Hilltop Plumbing & Heating Ltd

Plumbing
1341 Johnston Road White Rock BC V4B 3Z3
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Plumbing
Hilltop Plumbing & Heating Ltd
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

50%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Hilltop Plumbing & Heating Ltd

Average customer rating:
5 10 (18 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Surrey, BC
0/10

Very Expensive

They just spent less than 40 min. I would say approximately 30 min.
But they charged $250 for their labor.
This is crazy !!!
I will never recommend this company to anybody.

Approximate cost of services:
$540.00
Was this review helpful?
Art in Surrey
Art in Surrey
0 reviews Surrey, BC
10/10

Morrison Cafe

Very excellent service. They were on site within 30 minutes for an emergency call and had it taken care of and had us up and running within the hour. Great job and guys.

Approximate cost of services:
$200.00
Was this review helpful?
Tonia in Vancouver
Tonia in Vancouver
1 review Vancouver, BC
0/10

$400 for nothing

One year ago we had a failed furnace and hired Hilltop. We had them install a new one at the time. One issue we didn’t like is the new furnace had a quiet ticking sound when running which hilltop was never able to solve, but we were ok with their service not overly impressed because of the unresolved ticking noise. 1 1/2 weeks ago we heard dripping inside the furnace and my husband opened it up to see water pooling inside. We called Hilltop. One of the first things they told us is that the furnace was installed incorrectly (um ok). They didn’t offer to fix it however. There appeared to be a leak above the furnace. The plumber was not prepared for the job. He couldn’t find the source of the leak. Instead he cut a Couple of holes through the drywall said he couldn’t find the source and took the pieces away with him so that we could not repair our walls. He charged us $400 for his 1 hour of guesswork and without any resolution. He told us his manager would be in touch. His manager never called us back. So? We paid $400 for a couple of holes in our walls and a leak we still can’t find.

Approximate cost of services:
$400.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
alessitavan in Sechelt
alessitavan in Sechelt
0 reviews Surrey, BC
0/10

Echoing similar experiences - taking advantage of seniors

They were called to repair the fireplace at my parents (in their 80's) condo in White Rock. The serviceman that showed up had no care in the work area he set up, had extreme difficulty removing the glass screen for the fireplace and turned it back on with a lighter -which was not a fix- when asked by my father to put it back together and turn it on as it should, he offered to clean the glass -which required a 15 minute trek to his truck parked right outside- and considerable effort in cleaning and re-assembling the glass cover, then the fireplace did not turn on and suddenly he diagnosed that it required a part that was unavailable and would take anywhere between 4 and 6 weeks. He left but the whole ordeal cost my father $220 dollars. When I tried to speak to the general manager, he did not let me speak and essentially said that I should question what my father had told me happened. Since I was not there, I should lend more credibility to his employee, I suppose. Good news, an actual professional serviceman went to my parents' home today and fixed it for a fair price and no unavailable part was required. Companies taking advantage of senior citizens in the middle of winter and a pandemic. That's a new low.

Approximate cost of services:
$220.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Chris in Calgary
Chris in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

HVAC system

I bought a HVAC system from this company. They are inept at its service and I have three weeks of hell because of them. Please if my experience is anything to go by. Look elsewhere.

Approximate cost of services:
$20,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Surrey, BC
10/10

fireplace maintenance

I used Hilltop for the first time recently to take advantage of the FORTIS rebate for my fireplace. Their technician was on time, and I was impressed with his cleanliness, and his thorough explanation afterwards on how to maintain my fireplace. He was also very patient with all my questions. I really appreciated him wearing a mask the entire time. I will certainly recommend Hilltop to my friends in the future. Thank you!

Approximate cost of services:
$248.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
liam.surridge in Surrey
liam.surridge in Surrey
1 review Surrey, BC
10/10

Small Electrical Job - Residential

3 fixtures
3 way - wifi dimmers and Led change over
Lights in foyer and stairs
Great finish and thank you!

Approximate cost of services:
$350.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews White Rock, BC
1/10

garburator replacement in White Rock

Hilltop Plumbing charged me $165 for the first 30 minutes and $60 for the second 30 minutes. The problem was the employee that showed up said the job took him 45 minutes yet they charged for an hour. It is poor to charge the $30 more for labour that was not used. I later get a call from the business arguing that the cost is in line with the other companies because he called all his competitors. I wish my partner and I had spent a couple minutes checking on-line. Having read the reviews, we would have gone elsewhere.

