This company has been flagged by our moderators for suspicious activity.

Centennial Moving

Self Storage
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Self Storage in Toronto  >  Centennial Moving
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

66%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Centennial Moving

Average customer rating:
9 10 (162 reviews)

Sort by

Phil in Old Toronto
Phil in Old Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Toronto to Montreal with Centennial again.

Have used Centennial Moving last year and was very pleased, so I have decided to use their services again this year, as I needed to move back to Montreal from Toronto. I am happy to see that their service has remained at a high level and I will make sure to move with them in the future if I will ever need to. Thank you!

Was this review helpful?
Oliver Basset in North Vancouver
Oliver Basset in North Vancouver
0 reviews Vancouver, BC
10/10

2br from MB

Fast delivery, all my goods have arrived undamaged, the movers were very polite and professional as well as efficient. I'm happy I booked with Centennial Moving and will do so again in future if needed.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Oliver, we are grateful for your positive review and your highest rating that you gave to us! Our team is happy to know that all your furniture and things arrived safely at the final destination. We hope to hear from you again and thank for your amazing feedback!

Alan in North Vancouver
Alan in North Vancouver
0 reviews Vancouver, BC
10/10

Honest and Professional

Centennial Moving changed my opinion about moving companies. From the start, they were honest and informed me about all the risks and that convinced me to book them. In the end, I was very pleased with the service and I recommend the company to everybody who is planning to move across the country.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, Alan, for using Centennial Moving services! We appreciate and value our customers and we want to make their moving process as comfortable and easy as possible! Thank you for being one of these happy customers.

Jess in Kelowna
Jess in Kelowna
1 review Mission, BC
0/10

Move from ON to BC

This company does not follow through on ANY of their website's information, or employee's promises. If you speak with them they will tell you 8 to 14 business days and it will take 29 business days... And get to there damaged. They transported our items unnecessarily to a warehouse, without explaining this would happen and Without our consent.
Do NOT use this service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your grievances on how our services do not meet up with your expectations.
It took 3 weeks in transit and was less than 14 businees days from departure date as per our FAQ section and the information in the booking agreement.
We offered you $200 discount which you accepted.

Regards,
Centennial Moving Team

Andre K. in Kingston
Andre K. in Kingston
1 review Kingston, ON
10/10

Long distance moving.

I have had a perfect experience with Centennial Moving company. The Customer Service provide the perfect way to communicate with and driver guys and movers was very pleasant. The stuff moved without any damage though more than 4.5k miles move. The very comfortable point that you do not care how many stuff you have to move, all will be calculated after packaging and loaded. Per my research before moving, the price in the lower range by comparing with the other companies. Thank you, Centennial Moving team!

Was this review helpful?
Lance from Vancouver
Lance from Vancouver
3 reviews Cobourg, ON
0/10

Please use a different company

This was a truly ridiculous experience. I've moved several times from country to country, and I've never had a more inept moving service.

I contracted Centennial Moving to move a small amount of furniture and personal items from Vancouver BC to Montreal QC. They, at the time of deposit, told me that the move should take 8-14 days typically. I wasn't looking forward to spend the time in my new empty condo, but I understand that they can't simply teleport my items there. So, I paid the deposit, and on began my nightmare experience.

The team sent to pick up my items in Vancouver were professional, friendly, and quick. They both remarked at how little that I had for them to move, and said it would take about 90 minutes to load the truck properly, and they were basically correct. They wrapped all my unboxed items in moving blankets, and secured them with packing tape. Each item was labeled and numbered. It was impressive.

I took a little vacation (to avoid an unnecessary empty week in my condo), and then arrived in Montreal seven days after the pick up, so I would be available when they arrived. I hadn't heard from the company since they've picked up my items, but once again, I understand that they're not exactly going to give me daily updates. So, my wait begins.

Around day 15, I send them an email. I get back a, "It'll get there when it gets there, and we'll let you know". Curt, and unapologetic, but it's only a day late.

Around day 20, I send another email. It's ignored.

