Stoney Creek Furniture

Furniture
395 Lewis Road Stoney Creek ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Furniture
Stoney Creek Furniture
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

69%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Stoney Creek Furniture

Average customer rating:
6.7 10 (44 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews St. Catharines, ON
0/10

Empty room for christmas!

We downsized in September, sold our old furniture and ordered new pieces from Stoney Creek furniture September 16. A conservative delivery date allowing for extra time was given for November 20 and we paid the 40% deposite. Deborah B. The salesperson said that we would definitely have our order before Christmas at the very latest - I told her that was imperative as this would be the first Christmas for our family returning to our new home and that we do not have anything to sit on except for our kitchen chairs. No problem- wrong ! I received a call back from the store saying that delivery for the holidays will likely not be possible and that renting furniture for the holidays might be a good decision! I was almost in tears. Home for Christmas and no where to sit. We are retired and do not have the budget to rent furniture, nor should we have to. I never would have ordered from your store if not for the reassurance that delivery for Christmas was no problem. No offer for compensation was made and am extremely disappointed.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I’m sorry to learn of your situation. Please call me directly at 995-643-4121. I’m out of the office tomorrow but would like to look into your situation. Or, if you’d like, email me at jfee@scfurniture.com. I can have someone start looking into it for me. While we strive to give accurate delivery dates, we are subject to delays in both the manufacturing and delivery process.

Jim Fee
President
Stoney Creek Furniture

Asif in Toronto
Asif in Toronto
1 review Mississauga, ON
0/10

Be careful...................

Be careful when shopping here; they can use your credit card information without permission and even without informing. We shopped here, and was told furniture will be delivered in two installments. We paid whatever they calculated, however have to pay again few more hundred dollars after few minutes as we were informed there was an error in calculations. I was informed that we only will be required to pay with final furniture delivery. One day before 1st installment delivery I spoke with the store and was informed I don’t owe any money at the moment and final payment will be asked with final delivery. However to our surprise money was extracted from our credit card, whereas we never gave them card information, only used it on the terminal in the store. However we were later informed that they save every customer Credit card information for future use. This is alarming breach of privacy: so be careful while paying here or giving any personal information.
Furthermore, we were misstated on everything. Initially I was told that sofa will be delivered on August 10, however after paying I noted on the invoice date of delivery was 2nd week of September. When pointed out to store; they said we can’t do anything as system has auto-calculated, however we will try to deliver early. I requested store manager to give me floor model but he declined. This is unfortunate that only resolution owner suggesting is to return furniture and get refund - no other remedial measures to address this situation.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Asif,

Since I have left lengthy responses on other review sites, I will keep this one more concise. I have apologized for any inconvenience our staff and processes have caused, my manager has compensated you with free accent pillows (at your request) and I have offered you a complete refund so that you no longer have to deal with my company. I would assume that, based on this and other reviews, that you do not have faith or trust in my company. I personally am a man of integrity and my company has a 50 year tradition of serving our customers well. As such, I personally prefer to do business with people who trust us and would very much like to provide you with a complete refund, so that you can find a company that you have faith in, to conduct your future business transactions. Please contact me directly and I will expedite your refund.

Sincerely,

Jim Fee
President
Stoney Creek Furniture

A from Richmond Hill
A from Richmond Hill
3 reviews Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

Furniture

Stoney Creek furniture is full of nice furniture and friendly staff. I bought a few bar stools from them but realized that they were the wrong size after I took them home. Stoney Creek was kind enough to let me return them with full refund. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review. Glad you enjoyed your experience with us.

Jim

Sandra in Upper Beaches
Sandra in Upper Beaches
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Custom sofa

Kudos to this company. They have gone above and beyond expectations. Had difficulty getting sofa into our basement. They worked hard to make it happen. They offered to fix the wall that was damaged going down the stairs because our door opening wasn't wide enough. The the decorative throw were the incorrect fabric and they were very good about making the change. The sales staff are polite, helpful and very accommodating. I would highly recommend this store to anyone interested in buying quality furniture.

