Corner Lot Home Decor Furniture

Furniture
Danforth / Riverdale Toronto ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Furniture in Toronto  >  Corner Lot Home Decor Furniture
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

3%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Corner Lot Home Decor Furniture

Average customer rating:
1.2 10 (10 reviews)

Sort by

Andy Taylor from Toronto
Andy Taylor from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Couch that Never Arrived

Sadly, we prepaid for a couch that never arrived. Chris seemed like a nice guy, but we were stupid to pay in advance. Now the store seems like its going under. Every time I pass by it is closed. There are 60% off signs in the window. And there is not much stock left. Phone messages and emails go unanwsered. It makes me wonder if this is not criminal fraud and I should be calling the police.

Andy in Riverdale

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Kate from Toronto
Kate from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Coffee Table / WORST PLACE EVER

Shame on us for not doing our homework & heeding these reviews. DO NOT (I cannot stress this enough) DO BUSINESS WITH THIS SAD EXCUSE FOR A STORE. Our story is the same as those previously posted.... excuse after excuse for non delivery of item - sickness, family... Store closed for weeks on end, but a 'supposed' partner that can only do the buying but not run the store. And of course "I would refund your money but my credit card machine is not working."

Like others we left voice-mail after voice-mail and never received a response from Chris. Oh and the best, when questioned why there was no notice for the store being closed..."I left a note, but on the outside of the door and it was ripped off!"

Really!!!!!!?!!!!

We called visa and have a dispute claim in for refund. 8 weeks to go and hopefully this awful experience will be over.

WE WILL NEVER SHOP OR DEAL WITH CHRIS AGAIN. Do not shop at the Corner Lot! The place is an utter joke! Do yourself a favour and avoid the headache of dealing with this vendor.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Damian L. from Toronto
Damian L. from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Purchased a sectional and a sofa

I purchased a sofa and a section in mid-august from this store. Chris assured me that the furniture would be delivered in 4-6 weeks and that he would call me around the 3 week mark so that I could book the freight elevator in my building. I still haven't received the furniture. Chris does not pick up the phone (I have tried calling over 20 times) and sent him several emails which he has ignored. I will never purchase anything from this store again nor will I recommend it to anyone else. This experience has been a nightmare. I don't understand how this place is still in business.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Sydney Blum from Toronto
Sydney Blum from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Total disappointment, couches

Our story is alarmingly similar to those below. My boyfriend and I purchased a couch and a sectional couch from Corner Lot Home Decor in August, 2012. At the time we were told it would take 4-6 weeks for delivery, but the owner Chris assured us he would be calling us even sooner to give an update as well as the estimated delivery date. We never heard from him again. After patiently waiting for 6 weeks, I finally called and left a message, and also sent an email, to inquire about the status of our order. There was no response so I then went to the store, however it was closed for several days with no sign on the door nor any information on the answering machine. My boyfriend also called and emailed the store with no success. I finally saw Chris in the store a few days later, however after lengthy explanations he did not provide any information about the couches we had purchased and simply said that he would call me the next day with the delivery date. He never called and there was also no answer when I called to follow up, nor any reply to my subsequent email. I stopped in 2 more times only to be vaguely assured that the couches should come next week and that he would call me "tomorrow". To date, he has never contacted me when he says he will, nor has my boyfriend received any response to the numerous voice messages and emails that he sent inquiring about our purchase. At this point, we have left over a dozen messages and emails and received no response. Our couches were supposed to be delivered 3 weeks ago! I am very frustrated and disappointed with Corner Lot and the very poor customer service, let alone the store's failure to actually deliver the products we purchased. I would strongly encourage people to shop elsewhere...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Tara Kennedy from Toronto
Tara Kennedy from Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Furniture order

Here is my story, you can decide if you would shop at this store:
In July, I ordered two chairs from Corner Lot Home Decor on the Danforth and paid for them in full. At the end of August I called the store to see how my order was coming along as I had been promised delivery by August 31st (as detailed in my bill). I had to place a number of calls, I would say about 20, before I spoke with someone (no one returned any messages that I left). At that time, I was told they should be in the following week. When I never heard from anyone regarding delivery, I called the store again, leaving numerous messages (none were returned). When I did finally talk to the owner Chris, I was once again told that I would receive the chairs the following week. This did not happen. I then called the store over one hundred times (I have the phone bill to prove it!) and left over 20 messages (I also sent a dozen emails) to which I never received any reply, taking us into October.

