Reviews

10/10

Was looking on Google for a company that could address my Home Theatre needs. Had a system that worked, but not the way I wanted nor could be serviced when I needed it. Found, David Audio Video Installations in my search, read their advertisement and it caught 100% of my attention - exactly what I wanted. Called, an appointment was made and David arrived with his bags of tools and tricks. We had a discussion about my current system and what I felt it needed and what I wanted to see. David listened - an important thing in his business. He did not touch a thing but listened to what I was saying. Then summarized what he thought he heard and decided on a plan of action. He provided me with a quote on dollars and time and off he went to perform his magic. One of the things I wanted to see was a neater way of dealing with the presentati​o​​n of all the wires that provide the effects I wanted. he tidied that up as well. He went away, ordered some equipmen​​​​t and when it arrived, set a time and date for a return visit. Arrived on time went straight to work and Mr. Perfection as I was now calling him. After about two hours, everything was as we had discussed, work area all cleaned up and ready to p[rvide a test of his work for me. I was not disappointed. Following his installation visit, I found the need to discuss a couple​ of operational things and he was only too happy to do so via e-mail. I have only been up and ​running with ​the new structure a couple of weeks but am satisfied that I got good value for the money I spen​t . You too will not go wrong with not only having him listen to your ne​eds but also obtaining a quote. If you award him the job, sit back and let him do his thing. He is on time, within his budget and delivering what you told him you wanted to achieve. It's as simple as that with his service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Kingsley for taking the time to write such a detailed review!
Greatly appreciated!
David

10/10

In July 2010, I contacted Pre-Lock security Services to upgrade my door locks and make the entrance ways more sturdy than they were. This began a journey of two phases over the next 7 years. I discovered that Pre-Lock did door hardware, and bars for basement windows, and steel framework on a entrance door, but also provided monitored alarm systems. At the conclusion of the following week I had a basic alarm system in place, on time, within the price range quoted , and a great team of installers for motion detectors, and window sensors and training on the system. All first class guys. Fast forward to about 4 weeks ago. I wanted to do some upgrades with glass breaks, a more modern key pad and system, and turn at least 60% of the house into a dwelling that I could check and operate from my phone when I am away. alarm, lights and thermostat,. The sales person I had dealt with in 2010 was no longer there but Paul Seidman returned my call and we set up time to meet and discuss my needs. Turns put Paul is the President of the company which he owns. Concepts were discussed, prices quoted and we agreed on the upgrade and installation of new features. Much to my surprise Paul arrived during the day his installation team were working, stayed the entire day, supervised were necessary and kept informing me of the new features as they came on line. Then provided me with some education. How often does one get the company president that involved. In most cases you hardly see the person. He also arranged to have a electrician come and install the new thermostat and light switches and electrical plugs. A power outage threw a curve at the system abut a week later but no challenge for Paul. On a Sunday – yes Sunday - he came to the house and worked though the lights and plugs, brought everything on line , tested everything and got a battery power protector installed to prevent such situations from happening again. And I repeat on a Sunday. Now I am not in a huge high end house. I am a senior on my own in a small 55 year old house, but this company has treated me and my needs and my house as if it were the large Rosedale account. They are the full service company for your security needs .AND in addition service is top notch (in Toronto not off shore) and installation wonderful – good clean cut, well mannered guys who do their work, clean up after and run you through the system to make sure you are on side with it. They also came on the day scheduled and had it finished ahead of projected time. If you cherish all the features I have mentioned, with a company and their installers don’t look further. Pre Lock can do for you and your home and family ,what you have always wanted for your home and peace of mind. Money well spent. Good people to know in the Security industry.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am glad you are happy with our services, our team always aims to please. We look forward on being your security service provider for many years to come. It was my pleasure to come on Sunday and configure your lighting sensors, I know how complicated technology can get and pleased you are all up and running now. Let us know if we can assist you any time.