Was this review helpful?
Shawn from Burlington
Shawn from Burlington
3 reviews Burlington, ON
4/10

Product

We spent over four thousand dollars on leather couch at Stoney creek furniture (Canadian made - as we usually insist). The price included a $200 protection plan. After about 3 years of use the couch separated at the seems in one spot (where you sit). After calling the folks providing the protection plan they said they could not help us all - the protection plan was for scratches to the leather only (so much for the $200 we spent on that). We also checked with Stoney Creek furniture and they indicated that the manufacturers warranty would not cover a seem separation either (only structural malfunction). The repair fee estimate came in at over $300 (that would go a long way toward buying a standard cloth couch). Next time we will think twice about spending this much on a couch we bought to last for 15 years. Very disappointing service indeed.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Shawn, sorry to hear that the sofa seams have split. While I don't know which product you purchased, I could look into it further with more information. Feel free to contact me directly at the store.

You are correct that the protection plan is for stains and scratches, etc. to the leather and that would all be outlined on warranty information. Please keep in mind that the $200 is refunded as a store credit, if you don't have any claims for stains, etc.

We also honour all manufacturer's warrantees and do any repairs, at their direction, if covered. If not covered by warranty, we will arrange to have the item repaired by a leather technician, however, those costs would not be covered.

Again, while I assume our service department passed the information on to the manufacturer for a warranty claim, I would be happy to investigate further for you, if you would like to contact me at the store.

Sincerely,

Jim Fee
Vice President
Stoney Creek Furniture

MyQuay from Oakville
MyQuay from Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
5/10

Dining Room

When my dining room was delivered, I noticed that one of the chairs was damaged so I refused the chair. The store said they would send another chair. It was worse so I went to the store in person and they gave me another chair...when I looked at it, I realized that they gave me the one that I had previously returned! They put the damaged chair back in stock hoping that some sucker wouldn't notice! I had to go through 3 other chairs before I found a decent one and then I had to assemble it myself!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

MyQuay, Thank you for your feedback. I tried to find out what happened but, without your name, I could not look up your specific order. If you would like me to, please contact me at the store.
Without the specifics, I will try to explain our system and speculate on the possible product.
All orders are opened and inspected before delivery, to make sure that they are up to the manufacturers standard. In some cases, damage may occur on the truck. In many cases, when we sell "distressed" , painted, or heavily grained goods, a customer may find a product "not acceptable" for aesthetic reasons, as opposed to structural defects. All merchandise that is returned to our store is inspected for structural integrity,and again, to ensure it is up to a vendors quality standard. If that is not the case, it is sent to our shop for repair and clearance. If, in our opinion, it is up to the manufacturers standard, it is put back into our saleable inventory.
We don't do it in order to "pass it off", but because it is deemed to be up to standard. In your case, trying to find the right chair, you should never have been shown the original chair. Our error, and our staff should have assembled the chair for you. Please accept my apologies for that and for your experience. It is always our goal to have happy and satisfied customers.
If I can be of further assistance to you, or you would like me to look further into your specific order, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Jim Fee
Vice President
Stoney Creek Furniture

Darryl from Burlington
Darryl from Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
2/10

