Reviews

10/10

Our air conditioner quit working in August and left us sweltering! We called a number of places, and made the decision to go with Peatson's - and it was one we didn't regret! The person we spoke to on the phone was courteous and helpful, and was able to get someone out the next morning. They made immediate plans to replace the unit at a very, very reasonable price. The two workers installed the new unit in the pouring rain, and stayed until we learned to use the new thermostat. The service far exceeded our expectations! While we hope we won't ever need to have them back, we'd return in a heartbeat.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
8/10

We have used this company on many occasions. When our Kenmore dishwasher wouldn't start, we had a technician come out to repair it for $80. A few months later, our washing machine was leaking. A different technician came out and was able to repair it for $60. Since we were so satisifed with this company, we called them 4 years later, and after we had moved, to repair a gas range. Unfortunately we were informed that they do not have a license (or did not at the time) for gas. Still, we would recommend this company to anyone! Fast, efficient & reliable!

Was this review helpful?
6/10

We had Jeff come out to look at a broken garage door. Response time was quick, and the price quoted was reasonable. We ended up waiting to move forward on the job, but would recommend this company to others.

Was this review helpful?
6/10

Tom came out when we had a minor leak in our basement out of the main drain on the floor. He found a blockage about 40 feet down due to tree roots. The problem was resolved within 3 hours and it has never reoccured. However, having to pay overtime for jobs after 5 is a little much, especially when we called at 11:00 am and they didn't arrive until 4:00 pm.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

We had Roma Fence extend our backyard fencing/add a gate so that we could let our dog out the side door. Previously, he had to be let in & out through the carpeted living room, and in spring it was a nightmare! The job was done in record time, and very professionally. We were so impressed that we had them come out to our new house 5 years later to replace that fence. The price at that time was almost identical to the last time - amazing in these times! High quality work, detail oriented work each time. Highly recommended.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
8/10

We had Voxcom install an alarm system at my grandparents' home for security. Their pricing was competitive and the representatives were very patient & answered all questions. Since technology is NOT my grandparents' thing, they had some difficulty remembering the correct way to "arm" & "disarm" the system when leaving/returning home, which often times prompted a call from Voxcom to check in! Voxcom was always very fast to respond when the system would go off - almost immediate - and very understanding toward them. We felt that our grandparents were very safe & secure in their hands.

Was this review helpful?
7/10

We had our upstairs windows replaced because they were the originals and we were losing heat - 4 bedrooms + 1 bathroom - 10 windows total. The install was fairly quick & painless, however I wish they would have removed those incredibly hard to get off stickers before they left!!! We did have to do quite a bit of vacuuming after they left. We've noticed a considerable difference with the new windows in place. We'll likely return to Consumer's Choice when we decide to do our main floor windows.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

To: Heather

We are pleased that you may be contacting us soon to order your main floor windows and appreciate the compliments in your review.

Please note that our installers do wear booties and clean the area where they have been installing. They also use drop sheets.

With regards to the window stickers, we do apologize that they are left on the glass, but it is for the following reasons. No window may leave the manufacturing floor and be delivered to site without having specific rated stickers attached. When the windows arrive at their installation destination, the homeowner is able to confirm that they have received the windows ordered with the CSA, Energy Star, Window Wise and Health Smart stickers which offer assurance of excellence. If the customer chooses to have any energy or building audits performed, the inspectors insist that the stickers remain attached to the windows until the audits are completed.

For these reasons, only the homeowner may remove the window stickers after inspection or call us to remove them for you.

Many thanks for your comments and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

9/10

After a huge windstorm in Mississauga, we had 2 of our 6 of our giant cedar trees fall over. We found Derek's information online and asked him to come over to give us a quote. He was there within hours. As it turns out, he thought he could save the trees. He also pruned one of our other maple trees which was overgrown. Unfortunately, only 1 of the replanted cedar trees took. When we called him a few months later he removed the dead tree the next day free of charge.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Heather for taking the time to write us review we appreciate it. We are glad you were satisfied and if you need any work in the future plase give us a call. Derek

8/10

We used Home Fix It for a bunch of small jobs to prepare our house for sale. We had 1 room in the basement drywalled, and had some other odds & ends fixed up (new faucets, etc). They came out to assess the job and provided a free quote. On the day of the job the handyman was on time, quick, & efficent. He brought drop clothes & covers for his shoes, and was careful to clean up his messes along the way. When it was discovered that some extra parts were needed, he went out to Home Depot to get them, without adding on any extra charge for the increase in time in took to complete the job. He was great with our dog too :) I'd use their services again in a heartbeat.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Heather , Thank you so much for the great review here on Homestars.com!!
It was our pleasure working for you and your family, and we are glad we could help you out.
Congratulations on the quick sale with your home and we look forward to working together again soon,

kind Regards
Anthony.D
Senior Supervisor

7/10

We used this company to re-carpet our stairs and main floor to prepare the house for sale. When we met with the representitive in the showroom we were overwhelmed with the choices! He gave us some samples to take home to see how they looked against the newly painted walls (we were still getting used to the colour!), and to discuss with other family members. Once we made our decision, an appointment was set up - with only about a week's wait! We were suprised to find only 1 installer, but he was very efficent. Not very talkative/friendly, but he got the job done. In one afternoon he was done. He was clean & removed everything. It made a HUGE difference to the look of our home, and we were thrilled with the services provided.

Was this review helpful?
8/10

We have used this company twice, each with great success. The first time we used them was after moving to change the locks on three exterior doors (front, side, and garage). Since they were so professional and reasonably priced, we utilized their services a few years later. Each of our bedroom doors have locks, but the previous homeowners did not leave us keys. One of the doors jammed with a child in the room, and we were unable to remove the knob ourselves to open the door. The locksmith was QUICK and was able to get the job done in no time. I'd recommend them to anyone!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Heather We are deeply appreciative of your compliment and humbled that you would enjoy our efforts to provide you with care and service.

Thank you Locksmith On The Way Inc

2/10

We met with a representitve at the Home Show in Toronto who gave us a fantastic deal on an above ground pool, which we purchased on the spot. We then went to their showroom in Mississauga to pick out our liner & other small details, as well as make arrangements for the installation. Each of these "appointments" went very smoothly. Bill came out to measure the yard & help us determine where to place the pool. The installation was smooth, painless & professional. We attended "pool school" to help us learn to care for the pool. Everything seemed as though it was going great! However, it was a hot summer and we had difficulty keeping the pool clear. We called the store & went in personally many times, but little to know follow up support was provided. We were very disappointed in the way things turned out. They have a GREAT sales team, but unfortunately little to no follow though.

Was this review helpful?