Green Clean Squad

House & Apartment Cleaning
Edmonton AB T5T 4G1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

53%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Green Clean Squad

Average customer rating:
7.4 10 (19 reviews)

Sort by

Edmonton Resident from Edmonton
Edmonton Resident from Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
1/10

Residential Cleaning

Had Green Clean Squad clean our home for app. 6 months. At start excellent service. By the end variable quality, and regularly missed appointments with no notice. When office was contacted they showed little concern. Definitely would not recommend. Prepaying for packages would be high risk with GCS.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Fiona Wilson from Edmonton
Fiona Wilson from Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
7/10

Deluxe House Cleaning

Green Clean cleaned my house while I was away on vacation. It was so nice to return to a clean home. They did an excellent job on the bathrooms, and the oven door. They did a great job cleaning the carpet on the stairs as well. I appreciate them using green products as our pet has a lot of allergies. I would hire them again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Bell from Edmonton
Bell from Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
0/10

House Cleaning

Over the span of about a year I used these cleaning services a handful of times or so. While I think the idea of green cleaning is wonderful, and the quality of cleaning was adequate (granted I am a clean freak so I have high standards!) I feel this company and owners are at an infantile stage. My complaint is with the ownership/management of the company.

Over the duration of my relationship with Green Clean I experienced various small concerns which simply added up over time, such as:
-Areas missed when dusting.
-A pet accidentally locked in a room despite a note telling staff to leave the room alone / door closed.
-Keys to my home lost and never recovered.
-Lights and television left on by staff after completion of services.
-Blown fuse of an appliance incorrectly used, only admitted to after I inquired with specific questions.
-Frequent (nearly 100% of the time) changes to the appointment hour despite advance scheduling.

All of these were mildly annoying/inconvenient but due to an existing personal relationship with a member of the company I tried to overlook them. In most cases, after I provided feedback to the company these oversights were not repeated.

However what finally made my mind up was an event which occurred while I was overseas. I booked an appointment in advance for a day and time which worked for the sitter who would be in my home in my absence. I received an email reminder weeks later of my appointment indicating both a different time AND DAY than what I had booked. This reminder was sent to me with less than 48h which is the cancellation policy Green Clean demands of its clients. I would expect the same courtesy for such a significant change.

The change of date, the short notice, not to mention the absence of ANY explanation for rescheduling caused great inconvenience as I was unable to notify the sitter and it negatively affected the remainder of my vacation due to stress.

After 6 months Green Clean (the owners) offered nothing in response by way of compensation, or even an apology and explanation. The lack of response, avoiding confrontation, is immature and unprofessional. I wish I had never booked this particular appointment as it was an entire waste of money and has tainted memories of an otherwise wonderful vacation. I will not recommend this company to anyone in the future and in fact will share my experiences in hopes of guiding someone to a more appropriate company.

Following my original posting of this review approximately 1 year ago on google, instead of a response from the company I was sent insulting and harassing communications by an acquaintance shared by the owners and myself reinforcing my opinion of all involved suggesting I remove my review.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Heidi, we just left you a voicemail as we very much want to find a solution and make you happy. Please call us back at your earliest convenience. Green Clean Squad was voted the #1 cleaning service because of our unwavering commitment to customer service. We regret being unable to reach a solution despite our best efforts and going above and beyond to address Heidi's issue. The client had an appointment scheduled for Dec 2, 2011 and due to an employee becoming sick, we notified the client that we would move her appointment to Dec 1, 2011. I didn't think this would be an issue because the client was out of the country and I knew how important it was for her to come home to a clean house. The only other alternative would have been to cancel the appointment and reschedule it for after she returned to Edmonton, meaning she would come home to a dirty house.

I made an evidently erroneous judgment call that it would be more important for Heidi to have her house cleaned than not have it cleaned, and as I said, because we had her key and she was out of the country, I thought it was unlikely to cause her any inconvenience.

Unfortunately, as the reviewer indicated, she is engaged in an interpersonal conflict with a mutual friend of mine and attacking our small business as a result. I sincerely hope that Homestars readers will try out the GCS for themselves to see why we were voted the #1 cleaning service. It is not acceptable to me as an owner to have any disappointed clients and I would be more than happy to make amends with Heidi, and will contact her personally to see what I can do to satisfy her.

lorettabertol@hotmail.com in Edmonton
L. L.
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Green clean squad

Great job in cleaning my house in particular the bathrooms and the kitchen. I left a list of what tasks i wanted done in the time period and all the tasks were well done. I found the staff very polite and hardworking.

