Roma Fence

Fences & Gates
24 Cadetta Rd ON L6T 3Z8
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Fences & Gates in Brampton  >  Roma Fence
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

57%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Roma Fence

Average customer rating:
5.9 10 (23 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
1 review , NB
0/10

Lack of service and lack of professionalism, no transparency in Roma Fence Contract. Ro Roma Fence is not dealing honestly and are not dealing In good fait

Myself and my family have used the services of Roma Fence for over 30 years and myself and my large family will NOT be using Roma Fence again.
They are very rude. Christina, who appears to run the company does not value nor respect our 30 years of business paying all the invoices on time & in full and does not return any phone calls to us. This year while trying to get Roma Fence to get work done they now after 30 years will only do work if you sign a detailed account and contract that allows Roma Fence to go a credit check as well as giving Roma Fence the legal right to make additional Charges to your order over and above the quote. What is the purpose of getting a quote ftom Roma Fence will charge over and above the quote? The Building Industry and Land Development (BILD) advise homeowners through the media and at the Home Show to get a quote in writing with all costs and fees so the homeowner/Consumer has full knowledge and trasperancy of the cost of the job. As well, the homes should have a start date and a completion date. Today, July 2017, it is impossible to do good business with Roma Fence since the quote is useless. The contract Roma Fence wants to sign gives Roma Fence the ability to charge whatever amount the want, sky id the limit. Also, Roma Fence Fails to give a start date and no completion date, and not even an estimate of time. This contract Roma Fence demands the homeowner to sign violates the recent Supreme Court Ruling that contracts must not only be done in good faith, all contracts must be done with honesty. This contract Roma Fence demands one to sign ought to be challenged by the legal system. It is most unfortunate that Roma Fence do NOT value nor respect all the 40 Yesrs of business and will only do business if you agree that they can do a Credit Check and you authorize them to charge extra over an above the quote. My quote was for about $2,800. Roma Fence has selected to ruin a 30 years of business for their unscrupulous way of doing business. When I phoned to speak with Christina, one of the owners of Roma
Fence, she was unavailable to take my phone call and failed to return any of my phone calls. The person who answered the phone at Roma Fence, Dorothy of advised me that Christina can not come to the phone I advised I will write to Home Stars, and Dorothy, HUNG UP the phone in my ear today. This is how a reputable company treats a customer? Especially a Customer of over 30 years. This is Roma Fence's way of Quality Customer Care and Customer Service. OUR ADVICE, DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH ROMA FENCE. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good afternoon.

I’ve just read through your review on Home Stars. I will reply to the best of my ability, however, since your review remains anonymous I am unable to pull your project file to view the notes we have made on your fence contract.

I’d like to start by saying that I very much respect businesses of 30 years, 40 years, 5 years, and even one year. In today’s competitive markets, owning and managing a successful company speaks volumes and is an accomplishment.

Having said that, we do have processes and procedures in place for our contracts at Roma Fence. Credit applications are asked to be completed for projects over $5000.00 at Roma Fence as standard operating procedure, and as well, for any clients we have no credit history with, limited credit with, or are choosing to invoice a company separate from where we are installing the fence. From time to time, we repeat credit applications to update our files if we have not done business with a repeat customer for over 5 years. There are contracts where we will accept a purchase order and deposit to proceed on a project if we have no prior history with the company or if billing instructions are apart from the norm and the client prefers a progress payment system.

This year in particular has been unique with the amount of rainfall we have received through June and July. Start dates are subject to production times for materials and locates being completed. This year, projects are continually being pushed back from the original start date due to the unpredictable weather patterns we’ve been receiving in the GTA.

Our contracts have a value associated with the orders and normally come in after receiving a detailed quote, but our contracts do state that changes and extra’s will be charged if used. I personally invoice all the project files to ensure that each client is billed in a timely fashion, and invoiced for the appropriate quantities and footage of fence based on the notes received from our installation department and fence crews.

I understand and appreciate your frustration. Should you wish to discuss your project and experience at Roma Fence, please contact me in the office or send your contact information to [email protected] and we will contact you directly.

