Alberta Restoration Specialists

Mold Detection & Removal
Edmonton AB T5P 3E7
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Mold Detection & Removal
Alberta Restoration Specialists
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

81%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Alberta Restoration Specialists

Average customer rating:
9 10 (16 reviews)

Sort by

Vera in Edmonton
Vera in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
0/10

Sewer backup cleanup and restoration

Vera Schuelke reviewed Alberta Restoration Services — 1 star
7 mins ·
Frustration and stress sums up my experience. We had a sewer backup on July 2,2018. I contacted ARS on the 3rd and was assured I would be called back before 11:00 as I had an appointment. I called back the next day as I was not contacted. I set up an appointment to meet Gabriel at 11:00 and he was late. He gave me an itemized break down for the cleanup and tear down. He informed me it would take about 2 weeks to complete the clean up. They got to work right away. I also had to hire a trenching company to repair the sewer pipe. They quoted me a price and that it exactly what I paid. The job was completed in one day and there was no evidence that Lavender's Construction was even there- ultra professional. As ARS was doing the tear down, more issues arose and an additional $2000.00 was added. I had a similar problem a few years earlier and had a different restoration company do the work. Gabriel and his crew took pictures and informed me the other company had done some illegal things as well as take short cuts with the clean up. Gabriel promised me at the time he would provide photos and a letter detailing the work that was not done correctly. As the work progressed the hot water tank was leaking and had to be replaced, which was done in one day by Always Plumbing. They too were very professional. Then Gabriel informed me of a crack in the foundation that needed to be fixed prior to any restoration being done. He informed me that this fix would be $750.00. I received an invoice for $1700. A few days later I went to the house and found my backyard a mess. Gabriel had no idea what happened and said the trenching company must have done this. They were at the property in July and this was the beginning of September. I contacted the trenching company and they knew nothing of this. A few days later I received a call from Dave asking for payment for the foundation repair. I told him he had already been paid. Apparently this was a second foundation repair man that Gabriel had contacted. Gabriel claimed he had asked Dave not to come, but Dave had a different story. Dave told me that the mess in the backyard was due to the work he had done. Gabriel wanted me to pay half of the $1300 cost. I refused to do this as it was his mistake. Gabriel said he would clean up the mess. He shoveled some dirt and placed some cinder blocks. After several weeks I ended up replacing the edging, solar lights and cleaned up the remaining dirt. The foundation was repaired by the 7th of September. Gabriel assured me that the work would be completed in a week and a half. His workers were often not at the house or would arrive later in the day. Then I was called as they had removed some wood panels going down the stairs. There was mold on the walls and Gabriel wanted $1200 cash. Again I gave him more money and the house was still not done. I was preparing to sell the house and based on his promise set up a time with a realtor. This meeting had to be cancelled as the house was till not done. The house was finally finished October 17 and he was paid in full and he gave me a receipt with the total, but no break down of what each item cost. He told me he doesn't do that. I informed him I needed a breakdown as I was selling the house. I finally got the list, but no money value was behind each item. I met with the realtor on the 18th and Gabriel was to meet me there at 4:30 to sign some papers and bring me my photos and the promised letter. He still had not arrived by 6:00. I called him and he was sleeping. He told me he needed to go to Staples and print my pictures but he would be there. Fifteen minutes later he called me and said he couldn't make it. We arranged to meet in Spruce Grove, where I live, at 4:00. I was there on time and Gabriel did not show up again. I called him and he told me he had an emergency. He promised to send the photos, letter and paper work that day- October 19th.I have sent him several emails and called in regards to the photos and letter. Without these items I will not be able to recoup any money from the previous job. I do not understand why he refuses to provide these items as he promised to do so. I paid him over $30,000. The work that was done was nice, but I was not given an opportunity to select the flooring. I was promised that they would send pictures so I could make a choice, but it never happened. I am saddened by the unprofessional way I was treated. Nothing but excuses, broken promises. If you have lots of money, time and like aggravation this is the company for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
DB Wilson in Edmonton
DB Wilson in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Mold removal,replace walls,floors ,many improvements over 2weeks,home does not sell without their work

Had older home in Calgary to sell needed a lot of work to bring up to code to sell ARS did an absolutely fabulous job in getting rid of mold , fixing walls, floors and completely getting rid of the terrible mold smell, when they finished the house it easily passed the home inspection and sold in one day. For all work done thought cost well worth it
DB Wil son

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
4/10

Mold remediation

Very helpful to start but then began not following through on what they said that they would do. Frequently late on appointments, unprofessional in their interactions with clients. Feel that the workers where not adequately trained, and they needed to be called in multiple times to correct mistakes. Feel that ultimately the job was done right but after much stress and fuss. Also feel that I was overcharged for services.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

We are terribly sorry you feel that way please feel free to call us so we can try and make things right.

We don't know who you are, we don't recall treating anyone in the ways you describe it's not who we are, please call us so we can fix the issue.

