Reviews

10/10

I hired Hatten Masonry to brick in a window that I had to remove as a result of building code requirements, and parge around the new concrete stairs I had poured to replace the old ones. Dan showed up and finished the project on time and did a fantastic job. I was very impressed with Dan's workmanship and professionalism. Hatten Masonry will be the first company I call for any new masonry projects. Sincerely, Michael

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You for the review Michael. I look forward to working with you again in the future!

10/10

I hired Frank to pour new concrete stairs to my basement apartment after the company I originally hired, vanished, after only one day on the job. I was in a bit of predicament, because I only had one week to finish the stairs and pass the final building inspection if I was going to move my tenants in on-time. This was a rather small job for him, however, I think Frank felt bad for me and decided to help me out. He gave me his word that he would try to get the job completed on-time and more than delivered. Frank coordinated with the city and ensured that everything was done to code and even got the project completed one day early. But what impressed me even more was how he helped me address a last-minute request from the city which allowed me to get my final building inspection wrapped up. This was something that he was not even responsible for. I also appreciated the daily status updates from Frank so I knew how my project was progressing and when I could expect to have it completed. Frank is a no-nonsense contractor who delivers a quality product and professional service. I wish there were more guys like him on this site. Sincerely, Michael Okulicz

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the great review Michael , it was a pleasure to work for you and I wish you all the best .
Frank Barone

5/10

I called this company for a diagnostic call to my 2-unit bungalow in Whitby. The temperature in the lower unit was about 7 to 8 degrees lower than the rest of the home. It felt like the hot air was not getting pushed down to the lower unit. The technician Mario (I believe) told me that he didn't know what the problem was but that I should buy a $6,000 Mitsubishi ductless heat pump to solve the problem. I asked if he could run any diagnostic tests to see why the heat was not getting pushed down to the lower unit and he said he would need to rip down my ceiling and most likely it would be inconclusive. Lovely I thought. Before making any major purchases I decided to bring in another HVAC guy. He quickly explained all the issues and why a ductless heat pump would not be an ideal solution for the space. Everything was so logical and made so much sense. I could quickly tell who knew what they were talking about and who didn't. Long story short, we upgraded the furnace motor, ran a few extra ducts straight from the furnace down by the baseboards (as the ducts should be low to the ground as hot air rises), and built in an industrial grade electric heater into the wall. This solution completely solved my problem and only cost me $1800. Im so happy I didn't go with the option that this company recommended. Sincerely, Michael

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We strive to do our best assessment and offer solutions to HVAC problems. Mario is an experienced and skilled technician that offered multiple solutions to the reported problems. This is really an unfair assessment of Button’s as there seems to be some confusion as to the complaints and what our recommendations were. The original call was for the basement apartment that was too cold sometimes and very hot at other times. The only way a basement can get to 75 degrees in the winter is if the thermostat is set higher than normal as the basement is always the coldest part of the house. Michael wanted to find a resolution to fix both problems. Mario had also recommended running more ductwork in the basement. This would fix the too cold problem but this wouldn't fix the problem with the basement being too hot as the tenant upstairs needs to be comfortable as well and can’t turn the ac on in the winter. Mario recommended installing a lock on the thermostat so the tenants couldn't raise the temp higher than normal as it seemed like that was why the basement was getting way too hot in the winter. Additionally, we did recommended installing a ductless heat pump so if the upstairs tenant did turn the heat up higher than normal the basement tenant could turn the ac on and make herself comfortable. We would never recommend an industrial electric heater in a 1200 square foot bungalow. It uses a lot of energy and is possibly not even legal in a residential setting. The biggest reason Mario didn't recommend more heaters in the basement was because the basement tenant's major complaint was it got too hot in the basement all the time. Therefore, adding heat would not have helped that. Sounds like you may have part of your problem somewhat solved with another HVAC company but I think you will continue to have issues and hear the tenant complaints.

0/10

Hello, My finance and I hired Dee to paint our home based on the HomeStars reviews and the positive experience we got when meeting him. We were promised exceptional results however the experience was quite the opposite. - Their patching work was very sloppy - They did not lightly sand my newly installed crown moulding before painting as was promised - Their painting was sloppy - They did a poor job protecting my brand new stairs when painting the stringers and risers which resulted in paint leaking along the edge of my stairs. This will be very difficult to clean up as the paint does not come off easily. Dee - You need to take responsibility for the mess your guys made in my home!! I want you to send someone to clean this up or return my money so I can hire professional painters!!! Sincerely, Michael

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Mr. Okulicz,

Firstly, let me say once again, how truly sorry we are that your experience was not as we all hoped, and that we were not able to complete our work at your request.

