Yorkdale Hardwood Flooring Centre

Floor Retailers
250 Bridgeland Ave. Toronto ON M6A 1Z4
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Floor Retailers
Yorkdale Hardwood Flooring Centre
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

68%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Yorkdale Hardwood Flooring Centre

Average customer rating:
7.4 10 (20 reviews)

Sort by

Beth in Toronto
Beth in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
3/10

Hardwood floor; purchase and installation

Used Yorkdale to replace subfloor and all hard wood on main floor and upstairs of a 100+ year old home.

Purchased custom Husky solid maple flooring. Sales person was good enough to get our order in a timely manner so that we could have the product to do the install done between our closing and move in dates. Arranged for delivery at just the right time. The installation and flooring itself is not good.

The installers we used were recommended by Yorkdale (Bill & others). We also used the installers to change a closet door opening from one room to another and install new sliding doors.

There are gaps all over the floor, both between the ends and sides of the flooring strips. There are so many the installer went and got custom coloured filler to patch areas; including the transition right in the middle of the door from the kitchen to the living room. The floor is not smooth/flush and when walking one can feel every wood strip beside the other. Looks okay from a distance but feels awful. If I had the $ I'd rip it all out and get it totally re-done.

The transition from the floor to the stair well is a different colour and the gap is so large that debris catches in it on an ongoing basis. The floor still squeaks in many places despite the new subfloor. That could be the old joists but when I brought it to their attention they said they don't know why it squeaks. They did the subfloor install correctly.

The installers also trimmed the bottom of the exterior front door as the new flooring is higher than the old. The gap at the bottom of the door is uneven and too high so now I have to repair/install a new transition and weather stripping.

The installers went past the agreed upon deadline. The day before we were to move in we had hired a cleaning crew, which they installers knew prior to quoting the job. They were still installing throughout the 2nd floor and the cleaners couldn't do their job. They offered to reimburse us but that's not the point. They knew about the deadline, we reminded them throughout the project the and they didn't give us notice they wouldn't be done on time until the night before. Too late to cancel the cleaners and the point is and we wanted a cleaning crew before we moved in.

On the day we were moving in (truck and movers and everything) they were still working on completing flooring and the closet. I had to text when the movers were 10 minutes away so they could vacate the house.

While they were waiting for us to arrive at the house they, to do something nice for us they said, they unpacked and assembled our new patio furniture. Only they didn't use the washers or all the bolts and used the wrong ones in places. They also stripped the bolts so we couldn't remove them. Had order an entire new set of assembly hardware from the manufacturer for a brand new patio set. More work for us.

They had to keep coming back throughout the next couple of weeks to complete the closet project. Therefore we had to keep all our furniture wrapped in plastic due to plaster and drywall dust. Including wrapping our bed on a daily basis.

As for the delays they said there was one day they were down a person and another day they lost time because they blew hoses on their nail guns and had to go buy more. They also asked for additional payments during the install to buy more supplies. Not more money overall, but more frequent payments. They mentioned that they were going above and beyond (coloured filler etc) to "make me happy" and that they were taking a hit from their bottom line. Had they priced out the job properly that wouldn't have been an issue.

I did walk throughs with the installers about the gaps and uneven install and the response was that it's the milling of the floor and that even the side by side un-even planks would be acceptable as under-overage by the manufacturer. ???

I emailed my displeasure to the store and their reply was that they were sorry to hear I was unhappy. Nothing more. They did pick up the 3 unused boxes and refunded the $ for those however. Not enough to make up for my experience. I'm still stuck with the flooring.

They installers cleaned up well after themselves and were pleasant enough but the quality of the install (and/or the product) and the fact that they were way over the deadline, and didn't adhere to the payment schedule makes me not give a good review.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Engineered hardwood flooring

Prices are more expensive for the same product compared to the competitionn. Something I learned the hard way after the fact. I should have done more comparative shopping before deciding to buy from these guys.

Pushy sales tactics. I was assured I was "getting what I paid for" to justify the high price. Flooring developed gaps between planks and sqeaks like crazy when walking on it. It also dents and looks like its many years old after just a few months.

Owner doesn't want to hear, definately I can forget about any kind of resolution. Standard response is your installer did someting wrong, heavens forbid the product could be faulty. Other staff hang up the phone. I don't know how place like this stays in business. Take thousands of dollars, when you have a problem... good luck.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

New Flooring

I purchased flooring from this company. Seeing their mixed reviews I was nervous but took the chance anyways.

Flooring was defective and I had to replace it at my expense. Staff was dishonest from the onset, and will probably reply saying they have no record of me as a customer. Standard tactic to discredit reviews.

Buyer beware!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We cannot accurately respond to this review as it is anonymous, with no details to respond to. As you mentioned, we do not have any record of any customer named "private user" in our system.

We are more than honest, to a fault with our clients, and try hard to provide good customer service. We have a ZERO-pressure sales motto and allow customers to make their decisions based on their own preferences, and not on pushy sales tactics. We clearly identify any products sold on clearance as final-sale, no warranty.
When we experience issues, which is not frequent, we do everything we can to resolve.
When an issue arises, we contact the respective manufacturer/distributor, and work to facilitate an amicable result for the consumer, which is most often, but not always the case, depending on the specific claim. Product warranties are offered through the manufacturer/distributor. If the manufacturer/distributor rejects the claim, there is little we can do to force them, aside from discontinuing their product line.

Unfortunately, without specific information, we cannot address this review appropriately.
Allowing such a review with no basis for rebuttal is very suspect on this site's behalf.

