Skylights Unlimited Inc

Skylight Installation & Repair
90 Esna Park Dr, unit 17 Markham ON L3R
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Roofing in North York  >  Skylights Unlimited Inc  >  Replacement Skylights
jennifer in the gta
jennifer in the gta
22 reviews Whitchurch Stouffville, ON

First Review


Replacement Skylights

We had skylights installed just when the company started and they were great although when we had the roof done shortly after they leaked. The roofers blamed the Skylights and the Skylight company blamed the roofers therefore they leaked for awhile.

Eventually we had them replaced by the same company. It was obvious circumstances had changed with the company as work was outsourced the skylights were basically placed where the existing ones had been without bothering to make it look nice. Also none of the differences in the product were explained as they are now glass the look dirty all the time, the rain is loud and because they are flat the quality of light is inferior. If you have a bubble skylights don't get rid of my opinion they are superior to the glass flat skylights. BUT they don't leak..that was truly horrible.

All in all there was minimal attention to detail and no personal service only weeks after installation they called us to find out if we wanted to replace our skylights. I think they were drumming up business from old lists of customers. We have cracks appearing and when we called they said to just fill it in with a little crack filler. Nice.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jennifer, thanks for your feedback. Yes, we installed your dome skylights back in ’88. Unfortunately there are cases when a roof gets redone by another company and care isn’t taken around the skylights, which results in a leak. You said yourself that you didn’t have a leak until the skylight was touched by the roofers, so that’s an indication to me that it wasn’t our installation issue. We’re not sure why you think that we use subcontractors. We have never used subcontractors in the 23 years that we’ve been in business. All of our crews are highly experienced in skylight installation and repair and they work for us- no one else. As for how you feel about the look of the Low E3 glass skylights vs. the acrylic domed skylights is your opinion. You are honestly the only person we have ever had complain about the glass skylights! We have many reviews which attest to the superior quality of the glass skylights. Not only do people like the look of them, but they always comment on how cooler their house is in the summer and warmer it is in the winter because of the energy efficient glass. We’re sorry that you don’t feel the same way. Denis always goes into great detail to explain the differences of the two kinds of skylights to insure that the client understands and has all of their questions answered, so we find your comment about this surprising. Again, there are numerous reviews by other clients on here raving about Denis and his attention to detail, taking the time to discuss every aspect of the product, installation procedures, care that we take in cleaning up and providing superior service. As you said yourself, the skylights don’t leak, so perhaps you can admit that it must have been the reroofing that disrupted the first installation, causing the leak. In the rare case that a client of ours has a leak, we will repair it because it is under warranty. As far as cold calling to drum-up business, we don’t do that. In fact- you called us! There must be some confusion with the crack issue, as this would be under warranty by the manufacturer so we would never tell you to put crack filler or anything over the glass. We have tried to contact you to get his product issue sorted out, but haven't heard back from you. Please give us a call to discuss. Warm Regards, Sarah