Caldek Sundeck Systems

Decks
1-4709 14 Street NE Calgary AB T2E
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Decks
Caldek Sundeck Systems
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

67%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Caldek Sundeck Systems

Average customer rating:
6.5 10 (17 reviews)

Sort by

Quokka in Calgary
Quokka in Calgary
5 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Extremely unpleasant experience

My experience with Caldek Sundeck Systems was extremely unpleasant and was the worst experience that I have ever had with a contractor. I have written several reviews and this is the only one where I have given less than 8 stars.

When I got the estimate, the Caldek rep emphasised me that the deck should have a steeper slope than it currently had to improve the drainage of water. I paid a deposit of about $1,900 to replace the vinyl on a small 8 ft by 14 ft deck off of the master bedroom.

Work started well enough. I helped the carpenter remove a heavy metal railing and had him store it in our bedroom so that he did not have to lift it down to the ground below.

After a short period of time, I was told by the carpenter that he could not put the slope on the deck because there was not enough space. He would make the deck flat instead.

I then got a phone call from Caldek telling me that there was a half inch thick layer of cement on the deck and an extra layer of plywood. I would have to pay and additional $800 for their removal ($250 for the cement and $550 for the plywood).

I went and looked at the cement layer and saw that it was closer to an eighth of an inch. There were also two quarter inch layers of plywood instead of a single standard 5/8 inch thick layer.

I expected that this would be a simple thing to sort out. My experience with every other contractor that I have ever dealt with is that when there is a problem it is easy to sort out by talking. However, this was not my experience here.

Instead, I had this strange experience with the Caldek rep on the phone insisting to me that the cement was 1/2 inch thick when I was looking right at it and saw that it about 1/8 of an inch.

Photos of the thin layer of cement, the extra 1/4" layer of plywood and the first 1/4" layer of plywood are attached. The layer of cement had been put on by the previous owner to provide drainage. It was close to 1/2 inch thick by the door but quickly thinned. Much of the deck had no cement.

When I mentioned that the extra plywood was only ¼” thick and that the first layer was only 1/4" thick and as a result that $550 was too much for my small deck, the sales rep just said it was in the quote. He was also immovable on the $250 cost for the thin layer of cement. After another unpleasant discussion with the owner the only concession was that I would not be charged for the replacement of a few rotten 2x4s.

There was a $550 cost for the removal of an extra layer or plywood in the quote that I foolishly ignored the first time. The quote said subject to additional charges for unforeseen work. Additional costs for time and materials is expected, but the $250 for the cement was arbitrary. It and the $550 cost for the 1/4" layer of plywood were clearly unreasonable.

In reality having 2 thin ¼” sheets of plywood was probably easier to remove than a single standard 5/8” layer. The carpenter scraped off the vinyl, two ¼” layers of plywood and thin layer of cement in about an hour or less with a large pry bar.

I was asked by the carpenter whether I wanted to stop work so you are suddenly faced with the choice paying for something you feel is outrageous or being stuck with a deck that is half ripped up.

The carpenter suddenly started saying that I needed to get a sill wrap around the door guaranteeing me that there would be rot there. This would cost another $2000 according to the quote. We agreed to stop work while I considered this additional problem.

In short, after a few e-mails (to which Caldek took up to about two weeks to respond) the work stopped and Caldek charged me additional fees for restocking and several hundred dollars for giving the quote, leaving me with about $200 from my deposit. I did not agree to those extra charges. They then just kept the entire deposit.

In the end, I had a much more pleasant experience doing much of the work myself and finding another decking contractor to finish the vinyl. He was just excellent. He spent time with me giving advice on how to do the carpentry work. He even gave me a free tube of caulking to use when reinstalling the railing. And he did not ask for a deposit.

I also ended up with a deck that had a proper slope for the drainage of water so that there would not be rot so easily in the future. And there was also no rot under the door.

New addition to review:

I have read Caldek's response to my review trying to blame on me by calling me a difficult customer. After dealing with Caldek and several excellent contractors I have learned the following lessons that I hope you may find useful.

