Reviews

9/10

Veronica Roofing made the most competitive offer. We obtained four offers, three of them in the $3000 range; Veronica Roofing did the job for $1900, including wood work on the garage roof that we were not quoted for. Overall, very good communication experience; excellent responding time. Work was done on short notice, and it took them about 6 hours to strip off existing shingles (of a two car garage), repair some of the wooden planks, apply membrane and new shingles, plus a new vent (the garage didn't have a vent before). Roof looks good and we are hoping it will last 15 years. We had two people come out. The only minus point is clean up. We still have plastics flying around in the garden from the shingles' packaging. But this shouldn't be a reason not to hire this company. After all, they lost some time on the job due to the unforeseen work on the wooden planks.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your review,
Sorry for the small pieces of plastic, we tried to collect everything but was little bit windy !
Sorry for inconvenience!

0/10

We have been hiring this company for the past 4 year to service and inspect our hot water boiler, since the previous owner of our house did use the company to install a new hot water boiler. I was never really happy with the main office's way of treating me when setting up the service and inspection call. But this time around the system did not operate after it was serviced. When I began to complain about the way they responded to me being upset about that fact, Marco from Visic brothers walked away from the situation by claiming that a part needed replacement that he cannot get a hold of. We are about to initiate the process of a formal complaint with the Ministry of Consumer Protection.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

This is the third time we hired the company to do work on our roofs. This time a skylight was replaced. Disregarding the usual problems that come with contractor work on your home, the company proved once more that it tries very hard to do whatever is in its power to leave the customer satisfied. Price was competitive. Work was done on time, and crew was competent and friendly. Roof & skylight look good. Diego, the representative we have been dealing with, has been very responsive to the issues I raised.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback, everyone at Professional Roofers appreciate your favourable words.

10/10

If you are looking for someone addressing issues with your main drain, then you should consider this company. The main reason is not his competitive pricing, but the intelligence the owner displays in showing your ways out of extremely costly solutions to relatively minor issues. We spent two thirds less than previously projected in replacing an old building trap to install an outside backwater valve and clean-outs.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

I had Mayday Drain Services do a second camera inspection in order to assess the accuracy of a report by a plumbing company regarding the main drain of our home. I am glad I did so. Mayday Drain Service gave extremely helpful advise and saved me thousands of dollars, and this not by means of smooth talking, but by means of showing me alternatives to deal with potential problems, such a roots growing into our old clay pipe main drain and connections from PVC to clay pipes. While plumbing company's give you the feeling that it is only minutes until your basement is under water or your old building trap explodes, Roy from Mayday Services puts everything in perspective. In fact, he strongly advised to remove the trap,and monitor other issues the camera inspection suggests could become problems in the future--but aren't. In my view, plumbing company's shouldn't be hired to assessed your main drain, especially if they would benefit from ill-advise to the home owner following the camera inspection. Roy is a good address, and he does have people to refer you to who also have a intelligence enough to consider solutions before tearing up your basement. I would never act on the report of one camera inspection if the projected costs go into the thousands of dollars--spending $600 on two independent camera inspection seems an investment worth making.

