Reviews

10/10

Atiar was able to come the next day to fix my too-warm fridge. He was friendly and fixed the problem within an hour and a half, by replacing two parts. We were very impressed at how much he valued a happy customer in order to generate repeat business and that he didn't believe in "ripping people off" by charging them and not doing the work, as sometimes happens. His work is also warrantied - I will be calling him again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for writing a great review. We are glad that you are happy with our service. We always care about our clients satisfactions. Greatly appreciate.

6/10

First, I would say I don't appreciate that the way in which I was asked to review this company. After our inspection, which was well done, I said I would review them on Homestars. The company, however, "started" a review for me by signing me up for the site using my email address (without my permission), and were unaware I was already signed up on Homestars (for years) with another email address. They also put in a location which is not true - and I can see that this is done throughout their reviews. Nghia who referred me is not "from Brampton" but rather lives a few doors down from me, in Toronto. And his review is identical to the one they provided for me to finalize and approve. Seriously, you guys do great work - there is no need to fake the reviews, especially with copy/paste jobs that people can see through. Using my email without permission to promote yourselves, however, means my rating has to drop. Here is the review they wrote: Good job! We contacted Tom after our neighbor recommended him to help us with our Tarion warranty inspection. We found Tom to be extremely knowledgeable, personable, and professional who provided us insight into all major and minor deficiencies with this property. Tom not only took the time to conduct the home inspection, but also explained the issues that he found with the home. The infrared camera was also very cool too. I would highly recommend Tom's services to to anyone looking for a thorough home inspection.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Thanks to you both for your help in framing my dreamcatcher. I thought I would send you the pic of it up on the wall (attached). Your attention to my needs and care for my project means I will be coming back for all my framing needs. I also appreciated a suggestion that didn't break the bank and allows me to change out the artwork if I ever needed to! Thank you again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Lisa Marie,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again. All the best, Lillian

10/10

I went to Picov's and selected a fabric. They gave me a quote and were very reasonable. They were half of what I got quoted in Toronto. They picked up AND dropped of my chairs to me (no charge) and even returned to clean a small area of pink chalk I couldn't get off. The chairs are exactly how I wanted them to look. Great service, great prices and great work!

Was this review helpful?
1/10

We had an alarm system installed by General Home Built-in Systems Ltd. They were actually the contractors for our builder, so we didn't have a choice who would do the install once we purchased it from the builder. (Lesson learned!) The guys were super friendly but had to come back multiple times for things like accidentally stapling through a wire, causing hours of trying to figure out why we couldn't set the alarm. Also, they seemed to have wired something wrong which interefered with our microwave and hallway light (I wasn't aware they were tapping into existing circuitry until the next day when I attempted to use the microwave! Dangerous!) Also, they left rather large holes in the drywall when installing the motion sensors. Mark came out once after installation to explain some of the functions to us. He didn't provide us with an instruction manual, so I had to furiously write everything down. In fact I found out later, when we tried to re-set after a fire alarm, that his instructions on re-set was incorrect. We once had a false alarm and we rushed home about 50 km to find all the doors and windows secured. There were no footprints in the snow. They told us it was due to the cold. (?!!?) They still billed us over $100. Mark said he would come out and check our door and window contacts but never showed up. I can never reach anyone for service. I have had to call Mark's cell phone numerous times and had to email Maria several times and though she replied before she has not replied to my more recent email a month ago. Also, their after-hours service line rings incessantly and finally goes to a voicemail where you CANNOT leave a message. It's extremely frustrating after a fire alarm at 10pm to not be able to set your re-set the alarm. Finally, this company requires you to pay for your full year of monitoring up front. Who does that? They acted like we were crazy to ask for monthly billing and only agreed after we said we weren't willing to continue otherwise. Once when I talked to Maria, she said she was doing us a "favour" and we were their only customers to get this special monthly billing arrangement. We still have a year with them, but rest assured we will not be renewing our contract. If they try to sell you an alarm or monitoring, run away!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

In our last home, we had Karl paint the interior. We were totally pleased. He was professional, reasonably priced, punctual, cordial and prepped the walls and painted 2 coats in the time it would have taken us to tape. For our new home, we hired Carl again to paint the stairways and hallways (this was the $800 job) and we were thrilled with the results. It was totally worth the money for the time we saved and the fabulous job he did. I have recommended Carl to several people and will continue to do so.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

