Thankfully, 0 stars is an option! I rarely write reviews but my experience with this company is so terrible that I need too.
I hired So Quiet Sound Proofing because I was creating a basement apartment and wanted to significantly reduce sound transfer between their unit and ours. Upon meeting with Brandon, I explained that I had two newborns and a dog and did not want to lose good tenants due to them being bothered by the everyday noises a young family would create. I also did not want to hear music, TV, talking etc. from the tenants downstairs. He assured me that this was a straightforward job, which they could do in a week.
He promptly provided me with a quote and recommended an STC level to meet my soundproofing needs. After reviewing both, I paid the additional costs to raise the STC level to further insure that after spending a significant amount of money, the soundproofing would be adequate. I mentioned my concerns around the door transferring most of the noise and Brandon assured me this would be taken care of and was kind enough to offer a sound reducing door kit free of charge.
Work began and almost immediately, there were red flags. The ‘professionals’ that work for this company would show up between 10-11am, leave for lengthy lunches and were gone by 4 at the latest. The week estimate came and went and after countless no shows, ‘misunderstandings’ and late arrivals, 9 months later the door kit is still not installed.
The ‘professionals’ also decided my brand new laminate flooring would be a good place to cut their rubber/insulation and left my floor with multiple deep scratches and dents (see attached pictures). They also dry walled over two pot lights leaving the exposed wires in my ceiling. After multiple emails, phone calls and visits with Marcus the owner (who has an endless supply of excuses), I have not been given a penny for this damage.
The main reason I chose this company was their sound proofing ‘guarantee’…. This is a joke!!! After promising a full report detailing the improved soundproofing and STC level reached, I have not received anything. The tenants can hear my children crying, people talking when we have dinner parties and the dog whining and barking. Essentially, the noises I wanted to eliminate (or at least significantly reduce) from being transferred.
This is easily the most unprofessional company I have ever worked with. From workmanship to management, it is a complete circus and I would strongly discourage anyone who is considering hiring them.
- Company Response
Thank you for writing your review. Although it is negative and we completely dispute the contents of your review, we apologize and are equally disappointed that the project has not concluded as we had all wanted.
1. The work that we were contracted to do was completed within the timeline we promised. You have asked us to continue working, free of charge, out of scope of the original contract, and with unreasonable expectations.
2. Your contract was heavily discounted - by over 40% - and it's unclear to us why you have claimed that you paid extra for additional soundproofing. We delivered an extraordinary amount of work and value for the price that you paid. We invite you to obtain competitive quotes on the work performed and make those publicly available in comparison to what you have paid us. We are confident that those estimates will be 50%-80% higher than your total bill (which you have not paid in full).
3. We have met the sound attenuation rating that you were promised for the ceiling installation in our contract. The STC rating that you agreed to pay for does not 100% attenuate the extremely loud sounds of dinner parties and babies crying (which are in the 90-110 dB range), and which would require a soundproofing installation with a rating of STC 60+ (near studio level) to achieve. You also require a new basement suite entry door, and extensive work on your staircase to make the basement suite more private. However, you did not select this option nor pay for soundproofing at this level, which would require more than 200% of the budget amount that you paid for the project.
4. We have paid you significant funds for the damages for the floor, with a 15% discount to your contract, but in your review you state that we did not compensate you. We are equally upset that some floor damage did happen, and we apologize that it did. We have asked you for documentation to substantiate the costs for the floor damage, but you have not provided any, and instead have posted this review.
5. Holes for pot lights are normally cut after the drywall installation, and our crew did not drywall over your pot lights. The electrician made an error while cutting the holes, missed two of them, but it was fixable under his warrantee. We apologize for this mistake and inconvenience.
6. The crew who performed your installation worked hard to complete your project on the timeline. Sometimes the installation process requires different trades to come in several times in short intervals (for example, the taper).
The work that you seem to expect for the budget that you've paid would require our tradespeople to work for less than minimum wage.
We stand behind our work, the team members who performed the installation we have completed, and the value that it has added to your home.