Reliance The Furnace Company - Edmonton

Heating & Air Conditioning
Edmonton AB T5A 0P7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Heating & Air Conditioning
Reliance The Furnace Company - Edmonton
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

89%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Reliance The Furnace Company - Edmonton

Average customer rating:
9.1 10 (534 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Kitchen Sink plugged

After 3 days of trying to unplug a kitchen drain with usual chemicals and
hand rooters (5 foot/25foot) I used their internet site, on Sunday Nov.25th, to ask/book an appointment. I was called back within hours.
An appointment was booked for the next day, Monday afternoon. Service Rep. John arrived as booked. Within an hour he had the drains clean. The blockage was about 15 ft. down the pipe behind a wall in the basement. John cleaned up the area and discussed the costs with me including a Charge Chart. Very good service. Recommend 5 Star.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind review and taking the time to share your experience with us. ~Jessica

Kerry
Kerry
1 review Edmonton, AB
9/10

Furnace replacement

We were in the market for a new furnace, we had a couple of quotes, and were mulling over our options, when Ben ( sales rep from reliance ) called back and informed me of a black Friday sales they were kicking off.
That was the catalyst to get the ball rolling, the the price was fair, and they were able to do the install the next day !!! That was a surprise, sure enough the next day a service tech phoned at 8:00am and they were at my house by 8:30am. They were very professional and courteous, they laid out mats to the basement, did a great job on the install, cleaned up the work site, and explained the new equipment to me at great length, they also installed 2 C0 monitors throughout the house.
The company did everything it said it was going to do!!
Essentially this was the first furnace I've ever bought, so I appreciated the time and forethought that Ben spent going over all the options and models.
I highly recommend Reliance and would gladly give them a reference if asked.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind review and taking the time to share your experience with us. ~Jessica

Char in Edmonton
Char in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Repair and service of employee

On Saturday Elmer came on a service call for my Tankless Water heater.
I have had Elmer before when my furnace was installed and now with my service call. Elmer fixed my tankless so that I would have hot water right away and because it was Saturday all parts were not available.
Elmer has been an outstanding plumber and service employee on both visits and I would give him an outstanding rating. I do not give my ratings easily but Elmer has deserved my rating on both visits.
Char Dennis
323 Tory View NW

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for the kind review and taking the time to share your experience with us. ~Jessica

Roscoe in St. Albert
Roscoe in St. Albert
2 reviews St. Albert, AB
10/10

Furnace Repair

I would definitely recommend this company! My furnace quit on me right when the cold spell hit and Reliance was there the same day. No added stress, just super helpful and quick service :)

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for the kind review Roscoe! ~Jessica

C Huber in Edmonton
C Huber in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

Beware!

Beware!!! Worst experience ever!!! Reliance came to inspect/repair our basement furnace this summer that had stopped working. We had to have it looked at as we were trying to sell our house. After looking at it and replacing the transformer the maintenance guy gave me this long list of all the things that weren’t working on the furnace and quoted me over $2,000 for repairs. Individual goes on to tell me it’s likely best to get new machines, yadda yadda so he had a sales individual come out to give me pricing on new machines. At this point I’m feeling pretty overwhelmed as the machine had been working fine just a few months ago and suddenly it apparently has all these broken parts! My husband had been away at work and luckily told me just to wait till he could look at it. Well he finally got around to looking at it and the only thing wrong was the transformer! The repair guy had wired it in backwards. It even started to smoke when my husband turned on the furnace. They could have blown our house up. This whole thing also cost us he sale of our house as the deal fell through because of this. My husband fixed out furnace for $50. Seriously be careful with this company. Get second opinions if possible.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,
I have also responded to your google review. If you require further assistance please email me. jdeboo@reliancecomfort.com Thank you, Jessica

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

Maintenance program

Do NOT subscribe to their maintenance programs. A deal with the devil.
I subscribed to their maintenance program which worked out well until I tried to cancel after more than 2 years.
Called and emailed many times to cancel but they continued to bill me for additional months. (The minimum payment period had been more than completed)
I would call to cancel and they would ignore me and try to up sell.
Reliance- No means no!!!!
Bizarre and unprofessional company.
It’s unfortunate - I thought very highly of their workers and service but I will not use them now because the financial side of their

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello, I am very sorry to hear that you have had this experience with us when trying to cancel our plan. I would like to further review this to ensure completion, can you please email me with your address or account information. jdeboo@reliancecomfort.com Thank you, Jessica

