Reviews

2/10

We hired Ahren to act as our GC, manage trades, design, and site super for our build. Wow what a nightmare it would become and some real hard lessons learned. He will court you and gas light you how many äward winning builds"he has done. He does not carry a GC licence (our first mistake) and tell you he doesnt need one. Nor a B.C.I.N number (building certificate identification number) really important if you want to be respected in the field of building and renovations. After we hired him, he went and bought another home to build and abandoned ours . We took him to small claims and won and now he has a judgement against him and order to pay for damages. Be extremely careful, do your due diligence and make sure they have a licence, even if they say dont need one. It says a lot about experience, knowledge and ethics.

Was this review helpful?
0/10

We purchased a double 64 fridge A sectional and 4 beds We were told the box springs fit any size queen NOT TRUE Check your own measurementss Better yet Do t go there !!! I asked to return And they said no returns!! This isn't value village???

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I hired Patrick and John to build our backyard deck after new construction and install aluminum railings. We talked about the building code which they understood, and built our deck . We had to alter the design halfway, and Patrick and John were very understanding that we had different ideas about what we wanted. Non the less, I would hire them again. They are trustworthy and are willing to take some direction. Thanks guys They also installed our railings in record time and we needed inspection.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

Sami is a true artist and does amazing work. Someone who takes pride in what he does. The choice of stucco was excellent and finishes to go with it and we are very happy with the look. See for yourself Thanks Sami and will certainly recommend you!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I was desperately looking for someone to build my fence and it was getting late in the season. I finally called Rona, went in to see Alan the project manager, and he set everything up . I also had a great delivery guy named Orlando, and I want to thank them for taking the time to deliver and locate materials without hurting the new concrete. Great work guys and I would use them again!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

The elite concrete team are exceptional ! I had hydro pavers installed concrete modern driveway And backyard patio They went out of their way to repair the best they could my neighbors walkway which was in rough shape I get compliments for the driveway everyday So worth the investment ! But book early They are busy for a reason

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review and for choosing us to build your project. It is wonderful to know that you are pleased with the final result. Marcelo and Raffy.

10/10

After dealing with drywall and carpentry dust, we were glad to get our ducts cleaned. Aidan was very courteous, and thorough with this process, and also was able to point out that we were missing some return air ducts. Thanks Aidan, and Ontario Duct Cleaning for making the last part of a difficult renovation painless. I will recommend again

Was this review helpful?
2/10

They were recommended by our designer. I would never shop there ever. We bought our appliances in March, only now are we finally getting some in. They sell you the appliances and then when your not looking will sell yours again to someone else. It has taken months to find our appliances, and had to resort to different ones in order to get our kitchen finished. They offered a refund for one fridge, but we are still in shock from all the stress. Your not saving any money go elsewhere for good customer service and honest business

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

Irko and Andre are a dream to work with. They arrived at my house at 7am, prepared with the longboard material, and are highly skilled at installing. As you can see by the pics, and this is not an easy install. I highly recommend them for Longboard, and they also helped me with window caulking and roof repair. Thanks so much guys !! You will be missed!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I hired Steve and his son to take a look at windows and give some advice. He was so helpful knowledgeable and courteous! Wow what a breath of fresh air. Being a woman, its hard not to be taken advantage of. Steve came in, measured and installed. These were not big jobs, but Steve did such a great job making everything look good and he is very courteous of keeping your place clean. I am hoping to hire Steve again and would recommend him for any job such as carpentry, and odd difficult jobs that takes a craftsmen and good carpenter to do. Thanks Steve

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We used Stonelink products for our landscaping and Guiseppe was the installer with his crew. What a super job and easy to deal with as he had some design concerns and we listened to him so the whole thing turned out better than expected! We also went to the home show and Bianca, a sales rep with stonelinks, helped us with a new product for driveways, that we are interested in. This means we get the sale price since it was the home show. Thanks Bianca you were very helpful

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We had Marcello and his crew come and remove the asbestos in our property that will be demolished. He and his crew were efficient and knew everything about the paper work involved. Such a relief and we would hire them again hopefully not for asbestos removal. Thanks Marcello! and Glenn!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Aaron and his crew were so efficient and gave us good advice on how to trim a rather large tree in our backyard. A neighbour called and complained and Aaron was very kind and patient in handling the situation. Thanks Aaron and your crew for your great work and cleanup and we will use you again I am sure in the future

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Thank-you Sean and Staff for helping Hal and I get over a big hurdle with making decisions with our new home. When you showed us your home Sean and Mercedes, we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the workmanship . The attention to detail and to our project has made the next step a little easier, and we are grateful even though we need a lot of hand holding. We apologize for the rough start. Look forward to working with you all and the building of our beautiful home

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?

First Review

2/10

We had hired this tree service company to remove a couple of trees, and the ad read in Kijiji, you would get a discount for referrals. They came and removed the tree but not the stump. We also recommend them to our neighbour and they did not come through with the discount for us and also left us several stumps. Disappointed with them since they also did a poor job of cleanup. When I called , he totally got upset with me . anway, will not hire them again ever!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are shocked to hear of your experience. You must have mistaken us for another company as we have never advertised or offered discounts for referrals. Sorry to hear of that bad situation but again, surely it was another company as we also pride ourselves in excellent clean up and would never leave a job unfinished! We have literally hundreds of happy customers in Barrie who would confirm that. Again our sympathy for your unfortunate experience.

