Parkwood Master Builder

Builders
#129, 625 Parsons Road Edmonton AB T6X 0N9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Builders
Parkwood Master Builder
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

76%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Parkwood Master Builder

Average customer rating:
7.7 10 (123 reviews)

Sort by

Roop
Roop
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

So Disappointed

So Disappointed

I don't know where to start from, during our first year we notice the roof shingles after the rain, starting to wear off quite a bit. When we tried to reach Parkwood, their personnel told us to make a list for the year-end. Unless it going to be a major issue we do not deal with it right away. Now when we mention this during year-end to their warranty coordinator he replies "that any notable damage will not be warrantied after possession, as it is considered homeowner wear and tear." He is telling us that we suppose to notice it during our walkthrough or before possession. So during possession time or walk through how many people checked their roof. I wonder if someone got the roof walkthrough done during possession time. There warranty coordinator(Parkwood Master builder) blamed us for not telling them or noticing that problem during walk-through and before possession time. How convenient it is to just put all the blame on the homeowners.

Another issue we have is the floor making a squeaking noise when you walk on it. So they send the trade person, he came with Jim (Parkwood associate) and try to fix it. When he left the place the floor was still making noise even more than before. We had nails coming out from walls so they send a painter, he came to fix the walls where the nails are coming out, they filled with puddy and never came back to finish the paint job.

I mean there are so many problems and when you try to reach the warranty coordinator, he always comes up with excuses and now he told us to put a claim through home warranty personnel. How it is fair?

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Roop, we are very sorry to hear that you have had a negative experience with our warranty department. We are taking time to review your file and will respond as soon as possible once we have proper context. We will be in touch! UPDATE 12/21/21: Hi Roop, thank you for your patience as we reviewed your customer file with us. As our warranty coordinator explained at the time of your original complaint, the damage to your shingles is not within the scope of your signed new home warranty agreement as your external contractors had worked on the roof following your possession date to install exterior lighting. We do encourage you to file a claim with the Alberta New Home Warranty Program if you wish to address this matter further. With regards to your floors, we understand that you have just recently brought the post-repair squeaking to our attention, and now that our team has been made aware that the problem was not resolved, we are more than happy to send Jim out to address the issue and understand that he made it out to your home today. The nails in your walls have been brought to a paint-ready state as per your home’s signed new home warranty agreement. Should you wish to discuss these matters further, we encourage you to reach out to us directly at info@parkwoodhomes.ca.

waldemar in Edmonton
waldemar in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

Muster bathroom plumbing issues

Really disappointed, we bought a brand new house from parkwood, now not even one year later we have plumbing issues. Once you flush a toilet, it sounds like rocks going down the pipe and it is really noise.
Complaint so many times to the warranty department and nobody wants to fix that issue. They just keep telling us that is NORMAL. This is not my first house or apartment, never heard anything like that. Once they sell you that house, right away they forget all about that warranty and issues you have and don't wanna fix it.
STAY AWAY FROM PARKWOOD MUSTER BUILDER ONE OF THE WORST HOME BUILDERS I EVER MET

Parkwood Master Builder Inc. Ok first of all, i never said you guys didn't try to fix it. Second, maybe you should come out to our place and tell me, when flushing that toilet that sound is normal( a bang sound or rocks going down the pipes or it seems like some pipes are loose in the walls). Tell me do you have a sound like that when you're flushing your toilet at your home? except a water soud of course.
Ya we had a service guy out here at our place and guess what? He told us that's all he can do about that sound, to investigate more he would have to open more walls to see where the pipes are lose but he wouldn't. Obviously it is a big fix because something is really wrong and to fix that it would coste a lot of money and nobody wants to that

Approximate cost of services:
$1,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Waldemar, we have reviewed our warranty records on your home, and have found that we have responded to and addressed every concern you've brought forward to our warranty department in a timely manner. Our records show that we have attended your home three times and have inspected the issue you're referring to as well. Plumbers visited your home on July 30th and then again on August 30th, with one of those visits including a visual inspection by cutting a hole in the pantry wall to view the drain line. Our warranty technician then attended your home on September 14th and conducted a flush test during his inspection. Upon all three visits and inspections, we concluded that the plumbing in your home is operating and sounding as it should, and that there is no reason to open more walls. If circumstances have changed since our last visit, we would be happy to send someone out to inspect your plumbing, but if they remain the same, then we see no further action that could be taken. Should you still feel like you need to address this matter further, you are welcome to contact the Alberta New Home Warranty Program for an independent assessment.

