Mckinnon Heating Cooling

Heating & Air Conditioning
37 Kodiak Crescent, Unit 14 Toronto ON M3J 3G5
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Heating & Air Conditioning
Mckinnon Heating Cooling
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

70%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Mckinnon Heating Cooling

Average customer rating:
6.7 10 (111 reviews)

Sort by

Linda
Linda
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Humidifier installation on furnace

We have been dealing with McKinnon for over 45 years. We have always been very pleased with the service that we have received from them.
We decided to get a humidifier installed on our furnace. I called the office to get a quote and was told that Michael, the owner, would either call me or email me. Within an hour, I received an email from Michael.
We set up a time that he would come to our house to have a look and give us a price. Michael came right on time, and we had some nice friendly conversation, as we had met Michael a few years ago when they installed our furnace. He said that he would send Hamid, who has been at our house several times to clean our furnace, to come the next day to install the humidifier. Hamid arrived right on time and installed the humidifier. Hamid is a very knowledgeable technician and did a great job.
I would recommend McKinnon very highly. Michael, the owner is very easy to deal with and his technicians are top notch.
We have been dealing with them for 45 years which must say a lot.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Linda for your review. We are proud to have maintained your trust for 45 years and are grateful to have long time employees with us, like Hamid, who ensure your home comfort.

Tom West from Toronto
Tom West from Toronto
6 reviews Toronto, ON
7/10

Not ideal (but see addendum - owner contacted me and refunded all)

Heat went out on 28 year old hot water gas furnace (it needs service every 6-7 years). Called our usual service people, but they weren't available that day. Called McKinnon, who installed the furnace 28 years ago.

The reception was polite and friendly, and best of all, they were available that day (kudos to them).

Sadly, they were three hours late, the serviceman tracked wet boots (asking would have been nice), spent a full hour diagnosing the system as a bad gas valve, and was irritated (or came across that way) that we didn't just junk the whole system. Total cost $180 + GST.

The next morning, we decided to go with our regular supplier to order the part and install it, since they didn't seem offended that we kept our old system chugging along. They wanted to "drop in" to confirm the problem before ordering a new part. They did drop in, and 45 minutes later we had heat! (The system required a new thermocouple which they had in the van - it turns out the gas valve was fine.)

Sometime visits are delayed, not every service man is super polite (especially at the end of a day), and yes, sometimes misdiagnoses happen, so I don't think Mckinnon is terrible (it's got lots of good reviews as well). But all together, this was a less than satisfactory experience.

Addendum: I had not reached out to Mckinnon before the review (I was not seeking a refund) but the owner did contact me after this review, and offered an apology and simply refunded the full amount - No strings.

If my experience was less than ideal, it is clear that if you have a problem, the owner is highly responsive.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Tom for your review. We are sorry that you did not have a positive experience with our company and our service technician. We will take this opportunity to review things with our staff to improve the customer experience. Please note that we have credited the full amount of the service call to the payment method provided to us.

Willyhop  in Toronto
Willyhop in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Furnace

We have been dealing with McKinnon for over 23 years. Both our furnace and air conditioner were bought from them and serviced throughout the years by McKinnon’s great team of service techs. Thanks Michael for your personal assistance in helping us choose our new furnace. We would highly recommend McKinnon to anyone looking for quality service from a reputable company who respects and understands your heating and cooling needs.
Larry and Carol

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You for your review. We are grateful to have many thousands of clients like you who are loyal and appreciate our honesty and integrity. Thank you for the past 23 years and we look forward to serving you for many more.

Barb in East York
Barb in East York
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Furnace problem during coldest days of the year

Today we had Michael and Rayan come to service our furnace which was switching on and off. They were polite and efficient and found the problem out right away and took a couple of extra steps to make the job even better. They gave advice as I asked quite a few questions.
Also, the response time to our call was great. Both the late night switchboard person and the call from the woman in the morning was also very efficient and pleasant. Great teamwork. I felt very confident about their level of expertise.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You Barb for your kind review. We apprecIate your business and have shared this review with those you interacted with in our office and in your home.

Rick in Toronto
Rick in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Furnace Went Out On Coldest Night of Year

My furnace blew on the coldest night of the year Called McKinnon and four other companies for estimates. All the companies were similar in price, but the interaction with the company owner (Michael) at McKinnon was excellent, so I went with them. The job was done next morning and done well. Michael explained all my furnace options in a thorough way. When there was a small problem with the install (broken part on the furnace itself), a follow up tech was there within hours. Very good service and Michael and the installers and technicians seemed very trustworthy and reliable. My only complaint came in dealing with the dispatcher at the main phone number . This person gave me wrong information and wasn't very friendly. Michael worked past these problems and was very apologetic. My point is, don't let a first less than perfect interaction over the phone put you off this great company. I will recommend them to others and use them again myself.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Rick, thank you for review and your feedback. We will take your comments to heart and make a concerted effort to improve the way we communicate with our clients.

Cindy Weeks from Toronto
Cindy Weeks from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
9/10

Removal of flash heater and instal in water heater

I had a terrible flash water system that was old. We decided to go back to the regular hot water tanks. Micheals journey man and apprentice were excellent. They did what they said they would and put extra pieces in to ensure the best job.
I would recommend them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You Cindy for your review. We hope your water heater provides many years of problem free operation.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Markham, ON
3/10

heating and cooling purchase

got the money before finishing the job could not install the humidifier took two visits then damaged water valve, still not fixed. all my phone calls and messages go ananswered by the person who sold me the equipment. Big mistake Go with a reliable company even if you pay a little more. i cannot even imagine what would happen if something went wrong in the future,

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review Dr. Savvidou. We acknowledged that the humidfier we installed with your new furnace and air conditioner was not working properly at the time of installation and we regret this incovemience. At times, we install equipment that have issues and endeavour to replace the parts as soon as we are able. In your situation, we replaced a part and yet another part was required.