10/10

James and his crew did an amazing job, removing a large pine, and trimming some other maples. They are very hard working, and did a complete job cleanup, and also was kind enough to leave us some maple for firewood. It was important that he have insurance, and he had no problem showing me the documents. He and his crew are very professional, polite and efficient .Thanks James and your crew , I will certainly use you again!! and thank-you for your knowledge of trees!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thx so much from Timberjack Tree Service we appreciate your business and look forward to working with you in the future!!

10/10

I called Abell pest control and Linda the receptionist was very good at calming me down, since another company, (I won't mention any names but popular with the real estate agents) said we had termites from the old records dated in the early 50's Apparently, agents can get your private info from this other company quite easily if it was treated for termites in the past and could affect your power to sell even if there were no pests or termites. This is supposed to be private information to the homeowners only! Anyway Abell came and confirmed no termites and no evidence of any. All that upset for nothing, and well it is best to get a second opinion, and since Abell doesn't treat for termites they are more likely to give you an honest opinion. Atena is in the business to sell the treatment and not the inspection thanks Abell for being honest and professional with what you do!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

I hired Joe to do my Kitchen design and install. Wow his workmanship is outstanding and well I got him to finish my basement laundry are which was a disaster. He definitely does great work and has a keen eye for design without charging the extras. thanks Joe The house feels great and its all of your work!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I called Premi-Air for some information and to come and see a problem with my furnace. The owner Joe Simon called me himself and gave me great information on what happened and what to do. I was very impressed as he was able to direct to me and get my furnace going! Thanks Joe you really know your stuff and all the good info came in handy . Keep up the great work!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi KP,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review. I apologize for not responding earlier. I usually get an email from Homestars notifying me of a review received so I can respond right away. I just noticed your review today while responding to S.E. above. In our field, we often find mistaken diagnosis leading to the replacement of parts that were not necessary. Most manufacturers test the failed parts that are returned from the field and report data of over 25% of failed parts were misdiagnosed and were NOT FAULTY. At Premi-Air we have a policy of proof before replacement. This means all our technicians must perform specific tests to confirm 100% of a part failure before we will recommend replacement. Most "failures" are in fact just internal safety switches doing their job. Once the condition is corrected, the furnace will work fine.
I am so glad that I was able to help you and really appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge us on this review board.
Best Regards,
Joe Simon

0/10

In Jan/2014 our furnace 7 year old furnace broke down. We had no heat for three days. City gas, said we needed a new part and left us with no heat on our own. I was sick with pneumonia and a baby in the house. They also took the part so I could not call anyone else for help. They told us to get space heaters. they could of got us a used part in the meantime. The summer before our air conditioner broke down needing a new compressor. Very expensive to fix labour not covered under warranty. I believe this company is in the parts replacement business and buyer beware. I called another gas company and he came over and said it could of been repaired. He did this for free. Not be using this company ever again

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to place this review. We are sorry to hear that you were sick when your furnace broke down that is very poor timing. Unfortunately we do not carry used parts to try and temporarily fix any equipment as it is not safe to install any used parts that have not been properly tested. We wouldn't take the risk of something going wrong and hurting you or your family.
It is also too bad that the suppliers weren't able to get your new part sooner than 3 days. I imagine this break down must have happened over the weekend when all suppliers are closed. We always do our best to source new parts from suppliers as soon as possible.
I am curious to hear about how this other company was able to fix your equipment for free, especially given that we had to take the old part to properly match up the replacement part. Sometimes if a part doesn't have adequate markings of the model and serial number we take the old part with us as its not functional anyway to ensure that we are able to get the correct part as quickly as possible for our customers.
As for your air conditioner that broke, the manufacturers do not cover any labor coverage for replacement parts. So we would not have been able to install any parts for free. I wish we could have helped you, but it is just not possible to work for free on equipment. If it was any work that we had done we offer warranty on all of our workmanship and stand behind our work.
I assure you we are not in this business just to make a quick buck, we are a small family business that has been around for over 30 years and we pride ourselves on this and on being an honest and reliable company. We do not take this lightly. If you have the time I would love to speak to you and see if we can come to some sort of an understanding of what happened and why. We would never intentionally leave anyone without heat if there was something we could have done to fix it at that time. I myself have a new baby and we would never want a child to go without heat if at all possible.
I am assuming this other company coincidently had a used part that they were able to install for you. As I said before we do not carry old parts as it is a liability issue.
Please call our office and ask to speak to Janae, I would like to resolve this situation as best we can for you.

0/10

This spring I hired Chris Kunsman Property Maintenance and his Brother( Leegroup landscaping ). they gave me a design and quote for the job. Assured me they had back hoe, dumpster, and hired help. Next day, Chris arrived with his mother, and no equipment. He assured me his brother would help with the job..Lee his brother wanted more money and then sent his student to do the work. They had my money and no work was completed. Plus had to pay for extras they said were not in the contract (and were). Don't hire these guys, they work separately, different company names but are brothers. They take your money and never come back. I should of known better but really wanted the job done. My husband and I had to clean up their messes.Should not be in business!! I am taking them to small claims for damages!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?