Locksmith Toronto Ontario

Formerly Locksmith On The Way Inc.
Locks & Locksmiths
1000 Bloor St West Toronto ON M6H 1L8
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Locks & Locksmiths in Ajax  >  Locksmith Toronto Ontario
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

34%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Locksmith Toronto Ontario

Average customer rating:
3.7 10 (13 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Lock Change - poor service, dishonest pricing

I called locksmithtorontoontario to change a simple lock in my house. I asked several times and was quoted $100 for the work. After the new lock was installed I was informed that the price was closer to $300!

I would not recommend this company because of their vague and dishonest pricing tactics.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Hamilton, ON
0/10

Inferior Locksmith Service

Locksmith Toronto Ontario
416 479-0720
1000 Bloor St West
Toronto
ON
M6H 1L8
CANADA

We wanted to have our locks re-keyed so we searched Google to find a local contractor. We chose and called Locksmith Hamilton Ontario as we liked the look of their website as it looked reputable, professional and local. However, they were not as local as I thought. The name on the invoice (#003458) is Locksmith Canada Inc., who are based out of Thornhill, who arrived in a vehicle that had an Alberta license plate. Very odd! They had a difficult time with our address alone and even though we were clear with the address and provided two distinct landmarks for them, the driver still had trouble finding us and had to call to find out where we were located. Our office administrator had to go outside to flag him down. Regardless, once the technician arrived, he did not seem to be prepared or well trained for the job. We wanted to have our locks rekeyed but he instead told us that the two cylinders had to be replaced. He left to get the parts and it took about three hours before he came back with the parts. He didn’t even bother calling to let us know he was going to be delayed as that seems like a very long time to get parts, especially if you are local and close. When he said he was done, we checked the install and operation and found it was not operating properly on either our front door or side door. He told us five separate times that it was fixed and each time we inspected it, we found a problem. Finally, when it was completed, the door locked and unlocked properly and he left. After he left, we found the push bar on the side door was not mounted correctly and was wobbling back and forth. He had to come back again to retighten it. Even the invoice provided to us was written very sloppily and is barely legible. This was a very disappointing experience from start to finish and I would not recommend this company to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Hanna from Toronto
Hanna from Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

broken Lock

Wish I had checked the reviews before calling Locksmith Toronto. The technician was unprofessional, he kept changing his price half way through the job. He did not seem to know his trade, the door was much damaged even though he managed to drill through the lock. My superintendent was very angry with the damages he had done to the door when he saw it the next day.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
mike from Stoney Creek
mike from Stoney Creek
1 review Stoney Creek, ON
0/10

lock repair

biggest joke of a company was told they wou be here before 4 did not showe up till after 8 when i asked the driver where he was he told me the 427 and the 410 weird because they dont meet any where. DO NOT use this company call a blind monkey you stand a better chance.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Fake client.

3kayt from Toronto
3kayt from Toronto
1 review Old Toronto, ON
0/10

Lock Repair

TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE. DO NOT CALL.

I called Locksmith On The Way to repair the lock to the main door of my condo unit. Upon calling, they quoted me an estimate range. A service call was $25. If the pin needed to be fixed, this would cost an addition $45. If the cylinder needed to be fixed, it would cost between $75 and $99. I was persistent in ensuring this range, as I am a tenant, and wanted full information about potential costs before confirming with my landlord that this company was acceptable. I asked, definitively, is $124.00 plus tax the absolute maximum I can be charged for this service? I was repeatedly assured, that yes, $124.00 plus tax was the most it could cost. Upon arriving, I was told the cylinder was completely shot and would need to be replaced. I was then told that the cylinder would in fact cost $500, or I could purchase a lower quality cylinder for $250. Because it is a condominium with standardized locks, my roommate went to speak to property management about the lock issue. She returned with a member of security who carried with him a bottle of WD-40. The locksmith said it wouldn't work, but when we persisted in trying it, agreed to spray the WD-40 for us. The lock was instantly fixed. We paid the service man $25 for his service call, but it was blatantly apparent that he had been dishonest about the lock issue, and was attempting to defraud us. If I lived in a house, rather than a condominium, I would have been defrauded hundreds of dollars.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Tiva in London from London
Tiva in London from London
1 review London, ON
0/10

Rekeying

My advice...RUN, don't walk from this company. After they rekeyed my house, an urgent job because I was going away for the long weekend and feared my keys had been taken, I found on my return that the old key still worked! I called the company, who promised to send a technician the next day. He didn't come. I made repeated phone calls, was put off by a promise they would phone right back, but they never did. Finally, they promised to send someone to refund my payment to them the following day. No one came. I contacted a local, reputable locksmith who came promptly, found that two of the locks had only two of five tumblers installed (explaining the fact that different keys would open the lock), and charged me less than half the price I had originally paid.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Customers,

We have taken the necessary steps to make things better for this customer what she is saying is not true we have done all we can to make her happy.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Locksmith Toronto Ontario

Expert Toronto Locksmiths Affordable & Reliable. We specialize in emergency locksmith services, for auto, residential & commercial.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.