Reviews

0/10

Will not be engaging any further with them or this review - you the viewer can make up your own mind and read my other 9 reviews - I am always fair and give top marks when it is warranted. I will be upfront that I never actually got my house cleaned by Maret's so I can only speak to business practices and not their cleaning. I got them to come out and quote - this service costs 62 dollars and is refunded upon purchase of service. After this point I was emailed like 4 different times to confirm my appointment - which in fairness I did not get to all of them or in a timely fashion - but to me if I pick a date and confirm with you it's correct - we shouldn't need several more interactions. The date came and passed without service - and then I noticed that they had wanted me to E Transfer them the amount ahead of time - E Transfer is an unsecure service - once you pay someone via E Transfer it's non refundable for any reason - which I would not have agreed to even if I had noticed it upfront . And the last issue is the cost - finally I gave up - went with another provider from homestars ( also a 2022 winner with over 90% positive feedback ) who sent me a website link to book - booked with a credit card on the web portal, and got the same cleaning service at half the cost I admit this situation is about half my fault for not reading things clearly and not being available as much as they wanted - which is why this review is a 3 and not a 0. Maret's is far too expensive, far too hard to book with - and charges 62 dollars upfront after which you get hit with all these other oddities in how they operate. I requested my 62 dollars back and got ghosted, which isn't really too much of an issue and only confirmed what I already knew above - this business survives on trapping you into an expensive service and demanding money in a way you cannot get refunded if you are unhappy. An expensive lesson - learn from my mistake and stay away

Approximate cost of services:
$62.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Phil Venninckx


In your review titled (Poor communication) you admitted to a lot of things. And we want readers to judge if it is poor communication on our part or yours.

You stated, your review is about our business practises, and not cleaning.

Every company has their unique way of doing business, so you cannot compare us to others.

You stated, you had us come to your home for a quote at $55/hr plus tax = $62 dollars.

We made you aware of all details of our business process on paper, which you agreed to.

You stated, we emailed you like 4 different times to confirm appointment, you left out the part, that we also called and did not get a response. Is this miscommunication on our part?

You stated, we did not come for the service, of course we did not hear from you (all the emails and calls went unanswered), to confirm. We emailed you to cancel and you replied by email below:

Hi ………………………

Sorry about that I thought I had replied earlier this week

If it can still be accommodated great – if not I understand completely

Phil

You stated our service is costly, yes, because of the quality we provide. You knew our charges and still decided to engage us.

You admitted the situation was about half your fault for not reading things clearly and not being available as much as we wanted.

We will say it is entirely your fault, we value our clients, it is through communication that we are able to establish a working relationship, not a one-way communication.

You stated: you requested your $62 dollars back and got ghosted. We did not receive any request to this effect. You can prove it if we are wrong.

Our business process has always been open to our clients from the first moment they connect with us.
We say from the beginning that if service not used we wont pay estimate fee back! We value and respect all our clients, we take time and effort to build a working relationship, and we expect same from our clients.
Just because there is an avenue available to give reviews does not meant it should be abused.

Sincerely,

Maret and Rita

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

10/10

I chose Toronto Granite due to their reviews - even the negative ones seemed to shine with Bob trying everything in his power to make someone happy ( even giving refunds ). I felt confident that if there's an issue - they will correct it. I do not regret my choice Bob is always fast to reply to emails or calls The counter top was in stock The counter is beautiful Their pricing was fair I asked them to expedite the installation if possible and Bob did. Installers did a great job and were friendly- left a tiny mess, but my house is a construction zone - so this is to be expected and isn't a big deal One Caveat - Included is a picture beside my stove which has no edge, Bob explained this is normal and will be covered by my stove, for now I will take him at his word - he hasn't let me down yet - I will update my review if this doesn't work out but for now - 10/10 stars If you are in the market for a granite counter top, use Toronto Granite

