Bartman Plumbing

Plumbing
130 LePage Court, Unit 29 Toronto ON M3J 1Z6
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Plumbing
Bartman Plumbing
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

85%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Bartman Plumbing

Average customer rating:
8.3 10 (43 reviews)

Sort by

Theresa Swenson in Concord
Theresa Swenson in Concord
1 review Vaughan, ON
10/10

Bathtub Replacement

I called Bartman Plumbing to arrange a date for them to replace our bathtub that was rusted out at the bottom. The price was good and their customer service was really great. I got an appointment for first thing in the morning without being given a 4-6 hour window like other companies I called so I didn’t have to wait around all day for a plumber which was important for me. They showed up on time and the delivery truck met them at our house to deliver the new bathtub. Our old bathtub was taken out and the new bathtub was installed with no issues. The plumbers Dave and Jeff were really pleasant and respectful to our home. They used drop sheets on the floor so that they didn’t stain carpeted flooring with their work boots (they said that they had to keep them on for safety purposes). Our bathroom was left spotless and ready for our shower tile repairs to be done. They only broke 2 rows of tiles to take out the bathtub so minimal repairs are required for the tiles. This company was pleasant to deal with the entire way through and I’ll be recommending Bartman Plumbing to friends and family down the road.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Theresa! Thank you kindly for taking time out of your day to share your positive experience with our company with other home owners. We truly appreciate your feedback. You were an absolute pleasure to deal with! Thank you for choosing Bartman Plumbing Ltd.and we look forward to hearing from you in the future. Take care for now.

Alyssa From Toronto from Toronto
Alyssa From Toronto from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Shower faucet repair

As always, Mike Bartman and his team were a pleasure to work with. The workmen who came to our house were polite, friendly, and respectful. We were sent help within 24 hours of requesting service, and when we needed additional assistance, the workmen returned within the hour. They got the job done well and efficiently, and we appreciated their persistence and patience. Thanks, Bartman Plumbing, for your continued help!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Alyssa! Thank you for your kind review above. We truly appreciate your positive words and it means a great deal to us. As always, thank you for your continued business. We are here for you if and when you need us! Take care for now, Alyssa! - Michael Bartman

Dee from Brampton
Dee from Brampton
2 reviews Brampton, ON
10/10

Pipe replacement


Pipe in bathroom broke
I called Bartman plumbing on a Monday morning with an emergency, the women who answered the phone was very professional and took my concern very serious. I explained to her that I had water leaking from sink in the washroom onto my floor and I wasn’t sure where it was coming from. Within the hour I had Dan the plumber over at my house diagnosing the issue for me and couldn’t help to notice that it was just my pipe from my bathroom sink that was disconnect. He took the time to explain that the pipe was old and corroded and it needed to be replaced. Not only was Dan efficient and professional at his work he also made sure he cleaned up after himself. Overall my experience with Bartman was great; they are my go-to plumbers.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Dee! Thank you for your positive feedback. You were an absolute pleasure to work with and we'll be sure to share your positive feedback with Dan as well. We are a simple phone call away if and when you need us. Until then, take care for now! - Michael Bartman

eugene.beygin in Richmond Hill, Ontario
eugene.beygin in Richmond Hill, Ontario
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
0/10

They are not upfront about the costs, TERRIBLY OVERPRICED!

I called them to cut two copper pipes, and put two valves in. Was charged $520.

They cut my pipes, and told me they will put valves on that cost X dollars. I told them those valves are too much, so the offered cheaper valves (but surprise, for those they had to make a run to the shop). 2 hours later, I got charged for the run and a $520 bill.

Now tell me, if initially was told it would be more to get CHEAPER valves that it was to pay $10 for the more expensive valves, would I pick the cheaper ones?

Finally, all their parts are like 10x the price it is in HomeDepot.
Example: 2 finishing plates (that cover the whole in the wall) - 10 bucks LOL

very tricky, not upfront, and then Dorrit - their rep, ran circles around and did nothing to fix the situation.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there Eugene. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate any and all feedback from past and present clients.

We checked our history and it seems as though this service took place on January 12, 2015 which is actually more than two years ago. Nevertheless, your concern is important to us and we’d like to address it at this time.

Our service men had asked if you’d like us to install new ½” dahl valves for $36.49 each. These valves were readily available on our truck however, you did not want those valves and opted for a cheaper valve that we do not regularly carry being an R14 straight stop which prompted us to have to go pick them up. When our technicians receive a request from a client, they do as instructed so not to upset the customer.

