Parkwood Master Builder

Builders
#129, 625 Parsons Road Edmonton AB T6X 0N9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Builders in Edmonton  >  Parkwood Master Builder
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

79%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Parkwood Master Builder

Average customer rating:
7.9 10 (97 reviews)

Sort by

Santokh aujla  in Timberlea
Santokh aujla in Timberlea
1 review Fort Mc Murray, AB
10/10

All over

I was planning to buy a house in Edmonton and when we were just looking I talk to Hiedi and Ron they are fantastic guys, they help us all the way and they represent the parkwood very effective way then I made my mind of city the house Parkwood, even call them on their days they never hesitate to answer my phone and clear our doubts and help choosing the hose stuff from top to bottom, all the staff is very helpful I will thank them and recommend my friends that they buy the home from Parkwood specifically from Heidi and Ron,
Thanks guys for helping us, Good luck

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much Santokh for your wonderful comments and feedback! We truly appreciate you sharing your experience and are so happy to you found your new home with Parkwood! Congratulations and all the best!

dilvir in Calgary
dilvir in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
2/10

New home

I bought my very first house from them. I am extremely unhappy with them. I will never let my family or friend to buy a housefrom them. Trade mens that the hire are extremely lazy , for example painter left so many difficult spots to reach unpainted and some spots looks like painter by some unprofessional person. Trade men was so lazy that they didnt filled any silicone behind all my sinks because ofcourse hard to reach surface. I had roof leaking very first year, later one of the bath tub had a hole in it. They couldnt get a cracked fixed on one of my wall , it keep coming back and now warranty over for that. I had a sewer back up in the basement in the second year. Its over two year and i havent got my rough grading done yet. Everytine i email them , they blame the weather but icannot understang how other builders are getting it done when they have same weather. My neighbours moved a year later then us and their biulder got everything for them last year. I hope i dont have to pay penalty to city because they keep sending me warning letter as i have already paid so much penalty for buying house from parkwood master builders.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback - we are so sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your home. Any concerns that were brought up prior to your warranty year-end were addressed at that time. Items brought up after the year would have been out of warranty. As for the sewer back-up, this was a break on the city side and not something that falls under the builder. We understand that the rough grade has taken some time but is now done and waiting on the city for inspection. If you have any other concerns please feel free to contact [email protected]

Chris Butlin in St. Albert
Chris Butlin in St. Albert
1 review St. Albert, AB
10/10

Riverside St.Albert

I wanted to wait to write a review until we had actually gone through the entire process of the build and received possession (~12 months) of our new home.

Overall I say the whole experience in dealing with Parkwood has been outstanding. They have been great to deal with through the entire process, and everyone we worked with from Randy in sales, to the office staff, Jill and Dustin in design, the trades who completed the build, Nick the site supervisor, all have been fantastic to this point. The finished product of the home is amazing, and I still feel awe struck when I enter our front door. We were able to customize many aspects of our home, and Parkwood was able to provide solutions and options to make our home feel like it was what we exactly wanted.

The process from putting down an initial deposit to possession is long, and you have to be patient, but in the end it was worth it and I'm very glad we chose Parkwood and our floor plan.

My only advice is that if you are considering building, and you have your heart set on a specific lot, put down a deposit to secure it right away. It is refundable and we missed out on our first choice due to indecision on our part. Secondly, ask lots of questions when meeting with your sales person and eventually the designers. They may take some time to get back to you with a cost or an answer, but its better to be clear on your decisions before the final pre-build meeting.

So in terms of a recommendation, if I was to do it all again and build, I would definitely use Parkwood again. I also have no problem recommending them to a friend.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much Chris for your thorough review! We are so happy to hear of your great experience and appreciate all of your feedback and helpful tips for other homeowners! We wish you all the best in your new Parkwood home and thank you again for giving us the opportunity to build your home!