1. Good contractors are fun to work with and extremely valuable while poor ones are a huge headache and are to be avoided at all costs.
2. If you have a contractor who is being unethical or plays games it might be best just to tell to leave your property as soon as possible to cut your losses.
3. When looking for good contractors, only look at ones that have a large number (like 50) reviews on Google or Homestars and there should be consistently high scores.
4. Always check references. A good contractor is happy to provide references.
5. A good contractor will spend time with you understanding your problem.
6. Lessons passed on to me by a reference that I called who once ran their own plumbing business:
a. Never give a deposit. “You will get screwed every time if you pay a deposit before work is started.” There are obvious exceptions such as if the contractor needs to spend significant dollars, such as manufacturing windows. However, a contractor must be licensed to be able to take a deposit. You can check whether they are by looking at the service Alberta website. I failed to check this.
b. Always hold some money back for a few weeks until you are totally happy with the job, otherwise you lose your leverage.
7. Read the Alberta Consumer Protection Act. There is a lot of valuable information in it such that protects you such as:
a. a contract requiring prepayment must be signed by both parties,
b. in a prepaid contract all costs including cancellation fees must be clearly outlined, and
c. it is an unfair practice for a supplier, in a consumer transaction or a proposed consumer transaction … to charge a fee for an estimate or services unless the consumer i) is informed in advance that a fee will be charged and informed of the amount of the fee, and ii) has expressly consented to be charge the fee.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Caldek has not charged any arbitrary fees. All the costs were on the quote.
We found issues as we were dimantling the deck which we informed the client about. There were going to be some extra costs as there was extra work to do. Our carpenter called and informed the office as is protocol as we need to re asses and get a confirmation from the client about the extra costs. This is standard practice for us so that clients can see and know upfront what the costs are to be. The client called the office and at times was quite rude while we explained the situation. At the end of our conversation he agreed to what needed to be done and we told him what the extra costs were to be and he also said ok. We followed that up with an email so that we could get a paper trail confirmation as is our protocol. we removed the cost of sloping the deck, as that was no longer needed and added the extra removal costs. The extra costs came to $455.00. We do not get an email confirmation so we did not go back to finish the work as we needed the customer to approve the additional charges. We recieved an email 5 days later stating that he did not want to pay the charges. The job was at a standstill from our end as he decided to do repairs himself. We were very busy with a few other large jobs at the time and the project manager was out of office due to a family emergency for a couple weeks. We did lack on getting back to him which is our fault. We had had phone conversations that had been unpleasent as well and the client was difficult to work with. He agreed to our prices and then did not want to pay them in the end which made us concerned he was not going to pay his final invoice at the end of the job. When the project manager returned to work, he had an email stating that he wanted to cancel the job. We then gave him the numbers on work completed, estimatation costs paid out and a restocking fee for his Duradek. We had ordered the material to size for his deck which costs us three times the price we charged for re stocking. That material is basically useless to us because it was for his particular deck size. Our terms and conditions in our contract are very clear that if a job is cancelled and we have expended time and materials, commisions, etc that we will charge for it. None of the costs are arbitrary as the client says. They are our standard costs. Also client did not like that we charged him half the cost of the removal and reinstall of the rail. This is standard practice. If we only take railing off, the charge is half the price. If we put it on, its half the price.
This client was very difficult to deal with from the beginning. Our goal is to have all our customers be satisfied with our service and our product. We stated in an email what his refund would be. He did not agree. We were fair with the amount and did not charge any admin costs and ate most of the costs on the product already bought. In reality the costs of time and materials were greater than the deposit paid.

JasonL in Calgary
JasonL in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Water damaged second story deck

Our experience with Caldek was a good one overall. They worked with our tenant as well as ourselves at the management company to explain their process. The price was reasonable, and the job was done within our expected time frame.

The only change I would make would be to provide a bit more time as our tenant felt the notice was fairly last notice for the start of the project. That is probably less of an issue for owners scheduling this on their own accord.

All in all, I would certainly use them again and trust their knowledge regarding decking and waterproofing.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
2/10

Duradek Replacement

Service was awful 1 1/2 day job took 7 days , mgmt expected payment in full - never even came to the job sight . Water pockets left on the deck - not level. Job site a mess , workers did not show up - they ended up replacing them . Terrible experience !

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

This review is very biased and not vetted by homestars through us. What is true is that a two to three day job took longer than it should. We did not change the slope or any structure of the deck as the client did not want this, even after we removed the vinyl and recommended it. The existing plywood was not the right kind and it had been previously patched and had excessive knot holes throughout. We were told not to do anything other than put vinyl back on as the house was going up for sale. We did the best we could with what we had and did not change any leveling of the deck. We try our best to meet customer needs but when they refuse to listen to our advice and then are not happy with the result, it is difficult. I am sorry that the experience was not satisfactory as we do want to do a great job for all and want all our customers to be happy.

Philip G.
Philip G.
1 review Chestermere, AB
10/10

Main deck re-build

The proverbial can of worms. Initial work revealed major structural issues with, not just the deck, but also our home. All issues were shown and explained to us. We were very pleased with the speed and quality of Caldek's work, but also the work and professionalism of their sub-contractors. We would definitely use them again.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Phillip, Glad that this all worked out well for you. It was a big project and we appreciated your understanding of the scope and what needed to be done. Enjoy your deck!

