Reviews

8/10

We're quite happy with the service provided by this company. Our main bedroom and ensuite above the garage was quite cold during winter and we actually could feel air draft in our bedroom. I took upon myself to remove the original garage insulation manually and during the process I found evidence of shoddy home construction. For example, we had an opening almost a metre long under our ensuite Jacuzzi, with just spray foam covering this hole, with nothing else holding it together. Northern Insulation spray foam job improved our comfort level by 100% and the wind draft is totally gone. For the first time in 10 years we felt comfortable in our bedroom and ensuite during the winter time. Northern Insulation installers were on time and left the place clean as they found it. The installers were courteous and explained to us what was being done. We had a few issues: Electrical wire I had meticulously laid out was damaged during the excess spray foam removal. However they took responsibility for their mistake and acted to compensate me for it. So this should be a lesson for all of us installing spray foam: Make sure your wires are safely tucked inside wire conduits deep in the wall, otherwise they will get damaged when the installers shave the excess foam. Northern Insulation installer also returned to our home a couple of times to take care of a small spot I thought could have been done a little bit better and another one which was missed. I will be getting in touch with Northern when it is time to do our attic and basement insulation. Thank you to Mike van Dijk for returning my emails promptly and not hesitating in making it right. I think customers realistically don't expect perfection, however we expect contractors to take ownership and correct problems during installation and Northern has done just that.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your fantastic review, Jay. I am so thrilled to hear that everything worked out in the end. We like to make sure that everything is covered right the first time - but we are only human. Thank you so much for letting us know the issue so we could resolve it right away for you! Like you had mentioned, it is hard to expect perfection, but you better believe that we are going to try to achieve it. Please do not hesitate to contact us when you are ready to move onto the next part of your home! Thank you for choosing Great Northern Insulation!

8/10

Gold Seal did an excellent job caulking our doors, windows and some opening outside our home. They arrived on time and completed the job quickly without any issues. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jay!
Thank you for there review, Im glad you are happy with the job and recommending us to your friend, it is greatly appreciated!

10/10

This company is gold. Great communication with the client, super fast service and delivery. Their workmanship is second to none. I ordered a cover for our air conditioner after getting tired of buying one every year, just to get it damaged by the wind during the winter. Being a metric guy I was afraid I was going to mess up sending the measurement in imperial. Oh boy I was surprised. The quality of the material and the fit are really impressive and it looks like I got the measurement just right as it fit as a glove. :) Save your money and stop buying off the shelve covers. You pay a little bit more to have it custom made, but they will last longer and look much nicer too. So you will save money in the long run. I will order a barbecue cover when we get our new one. Great work guys.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

My ice maker on my GE filter was not dispensing ice and the freezer fan was pretty noisy. Upon some research I found out that the issue could be caused by ice build up in the ice maker and ice falling into the freezer fan. Ayman did a good job removing the parts and getting it cleaned up with a vapour gun, after that the noise was gone and the ice maker is now dispensing ice. He was honest and didn't advise changing any parts yet as the fridge appears to be in good order. JSN will be my guys to go for appliance repair, they appear to be knowledgeable and honest folks.

Was this review helpful?
9/10

I'm very happy with the service provided by NorthWest Gas. I had purchased a Hot Water Tank online and they were about to install it they found out Amazon had delivered a conventional hot one tank, instead of a Power Vented. Since there was no time to exchange it I spoke with Louis from NorthWest Gas, and he had a new Powered Vented hot water tank delivered and installed for us the very next day. They also installed our new Gas Dryer and in fact the installer pointed out that the handy man who was installed the dryer vent had placed it less than 1 metre away from the gas regulator, which was against the code and prompted my to call the Gas Company to install a new gas regulator and an exhaust extension to bring it up to code: This warning from NorthWest Gas alone potentially avoid a disaster. They also removed my old rental hot water tank and placed it in the garage so it would be easier for the Reliance folks to pick it up. NorthWest Gas is now on my Blackberry contact list for any issues related to our hot water tank, furnace and gas in general. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Jay we appreciate your business and support. If you require any other service please give us a call.

9/10

Kamil is a friendly type of guy and we are happy with the work his company did for us. The work was completed on time and without a hitch. We will be calling on him again when it is time to pave our driveway. Just one thing I would suggest: If you are doing your side walkway ask for the downspout to be completed before the concrete is pour. I am sorry I didn't ask and it wasn't suggested to us.

Was this review helpful?
5/10

Service was done on July 2013. Door looks nice and I've not noticed any issues with it yet, except that: Lots of stressful moments during installation. After the installation was completed the installer said my lock wasn't standard size and he could not install it because the hole was too small for it. Well, myself and my wife were very clear to Jeff, the day he attended our house to sign the contract, that we would be keeping our 3 months old, $250.00, Schlage Electronic lock. It is actually written on the contract. The installer came a few days later to double check the door size and I also advised him that we would be keeping the new lock. Fast forward to the installation day: After the door was replaced the installer says: "I cannot install this lock because it is too big for the hole in the door". After a few phone calls Jeff came over and partially agreed with the installer that the lock wasn't standard and it would be much easier if it had been fitted at the factory. Oh well, I'm not a door installer, so I don't think it was my job to tell them they were supposed to confirm the size of the lock. But, wow...apparently it was my fault!!! To add insult to injury they didn't have the tools to change the size of the hole. Luckily I had the exactly "non standard" size saw, which they borrowed to complete the job. My lock was damaged during the installation - the handle bolt was bent and kept getting stuck. It got stuck so badly on the day after the installation that we were almost locked outside our home, if wasn't for my mother in law who stayed behind and opened the patio door from inside to allow us in, since the front door would not open. I then removed the handle and got it replaced by Home Depot. Yep, this "non standard electronic lock" was purchased at the Home Depot! A few months later I'm still trying to understand how the bolt got so badly bent since no force was necessary to insert it in place. We had no issues with the extra locks we've purchased from them. However the problem with the "non standard" lock was enough for us to look elsewhere when time comes to replace our windows and patio door. ************************************************************************************************************************************** Response to Pioneer ************************************************************************************************************************************** After paying top dollar for this door I expected nothing more than to have it installed properly and on the same day. If the hole was not standard, as claimed, we should have been advised right away. In the worst case scenario I expected the installer would have told me that was case when he removed my new lock from my old door and before starting the replacement process. NOT after the new door was in place without a lock. I also feel that the installation was completed on the same day after the installer borrowed my tools to complete the job. As for the the lock delivery it begs for further explanation: We purchased ten extra locks from Pionner, which were supposed to be delivered on the same day as the door installation. However on the installation day two locks were missing and one was the wrong type, thus the reason Jeff delivered them to us a few days later.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Mr. Ferreira. Pioneer Windows and Doors takes pride in its work and service. i thank you for taking your time in writing this review. You are correct we were using a lock that was purchased and used by you with your old door prior to us installing the new door, therefore we cannot warranty a lock that was purchased elsewhere. The lock was NOT a standard deadbolt and if you check with home depot you will see that 90% of lock sets have a smaller hole on top for the deadbolt, 1 3/4" diameter to be exact. Your Lock was previously installed by a locksmith and we had no control of its state once removing it. We feel that our crew and Jeff didn't turn their head away from the problem but actually resolved it in no time and job was completed that day. Also Your wife called and requested that she would require an extra handle for the interior doors and Jeff personally delivered it to your place, out of good gesture. Too bad you feel that you no longer require our services in the future. Feel free to contact Jeff if you require any further assistance. Thank you.