Reviews

0/10

My experience with Caldek Sundeck Systems was extremely unpleasant and was the worst experience that I have ever had with a contractor. I have written several reviews and this is the only one where I have given less than 8 stars. When I got the estimate, the Caldek rep emphasised me that the deck should have a steeper slope than it currently had to improve the drainage of water. I paid a deposit of about $1,900 to replace the vinyl on a small 8 ft by 14 ft deck off of the master bedroom. Work started well enough. I helped the carpenter remove a heavy metal railing and had him store it in our bedroom so that he did not have to lift it down to the ground below. After a short period of time, I was told by the carpenter that he could not put the slope on the deck because there was not enough space. He would make the deck flat instead. I then got a phone call from Caldek telling me that there was a half inch thick layer of cement on the deck and an extra layer of plywood. I would have to pay and additional $800 for their removal ($250 for the cement and $550 for the plywood). I went and looked at the cement layer and saw that it was closer to an eighth of an inch. There were also two quarter inch layers of plywood instead of a single standard 5/8 inch thick layer. I expected that this would be a simple thing to sort out. My experience with every other contractor that I have ever dealt with is that when there is a problem it is easy to sort out by talking. However, this was not my experience here. Instead, I had this strange experience with the Caldek rep on the phone insisting to me that the cement was 1/2 inch thick when I was looking right at it and saw that it about 1/8 of an inch. Photos of the thin layer of cement, the extra 1/4" layer of plywood and the first 1/4" layer of plywood are attached. The layer of cement had been put on by the previous owner to provide drainage. It was close to 1/2 inch thick by the door but quickly thinned. Much of the deck had no cement. When I mentioned that the extra plywood was only ¼” thick and that the first layer was only 1/4" thick and as a result that $550 was too much for my small deck, the sales rep just said it was in the quote. He was also immovable on the $250 cost for the thin layer of cement. After another unpleasant discussion with the owner the only concession was that I would not be charged for the replacement of a few rotten 2x4s. There was a $550 cost for the removal of an extra layer or plywood in the quote that I foolishly ignored the first time. The quote said subject to additional charges for unforeseen work. Additional costs for time and materials is expected, but the $250 for the cement was arbitrary. It and the $550 cost for the 1/4" layer of plywood were clearly unreasonable. In reality having 2 thin ¼” sheets of plywood was probably easier to remove than a single standard 5/8” layer. The carpenter scraped off the vinyl, two ¼” layers of plywood and thin layer of cement in about an hour or less with a large pry bar. I was asked by the carpenter whether I wanted to stop work so you are suddenly faced with the choice paying for something you feel is outrageous or being stuck with a deck that is half ripped up. The carpenter suddenly started saying that I needed to get a sill wrap around the door guaranteeing me that there would be rot there. This would cost another $2000 according to the quote. We agreed to stop work while I considered this additional problem. In short, after a few e-mails (to which Caldek took up to about two weeks to respond) the work stopped and Caldek charged me additional fees for restocking and several hundred dollars for giving the quote, leaving me with about $200 from my deposit. I did not agree to those extra charges. They then just kept the entire deposit. In the end, I had a much more pleasant experience doing much of the work myself and finding another decking contractor to finish the vinyl. He was just excellent. He spent time with me giving advice on how to do the carpentry work. He even gave me a free tube of caulking to use when reinstalling the railing. And he did not ask for a deposit. I also ended up with a deck that had a proper slope for the drainage of water so that there would not be rot so easily in the future. And there was also no rot under the door. New addition to review: I have read Caldek's response to my review trying to blame on me by calling me a difficult customer. After dealing with Caldek and several excellent contractors I have learned the following lessons that I hope you may find useful. 1. Good contractors are fun to work with and extremely valuable while poor ones are a huge headache and are to be avoided at all costs. 2. If you have a contractor who is being unethical or plays games it might be best just to tell to leave your property as soon as possible to cut your losses. 3. When looking for good contractors, only look at ones that have a large number (like 50) reviews on Google or Homestars and there should be consistently high scores. 4. Always check references. A good contractor is happy to provide references. 5. A good contractor will spend time with you understanding your problem. 6. Lessons passed on to me by a reference that I called who once ran their own plumbing business: a. Never give a deposit. “You will get screwed every time if you pay a deposit before work is started.” There are obvious exceptions such as if the contractor needs to spend significant dollars, such as manufacturing windows. However, a contractor must be licensed to be able to take a deposit. You can check whether they are by looking at the service Alberta website. I failed to check this. b. Always hold some money back for a few weeks until you are totally happy with the job, otherwise you lose your leverage. 7. Read the Alberta Consumer Protection Act. There is a lot of valuable information in it such that protects you such as: a. a contract requiring prepayment must be signed by both parties, b. in a prepaid contract all costs including cancellation fees must be clearly outlined, and c. it is an unfair practice for a supplier, in a consumer transaction or a proposed consumer transaction … to charge a fee for an estimate or services unless the consumer i) is informed in advance that a fee will be charged and informed of the amount of the fee, and ii) has expressly consented to be charge the fee.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Caldek has not charged any arbitrary fees. All the costs were on the quote.
We found issues as we were dimantling the deck which we informed the client about. There were going to be some extra costs as there was extra work to do. Our carpenter called and informed the office as is protocol as we need to re asses and get a confirmation from the client about the extra costs. This is standard practice for us so that clients can see and know upfront what the costs are to be. The client called the office and at times was quite rude while we explained the situation. At the end of our conversation he agreed to what needed to be done and we told him what the extra costs were to be and he also said ok. We followed that up with an email so that we could get a paper trail confirmation as is our protocol. we removed the cost of sloping the deck, as that was no longer needed and added the extra removal costs. The extra costs came to $455.00. We do not get an email confirmation so we did not go back to finish the work as we needed the customer to approve the additional charges. We recieved an email 5 days later stating that he did not want to pay the charges. The job was at a standstill from our end as he decided to do repairs himself. We were very busy with a few other large jobs at the time and the project manager was out of office due to a family emergency for a couple weeks. We did lack on getting back to him which is our fault. We had had phone conversations that had been unpleasent as well and the client was difficult to work with. He agreed to our prices and then did not want to pay them in the end which made us concerned he was not going to pay his final invoice at the end of the job. When the project manager returned to work, he had an email stating that he wanted to cancel the job. We then gave him the numbers on work completed, estimatation costs paid out and a restocking fee for his Duradek. We had ordered the material to size for his deck which costs us three times the price we charged for re stocking. That material is basically useless to us because it was for his particular deck size. Our terms and conditions in our contract are very clear that if a job is cancelled and we have expended time and materials, commisions, etc that we will charge for it. None of the costs are arbitrary as the client says. They are our standard costs. Also client did not like that we charged him half the cost of the removal and reinstall of the rail. This is standard practice. If we only take railing off, the charge is half the price. If we put it on, its half the price.
This client was very difficult to deal with from the beginning. Our goal is to have all our customers be satisfied with our service and our product. We stated in an email what his refund would be. He did not agree. We were fair with the amount and did not charge any admin costs and ate most of the costs on the product already bought. In reality the costs of time and materials were greater than the deposit paid.