Scott from Calgary
Scott from Calgary
7 reviews Calgary, AB
9/10

Replace Vinyl Decking

Dealt with Marc in the initial stages, very professional, good to deal with and seemed knowledgeable (their competition wanted 100% payment upfront, Marc was much more reasonable to deal with). Spencer and Rick came to do the install, and put a long day in to get everything wrapped up in the one day. The installation was done very well with great attention to detail. They identified one problem that required some extra labour, which I authorized up to a certain amount, and the extra charge came in roughly half of what was authorized.
I would do business with them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am glad you had a great experience with Caldek. We appreciate your business and hope you enjoy your deck for many years.
Thank You

SRB in Calgary
SRB in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
2/10

Deck over living Space

We paid a deposit in early August 2016 and Caldek said they were about ~2 weeks out from starting the job. Our job was small, ~$,6000. They finally sent a carpenter out to take a LOOK at our job after the Thanksgiving long weekend. At that time, it was determined that the estimator misquoted the job and our small deck project actually required a significant rebuild. The main issues found by the carpenter were things that I pointed out to the estimator and should have been obvious to the estimator.

Our revised quote was over $9,000 with GST, which according to one of the owners of Caldek was at cost.

Customer service after Caldek took our deposit was awful. We had no idea when Caldek was actually going to show up. They blamed everything on the weather last summer, but our job was very small and could have easily been tarped. They also could have sent their carpenter out to look at our job on one of these many rainy days, but never did.

We felt backed into a corner when Caldek came back with the higher quote. We offered to meet half way between the original quote and the new $9,000 quote for $7,500 to complete our job, but they refused to complete the job at that price. Instead, they opted to refund our deposit.

We ended up having Canmore Duradek complete our job in Late October and early November. Our end product with Canmore Duradek is great and their final bill was 5% cheaper than Caldek's $9,000 quote, which was done at cost.

If you are sold on Duradek, be warned that Caldek is expensive and has poor customer service. I would look to Canmore Duradek or All Season Decking out of Red Deer.

Overall, very disappointed with Caldek.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

I am sorry your experience was less than excellent. We did make a mistake in the quoting of your project. On the other hand we were also upfront about it and wanted to rectify the issue. I quoted it at no profit for us in hopes to make up for the mistake. We ended up giving the deposit back with no hassles as we could not agree on the price. To find out you had someone else do it at 5% less is pretty minimal when you actually wanted it done at 20% less. As we know the weather last summer was brutal and this project was over living space. These types of projects need 3-4 days of clear weather as to not have potential water issues.
I am glad you got it done right in the end and hope you enjoy the deck.

Regards

jtvan
jtvan
1 review Okotoks, AB
8/10

Duradek, vinyl deck covering

sanded down to plywood deck paneling, filled the holes & low spots, then resanded, glued down vinyl deck covering

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Caldek appreciates your business and we hope you enjoy your deck for many years.

Ryan

J w.
J w.
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Duradek on deck

Levelled and installed Duradek on deck and installed new stairs. The quality is excellent and Caldek was very easy to work with.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for your business and making our experience a pleasure as well

Ryan

Dennis
Dennis
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Replace both upper and lower deck vinyl covers and install glass railing to the lower deck replacing the old wrought iron railings.

All work was finished on time. Any small items were attended to immediately. The installers were very professional and coordinating with Brian in the main office was very efficient. Brian contacted us upon completion of the project to see if there were any remaining issues to be looked after. Very satisfied with the workmanship and quality of the products used.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Excellent to hear! We appreciate your business and hope you enjoy your deck for many years to come.

Ryan

Brian K.
Brian K.
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Replaced old outdoor deck covering and installed new design of glass railing support brackets.

Very good people to work with. Office people very accommodating regarding home owner schedule. Installers very good and friendly.
Product installation went smoothly once weather became good. New deck covering looks great and new railing (custom) support brackets are perfect for my high wind location.
Highly recommend Caldek.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for choosing Caldek to upgrade your deck needs.it was a pleasure to work with you and hope you enjoy your deck for many years to come.

Ryan

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Caldek Sundeck Systems

Exclusive Calgary Dealer for DuraDek Vinyl Decking. If you need a Vinyl Deck, we can help. Since 1978. algary’s exclusive franchise dealer for Duradek and Railcraft Aluminum Railings. Multi Year winner of the prestigious Gold Consumers Choice Award for Business Excellence. Aluminum Railing, Composite Decking, Caldek Sundeck Systems Thank you ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Decks pros in Calgary?