Louie and the guys from Lambton were great. Their estimate was in the middle of the pack, but they offered us more bang for our buck. Unlike some other companies they didn't provide us with a computerized drawing of the plan, but we got a good vibe and also good references (our neighbour's job still looked great after a year and that was our main concern - no sinking or movement of the retaining wall and driveway interlocking). We had a few days of rain delay but when started, Louie and Tom were there on time every day. One hot afternoon, I offered them a beer and they refused: "not while we're working". I thought this was very professional. They also insisted on sweeping us the garage every day. The workmanship itself is excellent. Alex, who worked on our driveway was a consummate professional, looking at the work and spending the time to go back and turn over, or move pavers that he thought "looked wrong". This was so appreciated. In the end, the final product looks amazing and we get many compliments on it. I would have rated a 10/10 but there were two minor problems. One was that the actual product deviated from the plan a little so that an extra rock had to be bought and placed so as not to allow soil to come out (although we were obviously not charged for the rock). The other was that the steps were done before the porch was covered in interlocking, so that the steps only extend to the length of the porch without the pavers so it looks a little short. Honestly though, no one notices these things except me, I'm sure and we are very pleased with the final product, workmanship, price and professionalism of this company. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Having used Stone Edge (when they were in North York) for my previous home, we contracted them again to do granite countertops for the kitchen and marble for the powder room and ensuite. Yet again, we found the service wonderful and the product lovely. This time we dealt with Lesley Esson. What I like about Lesley: she returns calls promptly. She answered all our questions and offered her advice (having been doing this for over two decades) and was very patient with our indecision and our timeline (quite long). We ordered sinks through Stone Edge and the prices again for everything were reasonable. The templating was done quickly and the installation was done in the given time frame. The products look great and the service was impeccable. Highly recommended.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?

First Review

8/10

I decided to give Whitby Tile a second chance. We needed tiles for the backsplash of our new home. Upon visiting the store, a young boy named Troy (maybe 12 years old) was minding the store all by himself. His parents were away. Although he was clearly responsible, articulate and knowledgeable, we were a little weirded out by not having any adults to speak with. I did speak to Sandy (an adult!) over the phone a couple of times to ensure things were moving along and this was comforting. In the end, Whitby Tile gave us the name of an installer (Colin Brophy) who came out to our place, did an estimate and even was so sweet as to pick up the tile (one we chose at the store), sealer and grout for us before doing the installation. He was a friendly man and did a nice job on the installation, working steadily for about 7 hours and we thought his price was reasonable. I have to say that having someone come out to measure and figure out the number of tiles needed was a big help. So, it's hit or miss with in-store service at Whitby Tile, but if you're ok with confirmation and advice via phone, things should be alright as Sandy is quite accomodating. Also, if you need a good installer, Colin Brophy can be reached at 905 922 7707. Tell him I sent you!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I hired El Cheapo for the third time to move items we had "in storage" at my parents' place (about 50 boxes and a couple of chairs/ottoman). Jeff and Georgie (i think!) were polite, really quick (30 minutes to load) and even helped us move two display units when we got to the new place. They were careful about not damaging our walls, drywall and contents and I am pleased with their work. I'm also happy to patronize a company that does charitable work during their free time! Highly recommended!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

John was fabulous! He told me ahead of time what valance lights he would need and told me he could have 30 potlights installed in 1 day. He was so nice as to do a layout of the number and placements of lights he would recommend as we had never done potlights before. Not only was he finished on time, but his team was efficient and polite. They cleaned up all the drywall debris and wiring and at the end of the project, took me through the house and showed me which lights were on which switched. I like that he is a licensed electrician and that he "highly recommended" an inspection so as not to void the warranty on our home. He even scheduled the inspector for us (this upcoming Wednesday). I would highly recommend John and Mr Potlight. The lights look wonderful and everything was done as promised and for a price that is very reasonable.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks

10/10

Paddy's Market delivered the appliances on time in the morning and Craig Holmes installed them all for $250 which I think is a very reasonable price. He hooked up the water line to the fridge (we had the line already installed), installed the range, put up the OTR microwave all on his own and hooked up and tested the dishwasher. There were two minor problems. Instead of tying in the microwave to the dedicated line (which we paid extra for), he tied it in to the valance lighting, so our circuit shorted a few days later. And, other than leaving the area under the sink with the drilling dust and extra piping, I would say this was a well executed delivery and installation. Craig Holmes did a great job. Thanks Paddy's Market!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

This is the second time I've used El Cheapo. My movers were fabulous, especially Don, who was friendly and able to move unbelievable amount of cumbersome and weighty items all by himself. He was extrememly conscientious of my new floors, drywall etc. He went above the move from the apartment to the house and also moved heavy items from my garage into the house (washer, dryer, boxes, 3 sets of mattresses and antique chairs). I had advised the main office of these extra items, but this message clearly had not been passed on the moving team. In any case, they were very nice about it all, worked very hard and I will be hiring them in the near future (to move more boxes here from storage!)