Our billing does begin from the time that our truck arrives on site as opposed to charging for travel to a job site. There is no way to say how long a trip to the supplier will take due to traffic and/or material availability at our plumbing supply wholesalers whom we purchase our materials from. The entire job took between 2-3 hours to complete including our trip to our supplier which we feel was fair for the scope of work completed at your home on that day. We completed a full rough in for your kitchen after you had new cabinetry installed.

Our materials are purchased at plumbing wholesalers, not from Lowes and Home Depot. It is common practice to add a percentage onto the price of materials that we purchase as done so by all competitors in our field of business. As well, it is fair to mention that our price for completing your work on site was actually $459.98 + HST as opposed to reporting that we charged $520.00.

Lastly, pertaining to Dorrit… Dorrit has been employed with Bartman Plumbing since April 2011. At the time of your service taking place, Dorrit was not our Rep, but rather an office assistant and was in no position to offer remedies to rectify the issues you had. Dorrit simply forwarded your concerns to me and I personally responded to each of your concerns. I had even offered to extend extra cost savings to you in terms of material discounts applied to any future invoices for being a return customer due to the negative feedback received, although, based on wholesale pricing plus standard industry material mark ups, you were treated fairly by our company.

We are here to assist you with all of your plumbing needs and requirements. In the event that you choose to use our services again, we would still be pleased to offer discounted pricing to you at that time. Once again, we apologize for any miscommunication or negative feelings you’ve encountered. Feel free to call us at 416-898-0094. Thank you. - Michael Bartman

Cathrine in Toronto
Cathrine in Toronto
1 review Vaughan, ON
0/10

Plumbing Work

Ryan the plumber did a good job. Here's the problem: they don't disclose how much before they do the work. Parts were ridiculously overpriced. When I followed up with the manager Doreat she was rude and condescending. Terrible customer service. Call another plumber. Save yourself the headache.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Cathrine. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review to us. We are glad to hear that Ryan did a good job for you at your home. We take pride in all of our employees and the workmanship that they perform.
When booking the appointment, we had let you know the price of our minimum service call and that any materials used would be additional. You willingly provided us with your credit card information and agreed to a C.O.D transaction meaning that payment would be processed on your credit card on the following business day after your service took place. At the time of booking the appointment, there was no way to tell what materials would be required, therefore, pricing for materials was not provided nor was it requested. Furthermore, when the work was being completed on site, still no pricing was requested from us prior to our work commencing. Under no circumstances do we withhold pricing from our clients. If you, or any client for that matter, would like to know the price of our labour and/or materials, we have no problem providing that information to you or anyone else.

Once our invoice was written for you upon completion of our work that day, you had signed off on the service report agreeing to the price. Once we attempted to process payment the following day, the card declined and we contacted you regarding that. At that time, you had then mentioned that you did not agree with the price of the basket strainers that were installed for your kitchen sink and you did not feel that it was a fair price as it was more expensive than a basket strainer that you would purchase at Home Depot. Dorrit tried to explain to you that we pay yearly for access to a pricing subscription specifically for pricing plumbing materials which provides us with a guideline for pricing ensuring that we make what is considered to be a reasonable profit amount. Even after Dorrit had tried to explain this to you, you were still not pleased with her explanation and were quite irate during the conversation. This really affected Dorrit as she herself takes pride in providing the best customer service possible which is the reason that she has grown to become our Office Manager as well as our Customer Service Manager. After that initial conversation with Dorrit when your card declined, you had let us know you’d call back with a different credit card number however, we did not hear back from you and we were unable to reach you for almost 2.5 weeks in order to obtain payment for the work completed. Once we did get in touch with you, you were offended that we had tried to contact you for payment. Nevertheless, a new credit card number was provided to us and the transaction was approved.

I’d also like to mention that even after we did complete the service for you and received payment in full, you had still requested for us to conduct another service call for you regarding an entirely different plumbing matter. Unfortunately, due to your conduct on the telephone with my staff, I had instructed them to not proceed in working with you any longer.

I too take great pride in the excellent customer service that Dorrit provides to all of our customers. She always strives to go above and beyond to ensure that all customers are provided with reliable service and are spoken to with the utmost amount of respect. She really did try her best to help you understand our point of view, however nothing that Dorrit tried to say or offer was satisfactory to you.
If you’d like to discuss this in further detail, please do call me at our office and I’d be happy to do so with you. Thank you. – Michael Bartman.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

Camera inspection + Drain repair

Overall I feel that their prices are arbitrary and they may work to deceive you as to what is required.

