Amerispec Inspection Services

Home Inspection
2240 Langriville Dr N.W Calgary AB T3E 5G7
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Home Inspection
Amerispec Inspection Services
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

55%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Amerispec Inspection Services

Average customer rating:
7 10 (4 reviews)

Sort by

Faye in Calgary
Faye in Calgary
0 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

DO NOT USE THEM

Received poor service from the company and they missed identifying mold attic that should have been addressed in the inspection. Owner Kevin refused to acknowledge the negligence of the inspector, tried to find excuses by saying the problem was not observed at the time of inspection, humidity level too high in house (30% and we only moved in for 2 months) and blamed us on not having extra contractors checked thoroughly before purchasing the house. This makes me wonder how useless home inspection is. They not only provided a invalid explanation but also refuse to communicate and ignore our emails. How unprofessional is this! The service was recommended by a friend, but guess neither of us will use them ever again. Stay away from this irresponsible firm or you will regret!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We understand the frustration and stress of this situation and the need to find blame. We are hired to view and inspect the property as it sits the day of the inspection and advise on things that need to be further reviewed by professional contractors. We have no control if you choose to or choose not to having found issues explored further. This is a decision you make with information provided via the report and your Realtor.
Your home was inspected in July 2020 and showed no other issues other than what areas that needed to be further reviewed by qualified contractors. You would of also have done a walk thru with your Realtor at the time of possession in December, to view the condition of the home and how it was left from previous owners and if anything had changed since inspection. We have attached the photos of the attic and the hooded roof vents viewed July 2020 and as well the thermal image of the leak in the ceiling that was found.
From the pictures you sent us of the bathroom fan and attic sheathing with frost and comparing to pictures from the inspection, took by the inspector. We explained to you that your homes issues are cause by Extremely high Moisture levels are caused by cooking, showering and running the humidifier to high. The weather has been -30 levels for weeks and your hooded roof vents on the roof were covered with snow which causes a dark attic. This situation creates frost then something called attic rain and is common when conditions like this are created. We have no control how systems are run months later. The only way there could be that much water damaged occurring was for considerably more than 30% humidity levels, there would have been warning signs, like water on your windows long before your issues started.
The inspector did explain to you that the attic is inaccessible do to space and insulation present. Also, that he did not see any visible staining where visable. But did inform you of water issues detected in the ceiling and something was happening and needed to be looked at (the picture/comments in bold red on pages 26 and 50). It was viewed with a thermal camera then tested with a moisture meter, which both show signs that the ceiling had water present. The report stated that a qualified contractor is needed for further reviewing and to perform necessary corrections prior to close. These are the comments pulled from your report.
Page 44
“A crawl attic is unfinished and has restricted access. Limits of review are determined by the type of attic, insulation.”
Pages 26 and 50 Line 2303
“Master Bathroom
2303. Ceiling Review.
Moisture detected on ceiling. An elevated level of moisture was detected using an electronic moisture meter. A qualified contractor is needed for further reviewing and to perform necessary corrections prior to close.”
Again, we understand your frustration, but we did our job as we were hired by identifying areas of concern.

Daniel from Calgary
Daniel from Calgary
3 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Home Inspection

Had Rick Belland from Amerispec inspect a home for us. Very professional and went out of his way to explain to use certain parts of the house. He ended up staying for quite a bit longer than expected but did not charge us extra. Was a bit leery on getting a home inspection in general, but as it turned out the repairs that the sellers made outweighed the cost of the inspection - so I guess it was worth it!

As a note, the review system is confusing because there are multiple Amerispecs in Calgary and some of the reviews are posted under the wrong branch. In terms of pricing, I found Amerispec's pricing average but it is tough to know the quality of the inspector so I preferred to stick with a larger company.

In all, very recommended.

Was this review helpful?
abi from Calgary
abi from Calgary
4 reviews Calgary, AB

First Review

10/10

Home Inspection Service

I paid for this service twice because the contractor was so good. The first inspection revealed problems with a house under contract and the deal fell through and saved us a lot of headache down the road. The second inspection went through fine. there were no hassles arranging for time. The inspector was very professional and provided a book summarizing house construction. Went over specific concerns with me.

Was this review helpful?
Deke Samchok in Calgary
Deke Samchok in Calgary
9 reviews Calgary, AB
8/10

Eco energy inspection

We were very satisfied with the inspection. The inspector did a thorough job and had some excellent tips on how we could reduce the drafts in our house.

The only problem is that we didn't get the inspection report for over a month.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Amerispec Inspection Services

Since 2008, AmeriSpec of Calgary North West & Red Deer has provided homebuyers, home sellers and real estate professionals with quality home inspections and valuable ecoENERGY
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Home Inspection pros in Calgary?