10/10

These days difficult to find ANY company good or bad to do anything in the area of renos or improvements on you living quarters, like painting. And when you find one not too sure what you get. Well Finer Edge was referred to me by my neighbour and from that point on I just sat back and watched. Luigi came and did a quote and since i was not in a hurry he said he would get back to me and give me three days notice. True to his word it was back to me within 10 days 3 days notice. A crew of three came, moved my furniture, covered it and of they went. They had a game plane and followed it exactly. Two or three coats on everything, arrived on time for the two days they were here, in fact arrived early and started right in. Did not spend the time talking or on the phone, or long breaks, they worked. They had said three days or less - they were finished in two. All were perfectionists and took pride in what they did. They cleaned up everything, washed the floors, put the rugs back, the furniture in its place, and headed off well ahead of schedule. Polite, on time, great workers, great product delivered -their skills. They new how to paint. The crew boss had been doing it for 10 yrs. If you are looking for good price, delivery on promises, meeting estimated time frame, perfectionists, professional and nice people phone them now. Don't go any further in your search. You WILL NOT be disappointed.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Kinglsey, thank you for posting the great review. It was a pleasure working with you. I will pass along your comments to the guys, and look forward to the next project. Luigi

10/10

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

Your serviceman was awesome. Best service guy I have had come here in any capacity. friendly, knowledgeable, easy to understand even with the accent -top notch guy. Keep him. don't let him get away.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

A perfection in his own right - it has to be done to suit him or rip it apart and do it again. he matched the brick to 60 year old brick amazingly well. Worked hard and cleaned up well. had a logistic problem and did not like how it looked so took down about half the bricks as he was not satisfied with the look. punctual well spoken and said he would show up on Tuesday and did. the job cleaned up well and looks great. he has a great deal of expertise, and great design ideas. You won't go wrong hiring this company

Was this review helpful?
10/10

It was not the final job that is worth the review - it is but....It is everything leading up to it that was amazing. They did the original drive in 2010. I called 5 years later about the carport project and it was like i was a customer from yesterday. At least three trips by Domenic as we discussed logistics of water drainage etc. Finally decided on a final approach and even with a full tight work schedule he promised he would have it done by a certain July date and did so 5 days early. A lot of the crew i recognized from when they worked here in 2010. A testament to a good employer as well as craftsman. If you are getting a driveway done in any aspect look no further. I doubt if there is any company or person that will provide you with quality work and great service - what else would you want?And as a comment on the original driveway of 2010 - still perfect.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

What can I say about George Viana ad this company that is not overkill. It is difficult to find the correct words. Honest, service orientated, going the extra mile to satisfy the installation, patient with deficiency of other contractors and finally delivered what I wanted in perfect shape. in a short version, I had bought the garage door and another company were to build the frame on my carport. Many delays and promises finally got them fired. George took pity on my situation and we worked together to arrive at the final product installation and it is exactly as I would want it They were amazing. Anyone, unless they are completely unreasonable humans, would find 100% satisfaction with George and this company. Please trust me when i say they are amazing. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I was looking at contacting Domenic about doing an adjustment to my drive and saw when I Googled the company they only had one Home Stars review. They deserve more which is why i am adding mine. They did my drive in Oct 2010 and it is still in perfect shape. A testament to the good work they did under his supervision. They removed my old drive, redid the base, left it to settle and came back on the promised date and did the drive. The team was excellent. If i were doing a complete drive again they would be the first company I would call to get my repeat business.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

In this day and age quality work is a gift and usually not expected. Gus does quality and does it himself. He is not satisfied letting someone else do the dirty work. He is there with his truck and equipment, and works very hard to make your yard look like you expected when hiring him. It is not handed off to kids - it is done by the pro. Reliable, good communication, I have given him a number of projects to do on my yard and not disappointed. He takes pride in what he does. That makes me a satisfied customer. He will do the same for you. Look no further. Cost quoted was approx for 2014.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
6/10

K Guard leaf Free Gutter Systems. Were sold by someone with K Guard who then passes it off to a contractor who installs it. Which they did in May 2012. Leaves clogged up in one corner of the front gutter (so much for leaf free) but went unnoticed for a while. Even though the contract says they will come and clean the gutters as necessary for free, I unclogged it and water now went down the down spout. In july 2014 the salesman no longer with the company I called PT and left a message. Then sent an e-mail - unanswered. Wanted them to inspect the system, unclog as necessary and reroute a front down spout to have water flow away from basement wall. Had a call back that someone would be here last Monday or Tuesday. Nobody showed. Finally I sent an e-mail expressing my displeasure in follow up and telling them they are not permitted on site to do any work at my address. I hired someone to come and do the work they would have gotten, plus look at the system and clean it as necessary. If this system is supposed to be leaf free as advertised yet clogs with leaves it my not be worth the money I spent if iI have to get it cleaned out anyway. Secondly however no follow up of a satisfactory level from PT was disappointing but apparently standard with most companies. The warranty says it will remain clog free as long as it is on your house but if it does clog they will come and unclog free of charge. Not worth the paper it is written on if they don't show. installation they were great so if you go with them their work is good and installers nice. Just beware of followup. It may not happen. I gave a 6 rating based on installation. They lost points with no attention to customer service.