Recliner chair

Ordered a reclining leather chair back in December 2013 with an estimate delivery Mar 14 2014(slow boat from China) I called and tried to find out where and when my chair was available and the response I received was it will be mid April when they receive it. I never received a phone call I had to call customer service myself and the girl on the phone wasn't helpful at all, she just replied that's when it's scheduled to be at the store and there's nothing Stoney Creek can do. I will wait for my chair only because I paid in full and I waited this long already but this will be last time I shop at Stoney Creek Furniture for anything. People are 100% correct here when they say their customer service is dreadful. Stoney Creek really needs to research different suppliers if it takes 4 months to get a recliner.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Darryl, thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear that your experience with us was less than satisfactory. Your comment about "a slow boat from China" is probably quite accurate. While we deal with many domestic suppliers, the reality of today's global economy is that a large percentage of home furnishings are manufactured overseas. We strive to work with the best vendor partners that we can find and are constantly looking at ways to speed up delivery times to our customers. With all vendors, we estimate delivery times based on our historical experience with each vendor. That being said, it is only and estimate and is subject to delays in materials and supplies to the vendor, as well as the realities of global shipping, container and rail car availability, and port strikes and slowdowns (we are currently dealing with that situation on the west coast). All of these things are completely out of our control and we are at their mercy. Again, we want to advise our customers of the most accurate delivery times we can, and we tend to err on the side of caution and quote a week or two longer to be safe. Even doing that, we sometimes have to deal with these delays, and disappoint a customer. We can only guarantee deliveries when we have the product in our warehouse. That is why we keep several million dollars of inventory in our warehouse. Custom orders or out of stock goods definitely have a wait time.
Once again, please accept my apologies for your experience. We want all of our customers to love their experiences with our store.

Sincerely,

Jim Fee
Vice President
Stoney Creek Furniture

Suzanne from Mount Hope
Suzanne from Mount Hope
1 review Hamilton, ON
2/10

Service

We were not happy with the customer service at Stoney Creek Furniture. We made a transaction in good faith on the Sunday, arranging to pick up our furniture on the following Saturday. Then we got a call saying we wouldn't be able to get the furniture for another month and a half. Needless to say, we were very put out, and when I called to complain, the manager was not understanding at all, expecting us to accept their mistake as human error. Well, as I explained to him, if I make a mistake and didn't pay my interest on time, I would not get a break, so I expected some form of compensation but none was forthcoming, only a limp sorry. Not good enough Scot! You need to learn what customer service is all about. Will not be coming into your store again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
ES from Etobicoke
ES from Etobicoke
9 reviews Etobicoke, ON
10/10

Dining Set

This company has beautiful furniture, out of this world selection, tons of sales. We went when there was a 40% sale. The staff are very helpful and ensure there is lots of coffee and treats. the prices are reasonable, and you can negotiate. The veneer wood is solid and gives great impressions.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
B from Brampton
B from Brampton
6 reviews Brampton, ON
10/10

BR and Dinning Room Set Purchase

Well, few friends recommend me SC for my new furniture hunt. Though, when I read some unhappy reviews, I was very skeptical to buy anything from StoneyCreek Furniture. BUT, few weeks back we were driving to Niagara Falls and we took an opportunity to visit the store as it was on our way, nothing to lose but few hours. When we drop by their huge showroom, we were pleasantly surprised. Despite huge staff presence, no one is chasing you to buy something. Later, I came to know that sales team here do not work on commission. So no pressure. One of the sales lady, Debbie came by to ask if we need any help. And then we started talking about what we need. She showed us different options and designs as per our need. After 3 hours, we ended up buying almost all the furniture we need (2 BR set, Dining room set etc). I was still skeptical about the delivery as people had issues regards to their delivery. When I ask Debbie, she told me she can deliver all items in 2 days. We booked next weekend for the delivery. On the delivery day, everything was on time and in good order. The crew were fantastic, set up everything perfectly. Though, my Dining Room Set had some minor issues. So I email Debbie and sent her pictures. She replied me back and promised me that she will send someone to look at it. They will fix the issue or will replace it with a new one. Overall, I had a great experience with my purchase. Debbie was excellent and very honest. One Tip – Do not order any special order stuff. She told me that it can take minimum 8 to 12 weeks. And most of the time delay happens out of their control. I think that where some people had bad experiences with their purchases at Stoney Creek. Well, I am going back again for some other furniture and would suggest same to others. Again, Thanks Debbie for great service ……

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Stoney Creek Furniture

From traditional to transitional, Stoney Creek Furniture has been furnishing homes for over 47 years. Let us inspire you and help you make your house a home. Stop by and experience what so many others already know. Furnishing your dreams since 1969.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Furniture pros in Hamilton?