Reviews

0/10

Door Pro overcharged me at the time booking, stating they required payment to order the garage doors, but would refund me the difference later. The company has terrible customer service and I still haven't been refunded. The installers also failed to install the garage door lights or hardware and I had to call to get them to come back. The garage doors are fine, but the company has been very difficult to deal with as they don't return calls and only respond to escalated complaints.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Sarjeet. We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your experience with Doorpro .As explained you were awarded an unauthorized refund by a previous employee i.e. you were sold a door below our cost. Doorpro however honored that refund .
You have also said we did not install your hardware however per your signed instructions (15 Jan 2018) we did not install the hardware as you had not painted your door. We are waiting for your phone call or email to return to install the hardware
Regards


First Review

9/10

New Life Drywall Ltd did the drywall for our residential construction. Was happy with the quality of their work and time it took the complete the project. Would recommend them.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

8/10

Energy Electric Ltd was used by my builder for wiring our new home. Had no issues with their work and they were very responsive to returning to make changes. Would recommend them for any new build.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

Installed decorative metal feature roof for a new build and we were pleased with the quality of the work and time taken to complete the job. No issues or concerns.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

Recently called Newtech to take a look at a leaking washing machine in a rental property. Technician did a thorough diagnosis and confirmed it was just a loose hose. Charge was just for the diagnosis, but he did reassure us he would come back if that didn't fix it.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It is good he found the loose hose . In case there is any problem please call us. diognosis was the charge only and it will a back up with our company .
Thanks

6/10

Used Mann Plumbing & Heating Ltd. for a bathroom renovation. I purchased materials and he took care of removal and installation. Good customer service, although we did identify some minor issues afterwards.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

7/10

Our builder used Rempel Bros Concrete Ltd for the foundation of our residential build. So far, no issues with the quality of the work and scheduling during the build job.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

My builder used Dhaliwal & Associates Land Surveying for a residential lot pinning and we were satisfied with their work. Quick turnaround for residential projects and happy with their work.

Was this review helpful?
7/10

Contacted Coit for carpet cleaning and they were able to get most of the stains out of my carpet. Only issue is that they state they will guarantee their work and return to fix any areas that don't come clean, but the first thing they did with me was to state that there is no guarantee on pet stains. Felt a bit deceived by this.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello, I understand this situation must be frustrating. While we cannot 100% guarantee all pet stains, we do our best effort to improve them. Our guarantee can't cover permanent stains it's true. It's our goal to give our customers a realistic expectation of what they can expect from the cleaning - which is why we offer a free consultation prior to cleaning. At the end of the day, we do want our customers feeling they got the best POSSIBLE job. I would love to hear from you personally - perhaps we could come give it another try so that you are assured we gave our best effort. I cannot see your info to contact you directly, but I would welcome you to please contact me at (604)296-4000
Becki - Customer Service Manager - COIT Services

4/10

Replaced all doors for a couple of properties and used A1 for materials. They measured the existing doors and what was delivered was off. They also forgot to include some hardware so the installer had to go back to get them to correct errors and provide screws. Had requested different hardware finish, but never got a response. Delivery guys weren't too interested in putting the doors where we asked. Price is decent, but you have to put up with customer service issues.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

6/10

Contacted Parm to replace a fluorescent light in a rental. Purchased the replacement light and just used him for labour. His rates are competitive, but you do get what you pay for. Hard to pin him down for a specific time/date and workmanship does lack detail. Not too great at administration either (asked a few times what the address was and what he quoted me).

Was this review helpful?
9/10

Bare land survey done by Ken K Wong & Associates for a residential build and we were very pleased with the quote and timing. Ken prices his services well and was able to schedule this job in a matter of weeks. Would use his services again.

Was this review helpful?
4/10

Harbans installed a 6 ft cedar fence and gate on my property. The price was decent, but the effort required to book him and installation issues reflect the overall rating. Took around 1.5 months to schedule him, calling regularly to check on his availability. Also found some issues with his crew using nails when screws were required and the actual height of the fence was less than 6 ft (by around 6 inches). He left piles of dirt and rocks in the yard (when asked, he said removal isn't part of his service).

Was this review helpful?
7/10

Shan installed some budget blinds in a rental property. Overall, pleased with the amount paid (was around 15% cheaper than the other quotes provided) and the quality of the blinds and work.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

Kirpal Appliances recently replaced a broken switch on my stove. His fees are reasonable and he doesn't overcharge for quick repairs. I would recommend him for appliance repairs and would use his services again.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

Michael and Peggy offer great residential home design services, guiding us through design and cost considerations. We were looking for an architect that would understand our needs and help us build a home within our budget. Attention to detail and great advice made this team our pick.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

7/10

Used Manpreet to remove an old fence and instal 40 feet of cedar. He had to remove some bushes so the cost went up, which I wasn't happy with, but not many fence places where willing to do the job.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Used Sammy's several times for renos and have never been disappointed. They have some of the lowest prices and excellent installation. Last job they only sent one guy but he completed the job in one day and his work was amazing.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the wonderful review! Your recognition of our work is much appreciated and we look forward to continuing working together for the many years to come. All the best. -the team at Sammy's Designer Flooring Ltd.

9/10

When our old house alarm went, Paladin was able to come in and replace the entire unit at the best price. They also added a second panel in our master bedroom. Their installers do good work and was really pleased with their customer service. Even after we stopped monitoring, they provided support for a minor issue. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

2/10

Manga and his team replaced the windows in our stucco home and there were many issues. He had to be reminded to replace insulation that fell out and damaged the walls and window sills removing the old windows. Put the wrong window in our bedroom and had to called back to correct. Many other issues but you get what you pay for. There is a reason why he charges less that other more reputable companies.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
9/10

Martin and his crew are great. He provided us the lowest quote (less that half of others!) to jack up our sunken front steps and his crew persisted when the job got tough. Was impressed with his customer service and commitment should they settle again (they have settled a bit, but not a concern).

