Reviews

10/10

I've used this service 2-3x before, and was always thrilled with the service. Clean. Professional. Knowledgeable. Experts in their field. My wife and I found that we could spend a whole day trying to assemble a BILLY Bookcase, doing it wrong, and fighting with each other out of frustration in trying to assemble the furniture (done wrong), which we had done in the past, or we could pay a nominal fee for the pros to do the job. This time round we had 3 boxes of furniture from Wayfair. A coffee table, a storage bench, and 6 dining room chairs. It took the installer 2 hours from walking in the door to the time he was done, including time spent sweeping up and cleaning up after himself. 2 hours! It would have taken me twice that long just to unpack the chairs, never mind trying to assemble everything! The installer always brings all the tools needed to do the job. It's a pet peeve of mine when a contractor says "Hey, do you have a screwdriver? Wrench? Hammer?" or whatever part. Not an issue with these installers! And they always lay a heavy mat on the floor to protect my floor from getting scratched or dented from the installation process. Thrilled with the service, we're bringing them back again in a few weeks for another round of installations! LOVE the service! Hugely recommended!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Matt, thank you for your review of IKEA Furniture Assembly Service. We appreciate you taking time to let others know about the great service and hope you think of us for your future assembly needs. Enjoy your furniture! :)

10/10

This past summer, we had a need. We had grown tired of the now-horrendous builder's steps that were 20+ years old, all cracked and worn. The walkway was difficult to traverse, with strange demi-steps tucked away secretively so that one would break their ankle if they didn't pay full attention. The steps up to the porch were seemingly 20' high each, you needed to be a super athlete (it seemed) to get up the 2 steps to the front porch. I exaggerate, but you get the point. It wasn't pretty, and it wasn't working. So as an experienced HomeStars user, I took to the web to find local contractors that would be able to quote on the job. I had no idea of the price/cost of the job or the timelines needed. Heck, if a contractor had told me "It'll cost you X, but we're all booked up for this year, we'll book you in for June 2018" then I would have been open to the idea. Some contractors said "We don't do Newmarket, too far." Some said "We're all booked full for this year..." and didn't extend the option of hiring them for next year. Some contractors came by, and made as if we were allllllll best friends. "Don't worry about a price. I'll do good work." or "Nah, I don't have a quote sheet. Just trust me. I do good work." "You want that in writing? Oh no no no..." My favourites were the ones who would give me a quote "Concrete Job. $X" and not specify anything in terms of what materials, what steps or processes, not specify the nature of the job or any details beyond "Concrete job" with a price. For SOME, this may be good enough. For me, I wanted a job in writing that specified what I was getting, what the service being provided was, and what materials/methods were being used. After eliminating many of the quotes-on-the-back-of-a-napkin types, I whittled the list down to 3. 1) One was a masonry company that allegedly (I can't confirm this) may or may not take the $$$ and sub contract it out for pennies on the dollar. This guy wanted something in the range of $20k for the job. OUCH! If I were in a super rich ultra-affluent neighbourhood with a huge project in mind, I can see that. But this guy's pricing was sky high. YES, the project quoted was to bring the walkway up to National Building Code....strong enough to park a fleet of 747 airplanes on. That was a bit beyond the immediate scope and need of the project. No deal. 2) The second quote was for about $10k or so. Included options for a rubber-coated patio and was also fairly detailed in the work. Good reputation. And they admitted that they were more expensive than others. No subcontractors, all work done in-house. 3) Then there was Gian at Churchill Construction. Yes, his price was half that of the other guy's, or one-quarter of the "Park a 747 here!" contractor, and that was NOT why we hired him. His quote was detailed, specific. He answered all our questions and even patiently explained all the specs and lingo and mumbo-jumbo found in many quotes, explained what it all meant and why it all mattered, and provided options. The more I researched different construction techniques or concrete additives, the more Gian would patiently and expertly answer all questions without a sigh or a groan or any upset at all. Gian was easy to reach by phone, text, or email. Gian also managed our expectations for the job, told us how long it would take, how long we'd need to stay off it, after-care, etc, so we knew how to be ready and what we'd need to do. We hired Churchill Construction and waited to be put in queue for the job to start. Gian notified us a few days out of the planned start date so that we could arrange to park on the street and clear the driveway. On the day of the job, Gian and the crew from Churchill Construction were already onsite before 7am, prepping the job site. It's a pet peeve, I hate it when a contractor shows up and says "Hey, buddy, got a screwdriver / hammer / laser level / diamond-tipped saw I can borrow???" That did NOT happen with Churchill Construction. They brought all their own tools and equipment, came prepared to do the job and knew what had to be done. The job got done on time and on budget, and we are very happy with the quality of work done by Churchill Construction. Yes, we would highly recommend them to anybody!! The test will be to see how well the walkway holds up over the winter freeze/thaw cyle, see if any cracks appear come 2018.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow !!! Thank you so much Mr.Roher , I do believe we went about that project super solid ...
Enjoy it for many years to come

10/10

In the past few years, the weeds had taken over our lawn. There were more weeds than grass. It was out of control. There was too much to try and spot treat with Glyphosate (aka "RoundUp"). Then we heard about HomeTurf Lawn Care. So we went to their website to check it out. Right away, boom, I was given the option to get a quote for my lawn. Brilliant! No having to wait for a tech to show up and give me a hard sell, no having to schedule times to wait around for someone who may not ever appear, just type in the address and BAM, there's my price. What was great was that the company STUCK TO THE PRICE QUOTED. No hidden fees. No small print. No silly excuses of "Oh that pricing only works for GREEN grass. Your grass is Green Green, not just Green. So I'll have to charge you extra..." Nope. The price quoted was the price paid. All very nice and easy. And the price was maybe 1/3 of that of similar competing services from other companies with flashier marketing and fancy brochures. Immediately prior to hiring HomeTurf, I emailed them pictures of the horrifying state of my lawn to confirm if they could even help, or if it was a lost cause. The tech manager called me back upon reviewing the pics and said yes, the lawn could be saved, though to be fair it might take until the 2nd year of treatment to take full effect. Yes, the manager said, some effect and gradual incremental changes would be seen right away, though likely not reaching peak performance until a 2nd season. This wasn't a hard sell or sales tactic, the tech manager wanted to ensure that the company set the right expectations from the get go. True to their word, after the first few treatments, the lawn started to get better a little bit at a time. The tide was turning in the war of the weeds, and the lawn was coming back to life...slowly. Now, having just completed a 2nd full year of treatments, the difference is overwhelming. The grass is lush and green, soft and bouncy. The weeds are crowded out by all the vibrant healthy grass instead. My neighbour, jealous that my lawn was all healthy and green, loved what he saw from the results of using HomeTurf, and himself is now a customer. The results speak for themselves. New this year, at least for me, is that they have started to call me about 24 hours out from their anticipated next visit. This gives me the chance to clean up the lawn from any wading pools, toys, soccer balls, hoses, etc to better allow the tech to do his / her job. VERY happy with the service, the value for the $.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review, Repeat C! We're thrilled that you've had such an excellent experience with us and that your lawn looks beautiful because of our services. We love hearing that you recommend us to a neighbour, it means the world to us! We appreciate your business and recommendation and look forward to servicing your lawn again next season!

10/10

I found Modern Appliance on HomeStars a few years ago, and since have added Peter's contact information to my speed dial! I recently had to get Peter to come and have a look at my dishwasher. I had emailed him the make and model info ahead of time, and Peter came to the door armed with advanced knowledge of common problems found in that model and how to fix them, and at what cost. Turns out it was a much simpler problem than anticipated, leading to a much smaller repair bill. Phew! Peter always arrives on time, is neatly and professionally dreamed, brings his own tools, and always cleans up after himself. He responds promptly to all enquiries, and has repeatedly earned my business. I would recommend Modern Appliance to anyone!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for making time to give us such a glowing review!!!
I truly appreciate your repeat business and especially clients like yourself
I look forward to working with you in the future
Thank you again for your support!!!

10/10

On August 8 2017, I had opportunity to use Dryer Vent Wizard's services at my home in Newmarket, and was exceedingly thrilled with the quality of work and their professionalism. Our dryer had recently stopped working, and who are we to know better, so we called the dryer repair tech to come and have a look. Turns out, it wasn't the dryer itself, it was the vent that had gotten clogged over the years. The dryer tech left it at that, and so I hit Homestars to find a company that could help with the dryer vent cleanout. I found a bunch of duct cleaning companies that wanted to charge about $350 ish for duct cleaning, sometimes the dryer was extra $$. My local HVAC shop was $100 just to walk in the door to diagnose. And other shops were competitively priced just with limited availability for Newmarket area. With 2 kids at home, we needed the dryer working, and soon! I called Dryer Vent Wizard and got through to Tyler (the owner), who confirmed that by random luck, a tech (Leighton) was finishing a job in the area and could see me in about 40 minutes time. Great! No, I know this isn't going to the case every time, and it was just a matter of good timing. Right time, right place. Best of all, it was only $39+tax for the service call. Leighton came over to the house, and the first thing I noticed when he pulled up was he was driving a company car. By that I mean it was professionally wrapped / branded with the company's logo and phone #s, not just some random person driving a beat-up old Chevy. Leighton himself came cleanly dressed in a company uniform and dress shoes. He even supplied his own shoe covers (like wellingtons) so that he wouldn't track dirt in my house while walking around. Right from the start I could see that Leighton was a knowledgeable, skilled, informed technician. He quickly diagnosed the problem, and showed me what he had found. He provided recommendations for how to fix the problem and was able to price out the work on a written estimate. I authorized the work quoted, and Leighton got to work right away - on the spot. He brought all his own tools and equipment (it's a pet peeve of mine when a tech says "do you have a screwdriver I can use? A hammer?") , and was very thorough in testing and checking everything both before and after. The amount of lint and water that had been building up in my dryer vent over the years was disgusting. Horrifying. Which was why the vent had gotten blocked. What I liked about Dryer Vent Wizards was that they are equally committed to public education and information, they work with local fire departments and do Public Service Announcements to help inform homeowners on how to fix problems pro-actively, not just waiting for people to call them when there's a problem. When I reached out to Tyler after the job was complete, he insisted I HOLD OFF on writing a review until I had tested the dryer first. "Run a load of laundry, see how well everything dries. Then go ahead and write a review if you're still satisfied." I did. I am. Thus the review. I would certainly recommend Dryer Vent Wizard's services to others. Highly recommended!!!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the detailed account of your experience with us. We strive to treat every customers home as if it was our own. Our goal is to drive away from each job knowing that you are safe and that you understand how important dryer maintenance is to the well being of you and your family. The Ontario fire department responds to a dryer fire on average every 2 days. They happen more often than most people think. Thank you again for the review. I am glad we could service you before anything more catastrophic happened.

10/10

One phone call does it all.! We've used Modern Appliance before and were always delighted with the work. This time our dryer started acting up, and so we called Peter @ MA. Based on the description of the problem he was able to give a "best guess" over the phone as to the nature of the problem and estimated cost. We made an appointment for him to come in and have a thorough look at the machine. Peter is always cleanly professionally dressed and always arrives within the time window he provides, this time no different! Peter confirmed the problem and the price and fixed everything to be better than new. He also advised of future repair needs that may likely come up based on the model / style dryer we have, parts that are known to predictably fail after X years. We are very happy with the service and quality of work from Modern Appliance. Great work at a fair price.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your repeat business and especially your time to rate us so highly!!!
I truly appreciate your business and clients like yourself
Thank you

10/10

One call did it all! I called IkeaMan based on the favorable reviews on HomeStars. We discussed the project, and reviewed the list of items I was planning on purchasing from Ikea. They were quick to offer suggestions and recommendations, cool! Once I made the purchase, I emailed them my info and -- lightning fast -- received a firm quote, estimated time to complete the assembly, and fast date for when they could come. The day of the assembly, the installer was running early so they gave me the option to wait until our scheduled time or come right away - either was fine with them. The installer came and was very professional. All I had to do was point to where I wanted the furniture. He had all his tools with him and laid down a mad to protect my floors. He cleaned up everything as he went along. He broke down all the cardboard until smaller pieces and taped them all together. All the trash he put into a garbage bag. The job got done ahead of schedule (less time than forecast), the furniture looks great, and not a spec of dust or debris anywhere. We would HIGHLY RECOMMEND their services to all. To compare, I emailed the Official Ikea-preferred assembly company and was told they could NOT offer me a quote until I showed my receipt -- even though it would just show the same thing as what I had emailed, they refused.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for your review of Ikea Furniture Assembly Service. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about the great service, and hope you think of us for your future assembly needs. Thanks again!

10/10

The dishwasher was busted, would not drain. We had Peter's number from a previous occasion years ago, gave him a call. He came over same day! He explained the problem and what he had to do to fix it. He provided a fair estimate. Fixed the problem and went the extra mile to make sure it wouldn't happen again. He left everything clean and tidy once done. We were very impressed!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Matt for your support and that great review!
I truly apreciate your business and clients like yourself
Thanks again!!