In the second week of October, I finally did manage to talk to the store owner Chris who said he would get right back to me about the chairs....that was fourteen phone calls and six messages ago. After being given the run around all week, I was finally told that the designer that had helped me pick out the chairs had cancelled the order and that the furniture manufacturer had sold them to someone else. My designer never cancelled the chairs. So, I called the furniture manufacturer to see if they could track down the chairs or help me order new ones. After speaking with a very kind and helpful individual at the company, I learned that the chairs were never even produced. So, in summary: I was blatantly misled by the store owner for three months. If the chairs were never produced, how were they ready in September as I was told by Chris Collins and how was the manufacturer able to sell them to someone else? If my designer cancelled the chairs, why was I never refunded any money? When caught in his obvious untruths, Chris went as far as to claim that the furniture manufacturer was the one passing along false information to me, displaying a complete lack of integrity.
No matter what Chris' reasons were for not replying to any of my correspondence (busy, family emergency, etc.), there was no excuse for misleading me, a patient, paying customer.
I am so disappointed with the service I received. I was patient, sympathetic and understanding for three months as I waited for my chairs, only to find out I was being strung along with false promises the whole time.
To add insult to injury, Corner Lot did not refunded me my money for the chairs. I had to contact Visa myself and file a report to get the money back.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Mark Pundzius from Toronto
Mark Pundzius from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
1/10

Still waiting on the delivery of our sofa

Our experience is similar to the other reviews on this site. At the front end, the experience is fine [nice store, friendly owner], but once your money has been taken everything seems to come to a grinding halt. To listen to Chris, he must be the least lucky guy on the planet [short-staffed, death in the family, food poisoning]. Since our initial purchase made on June 25, 2012, we've left multiple phone messages/emails with no response. Although his phone answering message makes attempts to update his customers on his irregular hours, no one ever seems to pick up the phone. Going down to the store is a "hit and miss" experience as well. Actual store hours seem to have little connection to the business hours he has posted on the door. In spite of these frustrations, we've persevered in our pursuit to get satisfaction. We had arranged for the delivery of our sofa today [our second attempt at delivery as the first one failed] between noon and 2 pm. It is now 6:30 and we've wasted another day with raised expectations. No one is at the store even though the current phone message indicates that the store will be open "from around 1:30 pm", and neither our phone calls or email message have been answered. We started off our experience pleased, but are now terribly disappointed. We'd been told that we'd have our sofa in 2 to 4 weeks, but it's already been 10 weeks and we're still waiting for a resolution. Chris, it's time to step up to the plate and solved this once and for all! If you can't walk out of the store with your purchase, I wouldn't advise you to shop here. Mark Pundzius

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Yin from Toronto
Yin from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

sofa and chair

I have similar kind of experience with this store. The store owner gave numerous excuses for not able to deliver our furniture. He made us wait for two hours and didn't have the curtesy to call. Every time we talked to him, he said he would call the next day to arrange for delivery. Then we heard nothing from him, he didn't even bother to reply messages. Another piece of furniture we got from there is defective,he promised to give us a refund, but one month later he still hasn't paid us back anything. He has been making up excuses not to pick up the defective furniture I assume it's a way of avoiding the refund.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Lina and Matt in Upper Beach
Lina and Matt in Upper Beach
6 reviews Toronto, ON
3/10

Furniture Purchase and Delivery

1st time we buy furniture from Corner Lot on Danforth, the purchase experience was pleasant. Chris is funny and easy going. His assistant helped us to pick out the fabric for the sofabed. We are happy with her help and the price of the furniture. The problem all started from the post purchase - delivery. The estimated delivery date which printed on our invoice is May 30, 2012. Didn't hear anything. I waited for one more week, still nothing. I called the store on Wed Jun 6 to inquire, was told by Chris that the furniture is here, ready to be delivered.? He give me the options of Fri Jun 8 or Mon Jun 11, obtained the available time from me for both dates, and said he will call me back to cofirm the date. I didn't hear back from him, so called on Thursday Jun 7. He said it's going be Mon Jun 11 and he will call me back to confirm. I didn't hear back from him, so called on Friday Jun 8 to confirm Monday's delivery. He said the delivery truck is broken. He's not sure if they can get it back for Monday's delivery, but he will call me back to confirm. I didn't hear back from him, so called on Mon Jun 11. He said we need to reschedule without mentioning anything about the truck. He suggested either Wed Jun 13 or Fri Jun 15 and said Jun 15 is safe otherwise he would need to call me back to confirm. I agreed with Jun 15. So we rescheduled for Fri Jun 15 3-5pm. On the day of scheduled delivery he called me at 2pm said he has made a mistake. He wrote down the wrong Friday on the delivery form. He apologized for the error. I was frustrated, but thought at least he called to let me know and admitted that he made a mistake, there's really nothing I can do. So we rescheduled once again for Tue Jun 19 9-10:30am. My husband stayed at home until 11, nothing happened. We couldn't call Chris because the store doesn't open until 11 and from my experence nobody would answer the phones until at least 11:30. My husband was furious because he was extreamly busy to take the morning off. I called Chris and expressed our anger and demanded the furniture to be delivered to us the next day Wed Jun 20 otherwise we will ask for refund. He promissed the furniture will be delivered 2-4 the next day and said he will come with the truck so we can be sure. But I know I need to do everything in my power to ensure Wednesday's delivery regardless what he promissed. I left him a voice mail message Wed morning at 10 to remind him about the delivery, called him at 1pm to confirm again. He reassured me and said he will call me when they're on their way. I waited until 2:45 and called to see if the truck has arrived at his shop. He said the truck will arrive in about 20 minutes. I waited until 3:15 called again to see if the truck has arrived. He said he will give them a call to see where they are at. He called me at 4 said the truck has just left the shop and was heading over to my house abviously without him which I'm not surpprised and don't really care either. The shop is a 10 minutes drive from my house, but the truck didn't arrive until 4:30. I'm just glad though it has finally arrived. We've purchased a lot of furniture in the past, never had an issue with delivery, never mind an experience that's nearly as disappointed as this. Will not purchase from the Corner Lot again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Jack in Toronto
Jack in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
5/10

