Movers On Demand

Moving & Storage
Toronto ON M5R2E2
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

24%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Movers On Demand

Average customer rating:
1.6 10 (14 reviews)

Sort by

SOK in Toronto
SOK in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

Ridiculously bad service

Okay:

We had two guys come yesterday to move the contents of our house. We hired them for four hours.

They arrived fifteen minutes late. They also never bothered trying to reach out about their timing. 

When we were discussing the cost, the guys never indicated sales tax or some ridiculous service tax; what was originally quoted as $360 ended up being $450 plus. Not once during our conversation was tax or service fees ever discussed. Had I known about this, I wouldn't have hired them. I get that tax may be necessary, but the service fee was NEVER explained.

They damaged a cabinet door.

I never received a receipt.

I'm disappointed in their services, and rest assures, we won't be using MoD company should we be moving

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We do not like to talk bad about our clients but this has to be an exception. This man was a very difficult client. The biggest issue we had with him was his refusal to wear a mask. In this pandemic and in a lockdown the customer refused to wear a mask stating he did not believe in it. Our crew and their families were put at risk by this man going against safety protocols and guidelines from the province.Our crew wore masks and proceeded to do the job but under fear of their lives.From then on he was agitated and very disrespectful to our crew.
Shame on you sir. He was asked to pay $360 plus taxes and an insurance charge which ended up as $442. No more money was requested from him. We never refused to give him a receipt.He does not seek a resolution because he is privileged and arrogant.
Shame on you sir for putting hard working men at risk and telling lies.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
3/10

Damaged our furniture

We were told there would be 2 men and we expected that they would both move our furniture together, but they had one unload the truck and the other one carry and move the furniture into the new place. One person cannot carry heavy solid oak credenzas and triple dressers alone and move it into place. They left deep gouges in our oak table, broke off large splinters of wood on 4 other tables and left large scratches all over the hardwood floors. When we pointed out the damages to them, they started to carry the larger pieces of furniture together but the damage was already done. They offered us no discount or other compensation for the damages. They had also promised us that there would be no additional charges and then there was. And they came back to us 2 weeks before the move and wanted twice the amount of deposit as what we had already paid them. Definitely won't be using them again.

Was this review helpful?
Capote in Toronto
Capote in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
9/10

A Smooth Move

Movers on Demand moved the contents of my apartment (2 bedrooms, 50-60 boxes and 5 wardrobe boxes) on February 29th. Mike and Tiko arrived on time (to the minute) and even texted me to let me know when they were on their way. They were pleasant, respectful and worked hard consistently. I was delighted, after having unpacked, to realize that NOTHING was scratched or damaged. Mike took the time to come and see the contents of the space before the move and we looked at the contract together. There was a professional dialogue of the company's Terms and Conditions. Having seen the contract, there were no surprises whatsoever. I did have one question which was addressed and I was satisfied with the outcome. Overall, my moving experience with Movers on Demand Inc was very positive.

Was this review helpful?
Chris Smith in Etobicoke
Chris Smith in Etobicoke
5 reviews Etobicoke, ON

First Review

0/10

not legitimate

This company is not legitimate. They will quote you something and then charge you a completely different price when you get to the offloading destination. I should have called the police on the spot instead of paying their demanded fee to get my stuff back. Be warned. They also have bad reviews on BBB.

Was this review helpful?
Rob in Thornhill
Rob in Thornhill
2 reviews NORTH YORK, ON
0/10

BEWARE - Don't trust these guys or their Godfather on the phone

Thugs, Scoundrels,... there aren't enough words to describe how bad this company is. NEVER use them or they'll ABUSE you financially.

I used their services after seeing a pretty convincing ad. in Kijiji. What I got was two guys who took their own sweet time to move my items and then after the 5 hour move from my small condo to my new place a few mins. drive away, I get dinged with a hefty bill of nearly a grand + $25 to pay by credit card because I didn't have enough cash.

They charge you extra for each flight of stairs going up and down. I got billed for five flight of stairs.
They charge you extra for each bulky item. They define what is bulky and what isn't.
They charge you extra for a sofabed.
They charge you extra for each heavy item. They again define what is heavy and what isn't. So for example with a sofabed, you get charged for a bulky item + sofabed + heavy item.
They charge you extra for service charge. What the #(@&???
Plus all applicable taxes

They ripped my leather sofabed.
They broke my ikea closet.
They dumped practically everything in my ground-level basement room.

Never will I ever use their service again. I must have done something bad in my life to have been punished by these guys.

BEWARE -- save yourself the trouble of looking for something cheap (as I thought I did) and go with a reliable moving company.

Was this review helpful?
B Ans in North york
B Ans in North york
1 review North York, ON
0/10

Moving company, Movers

I moved within the same apartment building. You'd think it wouldn't be a big deal.....WRONG!!!! They showed up late, and they broke my large screen tv, and refused to replace it, after talking about having the proper insurance, they offered me 200.00 on a 2800.00 tv. They broke numerous other small objects. You would think it was almost deliberate. DON'T HIRE THESE MOVERS!!!

