Parkwood Master Builder

Builders
Edmonton AB T6X 0N9
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Builders
Parkwood Master Builder
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

77%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Parkwood Master Builder

Average customer rating:
7.7 10 (126 reviews)

Sort by

Ben
Ben
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Home build

Great experience with this company, professional personal. The support with design and selections, combined experienced construction management, made for a stress free home building processes

Approximate cost of services:
$650,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ben, thanks so much for taking a moment to leave such a thoughtful review! We are grateful for your trust in our team, and we wish you all the best!

Alpha in Edmonton
Alpha in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

New Home Owner

While my concern has finally been addressed by Parkwood, I feel it's important for other potential buyers to be aware of the poor service levels provided by this builder post possession. Overall, I would advise against pursuing Parkwood Homes for your next home due to the poor Warranty Service levels provided by this builder after possession.

We took possession of our new home in August, and we noticed a large dent on the bottom of our washing machine. After reaching out to the site supervisor Rob, it took nearly two months to receive a response that they would not repair the washer as they believed it to be damaged by the Homeowner after possession. A few days later the Warranty Technician came out to inspect the Washer and advised they would repair the washer and he would have the office send off the approval to Trail Appliances to order replacement parts. Almost two weeks later after multiple follow ups, Parkwood reached out to advise they have again changed their mind and would not repair the washing machine.

If you do decide to build with Parkwood, I would suggest you request that Site Supervisor Rob not look after your build as the way he manages his builds is very sloppy and will leave you with an extensive laundry list of deficiencies to deal with once you take possession of your new home. I thought perhaps it was just myself who was having a bad experience but have heard from other neighbours, tradesmen, and even other Parkwood employees that his lack of attention to detail will leave you constantly reaching out to their warranty department for assistance.

Approximate cost of services:
$700,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We received your review on Google and are disappointed to hear that your post-possession experience has not been positive for you. It is our understanding that you have been in touch with our VP of Sales and Marketing to discuss this matter further. We appreciate your feedback and can assure you that every member of our Parkwood team is dedicated to improving the way people live.

Igor in Calgary
Igor in Calgary
0 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

New home owner

I am extremely satisfied with the work of Parkwood Master Builder. I recently purchased a quick-possession lakefront home with a walkout basement in Saxony-Glen in April 2022, and the construction was top-notch. Any minor issues that arose after purchase, such as a tripped breaker or siding problem, were promptly and effectively resolved. While I did have to follow up a few times to ensure completion, the overall service and quality of the home were superb. I strongly recommend Parkwood Master Builder to anyone in the market for a new home.
My sales representative from Jagare Ridge Parkwood Master Builder Showhome was incredibly professional and a pleasure to work with throughout the entire process. She went above and beyond to provide assistance, even helping me with receiving home appliances while I was away at work.

Approximate cost of services:
$700,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Igor, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and honest review! We are glad to hear that Jill took such great care of you throughout your home-buying experience with Parkwood. We truly appreciate your support and trust in our team. We wish you all the best in your new home!

Roop
Roop
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

So Disappointed

So Disappointed

I don't know where to start from, during our first year we notice the roof shingles after the rain, starting to wear off quite a bit. When we tried to reach Parkwood, their personnel told us to make a list for the year-end. Unless it going to be a major issue we do not deal with it right away. Now when we mention this during year-end to their warranty coordinator he replies "that any notable damage will not be warrantied after possession, as it is considered homeowner wear and tear." He is telling us that we suppose to notice it during our walkthrough or before possession. So during possession time or walk through how many people checked their roof. I wonder if someone got the roof walkthrough done during possession time. There warranty coordinator(Parkwood Master builder) blamed us for not telling them or noticing that problem during walk-through and before possession time. How convenient it is to just put all the blame on the homeowners.

Another issue we have is the floor making a squeaking noise when you walk on it. So they send the trade person, he came with Jim (Parkwood associate) and try to fix it. When he left the place the floor was still making noise even more than before. We had nails coming out from walls so they send a painter, he came to fix the walls where the nails are coming out, they filled with puddy and never came back to finish the paint job.

I mean there are so many problems and when you try to reach the warranty coordinator, he always comes up with excuses and now he told us to put a claim through home warranty personnel. How it is fair?

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Roop, we are very sorry to hear that you have had a negative experience with our warranty department. We are taking time to review your file and will respond as soon as possible once we have proper context. We will be in touch! UPDATE 12/21/21: Hi Roop, thank you for your patience as we reviewed your customer file with us. As our warranty coordinator explained at the time of your original complaint, the damage to your shingles is not within the scope of your signed new home warranty agreement as your external contractors had worked on the roof following your possession date to install exterior lighting. We do encourage you to file a claim with the Alberta New Home Warranty Program if you wish to address this matter further. With regards to your floors, we understand that you have just recently brought the post-repair squeaking to our attention, and now that our team has been made aware that the problem was not resolved, we are more than happy to send Jim out to address the issue and understand that he made it out to your home today. The nails in your walls have been brought to a paint-ready state as per your home’s signed new home warranty agreement. Should you wish to discuss these matters further, we encourage you to reach out to us directly at info@parkwoodhomes.ca.

waldemar in Edmonton
waldemar in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

