Reviews

10/10

Needed to have the entire house stucco redone after about 20 years of wear and tear plus installation of new windows. Cuma tried to help us find the most economical way to go about the repairs. When it was time to do the job his team was excellent - prompt, professional, and efficient without rushing. We are extremely pleased with the job they did. Our house looks like new!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We take great pleasure in doing what we do. Thank you for your kind words Stella, as a team, we highly appreciate your review. Thank you and have a great day !
Regards, Toprock Wall Systems Ltd.

10/10

I noticed a small leak in one of our eavestroughs, and our exterior windows were pretty filthy after some stucco repairs were done on our house. I contacted Maple Window & Eaves and Yitzie was very quick to respond and set up a time for his crew to come. They arrived promptly, quickly inspected and sealed the leak issue, and proceeded to clean our windows. The crew was fast and efficient, and now our windows are beautifully clear. I hadn't realized how much my dirty windows were bothering me before! Thanks for doing a great job.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for sharing your experience Stella! I appreciate your business!

9/10

We had to replace our flat roof/balcony that was slowly leaking water into the room below, especially where it joined with the house, but we wanted to keep our wood deck. Best Flat Roof was the only company we spoke with who said they could replace the roof while still preserving our deck. When we could finally arrange for our roof to get replaced (weather was big issue), the crew came on time and worked throughout the day to get the job done. My only criticisms are that a) the crew never announced that they arrived or left, and b) before they put our deck back on I noticed a bunch of cigarette butts on top of the new flat roof. In the end, they finished the work in the dark and the caulking job was very sloppy, so they had to send someone back twice to refinish the caulking along the roof flashings. Again, I was never told when they would come and would only know by noticing someone climbing up a ladder outside my kitchen window. I think that if the crew could just slightly improve their communication it would really help. I haven't noticed any more leaks since the roof was replaced, and the deck was replaced in great condition. Thanks!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Stella

7/10

Our windows and doors were made of wood and rotting, so needed replacement. However the interior trim of was quite unique and we wanted to preserve the look. After getting quotes from many other companies, we decided to go with Casa Bella, as they had the most competitive price and best reviews, and Ronnie, our sales guy, assured us that they could make the windows look exactly the same from the inside as they did before replacement, and that we could keep our existing blinds. We wish that he hadn't made this promise, because in the end the windows could not look exactly the same, and we had to replace all our blinds (which of course added another 10K to the project). The installation crew was fantastic, very professional and fast. They found a rotting water situation in one of our walls and did a great job fixing the problem. Some of the window trims had large caulking stains on the walls around the windows which was a bit disappointing, and as I was patching up the indoor trim to paint I found several sharp wires/nails sticking out of the trim, which was a bit concerning given I have small kids at home. However, I have no basis of comparison as this is the first time I've had windows replaced, so I don't know if this is the standard. Final criticism is this - I got the Classic line of windows, and after replacing all of our windows and most of our doors, we ended up using more natural gas for heating our home this winter, even though our schedules/lifestyles have not changed and it was 25% warmer this winter than last year. I'm not sure if this is related to the window insulation or not, but I was told by the installation crew that I should expect a very noticeable savings in our heating and cooling bills which didn't happen. Despite these failings, our windows are now painted and look stunning, and I am hopeful we won't have any more rotting and leaking issues. I would likely use Casa Bella again in the future if needed, but would just try to temper my expectations and take their promises with a large grain of salt.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Stella,
Thank you submitting your review and bringing to our attention some of your concerns with regards to your window replacement. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear some of your expectations were not met as we pride ourselves on making sure we deliver on our promises. Our Sales Representatives are trained to communicate exactly what can and can’t be done when it comes to window replacement. Upon review of your contract and email correspondence, it seems these issues were addressed. It is unfortunate that there was obviously some miscommunication. Given the opportunity, we would like to learn more about your case so we can go over the original agreement in detail and address your concerns if possible. In the end, we are pleased that you would consider Casa Bella for future projects.
Sincerely,
Casa Bella Windows

