Reviews

1/10

We have many significant problems in our Caesarstone counters as installed by Dea Marble. We are in the process of having our main kitchen counter replaced by a responsible fabricator so that our kitchen renovation can be completed. The overhang on our main kitchen counter is twice the size we specified and twice as large as what was installed on our island. There are large gaps between the counter and wall that will make it impossible to install a standard size backsplash. The join of the two quartz pieces was extremely uneven and there were large pieces of adhesive on the surface of the counter. Note that they did at least have someone improve the front of the seam by removing the chunks of adhesive and surface polishing the Caesarstone. Ultimately they seemed to blame Caesarstone and had their representative come to our house. The Caesarstone representative took pictures and relayed specific instruction to Dea Marble on how to fix the problems. Three weeks later we have yet to hear from them. Dea Marble has shown neither the willingness nor the expertise to fix the counters. Dealing with this company has been extremely painful to say the least. I was yelled at that fixing these problems wasn't a priority because according to Ledi "we aren't making millions on this job". Apparently we weren't sufficiently appreciative of the work that was done. It was our mistake to have trusted this company and paid in full. They have many excuses (their subcontractors, the weather, Caesarstone, etc etc) but I don't get the impression that this quality of work is unusual for them.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We did the best for you, regarding your countertop. We did the countertop in record time and with a great price, just to make you happy. The installers came in the snow storm to install your countertop and they did a wonderful job. Please keep in mind they installed your huge island (107" x 38") in one pieces and the material was extremely heavy 3cm quartz. To make you happy they had a hard time to come inside to your house ( because for a huge island you didn't have access from the front door) and they enter form the back door, in the heavy snow and cold day , holding 400 lb. slab so you can have one piece island, but this for you is not important.
You are blaming us for something that is not our fault. Your cabinet (that you husband has installed) were uneven from the front, so when we cut the slab to fabricate your countertop, the saw machine doesn't cut uneven, but the cut is so precise and is with laser, so is normal that it will be a gap in the end, because even the wall are not straight, so for this do not ask us to fix you wall and you cabinets, we are only stone countertop company. The countertop is already touching one side of the wall, the other side that you have the gap is where the wall is not straight and you do have the same problem even with your pantry and we did mention you the gap that you have behind the pantry is the same that is behind the countertop. Before you blaming us for the gaps, you should fix your wall and after installed your cabinets from someone professional.
We do have the picture that everything turn out great and you did sign the customer survey that you were happy with the job that was done and you write excellent in overall professional service. We treated you very respectfully and we have done extra trip to satisfy your concern. In the day that we came to see what was wrong, you already had installed the cooktop so everything was fine and you did accepted, your kitchen was functional. The issue that you had with the joint we did fix it and you were happy in that time. For the overhang that you are blaming us, we could have done in the same day that we came to fix the joint, but the cook top was already installed and we couldn’t touch it.
You did have concern about the thickness of the quartz and the seam, that’s why we did provide you with a Caesar Stone Representative to visit you and check your concern and we do have the approval from them, that everything was fine according to Caesar Stone expectations. We are Caesar Stone certified fabricator and our job remains at the highest standards.
No one yelled at you, we try to be very patient with you, dealing with you and even when you insulted our employee for poor communication, we still response you in professional manner. We do have more than 13 e-mails that you wrote back and forth and according to your e mails you are so happy with our response and the professionalism.
We are very reliable company, where the entire customer are happy and they return back again for the second or third project. The job is done you signed the customer survey that you are happy, the concern that you had for the joint (that wasn't our fault) because the cabinets were uneven we did fix it, so you are blaming us UN fairly. We are proud of our service and customer satisfaction is our priority.

10/10

Dinno installed kitchen cabinets for us in our recent kitchen renovation. We did IKEA cupboards and partly custom walnut doors. What we particularly appreciated about Dinno was that he took the time to work out the problems and customization needed well before the date of the kitchen installation. That way surprises were kept to a minimum during the week that the cupboards were actually installed. We had a fair amount of customization of the cupboards and Dinno was very accommodating in doing everything we wanted....without complaint! He was also very collaborative and asked many questions about the way we wanted things done. Dinno showed up early each morning despite the fact he came a long distance even in a snowstorm and he worked long hours to accomplish the job. We are very pleased with the end result and we will post pictures once the kitchen is fully completed.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

We purchased 5 appliances from Appliance Canada for our kitchen renovation. We believe we got an excellent price through a manufacturers promo. The salesperson (Brian) was efficient and responsive while we evaluated the options/prices. The delivery guys were extremely good. Very careful, didn't complain about carrying in the huge fridge and were very friendly. The wrinkle was that one appliance was missing on delivery but I managed to resolve the problem quickly. So far so good.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I'll add to the chorus of recommendations for Matthew. Being a homeowner for 20 years, I can safely say it's not easy to find a good plumber in Toronto! He did the plumbing for our recent kitchen and laundry room renovation. Matthew was quick to respond, highly competent, and his rates were reasonable. Wish we had similar good luck with all the contractors who worked on our recent reno!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Great customers like you make my job a pleasure!

