Reviews

0/10

Beware! The experience with this roofing company, Zim Group, has become an unbelievable nightmare. I should have suspected something was wrong when, after starting a month later than stated on the contract and with no communication as to how far along the job was, Mykola suddenly demanded the mid-payment, $5,500 cash, immediately. He was rude and belligerent when told that I could not get the full amount to him that day since it exceeded my maximum daily cash withdrawal (the banks had also been closed throughout the job since they began, without prior notice, on boxing day and this was 3 days later on Monday). When he threatened to stop the job I borrowed the money. I was under so much pressure to come up with the cash that I did not even think to check the roof before handing it over. Big mistake. There are three sections to the roof. On the first and biggest he removed the 5 layers of shingles, and dumped the garbage in the gap between the houses, damaging my neighbour's exhaust vent and window. I had to hire a company to remove the debris and pay for the repairs. On the other 2 sections no shingles had been removed, contrary to the contract he signed and Zim Group's own installation manual which reads: “Remove all foreign objects, tighten all screws and pound in all nails as needed. Sweep the roof clean.” The strapping was put over the layers of shingles using 3½ inch nails with the metal roof over top. Since the nails are not long enough none of this is attached to the roof itself. In essence my roof is wearing a hat. Mykola insisted that he hadn't removed the remaining shingles because he wasn't required to remove the bottom layer of cedar shake. He claimed it had asbestos underneath, yet had already done this removal on the largest part of the roof. When I had it independently assessed and was informed that there is no asbestos he still stayed firm about not removing the shingles and shake because he “wasn't told that there was a layer of cedar" in the first place. This is completely false. He was informed of the cedar at the contract meeting. I had quotes from multiple companies and specified the removal of all shingles, including the cedar shake, with every one of them. Many of the roofers went onto the roof to confirm what was involved in the job and ensure everything was included in the quote. To do the job completely contrary to what we had agreed on without informing or consulting with me, then demand $7,000 more (according to his roofer Segiy’s quote) to do it properly after the fact, and only once he had been caught breaking the contract, is completely unreasonable. It seems he had assumed that he could do the job however he wanted expecting no one would actually look at the roof up close. There are other problems too numerous to mention in this review. But the worst is that there are no new roof vents and the old ones have been covered by the vapour barrier. The Ontario Building Code has a formula for roof ventilation. It certainly does not call for no ventilation. Insufficient ventilation can lead to moisture problems during the winter and decreased energy efficiency during the summer. The independent inspection I had done confirmed that the roof installation did not meet building code or even Zim Group's own manual. Take a look at the pictures and see if this is the kind of work that you want on your roof. You will see a zero rated revue below from August 2014. The company response to this scathing revue states three times that “your contract is not with ZIM Group”. Do not be fooled by this. Be assured that whatever name is on the contract, it is Zim Group. I tried multiple ways of contacting Zim Group but everything led back to Mykola. His card is a Zim Group card, the contact form on Zim Group's website connects to him, his email address is mykola@zimgroup.ca and in his sales pitch he presents himself as Zim Group. Only when you get to signing the contract do you find that what you are signing is not with Zim Group but with Arsenal Metal.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear customer,

Please be advised that ZIM Group Ltd. is the only manufacturer and supplier of the metal roofing panels to dealers.

After the investigation done we found that:
1. In accordance with the agreement with Arsenal Metal Inc. they started the job based on the weather conditions and it may cause some delays as we had heavy precipitation in December. You were asked for the second payment after completing 60% of the roof (see the contract).
2. As per contract dealer was supposed to remove all shingles but, unfortunately, during the work they found the cedar shake and unexplored fibrous underlayment between many layers of shingles; that is always extra cost. The pieces of shingles and cedar shake were blown by wind as were brittle over the age and were carried by roofers very far to the special container as there was no space to put it closer to the house. Moreover, you stopped the job and didn’t let the workers clean up the workplace and even pick up their own tools.
3. During the conversation we were discussing about the possible disposal cost, but we didn’t give you the exact price (you mentioned $7000). We gave few options for you to think them over. We were ready to give you a good discount, but you decided to reject as you wanted everything to be done for free threatening us with bad reviews.
4. This is 100% self ventilated roof. The only vent you’ll need is from the bathroom. Old vents have to be covered to prevent condensation collecting under the metal tiles. All photos that you presented are not valid as you stopped the work and the roof has not been completed yet.
Please provide our lawyer with your contact information and we will try to solve the issue between you, our company and the dealer.

10/10

Scott was very friendly, professional and right on time. He took pictures of the where the squirrels were getting in and explained exactly how he was going to quickly and humanely remedy the situation. He put in a one way door, came back several days later to seal it up and called back to check in and make sure there were no more signs of squirrels. I would definitely recommend Liddle Rascals for any wildlife removal needs.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Sarah for the review.
My job is made easy when you love what you do :)

0/10

Their name is a joke, aside from the original consultation they were late for every single scheduled appointment. One morning they were set to start at 7:30am and didn't show up until almost 11. I lost hours of my own work just waiting for them. The job kept getting pushed longer, probably in part due to their repeated lateness, and since it was a major repair and required the floor of my basement apartment to be dug up I ended up having to pay for my tenant to stay elsewhere. They didn't bother putting tarps over my tenanting's belongings until after they had already started and gotten dirt everything and even then they never put a tarp on her couch. There was one day we had arranged for them to be done by a certain time because I had to go into my office and there would be nobody left at home. That time came, the work was not done and there was a worker just sitting on site playing on his phone. When I asked what was going on he said he had to wait on another worker to show up before he could finished. That worker never showed up and he eventually just left which resulted in me missing an entire day of work for nothing. Part of the work they did was putting in a back water valve and I was originally told they would be taking care of the paper work for the back water valve rebate then bringing it to me to sign. A couple weeks went by and I didn't hear from them so I called and was informed the boss was on vacation and I'd have to wait till he returned since he was the one who dealt with any paper work. Once I finally got a hold of him I was told to take care of the rebate application myself. It turned out the invoice they had given me was not itemized or marked as paid in full which is necessary to apply for the rebate so I requested another copy. It has now been over 2 months since the work was finished and I still have not received a new copy of the invoice or the other necessary information for the rebate application. I have given them far too many chances to provide me with the most basic information and do not understand why they have been so uncooperative and unprofessional. I have now filed a complaint with the Ontario ministry of consumer services and if I continue to get nowhere with them I will be be taking further action through the Canada revenue agency informant leads program. It's really unfortunate, as well as a waste of my time, that it has had to come to these kinds of measures just to get a proper copy of the invoice. Do not put yourself through the headache of trying to deal with this company.

Was this review helpful?