We will be replacing this part when we return to work on January 2 and apologize for the inconvenience.

FairHonest in North York
FairHonest in North York
2 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Terrible Customer Service

“The fish rots from the head down” and Mckinnon’s hugely disappointing approach to customers and customer service starts and ends with its president. In our case, he behaved in an extremely rude, abrupt, almost vindictive manner and with no explanation, refused service to us in a time of need. Thirty-one days after an extended visit by Mckinnon to service our tankless water heater we were once again without hot water. A very thoughtful technician came out and assessed the situation and told us more work and parts were needed. He himself suggested the owner speak to us about the charge for the visit given the proximity to our previous visit and the upcoming work required. The owner called days later taking a very aggressive, rude, condescending tone. When asked he refused to explain. Just dropped us cold - as in with cold water. He said he wanted nothing to do with us. No reason offered. Terrible experience.
PLEASE NOTE: I offered to pay the technician on the call. The charge was approximately $200 but he recommended I speak to the owner first given more work was coming and they had just been there a few weeks earlier. The price noted above was for the previous visit.

****REPLY TO REPLY****: The owner's note is misleading at best, outright fabrication at its worst.
(a) I offered to pay. The technician recommended given the circumstances that the owner call me as you'll see in his note attached. My conversation with the tech was extremely pleasant. I offered him my credit card number and he instead wrote the attached work order note. (b) When owner Michael learned who built our home (new house 2 years old) Michael said some very nasty things about his work (he's wrong about that too). This was unprofessional and unpleasant.
(c) What is not perplexing at all is I am (was) a customer in need let down by a service provider and I am only taking the time to write this review because I felt it was important for readers to know that my experience of Michael's approach to customer service was extremely negative and worse than that as evidenced by his note, Michael doesn't care. He would rather get back at me and try to prove himself right than try to correct the situation. Again, blatantly unprofessional.
In future, please consider being fair and a little less condescending with clients and you won't need to worry about your reputation.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You Sheldon for your review. Sadly, Sheldon's story is a very typical one whereby contractors install equipment and choose not to service the client post-installation. We, on the other hand, try our very best to provide warranty service for equipment installed by others and often, with no appreciation. In this instance, the client contacted us to repair a Navien combination boiler/water heater that was installed by a contractor who was not interested in servicing the client (probably for a very good reason). Nevertheless, we replaced a part under warranty in August and recommended that the equipment be flushed/maintained. The client chose not to take our advice and low and behold, one month later, there were issues once again. This time on a Saturday, we attended and the client chose to not pay us for the service call. Despite this, we ordered the required parts, under warranty, delivered them to the client's home, advising that it would be best to find another contractor.

It is perplexing to me that homeowners can take advantage of contractors who do their best to take care of them and when not paid, use this forum to attempt to damage their reputation.

Alison C.
Alison C.
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Tankless water heater

We own a townhouse condo in Toronto and were renting a combination boiler/water heater from Enercare when it broke and we decided to purchase our own tankless water heater, rather than continue renting. Michael at Mckinnon Heating Cooling was recommended to us by a neighbour. We sourced a couple of quotes from different companies and not only was Michael's by far the most competitive, he was also the most familiar with our type of condo units, which were built in the 90s and have a bit of an odd layout. We were very impressed by how quickly Michael came by to give us a quote. He was friendly, professional and answered all of our questions - we are first time home buyers so we had a lot of questions! Rogelio Santana and his colleague who came by to do the actual installation were also incredibly hard working, friendly and really went above an beyond for us. All in all, we are very happy with our experience and would recommend Mckinnon Heating Cooling to anyone else in our situation.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You Alison for your review. We appreciate your complimentary words.

Eric in Toronto
Eric in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Install central A/C in townhouse complex

I found out my A/C wouldn't cool during the first heat wave of the year. Called two highly-rated Homestar companies; one wasn't answering their phone, the other was too busy to consider servicing outside their usual area. A third company down the road didn't even bother to follow up with a quote after asking me to send photos. I eventually found my way to Mckinnon through a neighbour's referral. Michael, the owner of Mckinnon, provided a quote within hours and I had an appointment soon after. It took three guys seven hours to complete the somewhat unusual work -- we're in a townhouse with the unit suspended eight feet on a bracket in the parking garage. I didn't interact much with the crew but they seemed professional and considerate (e.g. removing their shoes and not leaving any mess). Very pleased with my interactions and outcome.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You Eric for the review. You were very understanding that we needed to reschedule the original installation date and we appreciated your cooperation and flexibility. We hope you enjoy your new air conditioning system and thank you very much for your business.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Mckinnon Heating Cooling

Since 1934, Mckinnon Heating Cooling has been servicing the home comfort needs of the Greater Toronto Area. Mckinnon services and installs furnaces, boilers, tank and tankless water heaters, indoor air quality accessories (humidifiers, air cleaners, UV lights, Heat Recovery ventilators). Mckinnon also provides annual maintenance agreements.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Heating & Air Conditioning pros in Downsview?