Corey in Saint Albert
Corey in Saint Albert
1 review Edmonton, AB
0/10

Buyer Beware

Where to begin with Parkwood "Master" Builder? There should have been red flags at the beginning of our house buying search. We were looking in the Rosenthal neighbourhood as that was our first choice area. The first sales lady that we encountered at the show home seemed a little arrogant and even said to us that "she didn't need to sell this home because owns her own business on the side". She was quickly replaced by another sales person who was not much better. Long story short he was let go from the company not long after as well. Vey high turn over rate on employees in this area. We should have walked away but the price was right and we loved the lot and area so we pushed forward. We worked with one of the people from the head office because of all the trouble we had with the local sales rep, and he helped us the rest of the way through the purchase. Flash forward -- in the building process everything seemed to be going well, but when we stopped in one day to check out the progress, every change order that we had made was not communicated to their trades. We only had three changes and not a single one had been done. I guess it was a good thing we stopped in randomly. Other than that, the rest of the building process was great. We even got possession of the house about a month before we originally were expecting to move in. We were very happy when we moved in as the house was great and other than a few minor things ( which all houses have). All I can say is if you decide to go with this builder make sure all your seasonal items are complete before you give them any money. The trouble all started when it came time to get our driveway, sidewalk and rough grade done. They will constantly avoid you at all costs. I have personally phoned them 4 times and have not once received a call back. You would think that after spending over a half million dollars someone would at least pick up the phone. NO ONE ANSWERS THEIR PHONES AT PARKWOOD MASTER BUILDER. I have been told through email that they have "No Control" over what their trades are doing. We finally received a call back today from a representative (following an email stating we'd be putting our a poor review) and when I asked them about not having any control over where their trades are working, she replied " Do you expect me to know what they had for lunch too? I don't know what they are doing during the day." I can only imagine how long it will take to get our rough grade done. I am writing this today before our year is complete because if I can save one person from this company it will be worth it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Corey – as per all of the discussions that you and Jennifer have had with multiple Parkwood team members, your seasonal work is on the work schedule of our trades. We deal with over 160 trade partners and therefore do not know each and every one’s complete work schedules. Seasonal work is completed by area and only during the seasonal timeframe (as is the same for every other Edmonton builder), with weather permitting – something that is out of everyone’s control. As per your conversations with our multiple team members informing you that you would be receiving your concrete today (and now have it) we do hope that you are enjoying your driveway, and if we have more sunny days like today your rough grade should soon be able to follow. Thanks.

Heidi in San Francisco
Heidi in San Francisco
1 review Boucherville, QC
9/10

We love our home

The only reason I didn't give Parkwood 10/10 is because we have had some issues dealing with their warranty department. It sometimes feels like they do everything possible to get out of doing the work (I have to follow up several times).

That aside, our purchase and building process was wonderful. Randy was extremely helpful in keeping us up to date during construction (and he tries his best to help with warranty too). The purchase process was seamless and we loved picking out our interior selections with Jill. The quality of our home is great. Our superintendent, Nick, was great and is always pleasant to deal with. We do have some small issues now that we have been in our home for 8+ months but that is to be expected with any new home. We get loads of compliments on our layout and design. If choosing a builder all over again, we wood still go with Parkwood.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review Heidi! We appreciate your honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that you felt any of the responses were delayed, but are very happy to hear of all of the team members you had a great experience with. If there are any outstanding small items, we urge you to contact [email protected] so that we can look after these for you. Thanks again!

Tammy Garrett in St. Albert
Tammy Garrett in St. Albert
1 review St. Albert, AB
10/10

Randy Heibert

We are building in Riverside St. Albert. Our main point of Contact has been RANDY HIEBERT. He has helped us through every step with patience and understanding. He has been a great assets. This is our first ever home and he has made the process as painless and smooth as possible. Any pump in the road we came across , he was right there helping us through it.
The whole company has been very welcoming and very helpful and willing to answer questions at any time.
Also wanted to say working with Jill St. Peter was a very wonderful experience. Never Felt rush and valued her opinion. She made the whole experience with picking selections very simple and not overwhelming at all.
I have and will keep recommending Randy and the rest of Parwood's team.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Tammy - thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We are so happy to hear of your experience and appreciate you taking the time to provide us a review! We wish you all the best in your new Parkwood home! Thanks!