6/10

Over 13 months ago our dishwasher flooded overnight, damaging the hardwood floor on the main level and creating a swamp of destruction in the finished basement. Bachly was the company sent by our insurer for emergency cleanup and also for restoration. The work just got finished this week. This review is in 3 parts. 1) Emergency crew. These guys were great. The guy on call showed up early on a long weekend, set up fans and dryers and did a lot of work taking down all the damaged wet structures. The rest of the crew came a few days later and every time they were courteous and very careful to be neat (our baby was only about 5 months old at the time so this was important). As an aside, a year later we had another small leak in the basement and we got the emergency crew in from Bachly again and they were excellent. Highly recommend for emergency cleanup. HOWEVER - you should remember to take pictures of EVERYTHING (walls, frames, baseboards, carpets, tiles) before they rip everything out, otherwise whoever restores the property may plead ignorance and do a bad job with you having no proof that they are messing things up. 2) Coordinator #1. We didn't know this, but we were set up with a terrible coordinator for the first 4 months. Everything was delayed, he kept denying responsibility for anything that went wrong, he frequently misled us as to what was going to happen and at one point he left us without a kitchen sink for several days after he assured us this would not happen. We don't know if it was his choice in subtrades, but his painters, carpenters and flooring crew were all terrible, they took no pride in their work and would leave huge mistakes that made our house look worse than before the flood. Can't say enough about how bad this was. We even had to pay extra for some subtrades to come in to deal with issues that were not related to the flood, and these guys were also sub-par. I am currently fixing up some of the paint issues left by this first coordinator's crew. Our floors, after being redone, were scratched by the furniture movers. The second time our floors were done, the fridge leaked. We had to move 3 times out of our house to get this job done. 2) After breaking down to the company, I was visited by the VP of Bachly and then we were assigned to a different coordinator. The experience was like night and day. Our second coordinator listened, acted on any deficiencies, and made it clear that he thought Bachly's work should make the house look as good as or better than before (not worse, as we had previously experienced). The subtrades they used were still not excellent, some paint jobs were still sloppy and one of our floor segments was patched up no less than 10x (we finally said forget it and gave up because the subtrade kept fixing one problem and creating another one). However, throughout all this the coordinator kept working to get the best result. If it weren't for him, this company rating would be a 0/10. Bottom line - it's possible for Bachly to do a good job, but if you are getting the runaround and noticing really poor quality work because of carelessness and rushed work, think about asking for a new coordinator.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Paul has been coming to fix problems and winterize my sprinklers for the last 1.5 yrs. He is always on time, efficient and knowledgeable. This year the city destroyed one of my sprinkler heads (and they do not take any responsibility for this). Thankfully, Paul was able to do a great repair job and the sprinklers are working like new. I am very happy with this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the wonderful review Stella

10/10

Had an old dryer vent that was not in good shape, needed replacement. Called several places and they either didn't call back or were very expensive and sounded unsure about what they would do. Capps was very confident and reasonably priced. Paul came quickly and put in a new duct (to code, unlike what we had originally) and cleaned out the vent and the part of the lint trap I couldn't access. The whole thing was done in about 30 minutes. They even happened to find things that our previous duct cleaners missed. Will definitely use them when I need my house ducts cleaned.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Stella, Thank you so much for writing a review here on Homestars.
We are happy to hear that you are pleased with the service that Paul provided while installing a new exhaust for your dryer.
Stella, we will look forward to hearing from you again.
Best Regards, Kathe Mann

9/10

Had an overgrown lawn, backyard and interlocking area with weeds galore, overgrown shrubs etc. Didn't have time this year to maintain things on our own due to a new baby. I asked Greenbloom for a cleanup quote and they sent Shir the next day, even though I imagine they are busy with regular summer maintenance. Shir was very attentive and had lots of great ideas and suggestions. The crew that came a week and a half later did a great job and they were very responsive to my requests. Only downside is that they seem to have cut off a major branch on one of our shrubs and then left the branch on top so it wasn't noticeable until a couple weeks later when it was visibly dying. Now there is a big piece gouged out of a shrub in the backyard (which thankfully no one sees). Would have been nice if they had mentioned it. Otherwise, they did a fantastic job cleaning out our jungle and I don't cringe every time I walk outside. Would definitely use them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks we really appropriate it !

1/10

My Maytag dryer suddenly stopped heating up. Prior to this it worked great and we used the 'Sensor Heat' option to dry our clothes without over- or under-drying each load. Called the Maytag people but they had a system glitch and they couldn't get someone in soon, so I tried the Appliance repair guys. They were able to get someone in same day. The guy said it was an electrical problem, but that he had no idea why it suddenly stopped working. It took him 15 minutes to fix and the whole job cost over $300. He also assured us that if there was a problem he could come back to take another look within the next few days. After trying our dryer a couple times, we noticed that the sensor wasn't working anymore. E.g. Even if the load was completely dry the sensor said the dryer required another 45 minutes of drying time. This had never been an issue. When we asked the Appliance Repair Guys to come back to deal with the problem, they said it wasn't part of the original issue and so we had to pay for another assessment. (Even though it was their repair guy who tinkered with the electrical system, so from what we can tell, he was the one who caused the problem.) They even suggested that we run a diagnostic on our dryer, which they said would cost somewhere around $700!! Bottom line - this company is overpriced and does not stand by their own guarantee. Note: they also don't clean out vents, even if that's the problem. Next time I will definitely just go with the Maytag people, or buy a brand new dryer - it's cheaper and more reliable.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Had a problem this spring with squirrels making a nest under our 2nd-floor deck. Swat Wildlife sent Derick the following day - he was great. He arrived on time. He was able to remove my deck boards, clean out the nest, ensure there were no babies or wildlife left, and replaced the boards beautifully. Installed strong wire mesh to prevent the problem from recurring. Stuck to his quoted price. Overall I was very pleased with Derick's professional, friendly, prompt and capable service.

Was this review helpful?