10/10

Calgary Elite Roofing was just excellent. They replaced our shake roof with asphalt shingles a few days ago. Robert, the Vice President, was very helpful. When we asked for examples of houses with different types of shingles, Elite Roofing supplied us with some addresses right away. We talked to several roofers. When we asked for references, Elite Roofing was the only company that supplied them. The crew also did an excellent job. They were extremely helpful, friendly and professional. They did not rush the job at all, but did quality work. I cannot remember her name, but there was a woman who was cleaning up and she was particularly helpful and professional. Calgary Elite Roofing cares highly about their reputation and stand behind their warranty. When some problems arose with my work later, Calgary Elite fixed the problems without question. I highly recommend Calgary Elite Roofing.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review !!! We will be sure to pass on the kind words to Amber and her crew. Congratulations on the new Malarkey Windsor roof it looks absolutely amazing and will protect your home for decades to come.


First Review

10/10

Calgary Weatherdek did a most excellent job of putting vinyl down on my deck. I was doing much of the work myself after having run into the worst contractor I have ever dealt with before. What I hugely appreciated about John was that he was honest, helpful, and gave lots of free and helpful advice on how to finish the deck in preparation for putting down vinyl. He even gave me a free tube of good caulking with which to waterproof the deck after putting the railings back on the deck. What a wonderful contrast to the previous contractor by having someone who is actually interested in helping you. The vinyl was actually put down his son and one of their coworkers. They both did a professional job. I would highly recommend Calgary Weatherdek. They honest, decent, and do good work.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I am extremely satisfied with the service for Keith My furnace guy. I called up Keith, who immediately referred me to one of his colleagues. He came to my house in about 1 hour and quickly fixed the furnace. Really appreciate the great service

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Excellent hearing this. Happy we could help.

8/10

The initial crew that came to fix my roof did not do a very good job and installed one fewer bundles that I had paid for. However, when I spoke to Shake Pro about it they were extremely helpful. The crew came back and installed the bundle that they had not put in, as well as about 5 other bundles free of charge. The owner of the company also came around to talk to me. The final job was very good. I was extremely pleased with the responsiveness of Shake Pro to dealing with problems.

Was this review helpful?