Was this review helpful?
Pedro in Whitby
Pedro in Whitby
1 review ,
0/10

Total rip off - SCAM

I wish I had read these reviews prior to booking moving services with this company. Actually I booked it with Metropolitan Movers but I guess they subcontracted this Movers on Demand company.

When I made my reservation for the services I requested for the truck not to be late since I had the elevator reserved for 10a.m. The moving crew arrived only at 10:45a.m. and by that time I had already taken downstairs all the boxes - only the sofa, the mattress and two drawers were left.

The truck left to my new address and around 12:45 everything was done. My surprise came when one of the movers presented me with an invoice that had prices way more expensive than the estimate I had:

To start they were charging me for 4 HOURS - even though the moving took only 2 hours all together - of course I made the first leg pretty much by myself since they were late. They said they had a minimu 4 hours services fee, something that was never told to me when I did the booking.

They also charged me 80 dollars for STAIRS fee: 20 for each mover (2) for both homes. Detail: there were no stairs on my apartment and besides this cost was never quoted.

Additionally, they came up with a 10% insurance fee on top of the HST, something that had not been quoted.

After reading the reviews on the website I was really expecting great service or at least something fair but all I got was a complete scam. I am sure those testimonials are all fake.

I did write to Metropolitan Movers afterwards to complain but they never responded, something that did not surprise me at all.

Was this review helpful?
Karen in Aurora
Karen in Aurora
1 review Aurora, ON
0/10

Moving

What a disaster this move became - I would never recommend this company. The truck was 4 hours late, and the wrong size with the slowest moving people I have ever seen. They couldn't fit everything in, they damaged every single piece with scratches and dents and gouges and I have been waiting three months to get repairs/replacements. There are several hidden charges so be sure to read their website before you book - everything heavy or every stair is an extra charge.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Downtown condo owner
Downtown condo owner
32 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

moving 2 blocks

I contacted the company via a Craigslist ad which noted they offered flat rates advising that we needed 2 desks and a desk hutch moved from Bay/Dundas to Bay/Adelaide on April 3rd. I specified we required two lifters with truck and asked for pricing. The response I received was that it will cost $180 for 3 hours. With GST, I expected a total cost of $189. I agreed to this price and reconfirmed the details on the phone and setup a time of 1:30pm.

The movers called to ask if the move could be rescheduled to 12pm. We accommodated and then they showed up over 45 minuets late, at approximately 12:45pm.

They loaded the truck with the 2 desks, desk hutch, and approximately 5 small bankers boxes. When they arrived at the destination, they presented us with a bill for $299. $180 flat rate, 2 x $40 = $80 for 2 extra heavy items (desks), subtotal $260 and GST for $39 (which is more than 5%). They held the items hostage for payment, leaving no choice but to produce the funds of $300, despite that we had agreed, in writing by email for flat rate of $180 based on the listed items. We went to the upper level to get a copy of the paperwork, and the drivers drove off without notice that they were leaving.

We phoned the office and received a call back. We advised of the issues regarding the overall overcharge and the overcharge of GST and was told that someone would call us immediately back after talking to the drivers. This did not occur. We contacted the Better Business Bureau on the matter and they did not respond to them either.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

WE INDEED GAVE THE CLIENT A RATE OF 180 FOR THREE HOURS BUT THEY FAILED TO MENTION THAT THESE WERE TWO HEAVY DESKS WEIGHING ABOUT 300 POUNDS EACH. OUR CONTRACT STATES THAT WE CHARGE EXTRA FOR ANY HEAVY ITEMS.
THE CONTRACT WAS PRESENTED TO THE CLIENT BEFORE WE EVEN DID THE JOB.
BY SIGNING THE CONTRACT THE CLIENT AGREED TO OUT TERMS AND CONDITIONS. ONE OF THE OTHER TERMS WAS THAT WE WOULD CHARGE GST PLUS A 10% SERVICE FEE.
WE NEVER HOLD ANYONES PROPERTY AS HOSTAGE THAT IS INCORRECT.WE TAKE FULL PAYMENT ONCE WE HAVE COMPLETED THE WORK.
WE HAVE THE CONTRACT DETAILS POSTED ON OUR WEBSITE FOR ALL TO SEE.
WE ARE PROFESSIONAL IN OUR APPROACH AND OTHER CLIENTS CAN TESTIFY TO THAT.MOVERS ON DEMAND HAS BEEN IN BUSINESS FOR MORE THAN 6 YEARS AND WE CONTINUE TO GROW DESPITE SUCH CLIENTS WHO WANT TO POST MISLEADING INFORMATION.

PLEASE CHECK OUT OUR WEBSITE WWW.MOVERS-ON-DEMAND.COM FOR MORE INFORMATION.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Moving & Storage pros in Toronto?