Reviews

10/10

We had Tile By Style (Omar) in to do a few tile projects for us in 2017. Our projects included: master ensuite shower and tile backsplash, main bath backsplash and tub surround, and kitchen backsplash. Omar has impeccable craftsmanship and is meticulous with his placement. For some of the tile placement patterns, we weren't entirely sure what to choose. (vertical or horizontal for larger tiles) Omar gave a few really great suggestions and we ended up choosing one and have not regretted our layout choice at all. Omar has an eye for design and some really creative ideas. All our tiles were placed even and level. (no bumpy ridges due to thicker layers of mud in different places under the tiles) At the time he was very busy, but still managed to squeeze our project in so that we would have full use of our bathrooms as soon as possible. He and his crew completed the work in just about a week (or may have been less, can't completely remember time-line) and all things considered, it seemed the entire project was done very quickly. If you need tile work done, I would absolutely recommend Omar to do the job. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

We have had Brian do numerous electrical jobs for us during our various renovation projects. Every single time we have hired him he has been on time, pleasant, ready to stay until the work was completed and very fairly priced. Some of the projects we have had him do are: electrical panel re-wire, pony panel addition & undermount lights. I did a lot of my own electrical during renovations under my home-owners permit as well and any time I got really stuck I contacted Brian for some guidance. He is always helpful and goes the extra mile in order to provide excellent customer service and top-notch quality work. We have always felt his pricing was fair, never over-inflating quotes or the amount of work required. We started hiring Brian in approximately late 2016/early 2017 and will continue to use him as long as we have electrical projects that come up that require an experienced electrician to complete them. I would wholeheartedly recommend Brian for any electrical projects a person would need to hire a certified technician for.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the review David.
Nothing brings me more joy than another satisfied customer!

0/10

We had a total of 7 windows and one door installed by this company. We should have spent an extra $500 and gone with another company we got a quote from, but the opportunity of saving money appealed to us. Our initial interaction with our salesperson was so-so. She was fairly abrupt and spoke to us like we knew nothing about home renovations when we asked her questions for clarification. (We have renovated over 4 houses) Once she took the initial measurements we went over window styles and asked her if the particular style we were looking at (awning) had hardware style that opened on the outside edges to make them egress compliant for the bedrooms. She said ‘yes, yes of course’ and waved off our questions/concerns. We had seen this style previously in another house where the window had an awning style opening mechanism and the hardware did not block the exit from the window. We were very adamant with the salesperson that if they did not meet egress we wanted a different style and she said not to worry and it was all good. So we signed the contract, gave a deposit and waited for the measurement person to come for an appointment at a later date. Fast forward 10 days (too late to change our minds) the measurement guy shows up, takes our measurements and has the service order in front of him and goes over the window purchase information. He said NOTHING about our window choice not being egress compliant for the bedrooms. Of all people he’s supposed to be the specialist who does installations all the time and knows what to look for and what meets code. Also, he started questioning why our furniture was setup like it was and tried to argue with my wife about the placement. Completely ridiculous! Our windows finally showed up and once they were installed, none of the screens fit properly so they had to be reordered. The installation was shoddy at best. For the basement windows they filled in around the frames with cement. This makes me wonder if they even measured properly to begin with. Our back door currently has such a loose fit that we have ice around the edges in the winter which is causing the door to warp. They should have squared up the frame and made everything fit properly. Our windows don’t sit with a tight fit when locked because they were not leveled properly, and form ice on the inside during the winter. This should not be a problem with 2 year old windows that are triple pane. To top it all off the bedroom windows are not egress compliant. My wife phoned the company and had a couple of extensive phone calls with the main person a few months after they were installed. (And I need to mention, it was only after we had another window company come in for different windows did we realize the heap of problems with these windows.) (After ALWAYS having to leave a message with Econoshield. No one answers right away, it goes to an answering service company) The person (either Dimitry or Andrew, depending on the day) basically told us that since we signed off on the contract and that the salesperson didn’t work for them anymore, the error was on us and there was absolutely nothing he would do. Even though we repeatedly asked the salesperson to verify the window requirements BEFORE everything was finalized, she never got back to us to say we should choose another style. We tried to follow up on the door warranty and that company(the manufacturer) also told us it was not their problem. What a waste of time, money, and effort all around. I would highly recommend you look elsewhere if searching for a window installation company. There are far better, less incompetent companies out there. Don’t try and save a few bucks. You’ll regret it. Windows were installed in 2017.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello David,
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review.
The purchase and installation of your windows took place in 2016, and unfortunately, the project manager you were dealing with back then is no longer working with us. As a result, we cannot verify the information discussed verbally between yourself and our representative. We can only rely on what is written on the agreement you signed with us. Based on that, we have done everything according to the specs you requested.
To avoid future disputes, strict company policy was implemented to refuse installation of bedroom windows that do not meet egress specifications, even if a customer insists on a particular design.
The installation of your windows and door meets and exceeds the building code regulations which we strictly follow. We have searched through the records and we never received any of your complaints regarding the window or door malfunction as it would have been addressed right away.
The call answering service is used after business hours or when all other phone lines are busy. This is done as a better alternative to the voicemail option, so in case of an urgent matter, appropriate personnel can receive a caller's message at any time even when the office is closed. During the business hours, all calls are answered by the office personnel.
Once again, thank you for your feedback. We strive for the best possible customer service and always looking for ways to improve. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

10/10

We recently had Josh and his crew remove a VERY tall spruce tree and an unsightly bush, as well as prune two apple trees and another tree in our yard. Josh is friendly, professional, punctual, and very fair with the pricing of his services. This is the fourth job that we have had him do for us and would not hesitate to recommend him (which we have already done many times!) and we will continue to use him for all our future tree-care needs. He is a great guy and cleans up the yard thoroughly after his work has been completed. Once you use his tree services, you will never want to call a different company again!

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Right from first point of contact Protech was friendly, efficient, and affordable. We had them install a gas-line and they provided an approximation of the cost before work began. There wasn't anything tricky or out of the ordinary about our installation, so it went smoothly and quickly. Price was fair for work and inspection passed with city without any issues. Thanks Protech!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi David,

Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure working with you.

Rick