Thank you,

Christina Marra

J from Orangeville
J from Orangeville
1 review Orangeville, ON
0/10

Chain link fence

I hired Roma fence to put in a chain link fence to for the dogs. After a little over a year, the post rose out of the ground. When I purhchased the fence, the sales rep promised a warranty of 10 years on a chain link fence. However Roma did not even honour the warrentty within 2 years of doing the work. I called them several times and they would not return my call. They do lousy work, and do not honour warranties.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

J From Orangeville,
I am sorry for your troubles. Just to clarify, the chain link fence warranty is posted on our website and all materials are warranted for up to 10 years. Labour is a 1 year warranty. Many factors, including this very long & very cold past winter can affect things like concrete heaving. We can easily send out an hourly crew to pull the post and reinstall, however, it would be a chargeable service. If this was a shoddy labour job, all posts would have lifted not just one. Please feel free to email mail me.
Thank you,
[email protected]
Christina Marra,
Director of Purchasing & Sales Roma Fence Group of Companies

Pati from Toronto
Pati from Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON
9/10

Iron Fence / Prefab Panels

This review is for the Stouffville location. The customer service I received from Geri was awesome. I would give her my calculations and choice of fences and would get an estimate emailed to me on the same day (we were pressed for time). I picked up the fence panels myself and all the employees were courteous and helpful. The pricing is also quite competitive (the same type of fence would have cost me at least $500+ more from lowes or home depot.

The only reason I took off one star was that there were no instructions given with the fences so we had to look up a few videos to figure out what we were doing. All in all, a great experience. We've only had the fence up for one week so I can't comment on durability over time just yet.

Was this review helpful?
Erin Braybrook from Brantford
Erin Braybrook from Brantford
2 reviews Brantford, ON
0/10

Fence, Gate

I hired Roma Fence to put in a 35 foot stretch of fence along with a 12 foot gate (2 6 foot sections), to keep my dogs in the yard at my new house.

I now have a fence with big gaps underneath that the dogs can escape out of as well as no gate due to the fact that the original gate they installed was 1.5 feet shorter than what was on the work order and was sagging and missing crucial hardware to keep it sturdy.

They have cancelled on me repeatedly when it comes to fixing the gate issue, the fence issue is not getting fixed apparently, that's common to all fences according to them, to have large gaps underneath.

The contractors they hired were shoddy at best, they were sub contractors that ran down Roma while they were working and solicited for their own business (decks and fencing) while on Roma's time.

Head office has fluffed me off and bounced me back to the Hamilton office who seems to have not a care in the world that I am left with a non fenced yard and bricks shoved under the part that is fenced.

The worst part is that this wasn't a cheap job, I paid top dollar for this because I didn't want to deal with shoddy/shady characters and it turns out that I still had to since that's who Roma employs to do their jobs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I’m sorry to hear about this experience. I personally got involved in following through on the repair of this fence. The gaps were due to elevation differences on the property, and the staff involved did their best to accommodate the clients’ needs. I did in fact receive final payment on the project after repairs were completed to the clients’ satisfaction. We hope that the client will remove comments insulting the staff that ultimately completed the project as contracted. Upon receiving an email from the client it was rectified within a reasonable time frame due to the seasonality of the fence industry. I was in constant contact with our client from the time of complaint to head office. Thank You, [email protected] Christina Marra, Director of Purchasing & Sales Roma Fence Group of Companies

Patricia Miller from St. Thomas
Patricia Miller from St. Thomas
1 review Saint Thomas, ON
0/10

Gate

I have purchased fence through this company previously, and have been reasonably happy with the quality of the fence, although the coating does flake off some pieces in long swaths.

Massively disappointed, however, at the level of customer service I have recently experienced with this company. Last summer we ordered a gate at the Hamilton location. I went to the location in person to review the choices, and dealt with a pleasant and helpful woman on site who was knowledgeable. She advised me that the company was about three weeks behind in the production of the gates. That was fine. Three and a half months later, and numerous calls from me (nothing proactive from Roma) the gate was ready. It was late fall, we were away for a period of months. I called them when we returned and advised that we had since sold the vehicle that would have handled the gate, and enquired as to whether they had a local distributor, and if I could arrange for the gate to be sent to a location near me. No, it turns out, they don't have anyone local, but the manager-type I spoke with advised that they would split their delivery cost with me, as they had been so very late in having the gate available. That seemed like a fair compromise to me, and I cheerfully agreed. That was two months ago. I have had emails from the company telling me that no one was coming in this direction. I had an email indicating that a driver would be nearby, and would come on a particular Saturday. Friday, they emailed that the driver was not coming this way after all. Several weeks later, having heard nothing, again, I emailed and suggested that we rent a truck and go and pick up the gate. No reply. I checked out how much it would cost - $120 - and telephoned to see if that would be agreeable, based on the fellow's initial proposal that they split a delivery fee with me. Keep in mind, this is a $60 cost to the company. The manager on the phone, who advised that he was the same person who had agreed to split the shipping cost with me, told me that my rate was ridiculous, and that I needed to go to Home Depot and rent a truck. I pointed out that it is another hour out of the way for me, and I would have to pay for mileage, which would increase the cost, and for a three and a half hour round trip, plus mileage, which would take the price to more than the $120 I had already indicated. Half of that is $60.