Approximate cost of services:
$3,400.00
Was this review helpful?
6/10

This is our second time using The Urban Plumber. The first job was a shower install and was 10/10 for price, timeline and customer experience - we were ecstatic ! The second job was 2 toilets, 3 sinks , and adding the faucets to two showers - which was a mixed experience. The Great - Allan Replies Quickly - Schedules you in and follows up multiple times to ensure the date and time is met with a good customer service demeanor. Richard is a sensational plumber, his work is neat and tidy and impressed my dad who is hard to please - He even pointed out a few things he would recommend which we took him up on. The Good - Allan and Richard both are friendly guys - easy to chat with , and explain things well , and can find solutions to most issues ( we had a few challenging pieces to the job ) - they work on jobs big or small . The Not so great - Richard Showed up at 9 am to meet my wife, reviewed the job and then went to buy parts that were needed - my wife asked me to check in and see if he needed any help and to check on the job at 11:15 - when I showed up he wasn't there - as I was leaving his showed up with parts just before 11:30 -- which was fine until I found out I was paying for 2.5 hours at over 125 bucks an hour for it --- this stung - but I accept that part of this is on me to not ask more questions before accepting a service. --- The bill for parts was 700 - when I asked to see the receipt for this I wasn't provided it. Overall I am mostly happy with the quality of the work I Did let Richard know of my concerns and if they are addressed will update accordingly

Approximate cost of services:
$1,900.00
Was this review helpful?
7/10

We selected Air Force Duct Cleaning based on their stellar reviews and statement of upfront pricing for a quality job. I will speak first to the quality of the job - The workers showed up on time, worked quickly and were polite and courteous and worked quickly and the ductwork is clean satisfactorily. Communication is all done via email and is professional and reminders are sent which is a good plus. They call about 30-45 minutes before arrival - another good trait The negative - I realized after booking with them that they are a bit more expensive than other companies --- no big deal I told myself, the pricing is full and upfront and they are well reviewed -- and went ahead with the service instead of cancelling. My wife took care of letting them in and paying , and upon payment was presented with a machine which had only had tip options for 15% and higher options.... the lowest option was 60 dollars --- I don't mind tipping for good service, but it should be optional and definitely not starting at 60 dollars and going up from there. In closing - this company does good work and the employees are good people that do a good job - but the pricing is not transparent .

Approximate cost of services:
$450.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Philip, Thank you so much for your feedback.
Much appreciated.
We are looking into tip option settings as the machine is still set to factory settings. Sorry for the inconvenience it may have caused.
Kind regards,
Adel Majd

10/10

I received quotes from about 7 tile options on homestars. Verona Tile was not only the least expensive option, but also the best reviewed so we proceeded with him. First off, he got us a discount on the required tile from his distributor which saved us hundreds of dollars. Secondly he is lightning fast - the scope of the work was extensive but completed in 2 days Thirdly - we wanted in floor heating in 1 of the bathrooms and he came back another day to complete that floor for us breaking up the work and likely inconveniencing himself just to accommodate us. Fourth - Our shower needed a small sill/wall that was not part of the original quote --- he guided us through what to do, what to design it like, and drew a sketch on the wall for the carpenter to follow and then completed the work with no additional charge. Verona Tile what can you say about this gentleman , straight shooter, no nonsense, works hard and gets the job done at a superb price. If you need tile - call this man excuse the dirty footprints on the tile photos the house is still under renovations

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow! Philip, thanks so much for this review. I'm delighted to hear that you are pleased with my work. Working with you and Kim was a great experience and I look forward to future work with you both.

Thank you kindly!
Giulio
Verona tile

10/10

Richard is simply the best, he articulates his ideas well, gets a sense of what you want ( colour, layout, window style etc ) and knows his customer --- are you more flexible and want to save money? do you want something pricier and more luxurious ? and he doesn't pick for you --- he picks up on what YOU want and delivers.. Product is sensational, timeline was met and exceeded, price was by the far the best --- and the whole time treated me and my wife like family. Constant communication, great installation, got us exactly what we wanted at a more than fair price --- and ensured multiple times to come back and make sure we were 100% satisfied . This is the type of business everyone should be supporting -- if you need windows and doors -- don't hesitate, call Fortress .

Approximate cost of services:
$150,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Philip, thank you so much for the great and heartfelt review! It doesn't take long to assess someone and their true sincerity when you invite them into your home for a quote on work you want to have done. Richard is just that kind of person and truly treats each client with the utmost of care and it's what makes Fortress Windows and Doors unique in the industry, a team that really does care about our clients. We have "long term" mentality and know that if we treat you right, you will be our biggest advocate when friends or family are looking for windows and doors. Thank you again Philip, we appreciate your business and your kind words. Steve and the Fortress Team

