Reviews

0/10

We had all of the windows for our Edwardian home replaced with Norwood wooden window. We dealt with Jeff Cairns throughout the process. He came to do the measurements before the order was placed. There were countless issues during the process and the details are shoddy. Not only that but two of the windows were mismeasured. One was eventually replaced but without a double sash. The other one (a $3200 triple pane window on the facade) was never replaced despite it having clearly been mismeasured and despite the fact that it didn't match the original trim work around it. We ended up having to redo the trimwork at our own cost. This is particularly absurd since this company claims to specialize in historical restorations and we had discussed the window in detail with Jeff. When we contacted him to discuss this and many other issues, Jeff was very rude and refused to assist. We spent countless hours escalating and going back and forth and they agreed to fix the more minor issues but, despite the management agreeing to resolve the issue, no one has contacted us since. I would avoid this company at all costs. They are rude, incompetent and don't stand behind their products.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Review sites are very helpful and Ridley is far from perfect but we definitely go beyond that extra mile when something does go sideways on a particular project. As this site tells you we have had great success and we have had some challenges on projects. This particular review bothers us for a number of reasons:
1) The reviewer calls out a particular individual but the reviewer themselves stay anonymous
2) The reviewer states measuring errors but does not disclose that when a Contractor is installing the products it is their responsibility for final measurements, a Ridley policy which only makes sense considering they are installing
3) Calling someone incompetent is beyond Rude, this is also very humorous as they call us Rude!
4) It would be great to hear from this particular reviewer with how the entire process went and if they have had any difficulty with anyone else on the project, or everyone else????

Again, Ridley is far from perfect however please be cautioned that there are always two sides to every story!!!

10/10

We were hoping to have a wood stove installed during the renovation of our semi but it was bungled by our former contractor. We contacted several companies for quotes - one said it could not be done and tried to sell us a product we had no interest in. Another also pointed to all of the difficulties involved and quoted us a very high amount. Luckily, I found Dave online and immediately he booked an appointment to have his son Tim come to quote us. They were prompt, courteous, and their quote was very reasonable. The job was completed in one day and they even helped to fix some of our previous contractors errors. They were clean, efficient, and professional. I would recommend them to anyone looking to have a fireplace installed or repaired.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much Gabriele. It was a pleasure to serve you!

10/10

In a last minute crisis due to unfinished packing and moving related stress, I contacted Francis movers on the recommendation of a friend who had been happy with their services. Nikki and Amanda arrived and not only were they quick and professional, they even neatly packed some very expensively jewelry that I had mistakenly not put aside in advance. I was convinced that it was lost, but sure enough I found it along with all of the other drawer contents in a clearly marked box. Thank you Nikki and Amanda, I will definitely be a repeat customer thanks to your honesty and professionalism.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, I passed the message onto the ladies of what a good job they did. If you need any help in the future, please don't hesitate to call us.

10/10

We had our ducts cleaned by the so clean team after a very large reno. Despite having just moved in and having boxes everywhere, the crew were not fussed and without complaint squeezed past our things to access all of the vents. They were clean, quick and very professional. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you so much Gabriele for the review and the business. Much appreciated. We are so glad that we were able to be of a service and we look forward serving you again in the future. Thank you

Cheers
Adel Majd

6/10

We recently completed a complicated move which included packing, moving to two locations, storage and delivery. While the first leg of the move went relatively smoothly (with some hiccups), the delivery of our items was below expectations. Because we were unable to direct the delivery of every item, boxes were left everywhere - ironing boards in living rooms, boxes clearly marked (by them) "kitchen" in third floor bathrooms. The movers refused to assemble a bed which their company had disassembled (and so was part of the work order), necessitating a call to their head office. Having read the homestar reviews, I had expected better from this company which claims to provide more of a mid-higher end service than the one we received.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for providing feedback on your moving experience with us. We're glad that the first part of your move went well and we're sorry you didn't feel as satisfied about the second part. I know the crew did put your bed together so sorry about the miscommunication in regards to their concern with the bed. They were not the crew that took it apart and they were trying to communicate that they were unsure how it went back together. We definitely do strive to provide a stress free moving experience for all of our clients so, again, our sincerest apologies if we didn't meet the expectation you had of us. We are always trying to get better so we do appreciate your feed back. We hope you enjoy your new home!

10/10

We contacted Rocco after reading reviews on this site. We needed a permit to put in garden doors in our new house. Rocco was FAST - so fast we could not really believe it! He was professional, gave great advice, was honest and really knows his stuff. His services are well worth the cost (we had a permit within two weeks, others were saying it would take them over six weeks)! We will use him again and again in the future. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

...nevertheless you have contacting, hired and trusted me from Rome!
Thanks Gabriele!!!
Ciao Rocco:)