Betz Pools

Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

83%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Betz Pools

Average customer rating:
8.8 10 (38 reviews)

Sort by

Gary
Gary
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Betz Service is Perfect in 2017!

I was astounded that the Marc Luff of Betz reached out to me to discuss a problem I had with water lines that were installed in 2000. He was very sympathetic and understanding. Mark Wideman came to my house and was quick to take ownership of my problem. The Betz "A" team showed up and for two days worked on the leaks and repaired everything perfectly. This was not an easy repair, and they worked very hard to ensure everything was in working order. Could not have been more pleased with the result. Mark Wideman, the person that originally designed our pool, took care of all the details and I was not charged for any of the repairs. Mark Wideman and Marc Luff are the owners, are proud of the Betz brand and will do everything to provide perfect service.

I had Betz install a pool in 2000 and have been very pleased with everything...the pool and landscaping project was excellent. I was very pleased, until now. After all these years what could go wrong? We are having some lawn removed beside the mechanical shed and cabana (which was also installed by Betz), and having the lawn replaced with concrete aggregate to provide a move stable walkway to the backyard. The removal of the sod produced some ugly results. The water connection from the pool to the pump/mechanical room was only laid just below the sod. Consequently, the removal of sod resulted in the water connection being destroyed. I have had two contractors tell me that the water line should have been buried at least 18 inches below sod. If this connection was installed properly by Betz the water connection tubing would not have been destroyed by my concrete contractor. I have had the connection repaired, but it will now have to be buried deeper to make room for the concrete aggregate. This has obviously cost me money to repair. Is a homeowner really expected to monitor every aspect of a pool installation to ensure standards are met? I trusted Betz to install without me being on site to monitor that standards were met. Now, in 2017, I discover that they were not: I would be very interested in a reply from Betz.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Gary,
As discussed with you by phone today, it is unfortunate that you did not call us about the problem so we could take care of it for you. We do understand that you had a crew onsite who was able to remedy the matter immediately. Plus, you were correct in thinking that our crews are very busy right now (especially with this season’s weather delays) and it would probably have taken us a few days to get there.
As mentioned, we sincerely apologize for this occurring and are not sure how it happened. We normally bury all water lines at 12 inches, but occasionally this may vary depending on site drainage conditions. I asked you if there was anything we could do, but you said at this point nothing further is required.
As one of the owners of Betz Pools, I am very concerned about protecting our reputation for quality construction and service, so please feel free to contact me if anything is required in the future.
Kindest regards,
Marc Luff, Betz Pools 905-640-1424

Larry in Whitchurch-Stouffville
Larry in Whitchurch-Stouffville
1 review Whitchurch Stouffville, ON
10/10

Excellent Service

We had a great experience with Betz Pools when they installed our new pool. The service was excellent... our contact, Peter, was always available and very prompt in addressing any issues or concerns we had. The crew
(Paul, Doug, Ryan, Jeff and the rest of the gang), always showed up on time and ready to go. They were all very friendly and courteous and always ready to answer any questions we had. We are enjoying the pool very much and would not hesitate to recommend Betz to all of our family and friends.. thank you guys for a job well done.
Larry and Mary Milford

Was this review helpful?
FreckleyGirl in Toronto
FreckleyGirl in Toronto
1 review Whitchurch-Stouffville, ON
10/10

New Pool & Deck

From the first call with Marc Luff, I was impressed by how he and his staff were able to understand and deliver what I was looking for from my backyard. The installation crew was professional, friendly and did what they promised, when they promised it. Marc was always available for my questions (of which were many, and not always good ones) which reinforced for me that I was working with the best company in the business.

I can't forget to mention the incredible Operations and Support team at Betz Pools as they were fantastic to work with as well.

Overall, I would (and have multiple times already) confidently recommend Marc and his team to anyone looking to make their backyard into a dream come true.

Was this review helpful?
Kaan in Englewood
Kaan in Englewood
1 review Whitby, ON
10/10

New Pool

After many consultations with various pool companies, we selected Betz Pools. Marc at Betz Pools spent time with us on various options, worked within our budget, executed flawlessly on commitments and really listened to what we as the homeowner wanted versus other pool companies pushing their design. After the contract was signed, Betz Pools took care of everything from A to Z, including permits and working with the home builder (new house and therefore, neighborhood was not assumed by city). The crew and staff at Betz pool were and are extremely courteous, professional and even took an extra few minutes to answer and address any questions I had during and after the construction of the pool. Extremely pleased with the level of detail and focus on the finished product, no cutting corners and exceeded my expectations from beginning to end. Calling the head office to schedule appointments, order pool chemicals and general inquiries is what also sets Betz Pools apart from others. Highly recommend anyone considering a pool to speak with Marc at Betz and put your trust in a company that will exceed your expectations. Happy to be a reference for Betz and to show off my pool and speak with prospective pool buyers. Cheers and well done Betz, you got a customer for life.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
1 review Markham, ON
0/10

Poor Service.