Robert M.
Robert M.
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Garage mold removal

My garage had mold on the ceiling. I saw the good reviews on Homestars about Alberta Restoration Services (ARS), and called them. Gil came out that day, inspected
the garage, made some recommendations and gave a detailed estimate. His crew came out four days later to remediate the problem. The contaminated material was removed and disposed of and all other surfaces were disinfected. The work team was very professional and thorough as well as friendly and helpful. I was very happy with ARS and the service they provided and would recommend them.
Robert Mackie

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you sir, we really enjoyed working for you the hospitality was fantastic thank you for everything :)

Private
Private
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Bathroom Mold Abatement

Gil and his team did a great job making sure all of the mold in my bathroom was removed. Gil is very friendly and knowledgable, and his crew were professional and left everything very clean. I was very satisfied and would recommend ARS to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you sir! Always happy to help :)

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Basement Water and mold remediation

Alberta Restoration Specialists
587-340-5383
Edmonton
AB
T5P 3E7
CANADA

Called ARS and Gil responded immediately & came out to give estimate. Had crew out next morning. Went beyond expectations and identified foundation crack and unrelated plumbing leak. Remediate both for original quoted price. Even left some equipment to minimize drywall dust when we got drywall put back in. Gave good recommendations on crack repair and insulation contractors for rebuild. Highly recommend Alberta Restoreation.

They also covered hardwood and stairs to protect them during remediation and left the space clean when they were done.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much! We are really glad to know you're happy with our service :)

Bianca k.
Bianca k.
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Basement renovation

My boyfriend and I were doing some basement renos when we discovered some mold in the baseboards. After testing and confirming it is mold, we hired Alberta Restoration to remove the mold. Their price was very reasonable, they were professional and our basement was mold free within 3 days. Gil was informative and called us at least twice a day to make sure everything is going fine. We strongly recommend Alberta Restoration.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

It has been truly a pleasure serving you! :) good luck in your new home!

Randy
Randy
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Mold Remediation

I contacted Gil Monday and he inspected the garage Monday evening confirming mold. We discussed what was to be removed. The work was performed and completed the next day!

I am very pleased with the Gil's honesty, the professionalism and speed of service! I would not hesitate in using this company again or referring them.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you very much Randy! It's has been a great pleasure for us to serve you :)

HomeStars in Edmonton
HomeStars in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Asbestos Flooring Removal

I was taking on a home renovation project in my main floor bathroom. Its a 50s house, so time for a full gutting of the room and start from the ground up. Once the old tub was out and I was able to pull up the top layer of vinyl flooring, I found the original tile was still underneath that layer. Judging by the timelines, and some advice from a relative, I had the lower tile tested, which came back positive for asbestos.

Due to rotten subfloor beneath this layer, I had no choice but to have it removed. I called up Gil and Gabriel, and they came out Easter Sunday of all days, to set up and remove. Once on scene, they worked quickly and efficiently, all work was completed within 3 hours. The next day they were back to remove the equipment, and provide advice on further renovations.

These guys came in considerably less than some of the other quotes I received, but were at a cost that felt more than reasonable. It seems like so many companies try to bend you over a barrel when it comes to asbestos removal.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you so much for the kind words sir!

At ARS we take pride of our customer service and competitive prices it's been a pleasure serving you :)

Cody
Cody
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Mold removal from basement

This happened about a year ago, I was 23 and had just purchase a new home with my wife.

We decided to Reno our basement. Seemed like it would be a simple job until we started tearing it apart. After the removal of the second panel of dry wall we discovered mold from the floor to ceiling. Should have stopped there, but we were curious to how bad it was and started ripping holes all along the wall to see where it started and ended. Only to find it covered the entire wall. Having no idea what to do I looked up mold removal specialist Edmonton on google. Gabriel's name and number popped up so I called him, introduced myself and told him what's up. It was around 5:30 at the time so I wasn't expecting much, maybe an appointment the next day at best. After hearing what I had done and what the situation was he said he'd be there right away. He showed up about 20 minutes later with an associate to take mold samples. Once he arrived he immediately went into damage control. He turned off my furnace to stop the mold from circulating to the rest of the house. Gave me portable heaters as this was in the spring. Told me he'd have a team in the first thing in the morning to seal off the basement from the rest of the house.

The next day after the team sealed off the basement and left I called other mold removal company's in the area. A couple came to my place to inspect the possible job and all told me exactly what Gabriel already did. When I asked for a general idea of how much it would cost to complete the job none of them gave me a lower quote than Gabriel.

After testing came back from the lab and we knew exactly what we were dealing with and what type of equipment Gabriel would need they went straight to work. Not only was the work fast and cost effective, Gabriel knew from my situation we didn't have money to burn. So he told me what work I could do to lower the price. So after I got the equipment he spent the time demonstrating to me then allowed me to complete the task alone.

My entire basement was gutted for a little over the price a different contractor was willing to gut it without dealing with the mold. Being in my early 20's quite a few contactors see me as a kid they can make easy money off of. Gabriel did the opposite, he was very personal in his approach. I did exactly what he recommended and it went well. I highly recommended Gil and Gabriel.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Cody, we were happy to help!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Alberta Restoration Specialists

Alberta Restoration Specialists has provided dependable and reliable services for environmental issues of all types and sizes. We are committed to providing the best possible service with minimal inconvenience to our clients. Our qualified and licensed professionals are trained to help you understand your options and choose the best solution ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Mold Detection & Removal pros in Edmonton?