Was this review helpful?
7/10

The actual installation of this product was very fast. The workers cut the pieces in the garage and left everything clean. They were professional, friendly and efficient. The product itself looks exactly as I had imagined and this company did a good job of representing the product at the time of purchase.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

This was a very smooth installation. Barry from What a Pane called me the night before our appointment to remind me about it. He arrived right on time and confirmed the door insert I had previously chosen was still the one I wanted. He had a few other options ready just in case I changed my mind. The door was installed within 40 minutes, and they didn't even have to take the door off its hinges. The door was cleaned and we are thrilled with the product. We have so much more light and the insert looks wonderful. We chose a matte finish on the wrought-iron and a privacy glass is very private unless you practically put your face up against it. Although the prices seem to have gone up by $25 since I was originally quoted (by my recollection) I'd still highly recommend this company and this product!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review

10/10

I spoke to several homeowners in our area and they all recommended Barry from What a Pane, who services the Durham area of the GTA. We called him for an appointment and not only was he on time, he brought actual products with him so we could examine them weight and quality. He was also able to answer questions about which designs were newer, which were most popular and where and how they were manufactured. He took a small deposit and I will write another review when our house is ready and the door installed. Based on service, we've had a great experience with What a Pane. Edit: When Barry hadn't heard from us in about a month, he actually called us back to remind us that he still had our deposit and wanted to make sure we weren't waiting for the door insert!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review

6/10

We've been to this location before and have waited around for 30 minutes or MORE to get served before. Two weeks ago, we went back, determined to buy some hardwood flooring. They had a special going on, so we bought some stock. This is a review about service, since we won't be installing the product for a few months. I'm happy to say that the salesperson spent about an hour with us, although we got passed off to another person and back and forth a couple of times. Also, their quote didn't include the carpet removal fee, though we clearly told them we had carpet in the rooms. Also, the sales person couldn't even tell us if the installers worked on Saturdays! (They told us they would check and call us, but never did) By the end, we told them we appreciated the time they spent with us, and one of the salespeople joked about how they "aren't making any money off us" since they gave us "such a good deal". Honestly, I don't like this kind of comment, partially because I don't believe that is true and partially because I don't think that's how you should speak to customers, as if you're there to make money off them. This company should hire more sales associates and have better training. I honestly don't think we got that great of a deal. I'll post a review on the product quality and installation in August.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We dealt with Adam Nicastro. Ultimate price matched their competitors (we went back and forth with a couple of companies) and installed this product very well. At the time, we were their first sale of this new product, an Elite Window Covering of metallized fabric by Verosol. This was a custom purchase. We were more than happy to put their sign on our lawn.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I wanted to replace my pedestal sink with a glass vessel sink (before eveyone else was doing it, lol) and went to Trendy. (At that time, they were at 63 Silver Star Blvd, unit E3, so I supposed they've moved.) We spent a lot of time in the show room and the sales staff allowed us some negotiation on price/payment method. They had competitive prices. I dealt with Winnie Wu. Their price included delivery and installation which was well done. We received many compliments on the sink.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

The sales staff was friendly. Installation was great, as was the quality of the product. I'm not sure where this company has gone to though. I don't think I haggled enough on the price, though they spent the time to show us alot of options.