Was this review helpful?
6/10

I used this company in the past, and was very happy with the work. This time I needed the main drain inspected, as we have a house from 1890 equipped with a building trap, which are prone to fail. The company representative was very friendly, appeared competent, and very responsive. The problem: he advised me to open up the whole basement in order to replace 32 feet of drain pipe (PVC to replace clay), and this for three reasons: (1) connection from new PVC pipe to old clay pipe (made by previous owner when finishing the basement) is not great. (2) some roots in main drain (from a tree that was removed by the city including stump three years ago). (3) you cannot go from 6 inch to 4 inch back to 6 inch in diameter (old clay pipe is 6 inch, and the installation of the back-water valve required use of 4 inch pipe to be put in place once building trap is removed). Overall estimated cost: $6000 plus HST plus all the costs resulting from re-doing part of the basement. I had a hard time believing that this advise is more in my interest and less in the interest of the plumbing company the person represented who gave me that advise). Since camera inspections are costly, I wondered if one is expected to pay two or three company each $300 in order to satisfy the principle of competition among companies for the job in question and to make sure the person's advise is sound. Public plumbing also advised me against hiring another company to do a camera inspection (since the issue with the drain are so obvious that everyone would come to the same conclusion); but offered that I use the report he left me stating the condition of our drain pipe with other companies when soliciting more estimates. I decided to hire another company to perform a camera inspection (someone who does not do plumbing but only camera inspection). That person contradicted everyone Public Plumbing's representative stated. That is: (1) the PVC to clay connection is what is the norm (it is often not the case that the connection is great due to the differences in material (clay versus PVC, resulting is some moving and thus part mismatch). (2) roots can be monitored and if necessary snaked. (3) it is possible to go from 6 inch to 4 inch to 6 inch. That person advised me, however, to take out the trap, since they are prone to fail and cannot be monitored (the camera cannot go into the building trap. That is why I did. I found a company to replace the trap exactly the way I was advised it was possible. Overall costs: $2373, including the installation of an outside backwater valve (with $1250 to be reimbursed from the City of Toronto as it passed inspection). That means, actual cost: $1123. In conclusion: I don't think those should inspect your main drain who benefit from poor (even if well intended (who doesn't prefer the best possible main drain in the universe)) advise resulting from the inspection. Every home improvement decision home owners have to make is a compromise, and Public Plumbing did not help me in making the most reasonable decision.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear K-Family, we thank you for your time and honesty in leaving us this review and we are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the consultation provided by our technician. Our company offers free consultations for underground drain repair (this does not include camera inspections) and our technicians provide the various options open to you and best advise according to code. The options provided to you are the best to protect your basement from back ups and reoccurring problems and are the most correct repair to have the best functioning drainage system, which can be more costly than an easy fix. As you have stated above, our technician let you know that you are free to discuss with other companies (and as he had already done the camera inspection you would be able to provide the make up of your drainage system to the other company), which is what you have done and have chosen to go with someone else to make a repair which is at your discretion. We are very sorry that you feel this way about our consultation and would love any opportunity in the future to turn that 6 into a 10! Thanks again!

10/10

Very good in communication. Wonderful outcome of project. Remarkable expertise. Project was completed in reasonable time. Very competitive prize ($2500 lower than the next lowest estimate, $7600 lower than the highest estimate!). Most remarkable, the owner of M. Scott Improvements, offered a solution to our water diversion issue that actually saved us money. In other words, we got the feeling that Mike was acting in our best interest, instead of trying to get more money out of us. Most of the ideas we had for a complicated water solution problem at our garage he rejected, and we ended up with a solution that looks good, and was way more affordable. No question, we would hire Mike and his team again.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Although we find the prize for vanity installation outrageous in general, we cannot but say that Vlad from Public Plumbing did an excellent job in installing two custom made bathroom vanities. The office is very responsive and appears very professional in relating to customers. Appreciated was a follow up call to see that no problems had arisen since installation. I should also say that Public Plumbing was the only company who offered a rebate. Instead of 1840 + HST, we paid &1550 including HST. Still a lot, but the most competitive prize we could find. And we have no reason to say that the company is not worth the money.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Y&C! We thank you for your honest and detailed review. We really appreciate the kind remarks for the office staff and are very pleased that Vlad was able to take care of your vanities installation for a lower price than others. Thank you again, please take care!

0/10

The company has charged us for services related to the installation of a storm door that were not provided. A complaint had to be filed by us to the Ministry of Consumer Protection, since the company was not responsive to calls and letters asking for a refund of the money for the services not provided. Disappointing overall, and a pity as their doors is of good quality, although installation is always a problem in terms of scheduling and labour. A huge problem is communication.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This was resolved amicably with the home owner

9/10

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

Professional Roofers did parts of the flat roof of our house. Overall, we are happy with the results so far, it looks good and the guys cleaned things at the end--mostly. There were some complications and problems, but Diego and the owner did not hesitate to straighten things out once alerted by us. We should mention that they had the most competitive estimate, and stayed within budget. Everyone you are dealing with from the company is very courteous. Appearance and conduct are extremely professional. You can be assured that if problems arise they won't be ignored. On the contrary, the owner seeks to resolve every problem to your satisfaction and this immediately--even after payment! That is unique in Canada!

Was this review helpful?