Was this review helpful?
7/10

On August 14, 2012 Nu-Site Contractors came to waterproof a corner of my basement wall. Quick, efficient, looked like they knew what they were doing, clean, efficient worksite after completion and all was rosy. Proceeded to get work started to renovate that section of the basement which included new hardwood flooring. This spring with the rains and thaw, boards of the new floor in that "waterproofed corner" began to stain and become spongy. Water had gotten in somehow. My good filing system allowed me to get out the invoice noted the 25 year warranty and phoned, left two messages, then phoned the third time and talked to a gentleman who said he would send someone by. They a lady phoned me when I was in my car and I said it would be best if we talked when I was at home and had the document in front of me. Have never hear back and that was two week ago. I sent them an e-mail today telling them that unless I hear from them this would get publicized. So here it is, I will update this review when and if i ever heard from them. I heard from and had a visit from David the owner the afternoon of August 6th - nicer, more professional business man would be hdd to find. Showed hi the invoice on the original job. Turns out the work as done under the table by staff from his company at that time who are no longer there. However he would still honour the warranty and would not bad mouth the other company they went to. he looked at the situation and indicated t was not a waterproofing deficiency but rather an eaves direction situation. The water needs to be redirected on the down spout from the foundation. So that is what I am doing. I fully believe his explanation. So he came, he saw, he gave his wisdom and was really nice about the entire thing. From the standpoint of his company I consider things closed successfully.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kingsley, we are happy the issue was resolved, and apologise for any delays or issues you experienced. If you have any problems with water in your basement in future please contact our office directly at 416-622-7000 and we will be happy to assist. Thank you and have a wonderful day!

10/10

I had work done by Mike (the owner) a few years ago and wrote a review at that time. Over that period of time there have been little glitches that have occurred and he does not hesitate to respond. (These are ones I have caused or the cable provider has screwed up during a service call). In other words he and his company are a continuing warranty on my original work. Kyle, one of his crack employees who is as genuine and top notch guy (like his boss) has dropped by a number of time to help me out of little problems and while here "Let me check…." this and that as he wants to have left everything operating at top performance. In a world of today when it is difficult to find honourable and caring professionals to provide honourable and caring work, Toronto Home Theatre is right up there in my book. Don't look for anyone else if you have found this site and read this reference. They are in my opinion the best in what they do. They are helpful, and truthful. Mike has his employee Kyle cut from the same cloth. Enjoy the work of this company. You will not be sorry.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kingsley, thanks for going the extra mile here on your review. We know people are busy and to write a review this long with details makes us feel great and helps us connect with other clients like you.

thank you

Jeff and Mike

10/10

Dependable, they stay on schedule and budget. Fine carpentry work and no challenge unsolved without quality solutions. A great working team with access to high quality additional trades. There is nothing in the finished job that I am displeased with. You could not go wrong with this classy group on you project.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
8/10

I only have had work exposure with PLM and Gus over a very short period of time so cannot comment on long term actions or result. However, in this short time I have found him to be a man of his word, delivers on promised dates (weather effects excluded), communicates well with me on work required and for an owner actually rolls up his sleeves and does the work. He worked yesterday (Saturday) on his own to start and finish a project that had been delayed by rain, stayed at it for over 5 hours and had a very dedicated purposeful approach to what he was doing. So far he appears to be concerned that I, the client, am happy with the work, that the price he quoted is fair,and that he delivers when promised.I will update this review further once I have worked more and longer with him, and the results of his efforts to get my back lawn looking good, pays off. To this point, however, I do not feel I have made a mistake going with his company. UPDATED - All of the work noted above on the back lawn has now had a chance to grow. I don't have to say it - visitors who saw the lawn in the past and see it now are shocked at how wonderful it is. That one day of hard work plus regular water turned my back yard into an amazing visual. Now people come and automatically ask "What did you do to your lawn? It is the best I have even seen it?" My simple answer is "I retained Progressive Lawn Maintenance and Gus - I got that lawn. His hard work and good service paid off." You too can get that result. Just contact Gus.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I am in a 55 year old house on the East York boundary with Scarborough. For 3 years I have roasted in summer and froze in winter because of insufficient air on the second floor. I had heard about ductless cooling and heating units, did some research and having used Home Stars before found Spring Home Heating & Cooling Systems.. An e-mail produced a phone call with an hour and Cy Goh made an appointment to come and see me. He listen to my desired outcome and assessed the situation, both inside and outside. He then recommended a specific unit and wrote up a quote. He took a small deposit and said the crew would be at the house to install before the end of the week. He would phone and confirm. Installation would take one full day. He called me back as promised, confirmed the day and time and the crew came as promised. They were polite, cleaned up all areas they worked in and provided a complete overview of the finished installation to show me how it worked. My only concern was how noisy the units and outside compressor would be. Well I was completely amazed. They are so quiet you almost have to check to see if they are running. They look streamlined and fit the decoration theme of the rooms. And they heat and cool wonderfully. They function by using a remote control and are simple to operate. After a couple of days Cy called back to see how I liked the installation and to answer any questions. I also had to call him once to clarify one point and he called me back almost immediately. The units are expensive but what you get is value and an unbelievable result. The entire experience and overall outcome is almost better than I could have expected. If you need to achieve this outcome for your house you could not do better then this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kingsley, thank you for the nice and long review. I am thrill that you are happy with your decision and also for our services. Please do not hesitate to call us again if you have any other issues with you other HVAC system.

