Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Furniture in Winnipeg  >  Dufresne Furniture & Appliances - Winnipeg Nairn Avenue
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

22%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Dufresne Furniture & Appliances - Winnipeg Nairn Avenue

Average customer rating:
1.6 10 (14 reviews)

Sort by

Dissatisfied customer in Winnipeg
Dissatisfied customer in Winnipeg
1 review Winnipeg, MB
0/10

Bought LG Washer, dryer and pedastals

Well, let me say never again. Beware!! Great friendly customer service when your buying but after that zero. I bought my set withe pedistals before I moved in to my new home and was concerned if pedistals would work. The salesman said no problem they could be returned. Well I paid for white glove delivery, they didn't even take pedistals out of boxes and after setting up washer and dryer said oh they probably would have fit, but then left.
I called three days later after moved in and was given the run around and told the pedastals were non refundable. WHAT!!! I told them what I was told and they said the salesman said he wouldn't have said that. Really, so the customer, is wrong. The are brand new in boxes never opened why can't they be? Apparently if I would have called within 24 hours to say they didn't fit I could have returned them. I am so upset and in discussion with coworkers, the lack of service is not uncommon. I will never buy from them again, I encourage you to think twice.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Private User
Private User
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Upsetting experience, poor after-sale service

I purchased a 100% top grain leather couch from Dufresne's Hunt Club location in Ottawa, but received a much cheaper couch with (plastic-like) split-grain on the sides and back. When making the sale, the salesperson told me that the couch would be entirely covered in the top grain leather from the leather swatch/sample that I had selected.

It has now been over a month and I have yet to get a resolution from this company. Their sales department says this is what they ordered (though it is not what I asked/paid for!), and their after-sales service department says this is “not a customer service issue." I have left messages for the Sales Manager, as I now want a full refund instead of just an exchange, but my calls have not been returned.

I spent a significant amount of money and have been sorely disappointed in both the quality of the product and Dufresne’s service.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hi There! We understand you have had a frustrating experience and we apologize for any inconvenience this has been to you and your family. Please email us at [email protected] and include HomeStars Review in the subject line. Our Guest Experience team would love to get in touch!

Private User
Private User
1 review Russell, ON
0/10

Poor After Purchase Service

We were originally sold on Dufresne's alleged service, and it simply does not exist. We purchased a fridge, stove, dishwasher, washer, and dryer when we moved to Ottawa in 2014, along with the four year extended warranty. Our stove and dishwasher (both Maytag) broke at the same time. We called the store on a Wednesday, and were told someone would be in touch with us by Friday to make service arrangements. Friday came, and no call. We phoned back and received an answering service, and left a message; again, no response. It is now Saturday, and we've since sent an email as well, and you guessed it: no response. Terrible service! Do business elsewhere. As a side note, I would avoid Maytag as well!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hi There! We understand you have had a frustrating experience and we apologize for any inconvenience this has been to you and your family. Please email us at [email protected] and include HomeStars Review in the subject line. Our Guest Experience team would love to get in touch!

Private User
Private User
1 review Saskatoon, SK
0/10

Dinning table set

The worst experience I can ever I had in my life from customer service point of view. So,
I bought a dinning table set 2 weeks ahead of delivery day, paid full money in advance and made sure 5 times that delivery comes on day that it suppose to come, the day they came to deliver, the whole table was made from glass and the time they took it out from truck the whole glass shattered into pieces right outside my house door, they didn't have courtesy to clean that up from road and they just left whole shattered glass right beside garbage bin and than even when I told them since you guys have no table now I won't need chairs but they still left chairs right outside my main door and marked it as delivered. I called customer service 5 times and store location and told them that's ok if they break table but at least they should have picked shattered glass pieces and throw it in bin because its not safe for us or even kids around if somebody going to touch it but nobody came or said SORRY or came to clean it up, another thing when I told them over phone that since you don't have table what I am going to do with your chairs than they said, you can bring them back and get refunded...Like seriously, why do I now gotta bring back the stuff because of you guys screwed up and why I spend my gas to bring back stuff which doesn't belong to me anymore just because you guys broke it, and exact same way and story I told to store manager, assistant manager and their customer service agents 1800 numbers too, nobody even said SORRY about that or even had shame on their face of their continuous mistakes, they were taking so pride by ripping off their customers time, place and table I purchased, only thing they were manage to tell me was "drop your chairs at DISTRIBUTION CENTER AND COME TO MAIN STORE AND THAN TAKE BACK YOUR REFUND",
Like I wasn't even mad about broken table but the way they provided customer service is utterly terrible. Never recommending any near mates to go to that store.
And when I am mentioning managers(store/assistant/customer), I literary talked to them exact same way and that's how exactly they responded to me without any apology or helping customer, don't know how come you guys can hire this kind of staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Private User
Private User
1 review Sioux Lookout, ON
0/10

