore they leaked for awhile. Eventually we had them replaced by the same company. It was obvious circumstances had changed with the company as work was outsourced the skylights were basically placed where the existing ones had been without bothering to make it look nice. Also none of the differences in the product were explained as they are now glass the look dirty all the time, the rain is loud and because they are flat the quality of light is inferior. If you have a bubble skylights don't get rid of them..in my opinion they are superior to the glass flat skylights. BUT they don't leak..that was truly horrible. All in all there was minimal attention to detail and no personal service only weeks after installation they called us to find out if we wanted to replace our skylights. I think they were drumming up business from old lists of customers. We have cracks appearing and when we called they said to just fill it in with a little crack filler. Nice.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jennifer, thanks for your feedback. Yes, we installed your dome skylights back in ’88. Unfortunately there are cases when a roof gets redone by another company and care isn’t taken around the skylights, which results in a leak. You said yourself that you didn’t have a leak until the skylight was touched by the roofers, so that’s an indication to me that it wasn’t our installation issue. We’re not sure why you think that we use subcontractors. We have never used subcontractors in the 23 years that we’ve been in business. All of our crews are highly experienced in skylight installation and repair and they work for us- no one else. As for how you feel about the look of the Low E3 glass skylights vs. the acrylic domed skylights is your opinion. You are honestly the only person we have ever had complain about the glass skylights! We have many reviews which attest to the superior quality of the glass skylights. Not only do people like the look of them, but they always comment on how cooler their house is in the summer and warmer it is in the winter because of the energy efficient glass. We’re sorry that you don’t feel the same way. Denis always goes into great detail to explain the differences of the two kinds of skylights to insure that the client understands and has all of their questions answered, so we find your comment about this surprising. Again, there are numerous reviews by other clients on here raving about Denis and his attention to detail, taking the time to discuss every aspect of the product, installation procedures, care that we take in cleaning up and providing superior service. As you said yourself, the skylights don’t leak, so perhaps you can admit that it must have been the reroofing that disrupted the first installation, causing the leak. In the rare case that a client of ours has a leak, we will repair it because it is under warranty. As far as cold calling to drum-up business, we don’t do that. In fact- you called us! There must be some confusion with the crack issue, as this would be under warranty by the manufacturer so we would never tell you to put crack filler or anything over the glass. We have tried to contact you to get his product issue sorted out, but haven't heard back from you. Please give us a call to discuss. Warm Regards, Sarah


First Review

10/10

Novak was recommended to us by friends and we couldn't be more pleased with the service and quality of workmanship. We had our eaves redone and the ceiling on our porch resurfaced. I know one of our friends had to have something adjusted and it was changed to suit her specifications. No additional charge. We would highly recommend this company without hesitation. The work was finished as promised and looks as good as the day it was done which was 2 years ago now.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thanks got for the review :)


First Review

0/10

We gave George the owner of this company payment in full in good faith that they would return to complete the job and now don't answer any of our calls or emails. They damaged our existing equipment and left a real mess. We had to hire another company to complete the job. We will definitely go with a local reputable pool company in future. Avoid Prompt Pool Services and their other online site Pool Depot. They are inexperienced, unprofessional and unreliable.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
9/10

I was looking for an eco-friendly carpet cleaning company to clean/restore a wool rug that has been sitting in my garage neglected for years. I contacted a number of local companies and was most impressed with the reply from Carpet Cleaning Factory. Despite a poor review on Homestars I took a chance. I am so glad I did as it was a stress free experience. My rug was picked-up and delivered all within the time indicated and the price was as stated and I think very reasonable. Mary was friendly, helpful and efficient. If you are looking for this type of service I would not hesitate to recommend Carpet Cleaning Factory.

Was this review helpful?