We take our work very seriously, and with the highest regard for our customers. I can assure you there was no aspect of this job that my paint-crew could not have completed successfully, if given the opportunity to do so. The pictures you've opted to include here, are of surfaces they had yet to complete, and does not represent our finished work. Pictures of our finished work on similar surfaces, can be seen on our website.

Although I seem to have regrettably failed in this case, it is my policy and practice to gather all pertinent information during the estimate process, to ensure we provide the exact services most important to each customer, and manage expectations with open, honest communication. After all, we don’t like surprises any more than our customers do.

During our extensive initial meeting, you had expressed repeated disappointment with your previous painters and other trades you had fired throughout your year-long renovation. It was entirely my intention to help you overcome those bad experiences by delivering the good work we do routinely everyday for our customers. With aims to achieve that, I listened to your concerns, noted the areas you wanted us to focus on improving the appearance of, and explained how we would address those issues to finish the work done by others, to meet your standards. I also pointed out structural defects that would not be addressed as part of a typical painting project (as in: can’t be fixed by paint), and reviewed with you the Industry Standard which defines the makings of an acceptable painted surface.

When I believed we had reached an understanding of expectations and scope of work, I had genuine sympathy for you living on a job site for so long, and sincerely wanted to help you finish-off your project once and for all, so you and your fiancée could finally move-in your furniture, and start enjoying your home, and your life together.

So, we were surprised when my crew learned from you on the first day of the job, that you wanted them to perfect your previous trades’ hundreds of repaired tiny nail-holes on the crown mouldings that for all intents and purposes were finished. But without question, they began working to refine those details for you, anyway. These imperfections were not obvious without magnification from a normal viewing position, and certainly not visible to me, nor pointed out or discussed specifically in our meeting. Rather, I was simply asked if we would sand the crown before painting, which is a standard practice.

Day two, you pointed out several other items you wanted addressed more thoroughly on the crown and wall repairs, and more sanding was done on the crown to minimize the tiny peaks raised by the nails, along with its first coat of paint. But for the majority, the crew focused their attention that day on the much larger task of painting your 5 levels of staircase risers and stingers, which they almost completed.

A great deal of work was accomplished in these two days, and yet, at the end of the second day, you asked us to stop the work, even though nothing was in finished-form yet.

So, with respect and recognition that we were not going to be able to completely satisfy you, which is our priority with every customer, we agreed to leave the job to make way for you to select another contractor you were more comfortable with.

It was also our aim, that by leaving you with all the top-line Benjamin Moore paints we had purchased to complete the job, and the Frog-tape left installed to protect your steps, you would be free of having to pay your next painter for these materials, and for the time to install new tape.

It’s quite common for paint to bleed a little around the edges when it’s on a wood grain surface such as your steps, even through Frog-tape. We use this more-expensive masking-tape to minimize this type of bleed-though, and minimize clean-up in the end. It’s far better than using conventional painter tape, but we do expect some bleed on textured surfaces like this, and I’m only sorry we weren’t there to complete the job, which would naturally have included cleaning off these tiny paint-stragglers. Whichever professional you hired to complete the risers after us, would have had to clean it themselves even if they re-masked them. But since only a few risers needed their last coat, and the rest only needed touch ups, this way, we’ve left you with less time and expense needed to complete the work very easily, rather than if your new painter were to re-tape all 30+ stairs again.

So, for the breakdown in communication about the full scope of work, which I should have perhaps investigated more deeply during the estimate, and for which contributed to your decision to have my crew stop their work despite their best efforts, I can only apologize; and you will receive no further billing for the balance of labour and materials otherwise owed.

Sincerely, and without bias,

DEE L POTTER
Owner

10/10

Kris did an amazing job painting my living room and repairing my damaged stucco ceiling! A true professional painter! Don't bother hiring anyone else. Unless you like to be disappointed. Thanks, Michael

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the feedback Micheal! I'm glad we were able to help you with your project. We are looking forward to working with you in the future.
Thanks,
Kris Grundy

10/10

After having crown moulding botched 3 times by the same company, Richard came to the rescue. He did a spectacular job! Truly a skilled carpenter! I would not experiment with anyone else! I was so pleased with his work, I am having him come back to install crown moulding in the foyer and the top floor of my house! Thanks, Michael

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review. We know that you have a world full of choices and I truly appreciate that you have selected Unique Custom Mouldings & Trim. I always do my best as a skilled carpenter and enjoy I truly enjoy what I do and that's what makes the difference. Thank you and I look forward to working with you again.