Purchases Armchair

Late last year, I visited Corner Lot because I really liked the look of their showroom items. Chris, the owner, made the purchase easy and assured us that we would have our chair within 4-6 weeks. We paid for the chair in full and when the chair hadn't arrived (and nobody had called to notify me) I called the store to find out when to expect it. Chris apologized and said that Decor Rest was indeed responsible for this mistake. Infuriated by the tardiness, I asked when I would receive the chair and he promised that the order would be 'rushed'. Finally, after 9 weeks of waiting the chair arrived. The arm was stretched and looked like your typical 'rush' job! Corner Lot decided to try and get me a credit for this mistake and incredibly (note the sarcasm) awarded me a 25$ CREDIT towards my next purchase!!!! Yippie!!! Would YOU purchase ANOTHER item after this debacle!? I complained about this and he told me that since it was on sale (sorry for being a responsible consumer)that was all they would offer me. I never heard back from him again. Decor Rest doesn't even answer their phones so I never heard from them either.
I really trusted this store and looked forward to making future purchases; that won't be happening.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are sorry for the extra time is took to deliver your chair and we always look to do a better job for all customers. We do however need to address some of this customers comments.
A rather large discount of $115 was given which included a sale price and a credit for the delay. This customer spoke to a customer service rep at Decor Rest and we had many phone calls and emails. We are sorry you find that people did not contact you as we feel we did what we could.
Once again we want to take all reviews seriously and will always attempt to improve our service.
Sales at Corner Lot Home Decor

Leigh P in East york
Leigh P in East york
1 review East York, ON

First Review

3/10

Recliner Purchase

After having already purchased items (a couch and bench) at Corner Lot Home Decor on the Danforth in the past, my husband and I decided to return and buy a leather recliner in November 2010. The recliner was delivered within a week, but unfortunately when we assembled it, we discovered that the seat part was broken (the seat sagged significantly to one side when the chair was reclined). I called the store the following morning (Saturday) to ask for a replacement, but as the owner was not there, an employee took down my details and said that she'd have him call back.
I waited two days for a return call, with no luck, so I called the store again and managed to get hold of the owner, Chris. He said that it wouldn't be a problem to replace the chair, and that he would order another one from the company. He said that he hoped to have it by the end of the week, but mentioned that it might take until early the next week. I called again around Thursday to find out the estimated time of arrival, and learned that it would not arrive until the Monday or Tuesday.
When I phoned on Tuesday, it turned out that the replacement chair had, in fact, not arrived at Corner Lot, as a result of some miscommunication with the chair company. Chris said that he'd first have to pick up our original chair that evening, return it to the company, and then bring us the new one the following evening. Suffice to say, we were starting to feel a bit frustrated.
The final straw came when Chris called on Wednesday afternoon to say that he would NOT be coming by that evening, and that instead, he would be busy with another customer. When I suggested that he bring the new chair by our place either before or after his other appointment, he responded that it would not be likely. As it turned out, the chair was delivered on Thursday evening.
As repeat customers at Corner Lot, my husband and I would have expected better service. The general impression with which we were left was that our custom was not valued, and that replacing defective merchandise in a timely manner was a low priority for Corner Lot. Typically, we make a point of frequenting independent and locally-owned businesses. Sadly, after this encounter, we will more likely shop for furniture at larger companies like the Bay or Sears, where at least there is a chain of accountability.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Leigh and Ian Warren,
As we are always trying to improve customer service, we thank you for your review. We are sorry that you had to wait as long as you did for the new chair to arrive which did take a few extra days. We will strive to improve as always for our customers.
Once again thank you for your review and all the best in 2011.
Sincerly
Corner Lot Home Decor

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Furniture pros in Toronto?