6/10

I contacted Eugene about installation of a brand new Ductwork system and heating and cooling in my home I am renovating to live in. I compared his HVAC/Ductwork prices to a quote I got from costco and two other companies and his prices were far cheaper. I also showed him pricing I received on HVAC equipment and he offered me comparable equipment with a decent brand for about 10% less than costcos prices ( even factoring in their cashback offers ). At this point Eugene and AC Furnace GTA was at a 10/10. Ductwork - The work quality is FANTASTIC , zero complaints, however during installation several issues came up with the design due to the drawings - most of the issues were the result of poor drawings, however --- the installation blocked the entire bathroom in the basement - once I realized what was happening I asked them to stop and redirect the flows --- I know the drawings were bad, but I believe they should have realized making a bathroom inaccessible wasn't going to work. The cost of moving the ductwork added over 3000 dollars to the original HVAC costs ( about 50% ) - making it the most expensive of the options I was quoted by over 1000 dollars - on top of which I no longer have venting in either bathroom because that would have cost even more money to fix. This was a major headache and has left us over budget on this project and without the desired results at the end HVAC Equipment - The equipment is beautiful - it was installed well, and the most important part is I have Safe and quality heating and cooling in my house. The prices were very fair for the equipment and Eugene was easy to work with on selecting what was needed for my home. The two installers were both polite and courteous There were some hiccups along the way due to timing, cleanup of the project , missing ground wire, etc -- but these issues were mostly minor irritants and I understand with COVID and the snowstorm we had delays and unexpected circumstances can arise. Overall - I would 100% recommend Eugene for HVAC Equipment sales , I would also say his installation crews are competent and can do good work. He is quick to communicate and is clear and honest in his dealings. For ductwork -- The quality is good -- but I would double and triple check the plan before proceeding.

Approximate cost of services:
$24,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, Philip, that you gave us your Big Project with ductwork and all new gas appliances and gas line and despite the snowstorm and Covid restrictions we are so glad we managed to get this high mark from you.

10/10

Barry is a gem, came out quickly, provided a quote almost immediately and I felt like he would take care of me and my home, even though it wasn't the cheapest quote, his pricing was more than fair for a quality job. all the materials used were top quality , and even though it wasn't in the quote, the panel was filled completely with Breakers which likely saved a couple hundred bucks - Then there is the true star of the show Alyssa from the office, she was always fast to reply and pleasant to deal with , kept payments and paperwork on point , and answered any questions I had about the process and timeline , Quality support staff allow a business to shine and he has the best. Schneider Electric was used, which makes Square D - quality panel

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Philip, we cannot thank you enough for your kind words, and positive review. We sincerely enjoyed working for you, and we hope to do so again in the future. Thank you for your business!!

10/10

Colm is the best contractor I have ever worked with, from the first call, to the first visit, humoring my overly talkative father during the quote and process he's been polite, fast to respond , honest about what should be done and what isn't worth the cost and straight forward with more than fair pricing. I couldn't even get other companies to commit to doing the work this year or commit to a time to come quote the job , Colm was at my house the day after my first call and started work within 2 weeks of me giving the go ahead to the job. Job was done immaculately, job site was left clean, he checked in with me several times throughout the project to confirm where they were progress wise, ask me questions about what we wanted when he ran into choices to make , the work quality was immaculate ( especially the benching to lower the basement ) and worked with my plumber when he found an issue with the outside drain to point out the issue to them, and work with and around them. When the work was done, he provided instructions and a perfectly itemized bill to get rebates for the weeping tile and sump pump from the city If you are looking for waterproofing, this is your guy , I happily have his sign out front of my house, and would recommend him to absolutely anyone who needs any type of waterproofing Cheers

Approximate cost of services:
$15,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow Philip,thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review.We really enjoyed working on this challenging project and are delighted you are happy with the work done.Best of luck with the renovations on your new home.All the best!Colm

10/10

Tornado Plumbing took care of our drainage pipe and replacing the incoming city water line at a house we are renovating. From our first interaction with Peter I felt at ease, everything was explained properly, we got a fair quote, the work was done to specifications quickly and properly and the crew that completed the work came at 9am and worked until late into the night each night to minimize the project length. I am still waiting for the city inspection and Tornado to finish the front concrete walkway after that , but am confident in Serhei and his teams work and that this will all be wrapped up after the city inspection. I am going to need the plumbing inside the house done and plan on getting a quote from Tornado and will be my preferred vendor on any plumbing jobs in this renovation

Approximate cost of services:
$13,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Philip,

Thank you for such a detailed review. It's always a pleasure helping and assisting people with anything related to drains and plumbing. We're definitely going to help you with the City inspection, as we promised. We love what we do and it shows through the reviews from customers like you. Look forward to working with you again.