Stoik in
Stoik in
0 reviews , AB
0/10

Change company name to "Unreliable"

Paid for a new furnace with air conditioning. It took a WEEK for it to be installed. We had to call and double check every stage of the install. My husband missed a total of 3 days waiting around at home for install and had multiple no shows and couldn't get a hold of anyone to find out when someone would show up. When we tried to get a hold of our sales rep was told, "It's our busiest season." They gave us $500.00 off but it took a month to get the refund. Customer service is in
Ontario, Canada. No help. Don't use this company!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello, I am very sorry to hear about this experience that you had with us. If you require further assistance please email me. jdeboo@reliancecomfort.com Thank you, Jessica

j.reid in Edmonton, Alberta Canada T5K2P6
j.reid in Edmonton, Alberta Canada T5K2P6
1 review Edmonton, AB
0/10

Central Air

I have made multiple attempts to get a hold of someone in the head office regarding payments for my unit, and other questions i have as my sales man left the company.... i was told by a rep that i should send a text to the salesman!!!
Very Frustrated

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello, I am very sorry to hear about this experience. Can you please email me with your account details and I can further assist you with this. jdeboo@reliancecomfort.com Thank you, Jessica

Kim in Edmonton
Kim in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Aircondioner

Very professional job. Installed next day as promised. Works great. The unit was instaled and running in about 4 hours. The house temp dropped 4 degrees in about 2 hours on a 26 degree day. Thank you Amy for your hard work and making this happen. Shout out to you and the installers.
Kim

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

This is so great to hear! Thank you for the wonderful review Kim! We appreciate your feedback and are always happy to help. Thank you for choosing Reliance Home Comfort! ~ Penny

Richie  in Edmonton
Richie in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
0/10

Poor Service , Unprofessional

Reliance installed a Lennox AC at my house , worked good 1st year , 2nd year the refrigerant was topped up because it was not cooling ,3rd year same thing happened , I called another Lennox dealer to check it out , found a pinhole leak , explained AC needs a new evaporator .The evaporator Reliance installed was substandard and Lennox the company has settled a lawsuit over these evaporators . I went ahead and installed the new evaporator . All the copper tubing from the outside to inside had to be replaced as an added expense because the tech showed me all the bad kinks in the lines from Reliance poor installation , I took photos . Called Reliance for warranty claim on the exchanger , they don't care said to called Lennox in the US . I did that and am working with Lennox because I already went ahead and installed the new exchanger . Don't really care if I get the money back , all I wanted was a good working AC unit . Never Buy from Reliance again .Additionally the Reliance tech who did the original installation was the rudest person I have met in a Long time . He literally asked me to leave my basement and don't look at him while he is working . I still today regret not asking him to leave and calling the company .Update : Lennox has asked that Reliance phone them and submit the warranty claim , very straightforward. Reliance has refused to do this for me , told me to get the other Lennox dealerI hired to send in a claim . Basically they are not honoring their warranty .

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sorry to hear about this experience. Please email me at jdeboo@reliancecomfort.com if you have any further concerns. ~Jessica

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Reliance The Furnace Company - Edmonton

Reliance™ - The Furnace Company has been delivering high quality home comfort products and services to the Edmonton market for over 10 years. We were the first Lennox Premier Dealer in Edmonton and are the only Capital Region based dealer to have won the prestigious Dave Lennox Award, as one of the Top 25 Dealers in North America out of over 6500 dealers. Now part of the Reliance™ national network, we bring over 40 years of experience with a full service of heating and cooling solutions, ranging from sales and service, financing to rental options. This means you can trust that Reliance™ - The Furnace Company will be here for the long haul and continue to offer you the same exceptional service our customers have come to expect.
When you choose Reliance™- The Furnace Company, you’re choosing one of the largest HVAC providers in Canada, with over 1.2 million customers and growing. You can expect your call to be answered 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year and one of the largest networks of licensed technicians in Canada.
After all, we believe you are buying much more than home comfort equipment, you’re buying a relationship. As you can see, it really is all about you! Your satisfaction is our top priority.

Some services that we offer are, Furnaces, Air-Conditioners and Water Heaters

Our Mission:
We provide our customers peace of mind. We take the risk out of products and services that are essential to their lives and businesses. We make it easy.

CATEGORIES
Heating & Air Conditioning
PRODUCTS
Furnaces, Air-Conditioners and Water Heaters
BRANDS
Lennox, RHEEM, Enviro-Sense
WEBSITE
http://www.thefurnacecompany.com/
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.