Bed Diaster at Dufrense

I bought a bed at Dufrense in Dryden and I live in Sioux Lookout Ontario. One hour away from the store. At the store, they did not provide me with the free delivery option which on the website it clearly states free delivery. When the bed was suppose to arrive, they called me at 10:30am to have the furniture dropped off. The delivery team said they only had the mattress and the box spring and the bed frame was too far back in the truck to get. At 2:00pm, the delivery team called me to drop off the bed frame. I had to miss work twice in one day and they charged me for delivery when I should have gotten it for free. Never shopping there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Hazem in Waterloo
Hazem in Waterloo
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Sofa&Love seat

Went to Cyrville road location to buy sofa and love seat. We liked leather set and sales rep wanted to finalize the deal in all means. To complete the sale they gave us some discount, 4 cutions as a gift. On the day of delivery I received a torn dust cover in the sofa and the delivery guy was telling me that I someone one from service dept. will call me in 10 days to fix it. I refused to take it and told him to return it because I bought new furniture not used one. I called the store to telling them what happened and inform them that even the cutions were not even delivered were I have people are coming over to my place that night . The person over the phone told me she will escalate it to the manager immediately and will have him to call me right away. It has been two days and no one bothered to call me back. I called again and the same person over the phone was wondering why the store manager didn’t contact me “as if I know”. she promised again that he or she will call me back . Poor cutomer service. won’t deal with such company again. I had to have the people busting me to sit on chairs for the visit which was so embarrassing.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Private User
Private User
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Bed

So we went in to Dufresne on Hunt Club in Ottawa to price out a new bed. We were interested in a tempurpedic and had already checked out several of Dufresne's competitors. Immediately, we were pounced on by the salesperson who reminded me of Gill from the Simpsons...but my desperate. The guy put on a lot of pressure making the experience extremely awkward and unpleasant. When we had the information we needed and were ready to move on, Gill brought in a "closer" a so-called manager who would help us get the best price.

The manager was even skeezier than the sales guy and literally prevented us from leaving by stepping in my way whenever I moved. So at the time, there was a "scratch and save" sale on mattresses with a guaranteed 10% off, but up to 80%. The manager offered us $100 off of the price of the frame and a guaranteed minimum of 15% off the mattress, but if we scratched more, we would get more.

I do the budget and decided that we needed to sit down and talk about it (because it is a large purchase to make on a whim). The man said the offer only stood for that day and tried everything he could to keep us from leaving- he even offered to pay for our dinner if we ate next door and came back to buy it. Ultimately the pressure made me extremely uncomfortable and we left. The man literally followed us to the door. Super skeezy.

So we discussed it over dinner and crunched the numbers and ultimately decided that we would purchase the bed. I sent my husband in to sign the paperwork (because the men made me so uncomfortable that I didn't want to go back into the store) and the manager now tells him that the deal he offered us was for a different bed and he isn't prepared to give us that deal anymore. Instead, he offers $200 off of the base and $50 off of the mattress. We were also considering buying some pillows which he was prepared to throw in for free (a $280 value) my husband came out to the car to explain the change in the offer and of course, we had to take a few minutes to crunch the numbers again.

When we went back in, the manager was gone and Gill was back dealing with us. Gill ended up giving us $50 off of the mattress and $100 off of the bed, made us pay for the pillows in full and refused to let us participate in the scratch and save promotion. This was obviously infuriating and these people wasted out entire night offering us deals they never intended to give us. We would've saved more with the minimum 10% scratch and save card they denied us.

So anyway, after all was said and done, we decided to buy the base and the mattress. We were told it would be delivered in two weeks as they have to order it from head office or some nonsense.

Two weeks came and I hadn't heard a peep. I called them around 6pm on the 14th day and was told the base was in but not the mattress. They tentatively scheduled the delivery for the next day. The next day they called the confirm that they would deliver between 5-9pm.

Around 2pm I got a call from the delivery guy who said they were ahead of schedule and would be by in 30 minutes or so if it was okay with me. He was very polite, respectful, and courteous. If he works for Dufresne he should be running that store cause he was literally the ONLY positive thing about this experience.

Anyway, of course they delivered the WRONG product. The mattress was a coil Sealy mattress which coincidentally, was identical to the 2 year old mattress I was already sleeping on and suffering from. My husband was furious and we went straight to the store. On the way, I explained that mistakes happened and it was probably just a matter of them typing the wrong number or something when they ordered it. I told hubby to give them a chance to fix it before he flipped out.