I had Bartman plumbing investigate a leak and then excavate and replace a broken elbow in my drain pipe.

I initially had Bartman plumbing quote on a camera inspection to see what the issue was. Their quote was higher than than other quotes but then he called me and said he would match the other quotes I received for $350.

We booked a date and the worker failed to show up. I called Monday and they apologized profusely and offered to come back and complete the camera inspection for $250. I agreed.

Following this, there was a broken elbow in the drain that needed to be fixed and it required excavation. They quoted me $2,650. The worker who quoted me made it sound like it was significant work with multiple workers. Given this and the fact that another quote would probably require me paying for another camera inspection, and the timing, I agreed with this price.

It turned out that the excavation was super quick and it was really just one guy working. This was significantly less work than expected for the $2,650. At this time, we also found a drain backed up and the worker said it needed to be snaked and they would do that. I left and came back to the house a couple hours later as we discussed and they were gone. I called and they said they were going to come back.

It was through the phone that I heard that the snaking would now require a high pressurized machine to clear and that would be $1,500. I challenged this significantly as I was not told and they agreed to complete it at no charge.

The worker came to complete the work and I noticed that he had a regular snake instead of the high pressurized specialty equipment (apparently the equipment was being used at another site). I questioned whether or not it was really necessary and why they had quoted me $1,500 if they could do it with a regular snake. He articulated that it would take significantly longer and he would need significant water pressureand it was so expensive because it required at least 4 hours with 2 guys.

He then snaked the drain and used a camera and it took 30 minutes. It in no way required the inital $1,500 expense! He apologized and stated that he was happy he had included this in the original price due to the miscommunication.

Overall, I am left with a feeling that they overcharged me on the digging work and that they take advantage of individuals with limited knowledge to charge exorbitant fees for unnecessary work. I emailed them this review before posting and never received a response.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Monica. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review regarding the services completed at your home in October 2016.
On Friday October 7, 2016, we were scheduled to be at your residence in order to complete our camera inspection as you had reported that there was water leaking into your home after you had hired a landscaping company to connect your eaves trough to the drainage system of the house. Unfortunately, our technician who was scheduled to be at your home had a personal emergency and failed to contact the office to make us aware of it. Please be advised that our employee was disciplined due to his negligence as we strive to keep dedicated and punctual individuals employed with our company. We truly apologize for that appointment having been missed. When you had contacted us on the following Monday October 10, 2016, we expressed our disappointment for having missed the appointment and quickly offered a further discount of $100.00 to you for the inconvenience that you had experienced, reducing your camera inspection to $250.00 + HST. You agreed and seemed pleased with our offer made to you. The camera inspection was rescheduled for the following Friday October 14, 2016, as per your request.
Our technicians arrived on October 14th, 2016, and upon completion of the camera inspection, they found that the drain at the bottom of your rain water leader at the exterior of your home was broken underneath the ground. In order for us to repair that section of piping, we had to remove the interlocking on your walkway at the side of your home and excavate the ground approximately 6 feet deep. Prior to the work commencing, we had let you know that an additional camera inspection would be completed after the initial excavation in order to determine whether or not there were any further damages to the drain line that could not be viewed during our initial camera inspection due to the camera stopping at the initial break in the drain. We did let you know the exact scope of work that was required and you, without hesitation, agreed to us conducting the work. Once we completed the excavation along with the additional camera inspection, no further repairs were found to be required and we proceeded with the repair of the broken drain. Upon completion of those repairs, we backfilled the excavated area and the leak was successfully repaired.
I must apologize for any miscommunication or confusion regarding the plugged drain at your home. When our technician was on site, he did find the drain to be plugged solid with debris and toilet paper. We always attempt to snake a plugged drain prior to recommending a powerflush which is used for larger blockages that cannot be cleared with a snake machine. At that time, Dorrit had called you to let you know that a powerflush would be required at that time as the snake machine did not clear the blockage for you. We did agree to complete this free of charge for you due to the amount of business provided to us as we were already scheduled to be in the area on another site with our powerflushing machine. We wanted to do whatever was possible to ensure that you were satisfied with the services provided to you. Our technician showed up with a snake machine opposed to the powerflushing machine as we always have both pieces of equipment on site for any powerflushing job that we schedule. Our powerflushing machine was on another jobsite approximately 5 minutes away (which is one of the reasons why we agreed to complete your powerflush free of charge) so we initially sent our technician with only the snake machine until the powerflushing crew was free to come over to complete the flushing work. When our technician arrived at your home with the snake machine, he attempted to snake the line once again and the drain did begin to run freely. We have no idea how or why the drain was cleared so easily this day as we were unable to clear it on our first attempt. It is our belief that the original snake job from the previous service loosened the blockage within the drain which allowed our second attempt to successfully clear the drain. Once the line began running freely and we completed the final camera inspection ensuring that there were no further blockages, our technician advised our powerflushing crew to not proceed to your home as the line had been cleared using the snake machine and a powerflush did not seem to be required at that time.
I would like to mention that all of these additional snaking services were completed for you at no charge. We were also going to provide you with the powerflush free of charge as well however that was deemed to be unnecessary. Under no circumstance would we attempt to take advantage of anyone regardless of how much or how little knowledge they have pertaining to plumbing.
At the time that you had sent your email, I was out of the country with very limited access to phone or email. I had instructed for Dorrit not to respond to your email as I was going to do so myself upon return to the office however, by that time, you had already posted this review. I apologize for not having instructed Dorrit to respond to your email however, I feel customer complaints such as yours are best to be addressed by myself being the President of Bartman Plumbing Ltd.
You had seemed quite pleased throughout the entire time that work was being completed at your home so it was a bit of a surprise to see that you had felt such disappointment in working with our company.
In the event that you’d like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me at my office at 416-898-0094. Thank you – Michael Bartman