Approximate cost of services:
$675.26
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Matthew,

We find that your review above is inaccurate and that your comments misrepresent our General Manager and our company

You made similar comments on another review site that we will also address below as well.

Unfortunately, after I expressed that I felt they overcharged for the work, a call from the general manager made it clear that this happens on a regular basis

• After reviewing the invoice, you were not overcharged. Furthermore, our technician met your spouse in your building lobby to discuss three options with you. Your spouse then called you to discuss the options and you chose the more expensive option. You were both made aware of what our rates are. Our employee was on site for 57 minutes according to our GPS.
• Our GM did NOT express that overcharging “happens on a regular basis”. There is no truth to this claim. Our rates have not changed in over a year.
• We charge by 30 minute increments, not 15 minute increments
• Additionally, your initial complaint to us was that you thought our rates were too high, not that you were overcharged. Not to belabour the point; however, our rates haven’t changed from when our technician was in your home back in September of 2019.

They indicted they charge $165 for the first 30 minutes and $60 for each 30 minutes thereafter. We used 45 minutes and that was verified by the employee that completed the work. The GM (Daniel) defended charging us the full hour by stating the rates are in line with the competitors since he has called them all

• This is another inaccurate statement. All competitors in our industry cross reference charges so that we all stay competitive. So, yes, we do check with our competitors what their rates are. Again, our GM did not use this as an excuse to justify our rates because there is no need to justify them, especially since the rates were explained to you before the work began.
• As mentioned above, we charge by 30 minute increments, not 15 minute increments.

In the end, we paid $30 extra because Daniel notes the GPS showed the vehicle was at our location for 57 minutes. I have used this business twice and after this instance, will be going elsewhere.

• Again, you were not charged extra. It is unfortunate that you feel you need to take your business elsewhere; however, we wish you nothing but luck with your future plumbing work.

Gouging by adding time over and above the job is poor. Daniel and Hilltop appear to have the gouging bug during COVID

We take great offense to this statement. We do not and we have never taken advantage of our clients.
• Some of our technicians had to be laid off during the beginning of this pandemic.
• Our technicians put their health and their family's health at risk everyday with every home they enter.
• Our rates have not changed in over a year.
• We give back to the community as often as we can. To emphasis this point, we are giving away a furnace and the labour to install to a needy family this winter, valued at $6000.
• You can see this offer in the Peace Arch News Interesting that we have a coffee shop on the main level.

Imagine if the employee that was honest to us about time it took to do the job (45 minutes) was in the coffee shop grabbing a coffee prior to leaving in their vehicle

• I am not even sure what you are talking about. Are you implying that our technician charged you for an imaginary coffee? Another false accusation. Plus, our technician is very loyal to Tim Hortons.

Read other reviews and you will see similar stories on adding time. Unfortunately, I should have done so even though I used them previously.

• I am not sure what reviews you are looking at, as we have almost 500 GOOGLE reviews with an average rating of 4.8 stars, which we take great pride in.

Thank you, Hilltop Plumbing Management

Vagabond8400 in Surrey
Vagabond8400 in Surrey
0 reviews Maple Ridge, BC
6/10

Very pricy

I contacted this firm on the advice of one my neighbors but today I talked to another neighbor who said I paid way too much for this water heater so I contacted 2 other plumbers and found that to install the same water tank would be about $500 cheaper than I paid. Should have shopped around, I learned my lesson but I definitely picked the wrong firm.
Since then the company has issued me a small refund so I have upped the rating. The explanation for the higher price is that they have higher overhead costs than some other plumbers.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,271.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Surrey, BC
6/10

Furnace, Navien, miscellaneous taps and shower heads installation

The installers were courteous and knew what they were doing. Since this installation was done a year ago, I had the furnace checked, as well as the Navien. (Apparently the Navien needs cleaning annually which I was not aware of)
The only drawback was the office staff’s attitude.

Approximate cost of services:
$10,000.00
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Hilltop Plumbing & Heating Ltd

Hilltop Plumbing & Heating is a local family owned and operated company, providing services to the lower mainland for over 45 years. Our famous rubber ducky logo on our service vans can be spotted all over White Rock and South Surrey. We at Hilltop Plumbing strive to meet all your ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Plumbing pros in White Rock?