Was this review helpful?
5/10

We got friendly service from Todd and Tammy Gould, the husband and wife team who run TWG. They also offer a 2 year warranty on their work. Immediately after the construction was complete, I had two questions: wouldn't the large crevice in the rock we were using as a step fill with water and freeze creating a slippery step in the winter? Also, the "sand" that was holding our flagstone in place seemed to not be coming up already and this was worrying. Our fears were allayed, but after the first winter, both questions proved to be real concerns. Todd did come out, true to the warranty and re-sanding the sand between the flagstones. I wasn't sure how doing the same thing would address the issue. This is the third year and yes, the sand has mostly gone and now some pavers that were adhered to our porch are coming off. We called Todd and were informed, rightly so, that the work was no longer under warranty. Tammy did send us a letter addressing our problem and outlined how we could undertake the DIY of fixing the stones and what do buy to do so. EDIT: A response to Tammy's response below: 1. Yes, natural products have natural flaws. However when a customer brings up a SAFETY risk, it should be addressed. In fact, if only you had turned the stone over, we would not have a risk of slipping on ice every winter. An easy, free solution to something a customer had brought up before the stone was laid. 2. I don't see anything in my review to say I felt "so strongly against our craftsmanship". In fact, if you read my review it is very factual in terms of events that happened. Not in one place did I "trash" your company. In fact I mentioned you were friendly and that you stuck by your warranty AND that you offered us a solution after the warranty was over. Your response was unduly and disproportionately harsh. 3. You say that "it is a shame that one is able to just write whatever on site about a company without having to prove that it was all done in fault of the company whose image is being trashed." Actually, it's not a shame that consumers are able to review companies so that other consumers can make informed decisions - this is the goal of such a website after all. I said what happened in factual terms in a very respectful way. I never said it was your fault how the stone was built, I simply believe it was your job to provide solutions that worked for our project. 4. As for your comment that you "never guaranteed that the sand would not blow out or have to be replaced, it is sand. ” We asked for flagstone to be surrounded by a material that would harden and stay in place. Your company suggested the "sand" which you said, is a sand-based product that would harden and set in place, but in fact it simply came out. Again, it would be your job to recommend a product that would accomplish what the customer wanted and we trusted you to do this. However, the product not suitable for our project. We appreciated Todd coming out again to live up to the warranty, but simply putting more of the same product did not solve our issues. I'm sure you get lots of people "ranting praises" and lots of referrals from previous clients. However, you do have to understand that not everyone is satisfied with the work and everyone has a right to discuss their experience in a truthful and respectful way, which is what I have done and this is the purpose of this website. Have a look at some other reviews if you want to see a really scathing review. I have not said that ALL your craftmanship is poor or that you are terrible people; I have simply stated my personal ONE experience of your company, which I have every right to do and which is the reason for having a site like this. You seem to be angry at the fact this website exists and you seem to only want customers to post positive reviews; this seems contrary to the fact that you're a registered company on this site, a site that requires customers to review contractors. Best, Lisa

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Every Contract handed and agreed upon with our company explains that Natural products come with natural flaws and we cannot control what the weather is going to do to a crevace or if water will pool and that the client acknowledges this before using such products as they are not returnable. It is unfortunate that you feel so strongly against our craftsmanship however, we build things to suit a clients request and our craftsmanship and reputation within the industry is exemplary with clients constantly ranting praises of our work. We wish you better luck with your next choice however, our company does everything in its power to go over and above regulated bases and care in our work to provide properties that far exceed manufacuturer specifications to provide great end results for our clients and most are repeat and referral clients. It is a shame that one is able to just write whatever on site about a company without having to prove that it was all done in fault of the company whose image is being trashed. We did what you requested in the way you requested it and in the budget you requested it for and never guaranteed that the sand would not blow out or have to be replaced, it is sand.

10/10

I have researched a lot of places for appliances. Paddy's prices were excellent and when another company offered lower prices, Paddy's matched them. Paddy also offers their own service for the appliances, which allows me to sleep at night knowing that if anything does go wrong, I won't be waiting around for a certified repairman from the manaufacturer to be found/available in my area! John at Paddy's actually took the time to show us the features of each appliance. NONE of the other stores could even do this (one salesperson at Bad Boy had never looked at an appliance in his life it seemed as he had to ask his manager every single question was had!). John took his time with us and communicated post-sale with us on the phone and by email. The prices were really excellent and as I said, Paddy's matched them, even though the sale had been finalized.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I needed two jobs done, an easy small window covering to be made for both the powder room and laundry room. The lady was very nice, even though my job was so small. They did a great job and even worked with fabric that I took into the store!!! So, I re-hired them to do a large stairwell window with two fabrics(which I bought there), which they custom-created for me, but still allowed me to use my own rod and sconces. They installed everything very well. I am very satisfied with the work and installation and most of all their openess and flexibility to me using my own products.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I researched several places for granite countertops for our L shaped kitchen with an island and Stone Edge was priced very well. Everything was installed wonderfully and we've had lots of compliments on our countertops. I really appreciated the Stone Edge was flexible with our preferred method of payment! We dealt with Vince Marchese and would recommend them again as they were patient and gave advice when we actually went to the showroom to select our slab.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
9/10

I hired El Cheapo to move me from a home in Durham to a small apartment in Toronto. Francisco was very friendly/courteous and skilled. The gentlemen moved everything carefully and didn't drag their feet. One other gentleman working with Francois was less careful and less courteous (for example, when I offered some cookies, he took the whole bag and walked out the door). I did give a $50 tip (maybe that was not enough?) Great basic moving service. I will mention that one piece of furniture had some minor damage, but my call to El Cheapo about it was not returned.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?