“The fish rots from the head down” and Mckinnon’s hugely disappointing approach to customers and customer service starts and ends with its president. In our case, he behaved in an extremely rude, abrupt, almost vindictive manner and with no explanation, refused service to us in a time of need. Thirty-one days after an extended visit by Mckinnon to service our tankless water heater we were once again without hot water. A very thoughtful technician came out and assessed the situation and told us more work and parts were needed. He himself suggested the owner speak to us about the charge for the visit given the proximity to our previous visit and the upcoming work required. The owner called days later taking a very aggressive, rude, condescending tone. When asked he refused to explain. