Churchill Construction

Concrete Contractors
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Concrete Contractors in Maple  >  Churchill Construction
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Churchill Construction

Average customer rating:
9.2 10 (21 reviews)

Sort by

1 review Scarborough, ON

Put in a front yard patio with trim along both sides of the driveway and re-built our stairs to the front porch. All in aggregate concrete.

The finished product looks beautiful. Giancarlo and his team were great to work with. Started and ended exactly as planned. No added costs even though we made some minor changes along the way. I found Giancarlo to be very honest and I trusted him and his opinion throughout the process. Definitely recommend him! Thanks Giancarlo. You can use us as a reference and show off the photos of the patio or have people drive by. It looks beautiful and we see everyone stopping to take a look ... Mark and Leone

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Leone and Mark. We thank you so much for giving us an absolutely amazing working environment, you guys hospitable and that made it so easy for us to work with you.

Thank you for your review as we will strive to give every client an experience like yours.

Cheers !

Julie from Newmarket
Julie from Newmarket
3 reviews Newmarket, ON

Concrete pathway

I texted Giancarlo for a quote and received a reply within minutes.  The next day he showed up to provide me an estimate.  He listened to what my requirement/needs were and gave me options for what I wanted.  At no time did he pressure me into hiring his company or tried to get me to purchase something more expensive.    He would have started approx. 1 week later but I had to delay the job.    There was an issue with the location of my water drainage pipe.  Giancarlo gave me two options for how they could deal with it.  He ended up doing the option he did not recommend because it was what I had wanted.   
I can not say enough good things about this company.  Everything I asked for was delivered plus some.  They ensured the concrete was level with my grass (for safety issues) , ensured it was level with the sidewalk so snowplows would not hit it.  The colour and design turned out much better then I had imagined.    All the employees were professional and courtesy.  They cleaned up absolutely everything.  My only complaint was if I had known how much I was going to love it, I would have made it larger.  Thank you Giancarlo. 
P.S. I attached a photo but the photo does not do it justice.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

OMG Julie you were truly amazing to work for !
Not only did you make it so easy to work with, but I would recommend anyone to do work for you ..

Thanks so much for the opportunity!

2 reviews Brampton, ON

Backyard Concrete

Giancarlo and his staff from Churchill Construction were amazing, very easy to work with, professional and price was very reasonable! After the concrete went down, we then invited friends and family over they were amazed on the work that was done. My husband and I want to thank you so much for effortless work!
Kadie & Lorenzo

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you so much Kadie and Lorenzo for giving us the opportunity to work for you , it was our pleasure. The team worked so well with you guys as you guys were so hospitable at your lovely home.

Enjoy !!

Seguin in North York
Seguin in North York
1 review Toronto, ON

concrete steps/pad

I was initially impressed with this company, had lower quotes but bought into the story given; they have had to fix the steps and reparged, now the same step is cracking, and new cracks are showing on the bottom pad and top of landing. I now am contacting them direct but as I had given them a good review at first I want to make a correction.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

We apologies for your displeasure and we will try and satisfy you 100% we believe that our client care is one of the most important parts of our business.

Cindy in Scarborough
Cindy in Scarborough
3 reviews Toronto, ON

Modern Concrete Patio

My husband and I recently hired Giancarlo and his team to build our backyard concrete patio and decorative cast-in-place stepping stones. The look we were going for was a modern, smooth finish.

We interviewed several contractors and hired Giancarlo. His estimate was the second highest we received but we believe in the saying "you get what you paid for" and felt really comfortable with him during our initial meeting. He was punctual, energetic, seemed very knowledgeable about concrete patios. Because we had a specific look and design we wanted, we wanted to make sure we hired someone who knew what they were doing.

Unfortunately, there were some mistakes made on the patio itself and the customer service provided. Here’s the breakdown:

The GOOD: Giancarlo was always available for texts, emails and calls. He and his team were punctual and FAST – we met with Giancarlo beginning of May, the work started a couple weeks after that and it took only 1.5 days to complete. When things went downhill, I reached out to Giancarlo and asked for $300 back (more on this later). While most contractors would probably ignore that request, Giancarlo responded very promptly and agreed to give our money back.

The BAD: Inconsistencies. We had several conversations with Giancarlo about the specific look, measurements etc of what we wanted for our patio. Concrete is expensive and long-lasting so we wanted to make sure we got the final product and look we wanted. We found that he was inconsistent in the things he told us and he backtracked quite a bit:

1) During our initial meeting with Giancarlo, we told him we wanted 2” in between the cast-in stepping stones. He said that was too narrow but he could do 3”. Totally fine with that. But by the end, he was saying he would need 6”-12”. We couldn't really understand why it was possible to do 3" during the initial consultation but now he was backtracking and telling us 6-12". Anyway, we settled on 6" and that was good enough.
2) We wanted black gravel for around the stepping stones. He said black gravel is really hard to find so if we wanted that look, we would need to source our own. He said he couldn’t reduce the cost of the estimate even if we purchased our own gravel because we really only need 4-5 bags so the cost is negligible. As non-concrete contractors, we were able to find black gravel pretty easily at a store in Whitby and we ended up needing 17 bags even with half the space back filled with dirt. The amount of bags he said we would need was a huge miscalculation.
3) He said he would clean up “everything he touches”. But left 3 big tree roots . When asked why they were left behind, he said “I can’t take tree roots and your husband knows that” – not true., he never told my husband that. And speaking of clean up – we found several cigarette butts in our yard from the workers. We have a crawling 9 month old who likes to put everything in her mouth so this was very disappointing.

The UGLY: To our dismay, we found a foot print in one of our decorative stepping stones after the first day. We took a picture of it right away and asked Giancarlo if there was anything we can do. We were very disappointed with his response, which was that he was sorry, hopefully it won’t be too noticeable once it cures and that him and his team are not perfect. He didn’t bother to go through the different options on how to deal with a foot print on an area that is supposed to be decorative. If the foot print was in an area that could be covered with furniture, I would understand his response and would even have rolled with that but this was in an area that was too visible. After being dumbfounded by his response and asking for options he said he could patch it up but that it would look 10% darker in the rain. We opted for the 10% darker patch over a foot print.

Attached is the picture we sent to him and the patch job that was done. The patched area is MUCH darker than 10% and not just in the rain. The picture is a week after the job has been complete. Because we were so unhappy with the above, we reached out and asked for $300 back (total cost of the job was just under $8000). He agreed gracefully. We’re glad he agreed but do feel that he should’ve offered to discount the price before we had to ask.

But then things turned even uglier. One of the things that was in our contract was that he would patch up a small area of our house foundation wall before pouring our patio. We noticed 2 days after the job was done, that the foundation wall was never fixed. My husband texted Giancarlo to ask why this wasn’t completed. After texting back and forth Giancarlo called my husband and was EXTREMELY unprofessional. He yelled and said that we had “ruined his weekend”, why didn’t we mention this at the final inspection etc (maybe because we were distracted by a huge foot print and subsequent patch job). He did call back afterwards to apologize and explained why the foundation was not patched up. The explanation he gave seemed fine but if something was a part of the contract and it was not completed, he should’ve come to us at the final inspection, pointed it out and provided an explanation proactively before we had to notice and wonder why it wasn’t done. And of course, not getting mad when the customer asks a valid question is important.

Needless to say, we won’t be working with Churchhill Construction again.

Review has 1 previous version
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow , I apologize deeply for your disappointment in that gorgeous backyard patio that Churchill construction has constructed for you.

I am totally sorry for your feelings towards us and yes not everyone is perfect.


Thanks once again


1 review Pickering, ON

Concrete back yard , Front yard and side of the house.

Giancarlo Team was excellent. One time. One budget. Professional and experienced yea
Recommend Churchill Construction 100%.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you Mr. Panis I hope you and your family enjoy that beautiful colour concrete patio and entrance .

Thanks !

Repeat C.
Repeat C.
8 reviews Newmarket, ON

New walkway for house

This past summer, we had a need. We had grown tired of the now-horrendous builder's steps that were 20+ years old, all cracked and worn. The walkway was difficult to traverse, with strange demi-steps tucked away secretively so that one would break their ankle if they didn't pay full attention. The steps up to the porch were seemingly 20' high each, you needed to be a super athlete (it seemed) to get up the 2 steps to the front porch. I exaggerate, but you get the point. It wasn't pretty, and it wasn't working.

So as an experienced HomeStars user, I took to the web to find local contractors that would be able to quote on the job. I had no idea of the price/cost of the job or the timelines needed. Heck, if a contractor had told me "It'll cost you X, but we're all booked up for this year, we'll book you in for June 2018" then I would have been open to the idea.

Some contractors said "We don't do Newmarket, too far." Some said "We're all booked full for this year..." and didn't extend the option of hiring them for next year. Some contractors came by, and made as if we were allllllll best friends. "Don't worry about a price. I'll do good work." or "Nah, I don't have a quote sheet. Just trust me. I do good work." "You want that in writing? Oh no no no..." My favourites were the ones who would give me a quote "Concrete Job. $X" and not specify anything in terms of what materials, what steps or processes, not specify the nature of the job or any details beyond "Concrete job" with a price. For SOME, this may be good enough. For me, I wanted a job in writing that specified what I was getting, what the service being provided was, and what materials/methods were being used.

After eliminating many of the quotes-on-the-back-of-a-napkin types, I whittled the list down to 3.

1) One was a masonry company that allegedly (I can't confirm this) may or may not take the $$$ and sub contract it out for pennies on the dollar. This guy wanted something in the range of $20k for the job. OUCH! If I were in a super rich ultra-affluent neighbourhood with a huge project in mind, I can see that. But this guy's pricing was sky high. YES, the project quoted was to bring the walkway up to National Building Code....strong enough to park a fleet of 747 airplanes on. That was a bit beyond the immediate scope and need of the project. No deal.

2) The second quote was for about $10k or so. Included options for a rubber-coated patio and was also fairly detailed in the work. Good reputation. And they admitted that they were more expensive than others. No subcontractors, all work done in-house.

3) Then there was Gian at Churchill Construction. Yes, his price was half that of the other guy's, or one-quarter of the "Park a 747 here!" contractor, and that was NOT why we hired him. His quote was detailed, specific. He answered all our questions and even patiently explained all the specs and lingo and mumbo-jumbo found in many quotes, explained what it all meant and why it all mattered, and provided options. The more I researched different construction techniques or concrete additives, the more Gian would patiently and expertly answer all questions without a sigh or a groan or any upset at all. Gian was easy to reach by phone, text, or email. Gian also managed our expectations for the job, told us how long it would take, how long we'd need to stay off it, after-care, etc, so we knew how to be ready and what we'd need to do.

We hired Churchill Construction and waited to be put in queue for the job to start. Gian notified us a few days out of the planned start date so that we could arrange to park on the street and clear the driveway. On the day of the job, Gian and the crew from Churchill Construction were already onsite before 7am, prepping the job site.

It's a pet peeve, I hate it when a contractor shows up and says "Hey, buddy, got a screwdriver / hammer / laser level / diamond-tipped saw I can borrow???" That did NOT happen with Churchill Construction. They brought all their own tools and equipment, came prepared to do the job and knew what had to be done.

The job got done on time and on budget, and we are very happy with the quality of work done by Churchill Construction. Yes, we would highly recommend them to anybody!!

The test will be to see how well the walkway holds up over the winter freeze/thaw cyle, see if any cracks appear come 2018.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Wow !!! Thank you so much Mr.Roher , I do believe we went about that project super solid ...
Enjoy it for many years to come

rssv in Toronto
rssv in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON


Thank you to Churchill Construction Giancarlo and his amazing crew, we are very happy with the job Churchill construction did, it was a pleaure to work with Giancarlo and his crew a great punch of down to earth guys. Giancarlo was very helpful with his recommendations and was very clear on communication, the work that Giancorlo and his crew have done was very professional and on schedule. I strongly recommend Churchill Construction. Thanks once again to a great group of guys :) Rocco and Sonia

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you so much Rocco and Sonia for putting all your trust in us and allowing us to work with ease at your home , it was a beautiful choice to go with a spin float colour concrete finish..
Excellent choice :-)

1 review Toronto, ON

Upper driveway /patio

As a long time home owner who has gone through many renovations and discussions with my wife about the interior of our home , it was time to discuss the outside .

Many of us, including ourselves may think of our driveway as a place to park a car . That needs shovelling in the winter and sweeping the rest of the year .

That being said ... it still costs to
Have any of this exterior work done .

We had entertained the idea of an obvious "paving job "
Looked at having paving stones installed ....
Both of these applications raised questions about longevitey and looks.

Quotes came from many sources and prices varied dramatically .

Nothing is more solid than concrete when installed correctly ...and this brings me to
Churchill Construction.

My wife and I spoke at length with Giancarlo about what we would like and the various concrete options .

Churchill Constructions speciality is concrete and that is for sure .
We chose a more refined "look" known as..

"Exposed aggregate "

and Giancarlo educated us fully in this
Wonderful product .

Everything discussed never wavered from the quote .

The speed of the project was exceptionally timely ...
( Mother Nature was on our side for a late April job )

Our ancient driveway took an enormous transformation in all of 3 days .

As I write this post it's currently a full season old and looks stellar .

Churchill construction provided us with a end result that my wife and i love .

Friends and neighbours are always in awe .

After the final sealant was applied we had a absolutely beautiful finished upper driveway and completely extended patio area.

It's no exaggeration when I say our "out side area"
Would look just as great in
The inside of our home .!!!

Thanks Giancarlo !!
To you
And your crew !

North York

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you Henry and wife Teresa for your review 1 year after job has been completed.. I am thrilled that you and your family can enjoy a stunning aggregate job !!!!

Thank you

Giselle in Toronto
Giselle in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON

Exposed aggregate driveway, porch,steps and front walkway

Another satisfied and happy costumer. The project was done last June 2017 was completed 4 days only..we're so impressed with Giancarlo and his crews (Churchill Construction) with their hardwork,commitment and seriousness of their work.Passersby,neighbors and family are complimenting how beautiful our driveway was.They were asking the contact number and we did.Definitely we will come back for another project in the future and will continue to refer to others. Thanks a million Giancarlo and the crew for the job well done..wishing you more success in your business!!!...Giselle and Julius

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank Giselle an Julius , we tried our best to accommodate your driveway and entrance area of the home. Exposed aggregate is one of if not the best product we do...

We are grateful!!!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Churchill Construction

Whether you are a property management company or a home owner, Churchill Construction is here to provide you with all your concrete, hardscaping , landscaping and restoration needs.

With over 15 years experience GTA we have built a solid reputation because of quality work. We think that every project is worth doing, and it’s worth doing it right the first time. We quote the job based on the scope of work that is necessary for the project.

Contact us today to learn more.

Concrete Contractors and Landscape Contractors & Designers
Concrete/ExposedAggregate/Hardscapeand landscape design / Concrete Restoration / Flagstone
Cash, Cheque and e-transfer
Yes. Kindly ask for details.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.