Mancuso Paving

Paving Contractors
64 SHAFT ROAD Toronto ON M9W 4M2
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Paving Contractors in Rexdale  >  Mancuso Paving
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

77%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Mancuso Paving

Average customer rating:
8.5 10 (60 reviews)

Sort by

SSomerville  in Mississauga
SSomerville in Mississauga
1 review King City, ON
10/10

Driveway paving

Mancuso paving did a great job doing our large circular driveway! They came when they said they were going to,they stuck to the price they quoted and did precisely what they promised. Removed all broken pavement, fixed our grading and paved a beautiful new driveway. We would definitely recommend Mancuso!

Was this review helpful?
Melissa65 in Woodbridge
Melissa65 in Woodbridge
1 review Vaughan, ON
10/10

Driveway

We hired Mancuso Paving to repave our driveway two years ago. I was extremely satisfied with the service I received. The whole staff from the sales rep to the crew were all very knowledgeable and professional. Recently I hired them again to rebuild my retaining wall and once again they have surpassed my expectations. I would highly recommend Mancuso to anyone looking to get work done. Its been 2 years since we did our driveway and it still looks fantastic!

Was this review helpful?
Ed in Oakville
Ed in Oakville
4 reviews Oakville, ON
0/10

Driveway paving

What a nightmare. I won't go into the details of all the mistakes that were made a how long it took to finally get the driveway paved. My biggest issue was that it was paved in June 2014 and cracks appeared in the asphalt within 3 months. I contacted Frank in September and December with photographs and asked what they were going to do to honour their warranty. No response. I then contacted him again June 2015, and his solution was to patch it, which is unacceptable. His final response was that he can't help me because I won't accept a 20 foot patch on a new driveway that didn't last 3 months.

Sept 2015 Update. After going through the BBB and corresponding back and forth with the owner, I'm told that this is not their fault and isn't a warranty issue. Note also that the cracks are now much wider than this original photo, and chunks are about ready to break off. I'm now looking at having this redone at my own expense as it annoys me to see it every time I pull into my driveway.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with your driveway. Due to existing conditions and certain limitations the driveway could not be met to your satisfaction. It is important to consider that when Frank met with you to discuss this project, you expressed to him that you wanted to widen and repave your existing driveway. Frank then informed you that widening the driveway could be an issue because it would be in close proximity to the extremely large tree on your property which would not be compliant with the City of Oakville. He also warned that the tree would have roots under the driveway which could lead to cracking in the future. With this information in mind you still decided you wanted to proceed with the work.
We came to excavate and widened the driveway as per your request. After this was done the City of Oakville noticed that the driveway did not follow the tree compliance laws and wanted to fine you. Due to this we came back and changed the driveway back to its original size to avoid you having to pay a fine.
When the driveway was paved we used road mix asphalt HL3 which is a stronger mix. We hoped that this would hold up against the roots and make the driveway last longer. We have been very co-operative with you from the beginning when you initially called and complained about the cracks. We came to repair it immediately. We then returned to repair the driveway a second time. At this point when our crew was about to patch the cracks you told one of our workers to leave because you expected the whole driveway replaced. Unfortunately due to the roots on the property and the warning given beforehand our warranty does not cover a full replacement. Unfortunately there is nothing that can be done to prevent the tree from creating cracks.

Andrew from Old Toronto
Andrew from Old Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
3/10

Paving

My neighbour and I share a common car parking lot. Mancuso was obtained by my neighbour and recommended for the install. Leo the owner met with me and promised to "treat the job like it was his home". After some discussion Leo recommended that a commercial grade asphalt be used because of the vehicular usage. After some research, this recommendation seemed fitting and was well received. Everything seemed to be coming together.

As I could not be present during the install, I asked Leo to approach me before any changes were made about drainage and the shared boundaries before they proceed as it’s a touchy subject with me, my neighbours and lawyers. They however, did not communicate any changes to me while I was at work. I came home to find a concrete retaining built along the right-of-way/shared property line, without prior notice. To further exacerbate the problem, my chain link fence was damaged removing concrete because it was removed using large machinery (further care could have been taken cutting the fence away from the concrete rather than just tearing it away with a bobcat). Further I still have water pooling in my in garage because it was not graded to drain out. I have sent pictures prior to the winter and was promised that they would address it in the spring (as they were shut down for the season.) It is now spring, and when I try to reach out for recommendations and to vet solutions, my emails go unanswered.

