Reviews

10/10

Mimmo and his crew did our interlock driveway and stone walkways almost 9 years ago. They needed resealing and repair/relaying so we hired them again. The job was done amazingly and without any fuss, just like last time. Mimmo even came to powerwash our driveway in the pouring rain one of the days!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.

5/10

The work they did would have earned 8 stars. It was quick and looked very nice right after. 1 star lost because of a large pile of sand and dirt that was left on the edge of my driveway, and another lost for the few weeds that are already growing in my driveway despite being supposedly sealed using 2 coats, only 3wks ago. What really lowered their rating was their customer service after they are paid. My cheques were cashed within 1 day of job completion, yet it's been over 3wks and several emails since they promised to verify that the workers indeed forgot to leave me a $20 bag of polymeric sand, that they automatically charge $35 for. It did not seem optional and I certainly did not receive it. Why would l fib about not receiving a bag of overpriced sand on a $2000+ service? I still have yet to hear back but I'm not expecting anything, as by now, what worker would actually remember whether or not the sand was left for me? I agreed to hire them, despite their quote being $600 more than another company because they were able to start the next day. I regret that now -- not because of the $35 I lost but because they would not give a potential repeat customer the benefit of the doubt.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Anita,
We are sorry that you feel this way, after reviewing your file, emails and phone call notes. I see many attempts to rectify this problem, in addition notes that indicated we had full intention of coming out there to drop off a bag of sand when we had the crew in the area.

10/10

We are so happy to have found Spring Home via Homestars. Cy was very friendly, informative and patient, meeting with us in person and then answering my tons of questions by email afterward. He recommended the best system for us to replace our old one and did not try to oversell. Tiger and Wilson performed the installation and were efficient, clean and friendly. Unfortunately we have a zoning issue and need to move the A/C unit. Cy was very helpful in arranging this and the company gave us a reduced price for the move since we had our original installation just a month ago. I would highly recommend their services and I must say their aftercare is extremely attentive.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Anita and Aaron, love the view of the lake...my dream home :-) , I am glad we can help you. enjoy the new system and keep in touch.

2/10

I wish I had read the other review before giving our job to this company. I will start off by saying that the stucco quality and look of the job are very good. But I would never go through the hassle of dealing with the owner again no matter how great the house looks. The price negotiations should have tipped me off to the lack of professionalism. There was not itemized written quote like other companies. He simply came and gave me a total off the top of his head. If I didn't seem to be pleased at the price, he asked if I thought it was too much, and would continue to lower it until I seemed to agree. This happened on both the initial quote and later work we decided to do. The workers were very sloppy around my house. They did not put a tarp over my plants and got stucco all over them -- several died this summer. We found plastic water bottles, coffee cups, cigarettes and stucco/styrofoam fragements everywhere. My mailbox had paint all over it. The worst was when my husband drove into our driveway and almost ran over a board with nails protruding up. The stone mason we hired after this company also found boards with nails in my garden and they had to rid the job site of garbage before starting their work. After seeing the mess left, my stone mason warned me to protect my new door if I called Custom Stucco Designs back again, because he did not trust they would be careful around the job site. We had to pause the finishing of the entranceway so I could have stone set and a new door installed. When we called back the owner, he claimed that the moldings around the door would cost more than expected and tried to get more money out of us. Neither of us could fathom having to deal with him again so I hired another stucco company to finish this simple 6hr job for half of what he tried to tell me it would cost. I listened to the owner complain about his health problems, his subcontractors, his other clients, and the fact that business was so slow that he was not making any money. In fact, he tried to tell me that he purposely took a loss on my job in hopes I would hire him to do the more expensive stonework. I told him that if indeed it was true, it was definitely not good business sense. I am so glad I did not hire them for the entire renovation. I would have paid double not to have to deal with them again!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This review does not belong to this company.

10/10

Mimmo and his crew were a delight to work with. They were efficient, tidy and friendly. The job ended up to be more than first quoted, but we were so happy with the process and results, we did not complain. They not only are great at stonework and landscaping, but they also did extras around my house like help take out my garbage , tidy my garage, build a makeshift ramp so my husband could get his car in the garage, dispose of our old railings, and clean up after another contractor's mess. Mimmo was very good at designing the stonework and curbing to blend well aesthetically so we never had to make many decisions. The job site was cleaned every day and we were surprised the work was done so quickly. I would definitely recommend this company to others!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Mike came by to give a quote on our small job and was able to start and finish by the next day. We were pleased with the job and how fast it was done!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

This review is long overdue. We hired them in August for our move. The team consisted of 4 men and took all day, in the rain. Much care was taken in packing and wrapping all our items and they kept both houses clean the whole time. The guys were simply fun to talk to and we enjoyed our move for the first time - so stress free! We would definitely use Tender Touch again. Wish we had tried them sooner!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Anita & Aaron I'm very touched that you have taken the time to write a review 7 months after your move. I'm glad we made such a positive impact on your experience.

8/10

We had them come in to assess our electrical outlets and circuits throughout our new house. We wanted to make sure things were safe and to code. They also quoted us on in-floor heating and security lights. Joe and his apprentice were very thorough and unobtrusive during the 5hour service. Frank came back to review the report and made suggestions without pressuring us. He told us we could wait on most things without trying to scare us into booking right away. The company was recommended by friends and I am glad we did this service for the peace of mind it gave us, not to mention the detailed information we now have for our electrical panel. This is an addition to my initial review. The company overcharged me a bit on the service and was supposed to refund the difference. It's been over six months now and after several email messages, I still have no refund.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Mike and his crew were great in helping to restore and improve our basement after a sewer back-up destroyed the flooring and drywall. They were trustworthy enough for us to give them the run of the house while we were working. Other than an initial short delay, things went efficiently and smoothly. We made a few changes to the flooring and parts of the laundry room, which they accommodated with ease and minimal additional cost. The quality of the carpentry and painting was excellent. Mike shopped around at many stores to find matching laminate for our wine cellar and did not blink an eye at returning his initial purchase when another colour suited us better. He returned to personally install shelving after the job was done and offered to come back later to cut a counter top for us that was not in his initial contract. We found the company to be professional, flexible and attentive. All workers were friendly and skilled. We would definitely consider Sonoma for future projects.

Was this review helpful?