Reviews

10/10

I have worked with Modern Staging and would recommend them highly. They do a great job assessing a space and staging for the right market/tone. Aside from making the places look fantastic, they are pleasant to work with and work to accommodate your schedule. They are willing to work with existing furniture and mix in their pieces, which helps a lot with clients on a budget. Their cost is money well spent.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

My tenant called at a rental property and told us the washer just stopped working, my normal repair person is out of town so I took a chance with Modern Appliance. I am so glad I did. It was a circuit breaker, my tenant hadn't checked it, and Peter was so honest, he figured it out right away and told me what it was. He could have ripped me off and I wouldn't have known the difference, but he just charged me the service call. He was very knowledgeable, he had estimated what part may have been necessary (based on my description of the problem) prior to the visit and ordered it just in case, but it was not needed. I was very impressed by Modern Appliance and will call them next time I have any issues!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for taking time to give us such a glowing review
I truly appreciate your business and clients like yourself
Thank you

10/10

Tom had built a deck and fence for us at another property several years ago, and we were very happy with the work and how the fence and deck have aged with no wobbling or decay. When we needed fencing built in a difficult situation (lots of concrete, different grading, etc) we knew he was our go to guy. Tom's pricing is very competitive and he always ensures all the little details are taken care of, and they leave the site immaculate. We are exceptionally happy with the work he has just completed, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to friends or family, and will call on him for all our fence & deck needs - he does an awesome job!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much Adrianne for this glowing review!

I always take pleasure working with you on these projects, and I am also so happy to serve you again this second time working together!

I do hope you enjoy the 'newly fenced yards' and that you have a great summer season! Thank you again!

2/10

Priority plumbing was a no show once (they say they called but they didn't) and then called 15 minutes prior to the end of the arrival timeframe for their SECOND scheduled date and told us they wouldn't be able to make it. They eventually showed up on their third call and fixed the problem (but had to come back a FOURTH time to do the repair). Plumber who showed up was very nice and professional. Support staff were unhelpful and borderline rude. I will not use them again, we only agreed to a third call because we were in a bind.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Due to the extreme freeze in Toronto, we have been overwhelmed with emergency calls and must attend to the most extreme problems first. We are sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you. We have been working overtime trying to help as many people as possible and we do appreciate your patience. Unfortunately this is not something that can be planned for. - The Priority Team

10/10

I wish we had done this years ago! I called Herc and within a day he had submitted 2 drawings for me, tweaked them per my feedback, and then finalized the design. He was affordable, and we are so pleased with the product and installation (which is no small feat considering our wonky old house). I have already recommended him to my mom!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Adrianne and Jax,
Thank you for your business and the opportunity to prove what makes us different and the value we offer.
Hope you're enjoying the convenience of the organizer for a long time.
____Hercules___GeorgiaPeach___416-900-7883

10/10

I called Kevin when we had a really bad smell under the extension of our home. I had called another company who quoted $3400 for a huge amount of work they said was necessary and that I was on the verge of having our home penetrated by an army of rats. Kevin was so level headed and rational about the situation, he proposed the problem, and solution, was far simpler. He did a lot of work for us the first day, and has come back regularly to check - and we have not had another rat since! I am very happy with their honest, ethical, and efficient service.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Did a good job on our ducts. They were supposed to clean a second house for us and were very accomodating when the space was not available on the street for their truck.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Securing a parking spot in Toronto is challenging. Our truck requires the length of 2 cars directly in front of the house. We advise our customers remain vigilant the day or night before, and block off the space with the use of 2 vehicles or recycling bins, rakes, bricks or what-have-you. We have almost a 150 feet of hose, and have rarely had to re-book an appointment.

10/10

I have used Flavio numerous time at many locations. On this last job, as always he showed up on time, came in on budget, and did excellent work that fixed the problems. He is pleasant to deal with and cleaned up everything when the jobs were done. He suggested more inexpensive solutions to 'try' before having to do big work that might be unnecessary - and his inexpensive solutions have solved the issues we had. I have recommended Flavio to friends and clients before and will continue to do so.