I would not recommend mancuso, as they do not transparently communicate with their clients, and further don’t stand by their mission statement of “treating the job like its their home”.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We would like to take this opportunity to reply to Andrew with respect to the work he has poorly reviewed. It is important to first note that the initial contact was made with his neighbor for landscaping work and re-grading of the driveway. It was clear upon meeting Andrew that there were existing issues with his mutual neighbor. All work was completed on schedule and both Andrew and his neighbor were kept appeased of the work being done. A curb, not a retaining wall as Andrew stated, was installed as per our contract with his neighbor and was fully on his neighbor's property. Also as part of our contract with Andrew, we were asked to remove an old concrete pad in the rear of the property. As the concrete and fence were a minimum of 20-25 years old, the bottom of the fence was built directly into the concrete. Therefore, in order to remove the concrete pad, the fence was damaged. The fence had rusted and deteriorated due to age and there was no way to detach the fence from the concrete in a way that would allow it to be utilized again.
Once the work was completed, it was our understanding that Andrew was completely satisfied as he paid the contract in full. However, as the garage was not excavated, it was only compacted and overlayed. There was subsequent settling which is what caused the ponding. Andrew contacted the office and wanted someone to attend the site immediately to discuss a plan for repair. It was not feasible for this to occur as it was winter and a proper course of action could not be determined at that time. Andrew was told that Mancuso Paving’s policy for repairs is that they are only to be done on Saturdays and asphalt plants are not open on Saturdays until late spring. Also, a specific repair plan is made on site at the time of the repair. Our crew are skilled and experienced employees and repair work is determined specifically on site as required.
In any event, the issue was repaired. This review is both surprising and disappointing as both Leo & Mancuso Paving were sympathetic to the issues between neighbors and had provided work that was timely and professional. Andrew had also committed to removing the poor review after the repair had been completed. It is clear that this issue and dissatisfaction is with his neighbor and not with the work completed by Mancuso Paving Limited.

Michelle from Toronto
Michelle from Toronto
6 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Paving

We hired Mancuso Paving to pave our driving and build a concrete retaining wall. They did a great job and we would not hesitate to recommend them or use them again in the future.

Was this review helpful?
Mike from Toronto
Mike from Toronto
3 reviews York, ON
10/10

repave driveway

My 30+ year old asphalt driveway needed replacing. Mancuso was recommended by the excellent contractor who had rebuilt my garage. (Turns out they had done the original - so long ago I had forgotten). My big issue is drainage. With an upslope ravine at the back of the yard, all rain and snowmelt must flow down the driveway to the street, but the slope is minimal. Keeping water away from the adjacent house walls is also essential. These requirements were discussed, the gravel bed raked to the required dished profile and left to settle, and discussed again in detail during the relaying of the paving. Some of the interlocking stone front walk had been displaced during removal of the old blacktop. This was all reset during the paving process.
The result - perfect. And at a great price.

Was this review helpful?
Doug Reimer from Toronto
Doug Reimer from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
9/10

driveway paving

John provided a great price and customer service. A motorcycle had gouged a hole in our new driveway, a real blemish.One call to John and it was solved promptly. I'm a believer in this company...Comparable to an American service model. I would highly recommend this company.
D Reimer
Toronto

Was this review helpful?
M. A.
M. A.
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Asphalt Driveway

A great experience! John was a pleasure to deal with. He called both after the base was laid and after the asphalt was put down to make sure we were happy with it. The guys who came were very friendly and helpful. As per John's suggestion, we waited a month or so between laying the base and asphalting the driveway. It allowed for the rain and the traffic to pack the stone to be as hard as a rock. Although it's difficult to do, people should be patient with this stage to allow for a firm base. It's very important to the longevity of the driveway. We are very pleased. Thanks to John and his team!

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Mancuso Paving

Paving contractor.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.