10/10

We were really lucky to find Gord prior to our kitchen renovation. It is stressful renovating and finding excellent contractors in who you have faith isn't easy. We found Gord's prices to be more than fair and he was very accommodating to our schedule. I'm not actually sure that Gord needs any recommendations since he is already so busy. All of the electricians from Gem Electric were a pleasure to deal with.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

This was the second time we used The Demolition Boys after using them about 2 years ago for a different area in our home. Again, we had a great experience. Frank and his team were punctual, hard-working and extremely pleasant to deal with. When we saw how much work it was to remove a large kitchen, I extremely glad we didn't try to do it ourselves! I recommend the Demo Boys without reservation.

Was this review helpful?
0/10

We called Controlled Comfort Air because our central AC unit was making a loud clacking noise which was disturbing to our neighbours. The technician came quickly but without even taking the cover off the unit - he pronounced it unfixable and spent the rest of the time preparing a quote for a new air conditioner. He then urged us to sign the quote for a new unit by saying he would take the $100 service call off the price. We refused in part because his quote did not even have a model number and few specifics of what would be provided. The next day my husband took the cover off the air conditioner and adjusted a plastic flange that was making contact with the motor blades. It fixed the problem immediately. We can only conclude that either this company is sending out incompetent installers who cannot fix simple problems but charge the customer anyway - or the installer did not investigate the problem so he could sell a new air conditioner under false pretenses. We suspect the latter. Either way it is bad. Hopefully somebody will gain from our experience.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

My apologies to Milorad for being somewhat late in this review. Milorad did our second bathroom after having completed our first bathroom and entrance beautifully. As this bath was marble and glass tile - it wasn't a simple job, but Milorad did a perfect job. When other contractors have looked at the bathroom - they always say "who did your tile work?" Milorad and his son are currently completing our third bathroom. However I will post that review separately. I recommend Milorad without reservation.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

After many years in Toronto, we finally found an excellent and experienced plumber. Jim Manners did the plumbing for our bathroom renovation and he is coming back next month to do our next bathroom as well. He installed what seemed to be a complicated shower system with many valves without a problem. I should add that he is a very pleasant person to deal with.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We initially called John based on the reviews on HomeStars. Since then we have had John and Dave come back several times to help us with our renovation. Amongst other things, they did beautiful, high quality trim work and created a new closet for us by borrowing a piece of the garage. Though they are very busy we hope to have them back to complete the wood work in the rest of our house. We appreciate that John was very accommodating in fitting us in.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Based on the reviews here - we called Igor to do the electrical on a bathroom we were renovating. He came quickly to quote on the job then was able to schedule the job within two days. Also, after the drywall was complete he came quickly at our convenience to complete the installation. We were very happy with his work and his price was fair. We will use certainly use Igor again.

Was this review helpful?
3/10

I hate to post a negative review - but my experience with CIOT was not good. We are in the process of renovating 3 bathrooms - and purchasing a considerable amount of tile. CIOT has beautiful tiles but we simply could not get any service there. They told us they do not have samples - suggested we take pictures of the tile we wanted. We couldn't even hold one piece of tile up to another to see if the tones were complimentary. Finally we ordered one of each tile - and we we were told they would call us to tell us when they were in. Six weeks later we are still waiting and we had to buy all of our tiles elsewhere. It is curious that they did not seem to want our business at all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

We've been back to Billa a couple of times now to purchase appliances - and think their prices seem considerably below other venues. Also we have found the staff to be friendly and no pressure and if it is in stock they will deliver quickly, even on a Sunday. That comes in handy when the dishwasher breaks and you are washing by hand! We highly recommend Billa.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I hope my review will do justice to Milorad. He completed a tiling job for us last week - our entry level and a powder room where he did the floor as well as the walls. He did an incredible job and was meticulous throughout. He spent a long time figuring out the very best layout given our awkward space. The wall tile consisted of marble circles on mesh - tile I assumed was hard to lay and cut - but the end result was perfect. We felt his price was extremely reasonable and especially so given the quality of his work. Also, Milorad came on time, worked long days and was gracious at all times. We have already scheduled him for an additional bathroom renovation. Thank you Milorad for such a great job.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I contacted Frank after reading reviews of the Demo Boys on Homestars. We needed to have demolition done on several rooms in our house (tiles removed from entry level and removal of powder room) prior to undertaking their renovation. Frank responded to my inquiry very quickly and came to provide a quote. He was able to fit in the job on fairly short notice. Frank and his team arrived on time, worked efficiently and did the job exactly as we had agreed to. The tiler was starting the next business day so we didn't have time to spare. I found Frank to be very courteous and easy to deal with. We will be renovating an additional bathroom in the near future and I will use the Demo Boys again.

Was this review helpful?