The manager type was condescending and unhelpful, and in my frustration I likely became other than sweetness and light. But really, I've been trying to get a gate from these people for a year now. I believe the fault to rest on both sides - they were months later in production than they had originally advised, and my circumstances changed regarding collection. They proposed a reasonable compromise, then failed to follow through on it for months, and ignored my communications about this. I contacted them with a solution of my own that I think was reasonable, and they were completely closed to it.

They have indicated they will refund my purchase price...or, more accurately, that it is not worth them having my business and it would cost them less to just refund my money. I am really disappointed in how this has worked out. I own a small business. The customer isn't always right, but customer service like this would certainly sink my business. And I'm frustrated and unhappy enough with my experience that I will be repeating it to all of my friends and colleagues who ask me about our experience when they are making their own choices.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Patricia,
I’m sorry to hear about this experience. I wish I had been involved in looking after this purchase from the time of the first delay. I run our manufacturing division, and due to a steel shortage of the maintenance free galvalume product, all production has been delayed beyond our control. We are doing our best to meet the demands of the industry at this time. Regarding the delivery, I would agree this could have been handled better. Should you require further assistance I am happy to personally look after your fence project requirements. We apologize for any frustration or inconvenience caused.
[email protected] Christina Marra, Director of Purchasing & Sales Roma Fence Group of Companies

Ivan Novik from Old Toronto
Ivan Novik from Old Toronto
2 reviews Old Toronto, ON
8/10

200' commercial chain link

The sales guy was quick, knowledgeable and concise. The quote was delivered promptly. The fence was put up within a few days. It's a fence, decently straight, everything was done as requested. Thanks Roma!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Ivan. Always a pleasure to see positive feedback.

Christina Marra,
Director of Purchasing & Sales
Roma Fence Group of Companies

Emma from Brampton
Emma from Brampton
1 review Brampton, ON
1/10

Wrought iron fence and gates

Had two fences and gates installed and shared the costs with two neighbours. I had it in the contract that they should hand dig around one gate post and be careful with my irrigation lines (wire and pipe). In the end, the contractor severed the wire, damaged the pipe, and cut a cable. I understand accidents do happen, but they never told me about it and everything was left exposed in a big hole where the old gate post used to be. I called the company and left messages, but they never returned my call. When I called again, the manager was never available after they asked for my name. In addition, the contractor nearly damaged my decorative cedar panel in front of the new fence - thank goodness I was home, and stopped it in time.

For the price that we paid, I cannot recommend this company to anyone.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Emma, I'm so sorry to hear about your experience with Roma Fence and our installation department. I assure you we have a full set of procedures and always call before we dig and follow instructions for personal lines underground. Normally, project and warranty are always brought to my attention but I didn't hear anything about it. Feel free to contact me. Should you require anything in the future, please contact me directly and I will ensure your project is looked after closely. [email protected]

My apologies again.

Christina Marra,
Director of Purchasing and Sales
Roma Fence Group of Companies

CB from Toronto
CB from Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

wood fencing & cement decorative fencing

I contracted Roma Fencing as they have been in the business for many years and I felt that if there were any issues they would be corrected.

I've been communicating for over a year with the sales person to get all imperfections corrected and have had NO results corrected as of April 27th, 2013. On April 27th, 2013 I sent an email to the president of the company along with pictures of the issues and I still have not heard back from him regarding all of my complaints.

This company just wants to charge you for a service that I could have received for half their price with the same shoddy results.

Do not use this company for wood fencing & gates. The staff that they sent out to install the wood fencing did not take off the labels on the bottom of the wood. When they poured the cement for the posts they poured above the ground level and I had to cut my patio pavers to accommodate their horrible install. The gate has become warped numerous times & the latch has broken twice. They replaced the latch with the same type of hollow latch when I clearly instructed a solid latch.
Due to the latch issues I could not close my gate in the winter as it was warped & or the latch was cracked in half.

I also purchased from this company a new product which was decorative fencing. The crew had to level my fence line and did not remove the huge mound of dirt. I had many issues with the color of the product and felt that if they realized that this color was going to be an issue that they should not have offered it. This color is now off their list as the color varies from panel to panel.

The look of the decorative fencing is absolutely beautiful but I would only recommend that they sell this fence color in a light grey or a color close as possible to the cement tint. I'm also have an issue with the install of the gate that they installed for my cement fence. I cannot open the keyed gate at all and have tried numerous times to get this company out to correct this issue with NO RESPONSE!