Was this review helpful?
D in Edmonton
D in Edmonton
1 review EDMONTON, AB
3/10

Green Clean let me down

Basically, this company is very poorly run. I only ever had email interaction with them, and they weren't all that pleasant about their emails, or quick with replies either. I am not sure if it's too many owners/managers having too little to do with the actual running of the company or what it is. My first regular appt, they didn't even show up. When I emailed, the owner made some excuse, but with the girl arrived a couple hours late she said they just texted her and added my place to her 'to do' list today. She asked me if I had just called and set it up today and I replied that I had had the appt set up for a couple of weeks. The owners/management didn't even give as much as a sorry to me for the inconvenience. After that it was one comedy of errors after another. They would show up at 9 am after I had just received an appt email for 2 pm the day prior. Once they even arrived on a completely different day 3 days after I had just had it cleaned, and they informed me that my key to my house didn't work. I told them that I hadn't given them a key...they were at the completely wrong place. It was after the second time getting them actually that I decided not to give a key at all. Originally I had no problem with this, but there wasn't one interaction with the owners that went well. They either didn't know what I was talking about, or mixed things up every appt. The one time I complained about the cleaning via email, the response I received was very short "what was wrong or different this time?", so I sent a lengthy email and then didn't hear back for a couple days until I had to email again and ask if they received it. Very poor!!!

I also use the term "cleaned" loosely. The cleaning was half decent as long as one particular staff member wasn't present. Lots of things were missed and the people cleaning it are always different, so how do you have a rotation of things that you do one week and things you do the next? Basically it was just surface cleaned and things like moving couches or dusting blinds isnt even thought of. I didn't get the impression they cared at all. They were trying to get out of here as quickly as possible. I don't blame them, I blame management.

Cost is another issue. I was being overcharged. When I would try to clarify what I am paying, I would get different answers depending on who I talked to.

I would think long and hard before purchasing a package.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are not aware of any of these issues and would be happy to resolve them. Unfortunately the issue described has not been brought to our attention. We assign the same two cleaners to each client so I am unsure as to how we could have send a different team each time. Please call us at 780-758-1825 to discuss.

Please visit: http://www.genbook.com/bookings/slot/reservation/30094628/reviews/?bookingSourceId=1000 to read real reviews written by clients.

Bonnie Parker in St. albert
Bonnie Parker in St. albert
1 review Saint Albert, AB
0/10

House Cleaning

I bought the 6 month package and prepaid $3700 for weekly cleaning. What a huge mistake! They cancelled twice in the first month and their service over 6 cleanings convinced me to return to my previous cleaning company -- http://scrubsorganic.com. For example, blinds not dusted, piano not dusted, bathtub not cleaned, front of fridge not wiped. One bed was made only twice in 6 visits. The company is now refusing to give back my money so I have had to retain counsel. Whatever you do, don't buy a package. Save yourself the headache and go straight to Scrubs Organic -- there is simply no comparison.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The customer entered into a 7-month contract with us, based on a no refund or exchange policy. We cleaned for the client on several occasions and received only positive feedback for each cleaning. We are happy to continue cleaning for the customer for the duration of her contract or come to another solution that would work for her.

B Moore in Edmonton
B Moore in Edmonton
3 reviews Edmonton, AB
9/10

Move-in cleaning

I hired the Green Clean Squad to clean my new home before moving in. The online booking was very convenient and the team they sent did a great job. It was so nice to move into a spotless house, would definitely use them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for using us for your move-in Beth, we look forward to cleaning for you again next month when you take possession of your new home. Congrats!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Green Clean Squad

VOTED "BEST CLEANING SERVICE" IN THE BEST OF EDMONTON EVERY YEAR! We use 100% eco-friendly cleaning products infused with organic essential oils and provide the expert service and attention to detail that you'd expect from a 5-star hotel or spa. Are you tired of toxic products, unprofessional or unreliable independent ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for House & Apartment Cleaning pros in Edmonton?