He went in pretty agitated and asked to talk to a manager. The man grabbed some guy who neither introduced himself or showed any interest in helping. He asked what was up and my hubby said "you delivered the WRONG bed to me" so whoever this guy was replied with "let me get the salesman (Desperate Gill). Great. Lol. So the manager gets Gill and then creeps away.

Gill goes to the mattress we were supposed to get, in the showroom, picks up the card with the details and spends like 3 minutes just looking at the card then looking at our receipt. He doesn't say a word to us for 3 minutes. Then he gets up, says, "I don't know what happened. I'm gonna go and see..."

And he leaves us standing there for 10 minutes while he chats with the girls at the desk. Finally, he calls us over and says "I have no idea what happened but we ordered your mattress and it will be 2 weeks."

This is where I lost it. No apologies, no accountability, explanation and absolutely no customer service. I said "so 4 weeks?! You got $3300 and we have to wait 4 weeks to get our
purchase. That's unacceptable." Gill then makes the biggest mistake of his life. He smirks,
shrugs and says "what do you want me to do? We don't have it here"

So I lost it. I yelled at him about their shady and deceptive sales tactics, the lack of customer service, the fact I had to call and
book my own delivery, and the unacceptable attitude he took about their screw up. I felt that I was going to become disrespectful, so I left the store and let hubby deal with it.

After about 5 more minutes of Gill saying "I don't get it, what do you want?" The actual manager came out and apologized to hubby, explained that they were going to try their best to rush the order, and gave us a $100 store
credit ( you know, did all those things they should've done as soon as we walked through the door). They promise we will have our new mattress in 10-14 days.

Fast-forward 15 days. Still haven't heard a word, so hubby decides to go back in to have a chat with them. Again, no apologies at all. Just a "Well it's not here yet, what do you want?" So I guess he ended up giving them some serious grief. Buddy kept saying "Well were within out timelines, what do you want?" Hubby reminded him that it has now been a month and we did not receive what we were promised would arrive within 2 weeks. So they look in to it and discover that the delivery had gone to another store and they had sold the product to someone else. Nice. They promise that it will be delivered to us within a day or two and swear up and down that they will call us. The manager days he is going to contact the district manager to arrange something for us "for our trouble". That never happened.

We did get our mattress on day 32. The delivery guys that brought it did not show up during the time period they were scheduled to come, nor did they call to let us know they were early. They stunk of smoke and left my house stinking of cigarettes, almost didn't take off their boots (hubby had to ask them to) and then left garbage on my front porch.

All in all, this was the absolute worst buying experience and the most horrible "customer service" (if you can even call it that because I believe customers are just walking dollar signs to these people ) I have ever had to endure. I will never give these people another cent and will tell everyone I know to avoid this place like the plague.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Brittany in Kingston
Brittany in Kingston
1 review Ottawa, ON
2/10

Product/Service

I recently bought a headboard. They accidentally ordered a footboard, then told me I got a great price for the headboard and it was delayed in delivery. Then, upon delivery, it turns out the headboard was part of a set, so it didn't connect to the metal bed frame I have. I called to complain because I had asked the salesperson for a headboard only and asked if it had all of the bolts to attach it, and he assured me that it did. They sent people back to fix it who were rude and rushed my boyfriend home from work even though they knew we wouldn't be home until a specified time. The headboard is barely stable and there are long bolts that poke into my boxspring. I am incredibly disappointed. I will never buy furniture here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Karter70 in Winnipeg
Karter70 in Winnipeg
1 review Winnipeg, MB
0/10

Wall ovenDisaster

This company does not stand by its product or installers.They recommended a electrian to install our wall oven He miswired it!The first use was its last! As it blew a circuit in the oven Dufense took no responsibility as they said I choose the electriacan! Dufense replaced the oven but made me pay for the removal and reinstall cost by another electrician I chose!They where rude and discourteous Do not use this store for appliances!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Private User
Private User
1 review Winnipeg, MB
10/10

Home furniture

The sales consultant named Lisa BerKers was really wonderful, customer service friendly and she addressed my needs and helped me out to buy furniture my home according to my budget. I would like to suggest anyone go for this store at 880 Nairn. The Manager and girl name vicky their patience level is great.Love this store because of you guys. Thanks making my shopping valuable.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Dufresne Furniture & Appliances - Winnipeg Nairn Avenue

Dufresne Furniture & Appliances is Western Canada’s largest independent furniture retailer with 14 locations. Dufresne offers a full array of furniture, mattresses, appliances and home accents so that you can find the perfect fit your life and style!
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.