Rachel from Richmond Hill
Rachel from Richmond Hill
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
0/10

Plumbing - clearing toilet

My grandmother is an 86 year old widow who, when during the recent ice storm/blackout had a clogged toilet. It was said that an auger was used but it was never used. That was blatantly dishonest. They were in the house for less than 30 minutes (1 man) , which is okay because perhaps they had a flat rate (2 hours), but a fee of shop supplies was added (for only a plunger?) they clearly padded the invoice. This was written on behalf of my grandmother by her granddaughter (law student) that ripping off anyone, let alone a senior, is despicable.

Was this review helpful?
Juan Cruz in Richmond hill
Juan Cruz in Richmond hill
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
2/10

Repair a leak on main bathroom

I call Bartman Plumbing to identify and repair a leak in our main bathroom. When I arranged the appointment I was told upfront that I must pay a minimun of $150 + $20 for the first two hours (regardless the problem). After tow hours and making holds in my ceiling and bathroom's drywall and changing several seals that were not needed to be changed, I was told that the problem was not in the piping and have to change tiles and tub. Final invoice $ 291 AND THE LEAK IS STILL THERE!

Was this review helpful?
Joseph Vasilli in North york
Joseph Vasilli in North york
1 review North York, ON
0/10

Plumbing install

At first glance the company was very professional, had a tough time reaching people over the weekends but the work started well none the less. During the project, we were originally estimated 3000 for a couple small jobs around, but things ended up finalizing at 4280. Overall that would have been fine, but I later found out the prices I paid were outrageous, borderline criminal. My brother in laws best friend at the time had come over to see what they had done, as he is a licenced contractor himself. After showing him the basic shower faucet that was installed, two basin faucets, three toilets (that I had paid for!), dishwasher installed and a few drains snaked, my brother in laws best friend said this should not have been more than 800, at the very most. I don't deal with this stuff usually and it hurts to have been taken advantage of. The work was fine, but the price was insane. Get quotes before doing any work home owners, its tough out there.

Was this review helpful?
Devoted Homeowner-2281
Devoted Homeowner-2281
9 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Kitchen install and Bathroom repairs

We have used this company several times already, always with happy results. Mike and his team are punctual and courteous. They respect your property and perform the work in a timely manner.

Our latest job was a kitchen install, including connecting our sink, dishwasher, and water/ice-dispensing refrigerator. They also connected our washer and dryer, then noticed that our bathroom drain was plugged with cement so could not drain properly. They fixed this as well, the same day.

These guys are so great, and the price is always reasonable.
Really! I wish I could post my phone number so I could tell people directly what a great company this is!

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Bartman Plumbing

Bartman Plumbing Ltd is a Toronto-based, family owned, operated and oriented business offering plumbing services as well as Emergency Plumbing services 24/ 7 in the Greater Toronto Area (GTA). We specialize in all facets of plumbing, drain services, hot water radiant heating and backflow prevention. Visit www. bartmanplumbing. com for ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Plumbing pros in Toronto?