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you!! Your comments are much appreciated!

8/10

Was directed to Kar Fai by our landscaper to make and install and electric swing gate for our driveway. Kar Fai did a good job with the design and quality. Only problem is they removed the circuitry so we can't make adjustments, but they have been good at coming back to service it for minor issues. A touch more expensive than others, but their service is good.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Replaced all windows and a couple of sliding doors through A1. The quality of work and price was competitive. Was happy with how the workers cleaned up after the job. A few years later, the windows are still good as is the install (no caulking issues). Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Awesome, even after all these years your are still enjoying the energy efficiency and comfort our windows provide.

Thank you for the compliments,

6/10

Called in for repairs to radiant hot water heating (one zone not working and system noisy). Zone issue fixed, but had to return to address the noisiness. Ended up paying for a new pump, which was not diagnosed during the first visit. After complaining, they reduced the charge for the second visit, but this is something they should've done without having the customer asking. Unfortunately, their pump failed after 2 years and had to replace it again.

Was this review helpful?
5/10

Due to recommendation, reached out to Dobney & Associates for a home inspection prior to purchase. Cost was reasonable, but the quality of work depends upon the inspector you get. Mine said he didn't access many parts of the home (including crawl spaces - in fact he couldn't squeeze in). Very superficial on many parts of the review and had to point out a lot of stuff he missed.

Was this review helpful?
6/10

Contacted Penfolds because of their reputation to fix a leak on a flat roof. Was a busy time of year and they committed to coming out, but failed to show, and didn't bother to call and let me know. In the end, they were able to fix the problem, but expect better customer service from this company.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

At Penfolds we are committed to providing customer service that people can rely on, and we are troubled to hear this. We welcome the feedback and would like to look into the matter further so we can rectify the situation, and do our utmost to prevent it in the future. Can you please contact me directly so I can look into the matter further. Shaun Mayhew – 604-254-4663

10/10

Pleasantly surprised with the quality of work and reliability of this company. A lot of gutter companies rip you off, but these guys are fair and stand behind their work. Had a couple of gutters leak some time after repairs and they returned and fixed under their warranty. Also fixed a damaged gutter that others had trouble with.

Was this review helpful?
7/10

Replaced a couple of circuits on a breaker. Reliable and no issues with quality, but was a little pricier than other options. Would recommend if you're in need of a good electrician.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the review. I'll pass it along to our service man.
Cheers
Robert

9/10

Recommend Canyon Springs if you are looking to service your garage door. Really good service and well priced. He did a quick check on our system as well and provided some extra work at no charge. Very reliable and does what he can to work around your schedule.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review my company.
If you ever have any issues with the door, remember I am only a phone call away!

6/10

Burrard provided one of the lowest quotes for a re-roof job, but the individual that provided the quote failed to go up on the roof and missed a flat portion so they ended up charging us an extra $2000 to complete the work. Made the job more expensive than other quotes. Overall, work quality was on par with others, but we did notice the flashing was abused and continues to look quite rough.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Raj replaced an old laundry room faucet and we pleased with his response time and service. He recommended we purchase the product on our own so his time would only go towards the install. Appreciate the effort to help keep costs down.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for reviewing us, we are very pleased to hear you are happy with our plumbing service. We also do furnace repairs/installations, hot water tank replacements, air condition installations and other plumbing repairs.

3/10

Called for a price to replace a hot water tank and authorized them to do it for $850 - and they must call me for any additional charges. Got the bill for $1200 and their office staff advised after the fact that they needed to replace an additional part and charged me for it and to get it from their van. Asked why they didn't call as required and they had no answer. Their only response was that they refuse to do the job without it. Really unfair as that should've been quoted and they were required to get my permission first - not do it and bill me afterwards. Have read other reviews about this company's shady practices.

Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

Paul Lehal handled the wiring of our yard for landscape lighting and an electric gate. Quality of the work was excellent and he worked really hard to come up with solutions to ensure our needs were met (location of lighting, lines, and switches). Highly recommend Paul and his company for any electrical work. Reasonable rates and good customer service.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

The team at Sunrise is fantastic and well worth getting a quote from. They repainted our 90s stucco home and exceeded our expectations all around. Richard is very professional and Chuck (and team) have excellent workmanship. If you have any issues, you'll have no problems having them return to fix them to your satisfaction. Very competitive pricing and really good customer service. Highly recommend!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
4/10

Contacted Sunbury Cedar to replace some porch stairs that were near the end of their life. Was really difficult to schedule work as they are very busy over the summer. Stairs weren't done right so they had to redo them. Jim has been helpful in finding a solution.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?

First Review

10/10

We have used Wayne's services for many years for small renovations and odd jobs around the house. He only operates via word of mouth, but does excellent quality work. Highly recommend Wayne for renovations.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Fred patched up a bathroom ceiling and replaced a hole in the tub wall and ceramic tiles resulting from a plumbing leak. Was very pleased with Fred's service to both the landlord and tenant and would consider his services for future property maintenance jobs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
0/10

Think they are fine for small jobs, but they struggled with a complete landscape makeover. Not recommended for decking or sheds and get their commitment up front. Didn't follow the timeframe and asked us to pay more to complete the job. Many issues that we've had to bring in others to address.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
0/10

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! Fell for their coupon upsell like everyone else. Purchased Groupon and they never performed the work and made us sign an invoice saying we'd agree to pay extra to have the services performed. After filing numerous complaints, they only agreed to a refund if we removed our review so others couldn't be warned. Very unethical. With so many reviews sharing this same experience, I would question others that give this company a 10.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?