Private User
Private User
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Home buyer

We are really happy with all the help and support for finding a good home provided by Jill Toshach area sales manager at Aurora Edmonton.we are fully satisfied with all his help and guidance provided until so for

Also Interior Designer Dustin MacDonald is so good and helpful in deciding the interior design, I will refer his name to my other friends, he is very knowledgeable and profession in his field , much appreciated his help would like to work with him future

Regards
Muhammad Afzal
780 802 0729

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Muhammad! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with Jill and Dustin - we are so thrilled to hear of your great experience! We wish you all the best with your new Parkwood home build!

Elsie in Edmonton
Elsie in Edmonton
2 reviews Edmonton, AB
1/10

Horrendous

I am beyond frustrated with Parkwood! Buying a new house should not be this stressful! So buyers beware! If you notice, all the “10/10” are for sales experiences. They will sweet talk you and after they have your money, it’s downhill.
Ok. We got our 2016 and still have outstanding items...even after chasing their warranty department.
Our Rough grade is still yet to be done (after they failed it in 2016). Everytime I called or emailed, they never know what’s going on or when it would be done. They blamed the landscaper, even though my contract is you not them.
- infloor heating not working. After the first winter they sent someone to check it, that didn’t work so I emailed them again and they just ignored my message.
For some other items like plumbing and electrical I had to call their subcontractors directly because
these people weren’t getting anything done.

My advice will be not to deal with this company but if you must take this risk, make sure you use your own lawyer!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Elsie - we are so sorry to hear of your frustrations and understand you bringing forward your concerns. Unfortunately, when we search your name in our records, we can't find your file. If you'd like to contact [email protected] or call our head office, we can look into this further for you.

Matthew in Saint Albert
Matthew in Saint Albert
1 review St. Albert, AB
10/10

Excellent Experience with Randy Hiebert in Riverside St. Albert

As first time home buyers and builders, Randy answered all of our questions thoroughly and provided insight, alternatives, and recommendations for us. He was enthusiastic, organized, and extremely easy to work with. Randy was open and honest with us from day one. He kept us within our budget and was realistic with the cost of all upgrades. We always left our meetings with a smile on our faces. We would highly recommend Randy to other potential home buyers.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your feedback Matthew! We are so happy to hear of your great experience and wish you and your family all the best in your new Parkwood home! Congratulations!

Private User
Private User
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Riverside St. Albert

My husband and I strongly recommend Randy Hiebert, the area sales manager at Riverside, St. Albert. We did not even thought about affording a single-family in St. Albert, but Randy was very helpful during the whole process. We are building our home here and will soon be happy first home owners.
For us, we have looked at houses and areas for almost a year, in West, South, North and SW Edmonton, looked at multiple showhomes and dealt with many sales people. For sales people, it is very important that they know what they are doing, and Randy is definitely the best we have worked with. Since we've already have a lot of knowledge in housing, we were picky when dealt with sales who didn't know what they were talking about. Randy in this case, has been really professional, and has helped us tremendously. He is very practical, we let him know our requirements, and he managed to get all we wanted in a very efficient manner.
This review is completely authentic, pardon my poor English here.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and we are so happy to hear of your great experience! Congratulations on your brand new Parkwood home and we wish you all the best!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Parkwood Master Builder

Parkwood Master Builder has actively chosen to be a small volume builder placing emphasis on customer service and high quality workmanship. We take the time to get to know each of our homeowner’s needs so that we can deliver the personal touch to transform each of our houses into Dream ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.