Muster bathroom plumbing issues

Really disappointed, we bought a brand new house from parkwood, now not even one year later we have plumbing issues. Once you flush a toilet, it sounds like rocks going down the pipe and it is really noise.
Complaint so many times to the warranty department and nobody wants to fix that issue. They just keep telling us that is NORMAL. This is not my first house or apartment, never heard anything like that. Once they sell you that house, right away they forget all about that warranty and issues you have and don't wanna fix it.
STAY AWAY FROM PARKWOOD MUSTER BUILDER ONE OF THE WORST HOME BUILDERS I EVER MET

Parkwood Master Builder Inc. Ok first of all, i never said you guys didn't try to fix it. Second, maybe you should come out to our place and tell me, when flushing that toilet that sound is normal( a bang sound or rocks going down the pipes or it seems like some pipes are loose in the walls). Tell me do you have a sound like that when you're flushing your toilet at your home? except a water soud of course.
Ya we had a service guy out here at our place and guess what? He told us that's all he can do about that sound, to investigate more he would have to open more walls to see where the pipes are lose but he wouldn't. Obviously it is a big fix because something is really wrong and to fix that it would coste a lot of money and nobody wants to that

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Waldemar, we have reviewed our warranty records on your home, and have found that we have responded to and addressed every concern you've brought forward to our warranty department in a timely manner. Our records show that we have attended your home three times and have inspected the issue you're referring to as well. Plumbers visited your home on July 30th and then again on August 30th, with one of those visits including a visual inspection by cutting a hole in the pantry wall to view the drain line. Our warranty technician then attended your home on September 14th and conducted a flush test during his inspection. Upon all three visits and inspections, we concluded that the plumbing in your home is operating and sounding as it should, and that there is no reason to open more walls. If circumstances have changed since our last visit, we would be happy to send someone out to inspect your plumbing, but if they remain the same, then we see no further action that could be taken. Should you still feel like you need to address this matter further, you are welcome to contact the Alberta New Home Warranty Program for an independent assessment.

Mena in Toronto
Mena in Toronto
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Perfect timing, amazing interior designer

I would say the house exceeded our expectations, there is wide variety of standard choices included ..
Dustin ( the interior designer) has brilliant ideas and he went above and beyond to help us get what we needed..
The warranty department replies in no time..
In general, very reliable..

Approximate cost of services:
$700.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mena, thank you for taking the time to leave us this kind review! We appreciate it and we're very glad to hear Dustin took great care of you throughout your building process. We are also glad to know our warranty team was so responsive for your needs. We wish you all the best in your new home!

sandeep in Edmonton
sandeep in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Outstanding service by Ron ( sales manager) laureland Dustin

Ron helped us finding the right home in laurel crossing according to our lifestyle and family requirement, he explained us about all the options we can choose and gave us a reqlly good price, which was amazing according to the current market trend.
Dustin helped us at the parkwood design centre and deliver an amazing service by designing our house in the best way possible. Gave us all the options from hardware to the paint colors and much more.
Thanks alot for making everything convenient for us !

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for these kind words, Sandeep! We are so happy to hear you've had such a positive experience with Ron and Dustin. Our sincere thanks for trusting Parkwood with your forever home!

Parm
Parm
1 review Edmonton, AB
0/10

House is not property sealed air coming thru under the baseboard

I am so stressed and depressed
Racently purchased house from parkwood master builders in 2020 December 15

House is full of deficiencies

Biggest problem is that cold air coming under the baseboard throughout the house
Main floor and second floor

How city has been passed inspection on this house

The hvac pipes are frozen inside
Building ice on them

It is so frustrated

I have many photos

Approximate cost of services:
$494,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Parm, we’re very sorry to hear that the extreme temperatures are causing issues in your home. We understand that you have been in touch with our Warranty department and that our technician came to your home the day we received your complaint about the sealing in your home to assess the situation. We also understand the heating contractor will be coming to look at your HRV tomorrow, February 12th, before noon. As we are working on resolving your sealing issue with our trades as soon as temperatures allow, we encourage you to please try opening the door of your HRV, or unplugging the unit temporarily, so it can thaw and run properly as too much fresh air can cause freezing in these weather conditions. We understand these extreme temperatures are frustrating. Please understand that our team and our contractors are working towards a solution for your situation. If you would like to discuss this further, please reach out to info@parkwoodhomes.ca.

Linda
Linda
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Home

Very understanding of our needs and worked with us to get our forever home. Jill is the best. Cared about us as people, made thoughtful recommendations and we were treated with respect.

Approximate cost of services:
$470,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Linda, thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review! We are so glad to hear Jill took such great care of you and we wish you many years of memories in your forever home!

Rae in Clairmont
Rae in Clairmont
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

if there negative mark I will do - 10

My home was built with Park wood Homes, The driveway was wear and tear since begging when we moved in in 2015. It was the winter and they covered the driveway with snow decively when we moved in on Feb. When we found the problem and filed to Parkwood Homes. The builder has kicked the can to the New Home Warranty, but the NHW refused our claim even we paid the insurance and the claim fee. We were fed up with those things and willing to do by ourselves.

Approximate cost of services:
$10,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are sorry to hear you've had a negative experience with us. In order to review your file, we will need your name and address. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please contact Sherri, our Vice President of Sales and Marketing, at sherris@parkwoodhomes.ca.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Parkwood Master Builder

Parkwood has actively chosen to be a mid-size builder placing emphasis on customer service and high quality workmanship. For 35 years, we have taken the time to get to know each of our homeowner’s needs so that we can deliver the personal touch to transform each of our houses into ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Builders pros in Edmonton?