They worked on the rear patio and front walkway of my rental property a couple years ago. The work was done to specification and also on time and on budget. I would recommend using Burloak landscaping. Consummate professionals that are a pleasure to work with.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the review Elias. Should you require any more work on your other rental properties just let us know. Thanks and talk soon.


I had Alliance supply and install flooring in my living and dining room. They provided a competitive quote and completed the job in a timely fashion. Great customer service and have great courteous installers. Got it done first time right with no hassles.

Was this review helpful?

Purchased material from them and it creaks and sqeaks like crazy. After having two installers to try and rectify the issue including their own they bounced me over to their manufacturer. They don't stand behind their product and will play between the manufacturer and installer. Don't buy from them not worth the aggravation.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This response is purely just to correct misinformation as presented in this "review".
As above, client did purchase floors from Yorkdale, materials only, no installation services, and did
experience some issues.
As per "After having two installers to try and rectify the issue including their own they bounced
me over to their manufacturer." : the clients first installer, nothing to do with Yorkdale Hardwood,
had no interest in resolving the issue. It is important to note that this first installation was
carried out over an EXISTING LOOSE, WARPED parquet, a warranty issue in itself. The second
installer, whom Elias dealt with on a previous
installation,is not an employee of Yorkdale Hardwood and WAS NOT INSTRUCTED by Yorkdale Hardwood to
"rectify" any situation, by any means.
Here is a time-line of events:
1.purchased flooring product
2.installer picked up and installed within hours, no acclimation
3.client called and reported "creaks in floor" and was advised to have his installer check under the
baseboard to make
sure the floating floor had the correct spacing around perimeter, which may result in
"squeaking or creaking".
4.manufacturer was contacted and advised of the situation and both Yorkdale & manufacturer started
the procedure to correct the issue. THERE IS A PROCEDURE THAT MUST BE FOLLOWED!
5.client discussed situation with "second" installer and decided,
WITHOUT FIRST CONTACTING Yorkdale Hardwood, to remove the floor, the loose parquet, that was used
as a subfloor and reinstall the floor. A bad decision on behalf of the client and the installer, and a
decision we would not have recommended. This "repair" was not successful, but was deemed Yorkdale
Hardwood's mistake, for some unknown reason or another. The second installer did not accept any fault
in the unsuccessful repair.
6.client contacted Yorkdale and threatened to post on "Homestars" and so on, and will take "legal
action" if the situation
was not rectified. Client was advised that if that was the route he desired, then we could not help
with the situation any longer.
7.client's wife/partner called and apologized for "threats"
8. Yorkdale Hardwood & manufacturer discussed the situation, and not withstanding the botched
repair, that something needed to be done to "help" this client, even though both companies did not
consider the issue a problem with the material. Because of the poor initial installation, and the
follow up "botched repair", it was decided to allow the floor to "settle" for a couple of weeks and
hopefully the creaking would subside, as client did admit, the reinstallation had in fact "reduced
the squeaking somewhat". Neither the first installer, nor the
second installer, both of clients choosing, accepted any professional or financial responsibility
9.client posted to Homestars,...not providing the entire truth and indicating the route he decided
to pursue. Unfortunately.

update: Client had an independent evaluation performed on the project. The report was duly cc'ed to
Yorkdale Hardwood, the so called villian in this fiasco. This professional inspection gleaned the
following result: "not a material failure, an installation failure"!

Its too bad that people can say what they like without facts. Unfortunately, Homestars has chosen to assist "Elias" in this misrepresentation.


I had an issue with an initial hardwood installation, so I hired Bill to do some corrective work as I had used him once before. Happy with him the first time around. He indicated from his inspection that the issue with my initial install was that the installer went overtop parquet that was glued to concrete. After Bill's corrective work the issue persisted. After hiring an independent specialist to assess the matter it was found that the issue was 100% install related. A bunch of old glue and left over underlay had been left over. When I sent him over the 3rd party report he told me to "take him to court". This is not a vendor that you should ever do business with.

Was this review helpful?

In September Five Star Painting painted the exterior of my home including the deck. Several days after the deck had been painted the paint began to peel. After several attempts to rectify the issue 5 star refunded me for the cost of painting the deck.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

If the surface preparation is not proper the paint will not hold anywhere - in this case it held well mostly. The place was under renovation and a lot of contractual work went there after we left. The frequent movement of people and materials led to the paint chipping off in areas. The deck paints do not come with any warranty at all because the manufacturers do not yet have a product that would last for a considerable length of time - most people have to repaint their decks after two years even where there is normal residential use. We voluntarily repaired the peeling painted areas a couple of times but these would peel again because the other contractors were continuing with their work. When we painted the area, the plan was to have it as the last renovation work on the premises but the other contractors were late in their work and we had to do the project anyways as the winter was approaching. In the end, although it was not covered under our warranty, we gave a refund to the customer for the cost of painting the deck because as a matter of policy we do not like to leave a customer with an outstanding issue. He is now free to use his existing contractor to finish the job once he is done with the rest of the work. The deck was also a small portion of the entire job.


Burloak landscaping did a job for me for an investment property I own in Hamilton. Service was friendly and professional at a fair price. The job was also done in one day while other companies I've worked with require 2-4 days for a similar job.

Was this review helpful?