Mena in Toronto
Mena in Toronto
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Perfect timing, amazing interior designer

I would say the house exceeded our expectations, there is wide variety of standard choices included ..
Dustin ( the interior designer) has brilliant ideas and he went above and beyond to help us get what we needed..
The warranty department replies in no time..
In general, very reliable..

Approximate cost of services:
$700.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mena, thank you for taking the time to leave us this kind review! We appreciate it and we're very glad to hear Dustin took great care of you throughout your building process. We are also glad to know our warranty team was so responsive for your needs. We wish you all the best in your new home!

sandeep in Edmonton
sandeep in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Outstanding service by Ron ( sales manager) laureland Dustin

Ron helped us finding the right home in laurel crossing according to our lifestyle and family requirement, he explained us about all the options we can choose and gave us a reqlly good price, which was amazing according to the current market trend.
Dustin helped us at the parkwood design centre and deliver an amazing service by designing our house in the best way possible. Gave us all the options from hardware to the paint colors and much more.
Thanks alot for making everything convenient for us !

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for these kind words, Sandeep! We are so happy to hear you've had such a positive experience with Ron and Dustin. Our sincere thanks for trusting Parkwood with your forever home!

Parm
Parm
1 review Edmonton, AB
0/10

House is not property sealed air coming thru under the baseboard

I am so stressed and depressed
Racently purchased house from parkwood master builders in 2020 December 15

House is full of deficiencies

Biggest problem is that cold air coming under the baseboard throughout the house
Main floor and second floor

How city has been passed inspection on this house

The hvac pipes are frozen inside
Building ice on them

It is so frustrated

I have many photos

Approximate cost of services:
$494,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Parm, we’re very sorry to hear that the extreme temperatures are causing issues in your home. We understand that you have been in touch with our Warranty department and that our technician came to your home the day we received your complaint about the sealing in your home to assess the situation. We also understand the heating contractor will be coming to look at your HRV tomorrow, February 12th, before noon. As we are working on resolving your sealing issue with our trades as soon as temperatures allow, we encourage you to please try opening the door of your HRV, or unplugging the unit temporarily, so it can thaw and run properly as too much fresh air can cause freezing in these weather conditions. We understand these extreme temperatures are frustrating. Please understand that our team and our contractors are working towards a solution for your situation. If you would like to discuss this further, please reach out to info@parkwoodhomes.ca.

Linda
Linda
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Home

Very understanding of our needs and worked with us to get our forever home. Jill is the best. Cared about us as people, made thoughtful recommendations and we were treated with respect.

Approximate cost of services:
$470,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Linda, thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review! We are so glad to hear Jill took such great care of you and we wish you many years of memories in your forever home!

Rae in Clairmont
Rae in Clairmont
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

if there negative mark I will do - 10

My home was built with Park wood Homes, The driveway was wear and tear since begging when we moved in in 2015. It was the winter and they covered the driveway with snow decively when we moved in on Feb. When we found the problem and filed to Parkwood Homes. The builder has kicked the can to the New Home Warranty, but the NHW refused our claim even we paid the insurance and the claim fee. We were fed up with those things and willing to do by ourselves.

Approximate cost of services:
$10,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are sorry to hear you've had a negative experience with us. In order to review your file, we will need your name and address. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please contact Sherri, our Vice President of Sales and Marketing, at sherris@parkwoodhomes.ca.

The Fishers
The Fishers
1 review St. Albert, AB
10/10

Outstanding service & product

Excellent service all around! From the beginning, Lionel was quick to respond and provide information on the building process and spec homes. We ended up going with a spec home as we had a short timeframe. We were thankful to be able to pick out a few design changes and all the companies we worked with were wonderful. We gave Parkwood a tall order of finishing our basement prior to possession & they did a great job! Steve has been nothing short of amazing in responding to us after move in and handling the little things that have come up along the way. We would highly recommend Parkwood for not only their quality product but fantastic team!

Approximate cost of services:
$500,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow, thank you both for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are so glad you've had a great experience with Lionel, Steve and our trade partners, and we truly appreciate you trusting Parkwood with your new home. Wishing you many amazing memories in the years to come!

