HomeStars  >  Waterproofing in Pickering  >  Mastermind Construction & Waterproofing
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

49%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Mastermind Construction & Waterproofing

Average customer rating:
5.2 10 (6 reviews)

Sort by

Terry in Ajax
Terry in Ajax
2 reviews Ajax, ON
1/10

Major Reno Going onto 44weeks

Home Owner(s) Beware
Mastermind Construction had all the appeal for very structured and organized company with a great spokesman “Owner of Company” Allot of positive features to protect Homeowner ensuring there satisfaction and efficiency via Website and Facebook page. We were promised allot of bells and whistles “Even a complimentary Fire place make over” for Signing that never happened. Major Reno with permits. Promised 8-10 week completion with many promises of “I’ll take care of that” comments.
Now into 44th week we are stale mate and finally after so many month’s we decided to stop supporting Mastermind in their Mind games simply for our sanity and dwindling funds and constant ridicule from them “ Well what you going to do”. We’ve had so many deadlines (15 or so lost count) that have been promised and broke with no remorse. We accumulated 10s of thousands in additional costs as a result of their many delays, from having no Kitchen, Electricity, and Laundry and missed many memorable moments from June 2017 to today. We’ve had their sub-contractors walk out or not even show up because they have payment issues with Mastermind making us feel abandoned and humiliated. His pyramid scheme caught up to him, “new jobs pay for his current jobs” played out. His last 3 reviews is a good indication of a trend that Homeowners need to be mindful of. So many “under quoted” conversations throughout the 11 month’s it’s become a joke. Shameless transparent Contractor.
Forced to Quote another Contractor to finish up his abandoned work. Not worth the wait Another Additional cost. Although we have been patient and supportive to see Mastermind finish the Job, we do not owe them much for us to be a priority. Out of the 114,000 $ quoted the now 140,000$+ bill only 3500$ pending…. So all their miss calculations and under quotes were paid as they threatened to stop work many times throughout the 11 months. His bullying ticktacks can only go so far. I’m sure these unprofessional tactics is his way of avoiding the deficiency fix’s and warranty issues. For the promised 2 yrs. (Funny thing he’s going into 1yr not completed, planned perfectly on his part). below is his last documented responses to my concerns…..Yeah Customer Service is at the top of their list. 
05-17-18
“No response absolute silence from Owner” This after communicating with Project Manager who ensured me Owner is dealing with Sub contractor to finish job and will have an answer by Noon 05-17-18. Shameless!!!
05-10-18
“We have a different communication process. Your emails will be silenced!!” He Figured out emails are records so word of mouth can be argued in the future.
05-10-18
“Direct all conversations regarding schedules to him (Project Manager). Should you have a dispute you can feel free to escalate to me? I do not need to see group conversations”. This after he could not answer to his many commitments that passed numerous deadlines.

04-26-18

“Just to be clear in the meantime, there is no way we will be able to do any more work tomorrow at your home until funds are paid, we simply can’t afford to”. This after we explained we will pay 50% if only 50% completed. Consistently disappears for days on end with no communication.
04-26-18
“I’m writing you this email because I don’t really want to argue over the phone”, Contradicts his recent email dated 05-10-18
I wish Mastermind Construction and its crew a bright future and hope this, as well as the other reviews is served as a learning experience….believe me when I say “I’ve learned allot from this whole experience”….and yes it cost me too .
The views and opinions expressed in this review is that of my own and is only intended for entertainment and educational purposes based on my opinion. It’s at the reader’s discretion to use this info.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Private User
Private User
1 review Toronto, ON
1/10

Finished basement

Terrible experience with this contractor, in the beginning seemed to be professionals but we were wrong. It's sad because the owner knows a lot about construction but they lack in organization and communication.
The project was completed in more than half of year, we had to call everyday to find out when things were going to finished, it was a disastrous experience and the complete job was not even fully done.

Go away from this contractor, even though if they had commitment to complete a job the lack of organization makes all things really bad, between them no communication whatsoever one person saying one thing and the other other thing, we even didn't know what to believe.

So for a project that was going to finish in max 2 months it was finish in more than 8 months!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Private User
Private User
1 review Pickering, ON
0/10

Upstairs renovation

Work not completed as expected, all has deficiencies that haven't been corrected. No supervision for workers that are unable to communicate with us. Cabinets for kitchen were not measured correctly to account for bulkhead and size of appliances. Once 15% deposit was provided communication dropped off significantly. Every part of the project was delayed and they never work a full day. They also fail to clean up after themselves on a daily basis. Nothing went according to plan, had a terrible experience and would highly recommend you to go elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

We are very sorry were not able to meet your standard, we recognize that there where some delays in your project (partially due to a one week absence from Bryce our project manager), but we were still able to complete the project within 3 weeks of our start date as per our contract Agreement. We are a 100% subcontracted company and have different trades going through, some don't require full days work some do and this is accounted for in our anticipated time of completion. We do feel your review score was unfair as we did everything in our power to correct all the concerns you had, a zero would mean that nothing was done at your home. While we do recognize that there was an error with a measurement of a cabinet (it can happen as humans we are not perfect), it's also only fair to recognize that it was rectified within 48 hours. We thank you for your review as we want all clients to speak their mind and also gives us the opportunity make changes in the company and improve our service experience. We are going to be more detail and expressive with timelines and deficiencies and will look/review at systems to maintain home cleanliness while at work, it is not our intent to mislead our clients in anyway, otherwise we would not be in Homestars exposed .

Heddy D.
Heddy D.
1 review Ajax, ON
10/10

Roof Repair

One of my bedroom windows were leaking, never knew it was my roof that needed to be repaired. However, you were able to come out and repair my roof 3 days later and it has not failed me since. Your guys finished in one day and cleaned up after themselves very nicely. Your contractors are very friendly and knowledgeable when it comes to sharing information. Thank you again

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

You are very welcome, thank you for your business.
Mastermind Construction Team

ron  from Ajax
ron from Ajax
7 reviews Ajax, ON
9/10

Bathroom Renovation

We chose Mastermind over several other vendors we had interviewed as we were pleased with Lesters' insight as to what we wanted done. They were quick to respond and very flexible and responsive to suggestions. Their quote was also in line with our expectations, they were knowledgeable and accommodating to the time restrictions we had. Their creativity and good customer relations made it an overall positive experience. Of course as with any renovation, there were some minor glitches, and Bryce our project manager was very responsive to any minor problems that occurred and were promptly addressed. A big thank you to Lester for his understanding of the work to be done, Bryce for his diligence, and Andy and Carlo for the work on the project!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

It was our pleasure... Thank you

anna.blanchet3
anna.blanchet3
1 review Pickering, ON

First Review

10/10

Basement and Landscaping

Mastermind completed out Basement 5 years ago, they are a trustworthy company and they take pride in their work. Customer service is top notch.
Recently we called them back to do some landscaping and complete some minor things in our backyard. They went the extra mile to ensure we were satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you Anna for the very nice review and we're so happy you're satisfied!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Mastermind Construction & Waterproofing

Mastermind Construction Free Estimates Insured & Bonded - Licensed Tradesmen Mastermind Construction is a family own business for now 16 years; established in 2001 and incorporated in 2009. We have our own in house employees as well as Licensed trades, together, we specialize in renovations home renovations which include Open ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.