Palazzetti Modern Furniture
Palazzetti Modern Furniture
3 reviews Toronto, ON
9/10

Flooring

I bought some vinyl flooring for a laundry area. It looks great, the delivery was fast and product is holding up extremely well.
I would recommend Yorkdale Flooring to anyone needing quality floors.

Was this review helpful?
Katy in Kensington Market from Toronto
Katy in Kensington Market from Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

Reno, new flooring everywhere

3 years later, I'm still super satisfied with the flooring we got. It looks beautiful and is still in tip-top condition (no creaking or warping, etc). The only issue - I warned them that I was in a laneway and trucks couldn't get in, so they should send two guys. They only sent one guy so we had to help carry the wood in ourselves. Heavy! OK - good exercise, but still. Loving the floor though and the price was good.

Was this review helpful?
Margaret Dovigo from Toronto
Margaret Dovigo from Toronto
1 review North York, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

Colleen and Sara are very knowledgable with Yorkdale Flooring products and they provided great customer service. The installers Bill and Mike were very good. They continued working until the job was complete. Even after the job is completed, if there is an issue , Bill very kindly will make sure you are 100%satisfied. I would definitely recommend Yorkdale Flooring to my family and friends.
MD

Was this review helpful?
Elias from North York
Elias from North York
7 reviews North York, ON
0/10

Supplied Engineered Hardwood

Purchased material from them and it creaks and sqeaks like crazy. After having two installers to try and rectify the issue including their own they bounced me over to their manufacturer. They don't stand behind their product and will play between the manufacturer and installer. Don't buy from them not worth the aggravation.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This response is purely just to correct misinformation as presented in this "review".
As above, client did purchase floors from Yorkdale, materials only, no installation services, and did
experience some issues.
As per "After having two installers to try and rectify the issue including their own they bounced
me over to their manufacturer." : the clients first installer, nothing to do with Yorkdale Hardwood,
had no interest in resolving the issue. It is important to note that this first installation was
carried out over an EXISTING LOOSE, WARPED parquet, a warranty issue in itself. The second
installer, whom Elias dealt with on a previous
installation,is not an employee of Yorkdale Hardwood and WAS NOT INSTRUCTED by Yorkdale Hardwood to
"rectify" any situation, by any means.
Here is a time-line of events:
1.purchased flooring product
2.installer picked up and installed within hours, no acclimation
3.client called and reported "creaks in floor" and was advised to have his installer check under the
baseboard to make
sure the floating floor had the correct spacing around perimeter, which may result in
"squeaking or creaking".
4.manufacturer was contacted and advised of the situation and both Yorkdale & manufacturer started
the procedure to correct the issue. THERE IS A PROCEDURE THAT MUST BE FOLLOWED!
5.client discussed situation with "second" installer and decided,
WITHOUT FIRST CONTACTING Yorkdale Hardwood, to remove the floor, the loose parquet, that was used
as a subfloor and reinstall the floor. A bad decision on behalf of the client and the installer, and a
decision we would not have recommended. This "repair" was not successful, but was deemed Yorkdale
Hardwood's mistake, for some unknown reason or another. The second installer did not accept any fault
in the unsuccessful repair.
6.client contacted Yorkdale and threatened to post on "Homestars" and so on, and will take "legal
action" if the situation
was not rectified. Client was advised that if that was the route he desired, then we could not help
with the situation any longer.
7.client's wife/partner called and apologized for "threats"
8. Yorkdale Hardwood & manufacturer discussed the situation, and not withstanding the botched
repair, that something needed to be done to "help" this client, even though both companies did not
consider the issue a problem with the material. Because of the poor initial installation, and the
follow up "botched repair", it was decided to allow the floor to "settle" for a couple of weeks and
hopefully the creaking would subside, as client did admit, the reinstallation had in fact "reduced
the squeaking somewhat". Neither the first installer, nor the
second installer, both of clients choosing, accepted any professional or financial responsibility
9.client posted to Homestars,...not providing the entire truth and indicating the route he decided
to pursue. Unfortunately.

update: Client had an independent evaluation performed on the project. The report was duly cc'ed to
Yorkdale Hardwood, the so called villian in this fiasco. This professional inspection gleaned the
following result: "not a material failure, an installation failure"!

Its too bad that people can say what they like without facts. Unfortunately, Homestars has chosen to assist "Elias" in this misrepresentation.

Bill P, Toronto
Bill P, Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Install hardwood floors on first floor of house

We are delighted with our new floors from Yorkdale Hardwood Flooring. The price was good and the quality of the wood was excellent. The installer, Bill Marsh, and his crew were second to none and went far beyond the call of duty leaving the house immaculate when they were finished. I would recommend this company highly!

Was this review helpful?
Paula from Toronto
Paula from Toronto
3 reviews Old Toronto, ON
10/10

Laminate floor

Great selection, very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable staff. We bought laminate floor and had it installed. We are so happy with our new floor! Would highly recommend Yorkdale Flooring Center.

Was this review helpful?
Alicia Laumann from Toronto
Alicia Laumann from Toronto
3 reviews Old Toronto, ON
10/10

Laminate Flooring for basement

Great selection at very good prices but what is most important is that the staff is knowledgeable and very helpful. We purchased laminate flooring and just had it installed and are thrilled with the results. We had a carpet in the basement in the past but this flooring is a much better option. Would not hesitate to recommend this company to friends and relatives.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Floor Retailers pros in Toronto?