Service - one simple request - provide me with consistent care so that same people come to service pool. Result - different techs, some man handling the equipment so now have many valves damaged beyond repair. This request was agreed upon at the beginning of the relationship 3 years ago. Same troubles every year. Prepaid my opening this season, had 3 different teams come out. Water constantly leaked, thought would be a costly repair, found the first team had not opened it properly, they forgot to close the cap on the drain in one of the skimmers. Imagine 2 garden hoses open for 2 weeks worth of water!! Would like to discuss my concerns with owner Mr. Betz

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Betz Customer,
I am sorry to hear that you have been having difficulties, we take our commitment to strong customer service very seriously. Mr. Betz would be pleased to talk to you if you kindly contact me and provide your name and contact number.
Dave Clark, Betz Pools Customer Relations
Tel: 416-340-1000
Email: [email protected]
Dear Betz Customer,
Since we have not heard from you we cannot be 100% sure who you are, but we did receive a similar anonymous complaint on a different website in June and have concluded that your initials are probably K.N. As we stated on the other website, Mr. Betz would be pleased to speak to you and you are welcome to call him at the number below. In the meantime, I wish to point out that your pool, which was built by a landscaper not a pool builder, is substandard in many ways. It has unconventional plumbing which makes it very difficult to service. The main drain leaks and should remain plugged. The one-piece plastic valves are difficult to operate, and if one of the handles does happen to break, the handle cannot be replaced as they can with conventional pool valves. After trying our best to provide good service for three seasons, we recently offered you a partial refund and mutually agreed that you would find a different pool service provider. We thank you for your patronage.
Matt Michell, Service Manager – Betz Pools
Tel: 905-640-1424

Peter G from Richmond Hill
Peter G from Richmond Hill
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

Vinyl pool, landscaping and more

Betz is finishing my pool this week and I couldn't be happier. Everything from the pool, to the landscaping, night lighting, etc, looks fantastic. There's a reason Betz is known as the absolute best pool company in the business. All crews involved with the project were friendly and courteous. Marc Luff, Paul, Doug, Dave, Jason, Mark, Jessica, Carol-Ann, Jeff, Scott, Tony, and everybody else that I'm forgetting - keep up the great work! It's good to know that there are contractors that actually care about their customers.

Was this review helpful?
Martin Saipe from Toronto
Martin Saipe from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Backyard landscaping and pool

After shopping around, we decided to retain Betz to transform our backyard in the fall of 2014. We are very happy with the results and the service we continue to receive. No complex project is ever smooth and ours was no exception. That being said, the Betz team (especially Marc Luff) were and continue to be extremely responsive and helpful.

Was this review helpful?
Ruchama joseph from Toronto
Ruchama joseph from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Pool and landscaping

When we built our home in 2013 we used Betz pools to install our pool and do the landscaping for both our front and back yard as well as over see our swing set construction and inground trampoline .We are truly happy with the work that they did . From the very beginning Marc luff from Betz pools was extremely helpful with ideas and strategies to make our dream come true back yard a reality ! We are enjoying our oasis in the city very much!! And if anything arises Marc is just a phone call away helping out to fix any problem that may arise . I am very happy with the service that Betz provides and I would highly recommend anyone to use this company .We are truly grateful to Marc luff and the whole Betz pools team for the spectacular job they did!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Betz Pools

For over 75 years Betz Pools has been Ontario’s premium designer and builder of custom concrete & vinyl pools and spas. We also specialize in pool renovation, landscaping, pool service & repairs and are an authorized dealer for Generac standby generators. Betz Pools is now the leading source for turn-key Total Backyard Design Projects and is proud to have scores of regional and national awards to its credit. Betz also operates a swimming pool and spa supplies store with water testing, chemicals, pool toys, accessories, acrylic spas, barbecues and everything you need for backyard fun.

CATEGORIES
Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
SERVICES
Swimming pool & spa design and construction ● Landscape design and construction ● Total backyard project design and construction ● Pool & spa renovation ● Indoor pool design and construction ● Pool & spa opening & closing, weekly service, leak detection and repairs ● Turn-key project management ● Permit applications
SPECIALITIES
Superior “Dry Gunite” process on custom concrete pools, spas & water features ● Superior “X-brace” construction on custom vinyl pools ● Premium Pebble Crete and selection of crushed aggregate interior finishes ● Selection of unique glass and porcelain tiles ● Proprietary techniques for infinity, zero edge and perimeter overflow pools & spas ● Custom tanning shelves/toddler play areas, underwater benches & swimouts ● Finest quality Wiarton Eramosa flagstone for coping, patios and ledgerock walls ● Selection of premium materials for patios & decks (natural flagstone, architectural stamped concrete, acid etched concrete, interlocking stone/brick, Ipe hardwood) ● Custom rock features, sheer descent waterfalls and water accents ● Leading-edge design, craftsmanship and materials for custom structures (cabanas, outdoor kitchens, pergolas, shade structures, outdoor living rooms, patio walkouts, landscaping screens, retaining walls) ● Unique custom design and materials for railings, fences & gates (glass, Ipe hardwood, cedar, composites, wrought iron) ● Custom built-in natural gas fire features ● Custom irrigation and LED night lighting systems ● State-of-the-art Jandy control systems
WEBSITE
http://www.betzpools.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1940
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
120
LICENSES
Landscape Architect (OALA)
MEMBERSHIPS
Pool & Hot Tub Council of Canada, Landscape Ontario
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
5-Year all-inclusive guarantee available
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.