10/10

This is the second official time I have used THT but have had email contact, since my initial work of two years ago being completed. Mike and his staff as usual did a wonderful job in addressing my needs. What installation they did when I originally moved in is still working as they said it would, but as a retired senior, when I need that additional reminder about a feature Mike is only an email away. For this item I emailed him in the morning and he had a staff member at my house that evening while he was on his way home after a day of work. Kyle (the new member of the team) is young and new to THT but if you ever have him work for you don't be mislead by that youth. (So nice to see a polite young man at the door).He had my new component installed, tested and the entire system given the once over in less than 10 minutes and everything is working beautifully. He is a keeper for Mike and the quality people his company strives to employ. I am surprised by the low rated comment concerning the company (earlier this month) as in my dealings I have never seen even a glimmer of that type of service. Remember there are always two sides to any story. If you want quality, good service and a man of his word Mike and THT are the company you should check out and then hire them for you home theatre and entertainment needs. They have never disappointed me. I always know I have expertise available should I have a problem.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You are always so flattering Kingsley! Myself, Kyle, and the entire crew at THT are always glad to help out with anyone in need of assistance, and it makes it that much more rewarding to know you appreciate the extra effort! Thank you for your praise and take care!

Mike, Kyle and Jeff

1/10

When the items were purchased, I asked that the boxes etc be taken by the delivery service. I was told NO by very unhelpful person at Avenue Rd. store. I can now see why. There were 7 pieces to my delivery. They arrived early and were very careful and friendly. I now see why taking the cardboard etc was not possible. It too ke over 4 hours to remove all the packing material. And since the stuff is so heavy lifting and moving it around was tiring (65+ age). I live in a condo. It took 9 trips and a very angry building manager for disposing of all the material. Filled 2 dumpsters even cut down is size. So if you want something environmentally friendly re packaging i would pass. Then came assembly. Couch legs had to be screwed in. No easy task as the wood into which they must be screwed was like concrete. Why they were not installed is beyond me. The two sectional piece had 18 cushions - unless you are a good person with logic - good luck. i still don't know if they are in the correct positions. The bed was the main challenge. After 30 minutes to unpack and tear down packaging i found a package of "hardware". Guess what. No assembly instructions and this is not something you can put together with just your own logic. Even Ikea manages to send instructions. So i phone the Avenue Rd store to get the guys who missed good customer service class the week it was taught because he was at the - how to be rude and don't care attitude class. No apology or anything - remember $5000 paid out and I got "should have bee there somewhere - I have a copy here so come and get ot when you want." Finally found out they had a store in North York. he did phone them and they had a copy but after 5 hours of already tiring work and still not finished I had to drive to the store, pay for parking but the envelope was ready at the front desk. A very polite and pleasant girl - a change from Avenue Rd store was pleased to provide me with the envelope. When i asked for the name of company owner and address she said that was in Montreal and she was not at liberty to provide that information. Guess he is tired of getting complaints. I get home and 90% of the assembly instructions are useless. The 10% that was useful plus my own logic then required just under an hour of assembly time. I now need to get a couple of lamps and end tables. originally was planning to get from this store but they now have lost that sale. My advice - DO NOT BUY FROM THEM UNLESS YOU WANT THIS TYPE OF DAY.

Was this review helpful?