Reviews

10/10

We contacted New Dawn to have a 10kW solar panel system installed. They were quick to quote and quick to get the ball rolling. They proposed a number of power (inverter/battery) options, as well as several rooftop solar panel layouts. As a turnkey solution, it was, for us, almost totally hands-off. The system was commissioned in May, 2018, and has been reliably producing power since then. We would definitely call on New Dawn for our future needs, as well as recommend them to friends and family. We are very pleased, and had a great experience with the New Dawn team.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much Len for your business and taking the time to share your experience of going solar with New Dawn Energy. The whole team of New Dawn Energy Solutions appreciate your cooperation during the installation. Thanks.

10/10

We just wanted to have our furnace and air conditioner checked over and cleaned. Peatson's installed our new furnace a few years ago, so we called them again. Frank arrived as scheduled and completed the work promptly. While here, he also took care of a no charge furnace part recall/replacement. Friendly technician, and great service (again) from Peatson's. No complaints!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We wanted to jazz up the front of our home with a railing around the porch. We found Art Metal Workshop on Homestars, and gave them a call. Yevgeniy came out, measured up, and gave us a quote on the spot. We then met with Alex at his shop so that we could look over the work they do and styles they offer (nice work!). They're pretty busy in the summer, so it took them 8 weeks to the day to install the railing, but we couldn't be happier. Looks great, and we wouldn't hesitate to call on them again. Thanks, guys!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Len.


First Review

10/10

Our gas fireplace wouldn't light. Bob showed up and did a check of the fireplace, and advised that just the switch needed to be replaced. He did a check of the vent and checked for gas leakage while he was here. Very personable and explained what he was doing as he went. Would call the Gas Fireplace Doctor again without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Our garage door was due for replacement, and after searching on HomeStars we had three companies quote the job. All City wasn't the cheapest, but I believe offered a superior product. Donovan came out and discussed the different door grades and window and colour choices. It took a few weeks to order the door and complete the install, but we're very satisfied. Would recommend All City any time.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

We purchased a refrigerator from Sears about 6 months ago. Great in-store service and friendly sales associate. Not too much pressure to buy (for a sales person, that is!). Our only complaint with Sears is related to a phone call we received later suggesting we buy an extended warranty. The deal was that if I didn't use the warranty within the 3 year period, I would get the full warranty payment back in money that could be spent at Sears. Not a bad deal. However, after receiving the paperwork, and reading the fine print, I would need to call Sears to request the money within a 30 day window at the end of the warranty period... 3 years from now. If I didn't call within that period, I would forfeit the payment. What are the odds that I would remeber that THREE years from now? A bit of a scam, if you ask me. I like Sears appliances, but that lost them a couple of points here!

Was this review helpful?
8/10

We called Mancuso Paving to repave our driveway, including removing the old asphalt and curbs. The work was done well - we are satisfied with the quality. My only complaint would be that they show up unexpectedly (at 7:15AM one day), and took a long time to finish the job (4 or 5 weeks from the time they tore out the old asphalt to the time the job was done), probably due to their busy summer schedule. I had to prod them several times to get the job moving again. Still, I'm satisfied with the job itself.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

We ordered blinds from Blinds to Go on Saturday afternoon, and they were ready for pickup on Monday morning. Great service. When we unpacked them, we found a mark on the header strip, and they promptly replaced it. Good experience, very reasonable price for custom blinds. Easy installation, and they look great.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We are having our driveway repaved, and before doing that, I thought it would be wise to inspect the sewer line for any problems. I called ExpressRooter, and Jason came out the next day. He checked the pipe with a camera, and found a partial blockage (but no damage). He then ran his rotating cleaner through the pipe and cleared the blockage, and then re-inspected with the camera. All is good. Very informative and friendly. I would use them again without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Our two storey home is about 2000 sq ft (so 1000 sq ft of attic), and we are doing some improvements for the ecoEnergy grants. I called Zdenek and received a quote over the phone, and booked an appointment on the spot. About a week later, Oliver and John showed up on time, and were in and out in under 2 hours. They brought our insulation up to R50 (from R32). John noted that we were low in some areas, so he made sure we hit R50 throughout. They even installed a gasket around the attic hatch. They ran drop cloths in the front door and up the stairs so they didn't mess up the floor, and then when they were done, they cleaned everything up as if they had never been here. Very polite and pleasant to deal with. I'd recommend these guys without hesitation. Great job!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you from Zdenek and his crew.