8/10

I hired Newridge Refinishing Group to strip down my staircase and refinish it. They did a great job staining my maple stairs and railings. The colour/shade of the stain was consistent with very flew blotchy spots. This was a challenging task given that maple has a very tight grain and doesn’t absorb stain as evenly as oak. There are still some touch-ups required to the polyurethane finish (streakiness, and wrong sheen applied) and to two of the railings (colour didn’t match on one railing, some spots were missed due to accessibility). I have decided on a tentative rating of 8/10 as there is still some touch-up work outstanding. These touch-ups are in the process of being addressed. Once the touch-ups are completed, I will finalize this review. Thus far, it has been a positive experience working with the Newridge Refinishing Group as they are committed to ensuring complete satisfaction and professional client service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a detailed review of your experience thus far. We will take care of the remaining touch-ups as mentioned above.

Warmest Regards,
Scott and Sebastian

UPDATE on March 28:
This project was completed about a month a go and the client is satisfied with the final result. The above review has not been updated.

10/10

I used North Durham Appliance on two separate occasions to inspect and repair two different washing machines at a rental property I own. These guys were professional, dependable, reasonably priced, but most importantly got the job done. I would highly recommend them. Thanks, Mike

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Michael for your continued business and kind words. We appreciate your feedback and business.

10/10

Milorad did an exceptional job installing our new foyer tiles. The layout was beautifully planned out, and the floor is as smooth a glass! Not to mention he provided exceptional value for the results he delivered. I can't imagine how anyone could have done this any better. Thank you, Michael and Virginia

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Michael.

8/10

We are very happy with the final results however the process of getting there was not as smooth as we would have hoped. The project started off great and we were very pleased with the progress and enjoyed working with Caio. However, at some point I feel the communication started to break down and the quality of the finishing work started to deteriorate. We were no longer being consulted on major decisions or being advised of deviation from the project plan. After mentioning to Caio that a shower bar was mounted where we didn't want it to be, it took 3 separate attempts to remedy the issue as our instructions weren't followed. We were quite disapointed to find that several of the items we had purchased for the bathrooms got scratched up during the installation (chrome shower plate, tub, vanity countertop, toilet seats). These items eventually got repaired/replaced however the process of getting these guys to take responsibility for the damaged items wasn't the most pleasant. In terms of the finishing work, we found the painting to be sloppy and after having the painters come back several times we ending up touching up the painting ourselves. We were eventually told the project was finished and to meet them at the house with the final cheque however certain items still weren't completed (buffing the tub) and the drywall repair in the living room was very poorly done. I was really shocked at this point as to how professional contractors could do such a sloppy job on the drywall and consider it to be finished. In conclusion, I must say that this company honoured their word and remedied all the issues. I only wish that this experience could have been smoother. Sincerely, Michael and Virginia

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Michael & Virginia,

We are genuinely sorry that your experience with our company did not live up to your expectations. As evidenced from the hundreds of previous reviews, we will always stop at nothing to try and exceed our clients' expectations. Any job can have a list of items that need touching up. A good company always reviews that list with the client and will complete the requested touch ups. We believe we did that methodically on your job. The pictures provided here are not the completed finish. We are particularly surprised given the fact that you have requested additional work in other areas of your home after the job was complete. The ultimate endorsement of a job well done, is when a client is willing to use the same company again for another project. Regardless, we are sorry you were not completely satisfied. Wishing you an enjoyable summer.
Ben and Dan

10/10

It was a pleasure working with John and his team at Oborne Contracting. My fiancé and I loved John from the very beginning. He really took his time with the initial visit, explained everything in great detail, gave us a few lessons on safety, and even a few tips on the rest of our renovations that we were not hiring him for. The execution of the work was equally impressive. Everything was done as we had discussed to the very last detail. I think what sets John apart from the rest is how professional and well managed his company is. Although Oborne Contracting is not the cheapest, these are the guys I would call if I need something to get done right. Sincerely, Michael and Virginia

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Michael and Virginia for all the kind words, we enjoyed working for you and hope to work with you on other projects in the future, please don’t hesitate to call if you ever need anything or any home/construction advice.

10/10

The shower glass looks amazing!!! From initial contact, to measurement, to modifying our measurement, to installation, Frank and his team did a fantastic job! Frank also graciously held our shower glass for a few weeks while we dealt with renovation issues. I have very high standards and can tell you that Frank and his team exceeded them. I highly recommend them. Thanks, Michael and Virginia

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Michael for your review, it gives us peace of mind knowing that we exceeded your expectations meaning that we know what our clients want and what we have to do to go above and beyond to give our clients the best possible experience with their bathroom reno.