Mike M
Mike M
1 review Edmonton, AB
9/10

Quick possession in Rosenthal

My wife and I purchased a quick possession Parkwood home located in Rosenthal on June 2018 and took possession October 2018. The sales process was relatively easy and painless with Claudine, I would give sales process a 9 out of 10. Fortunately, we caught the build early enough where we could still make interior selections (floor type/colour, paint colour, appliance selection, some upgrades etc) and dealing with Dustin was relatively painless, although he seemed impatient at times in person, he was thorough and responded in detail to our emails, I would say this part of the experience was 10 out of 10. We had a problem with the concrete pour of our driveway, that made us seriously question the quality of the workmanship at parkwood. They took it upon themselves to address the issue and fired the contractor they were using to pour their driveways and hired a new one and re pour it. So far so good. Took possession of the home and had our walk through, the area manager who did the walk through Adrian, didn’t seem to have a huge interest in our happiness with the house, we were just another number to him and he wanted things to move along as quickly as possible. There were many deficiencies with the paint upon possession day and he reassured those would be taken care of in the following week. There were paint marks on the hardwood floor as well that we still have to this day in some spots. The painters came back and tried to fix as many deficiencies as they could, but still missed many, they had to come back again. Finally, they fixed most, but still till this day there are several areas of deficiency. I would say the paint process is about 5 out of 10. Plumbing/hvac rating: so far, everything works 10 out 10. Electrical: everything works, 10 out of 10. We had some issues with a floor that squeaked in the bonus room and 3 other spots in the house. The issue was not resolved at the 1 year warranty mark. To Parkwood’s credit, they did acknowledge the problem and “try” and fix it, but it didn’t solve the problem. I was able to get in touch with the Vice President (through this review) of marketing who took ownership of the problem after the 1 year mark. The owner of Parkwood also came to our house to personally address the issue with some of his top staff members, including an area manager Steve. They addressed the issue, acknowledged the problem and apologized. Within less than one week the issue was resolved. No more squeaks in the bonus room. It was satisfying knowing that the company acknowledged the problem and took ownership of it.

Approximate cost of services:
$530,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

July 27, 2020: Thank you so much for the update, Mike! We are very glad to hear that our team addressed your concerns to your satisfaction and that we were able to work with you to ensure you are happy in your Parkwood home for years to come.

Hi Mike, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and share your concerns with us. We are currently reviewing your file and will be getting in touch with you as soon as possible to address these concerns. In the interim, if you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact Sherri, our VP of Sales and Marketing, at sherris@parkwoodhomes.ca.
UPDATE - June 11th, 2020: Hi Mike, thank you for giving us the time to review your file in detail! We would like to come out to your home and review these concerns with you. Please reach out to warranty@parkwoodhomes.ca to book an appointment.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

New Home

We were hesitant to take the plunge with Parkwood. Our last home was custom built and we were worried that going with a Master builder would mean less choice and restrictions on making our home a reality. We were wrong.

Every step, from drafting floor plans to making interior selection, was supported with clear communication and sound advice. They were able to accommodate elements we wanted in our home and often offered perspectives we didn't even consider. It started with Lionel, our sales rep, continued with Dustin, the interior designer, and was followed through with Rob, the site supervisor. They were highly professional and skilled in their roles. Inquiries were promptly followed up and I appreciated that they would admit when they didn't know the answer to a question and would promptly follow up to confirm the information. They were also clear in communicating timelines and constraints,with respect to possession date, rough grading, and concrete completion, and never promised something that could not be delivered. Not everything was completed when we moved in, but we knew what to expect from the start.

Two processes that were extremely positive were the Change Orders and Design Centre. I really appreciated that all changes, proposed and accepted, were documented and signed off on by both parties. If you accepted the upfront pricing for changes, upgrades and additions then you signed off and it is documented. Even changes that did not have a cost were tracked to ensure nothing is missed and there is no miscommunication. Getting everything in writing protects both parties and makes it easy for us to track our changes. Making the majority of our interior selections in one place really helped to pull everything together without setting up individual appointments around the city.

If you are looking at a new home, I wholeheartedly recommend Parkwood. I'm not endorsing that they are perfect, but if you are looking for a quality builder that is trustworthy and can help you with every step of the journey, give Parkwood a visit and see how they fit with your vision.

Approximate cost of services:
$700,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow, thank you so much the lovely review! We are so thrilled that you had such a positive experience with Lionel, Dustin and Rob at every stage of your new build. We really appreciate you trusting Parkwood with this project and we wish you the very best in your new home!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Parkwood Master Builder

Parkwood Master Builder has actively chosen to be a small volume builder placing emphasis on customer service and high quality workmanship. For over 30 years, we have taken the time to get to know each of our homeowner’s needs so that we can deliver the personal touch to transform each ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Builders pros in Edmonton?