I'm so sick of their lack of customer service that I will be contacting the Better Business Bureau to lay a complaint as well as sending a registered letter to the owner of the company since he refuses to answer my email. I also have not heard one word back from the sales person.

I did receive a response back from the company, I contacted them & never heard back from them.

Recently in 2015 I saw a review on Homestars that this company guaranteed their decorative fencing for 10 years. As the stain on the concrete fencing was slowly being removed due to weather conditions I contacted the Sales Person in the ad. This is the same person who I contacted 2 years ago. After a few emails back & forth asking for information on the sales order & the name of the sales person who sold the contract they refuse to return any further emails & honor any guarantee.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY AS THEY ONLY WANT YOUR MONEY & DO NOT HONOUR THEIR WORK!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear CB,

I'm sorry to ready about your unfortunate experience with our installation team. We have a full warranty procedure and all of them are brought to my attention. I'm not sure why I haven't seen yours, but will surely speak to you regarding this should you wish to send me your paperwork and discuss your issues with the fence project. It is not common for a project issue to escalate to the President without being addressed. I'm not sure what exactly was installed on your property or what was charged in labour, but I will say a few things based on what I've read. Wood fence and gates typically warp, split and crack. Common for mother nature products. Fences will typically not rot or get eaten by termites. That is the only warranty with wood fencing. For that reason, when boards twist due to moisture and heat, it will cause issues with gates opening and closing. Normally only minor fitting adjustments are required to remedy this. Dirt is normally removed upon request and it is noted on our contracts. Having said that, I'd need more details to be clear on what happened with the dirt removal. Ornamental iron systems have a 10 year Limited Warranty, and we are happy to look at your fencing and recoat it if necessary.

Feel free to contact me with any further concerns. [email protected]

Christina Marra,
Director of Purchasing & Sales
Roma Fence Group of Companies

CK in Etobicoke
CK in Etobicoke
2 reviews Etobicoke, ON
1/10

80 feet of Backyard wooden privacy fence

We had a very negative experience with Roma Fence. It started out positive with their estimator coming out and taking measurements, and providing a competitive quote. Roma was not the least expensive but we wanted a quality project and felt that they were the ones to deliver it.

The problems started as soon as we signed the contract.
• Calls not returned.
• The crew didn't arrive when they were supposed to and didn't call to let us know they wouldn't be there.
• The schedule was for the project to be completed in two days. Two weeks was the actual timeline. Far too long to remove a chain link fence and build a straight line of standard privacy fence.
• The installers left bits of the chain link fence all over both yards, small shards of metal everywhere.
• The installers dumped the waste into our garden. We told them they could put the excavated dirt from the post holes in one section of the garden but not all the waste including bent nails, asphalt from the holes they cut, gravel, offcuts from the boards, etc.
• The fence itself was not well built. The boards were unevenly spaced and did not alternate from side-to-side as they should.
• The lumber tags were left on the boards and are now poking out all over the fence but are sandwiched partially between other boards.
• To make the gate hinge fit the poorly cut boards they beat it into shape with their hammer.
• The boards on the east side of the fence touched the ground. On the west side they were 4" short.
• When we called the head office to complain they sent the same crew back out. When the crew arrived they didn't see any problems and left.
• Called head office again only to be told, "you're probably over reacting. It's a good fence because we built it!"
• Sent photos because no one from Roma was willing to come and see the fence in person. They sent the crew out again with direction to fix it. The crew didn't see the problem and asked us to mark each board that we felt wasn't right.
• Eventually the lead contractor on our project admitted that he never went to the west side of the fence, that was the responsibility of his helper.

After multiple returns by their crews we eventually gave up trying to get the situation rectified. The fence is intact, it's not perfect, and we've learned a lesson about Roma Fence.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Someone in Brampton
Someone in Brampton
8 reviews Brampton, ON
9/10

Backyard Neighbourhood Fencing

I haven't had the best experience with these fencing companies, as in my last home a few years ago, a guy came around took everyones money, started the job, and never finished. However these guys were great and timely. Considering the large backyard I have, $1800 was a great price compared to what others I know pay. If you're ina new neighbourhood, and these guys come knocking on your door, I definitely suggest going with them. Only thing I didn't like about these guys was the fact that they were often using electricity from my home even when working on say my neighbours, but all in all, a pretty good job was done on the fence, and it came with a nice side door entrance.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Roma Fence

Ontario's largest fencing company providing you with quality residential & commercial fence products. Proudly serving you since 1969.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.