Around day 24, I call. I'm told that they're going to talk to dispatch and call me right back. They don't.

Around day 28, I call again. I ask why I wasn't called back about my delivery window, and they again suggest that they're going to talk to dispatch and call me back. I insist that they need to call me back this time. They tell me I will get my stuff next month, at the end of the first week, or during the second week. Six weeks after pickup. I'm understandably angry, and I ask how I'll be compensated. He says that he will talk to the manager and will call me back. He does not call me back.

Around day 30, I call again, and ask again about compensation. I get the same reply, and I insist that he actually call me back. He calls back about 10 minutes later, and says they're willing to discount my move by $50 dollars, and not a penny more. I have some back and forth about how that's insulting and inadequate. He isn't apologetic, and basically says thems the breaks.

Around day 40, I still haven't heard from them, I call again. I'm starting to think my items are never going to arrive. I go through the "talk to the dispatch" routine, and basically tell them I'll wait on the line, and they call back and tell me that they're going to deliver my items later than expected (Surprise surprise), but it will be before the weekend.

Day 43, I get my bill. They've vastly inflated the weight of my items. They suggest that I have just under 2000lbs, but it's actually impossible. I have 3 large boxes (mostly light), 3 medium boxes, TV, printer, soundbar, sofa, coffee table, side table, nightstand, queen bed/frame, two suitcases, a light ikea chair, a small desk, computer chair, two wire/cloth drawers, and a bookshelf. A generous 1300lbs or so, but I would believe up to around 1600lbs. I'd be skeptical at 1800lbs, and completely in disbelief at 2000lbs. There is no method of really arguing anything, and they don't send any sort of proof/documentation to show your items (ONLY) being weighed. However, your items are being held hostage.

They also tell me that their large truck will not be able to make the delivery, so I will have to pay $150 for a 'shuttle team' to move my items into my condo. After some arguing, and bringing up the 45 days it took it deliver, they finally, begrudgingly agree to waive the shuttle fee.

Day 45, the contracted crew to drop my stuff off was great. They did it quickly, without any fuss.

Be very wary if you choose to do business with this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Lance,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your grievances on how our services do not meet up with your expectations.

Our greatest desire is to ensure our customers are satisfied at all levels and find the most suitable way to fix their problems.

Upon discussion with the dispatch and manager the problem we faced with the truck delay, it was agreed to waive the shuttle fee of $150 from your final bill. Also, there was another $50 discount applied.

There are many factors affecting the delivery timeframe and while doing consolidates moves it's practically impossible to predict everything that can happen on the road. We were forced to switch drivers due to an emergency one of them had and finding a replacement took us some time that actually caused the delay.

I want to use this opportunity to tell you that we are sorry for the difficulties you have encountered as a result of this problem.

Best regards,
AEnergy Team

Michael Grant in Vancouver
Michael Grant in Vancouver
1 review Vancouver, BC
10/10

Across the Country 

I have moved several times across the country and this is surely not easy. Centennial Moving made it much easier as they were very prompt, very careful with my belongings and very fast with the delivery. 

I have already recommended this company to my colleagues at work and will definitely recommend them to all the people that I know. 

Thank you  guys!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Lenny H. in Barrie
Lenny H. in Barrie
1 review Barrie, ON
10/10

From NL to ON

Me and my wife had gotten several bids from different companies and Centennial Moving was better than the others. In the end, we were very satisfied with our move, very impressed with the people we were involved with, particularly the movers. They were hardworking, very polite, and eager to please. Everything was excellent in every way.

Was this review helpful?
Phil in Markham
Phil in Markham
1 review Markham, ON
10/10

Summer Move

This summer was the first time when I had to move and Centennial was the first company that I’ve called. From the first conversation they answered all my questions, the move has been smooth without any issues and in the end I was very grateful that I choose them.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Centennial Moving

Long distance moves always carry some emotional significance. You might be moving to a new job, a new city to join your significant other etc. Since 1998, Centennial Moving Company understands how important such events are in your life. We are therefore ready to put our years of experience and ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.