6/10

I contacted several companies to get quotes on insulating my garage ceiling (with bathroom above) and the inside wall of the cold cellar. Insta-Insulation offered a good price, and they seemed to know what they were talking about. We booked the appointment, and they were to arrive between 1 and 3 PM. They showed up after 6 PM, and finished up by around 8 PM. That's not too serious, except that because we have to get out of the house for 24 hours (to allow the insulation to cure, and the gases to dissipate), it kind of messed up our evening. Once complete, I found that our bathroom floor was still quite cold... a bit frustrating, given the cost and effort to do all this. I rented a thermal imaging camera for $90 and checked out the quality of the coverage, and found many small holes that defeated the goal of sealing the air gap between the floor above and the insulation, as well as a few thin areas. I would have called them back, but due to time constraints to get the rest of the job done, I just bought a few cans of spray foam insulation and filled the gaps. Using the camera, I confirmed that everything was good. The floor is a bit better, but still cool. (No fault of Insta-Insulation, I'm sure). The installer made a comment that he was having problems with his sprayer, and it finally started working well as they finished up the job... that might explain the spotty coverage in some areas. So, while I like the foam insulation, the job was just 'ok'. I might use them again, but I'd make sure to explain that I really want a good job this time!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We are doing upgrades to our home, taking advantage of the ecoEnergy grants. We called several companies, and got three different quotes. Peatson's was slightly lower than the others, and Wayne's approach made me very comfortable dealing with them. He didn't try to up-sell us on air purifiers, HRVs, and other goodies. Right off the bat, he said we don't need a heat recovery ventillator... period. Then, he laid out exactly what we would expect by replacing our hot water heater with a tankless - that it would not actually save us any money (simply because there are only two people in the house, and our water demand is relatively low), and talked us out of that upgrade. His words: "Don't misunderstand me - I'd love to sell you a tankless hot water heater, but you should understand what to expect from it in terms of cost." That's refreshing! Other companies either didn't give us confidence in their knowledge, or wanted to sell us everything (even though we found out from Peatson's that it would have been a waste of money). In the end, we just replaced the furnace. Within about a week of quoting the job, two guys showed up and did the install in less than a day. I love the end result. I'd deal with Wayne again without hesitation.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

I booked an appointment online over the weekend, and had a confirmation call back first thing Monday morning. Mike did the inspection, and was very thorough, and took the time to explain what he was doing and why, and then talked at length about what might make sense to do or not do to the house, based on the initial test results. We planned on improving insulation in the basement walls and attic, but found that the real problem was with air leakage around windows, doors, and receptacles, much of which could be improved with caulking and gaskets for thousands less than the insulation. All in all, I was very impressed with the whole process, and especially with Mike. We would use Carson Dunlop again without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We have used Grand Alarms for 5 years, from the time we moved into our new home, and have no complaints. They offer good service and prompt response to phone calls. We would recommend them any time.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We used Francis Movers several times, and most recently to move a 3-bedroom home from Richmond Hill to Brampton. We had 3 men and a 30 foot truck from about 9:30 to 4:30. The move went well. The men worked tirelessly and packed everything carefully. We had a couple of really large, heavy items that they had to deal with. There was no damage, and we were very satisfied with everything. We'll use them again, and would recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

After moving into our new home, we contacted Metro West Gas to install a natural gas barbecue hookup on our deck. Nick gave us an estimate by phone, then came out and completed the job promptly. Because we have a finished basement, he had to run the piping around the outside of the house, but he worked with us to find the best solution. We're very satisfied with the end result, and would recommend Metro West Gas any time. Thanks for a job well done!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Len, it was my pleasure working with you. Enjoy the bbq for years to come.

10/10

We just moved into our new home and wanted to have the ducts cleaned. We called Capps based on Homestars reviews, and we were not disappointed. I sent Mike an email and received a quick quote back. A few days later they came in to do the cleaning. They were efficient and courteous, and explained what they were going to do, and how, and why. They did a thorough job of cleaning the ducts, and then presented an invoice for the exact amount of the quote. They did as they said, "no hidden costs". I would recommend them to anyone. Thanks for a job well done!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Len, thanks for taking the time to do a review of our service. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. All the Best, Mike Skelton, Sales & Marketing

10/10

We called on Alan to do a home inspection of a property we are buying, and we were impressed with his thoroughness. He pointed out not only the points which are important in our decision whether to buy or not, but also showed us many things which will require future maintenance. He was very knowledgeable, and educated us as he led us through the house from top to bottom. I also liked the very thorough report sent to us only a few hours after the inspection. Great experience.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you.
I always try to make the inspection as enjoyable as possible.
It can be a stressful and emotional time by the clients meet me.
I work hard on my communication skills and am happy I was able make it a great experience for you guys. :)

10/10

We contacted Rusco to have a porch enclosure installed. Israel dropped by the same day and provided a quote for the job. He showed up again while the installer was working to check on the workmanship. Great experience. We would call Rusco again without hesitation.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?