Was this review helpful?
0/10

I hired Handyman matters after reading favourable reviews here. I had one person come out and do a small job for me (drywalling), and give me an idea of cost for the remainder of the larger job. The first job was done promptly and I have no complaints. The gentleman who did the first job called me and told me that the next job would cost about $2K and would require 2 guys for 2 days. I called the main number and told them that, and booked time for a few weeks in advance. I confirmed with the main office who had given me the outline of timing and price. The day before the job I called and confirmed that we were on for 9AM the next day. Tenants were made aware of the situation, building inspections were booked, and the main floor resident moved out for 2 days to accomodate the workers. At 8:55 the next morning I received a call from the guy who was going to do the job, informing me he was sick and that we'd need to start later. I explained that I would need to be there to go over what had to be done, and he told me that he "knew what he was doing" and would be there at 10:30. I couldn't be there, so I left a typewritten list. At 2:30 I received a call from him (seemingly he had just shown up), and he told me that he didn't know so much had to be done and there was no way the job could be done in the next 2 days as verbally quoted and then scheduled. No one at Handyman Matters had ordered drywall or any of the other materials required. Since everything had been scheduled around this being done in 2 days, this was a problem. I called the main office and was told that they couldn't provide me with any of the other materials. I was told that if I could find a company to deliver the materials to them by the next morning, then they could do the job. After racing around, I had 15 sheets of drywall and 2 doors arranged to be delivered by the next morning. When I called Handyman Matters to let them know, I was then informed that, despite what they had told me earlier EVEN WITH THE MATERIALS they would not be able to do the job until some time next week. At this point I decided not to proceed, because despite having someone come out, give me a verbal quote, dealing with the head office to book it, calling to confirm - they didn't do the job this time. What would need to happen for them to do the job the second time? The ineptitude of this company is shocking, and they truly didn't seem to care that the lives of tenants/inspectors/owners had been arranged around this. **UPDATE - RESPONSE TO JIM ABBOTT** A few items that I would like to address. #1 - I am a single woman with a small car arranging a construction job, I would have NEVER signed on to somehow cart 15 sheets of drywall, 2 fire doors and a bunch of construction equipment that is entirely foreign to me. Your employee who came out to do the original job and give me a price for the additional work stated that they would bring the materials. #2 - You state that some things are just out of your control and that in this case it was a sick tradesperson. That is not the case. I was told by two people at your organization on the day the job was supposed to be done that the job was too big for one person and no one had booked any additional help. The sick tradesperson was only one small portion of a number of failures on your end. #3 - I only hung up after: A) Being told the materials were completely unavailable and that if I could source them myself the job would proceed, only to be told after I sourced the materials (within 15 minutes) that the job could not proceed because the job had not been scheduled correctly B) I was told that my only option was to re-book for another time. Why would I rebook with a company who was obviously so unorganized and inadequate? Thanks for the opportunity to reply. Just as an FYI - I never received a call to apologise from Jim Abbott, who says he cares very much about clients experiences with his company. We had another company do the job and it was done beautifully, and on time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are terribly sorry that we could not help Adrianne in the time allotted. The tradesman that was scheduled was very ill that day and got out of bed in the afternoon to see what he could accomplish. It was our understanding that all the materials would be on site, do to some non standard sizing (odd size fire doors). We made a number of phone calls to suppliers to locate the necessary items with no avail. After many phone calls Adrianne became very upset and promptly hung up. At Handyman Matters we make every attempt to meet all our customer needs, but some items are outside our control. In this case a sick tradesman. This calendar year we have serviced over 850 customers in the GTA area and have received very high approval ratings. At Handyman Matters, we take pride in providing the best overall customer service experience. Jim Abbott., Owner.

10/10

I called Flavio after reading reviews on Homestars when I needed some general plumbing to be done on an older house we had just bought. Flavio was unbelievably helpful through the whole process - he always explained everything to me so I understood exactly what he was doing and why he was doing it, and he really went out of his way to help us out. He showed up when he said he was going to show up, priced himself very competitively, and went the extra mile (e.g. breaking up a concrete sink and disposing of it, because we'd already gotten rid of our disposal bin). Plus the work was done well, on time, and everything was always cleaned up beautifully. I would recommend Flavio to friends & clients and I will use him again in the future.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I called Flavio after reading reviews on Homestars when I needed some general plumbing to be done on an older house we had just bought. Flavio was unbelievably helpful through the whole process - he always explained everything to me so I understood exactly what he was doing and why he was doing it, and he really went out of his way to help us out. He showed up when he said he was going to show up, priced himself very competitively, and went the extra mile (e.g. breaking up a concrete sink and disposing of it, because we'd already gotten rid of our disposal bin). Plus the work was done well, on time, and everything was always cleaned up beautifully. I would recommend Flavio to friends & clients and I will use him again in the future.

Was this review helpful?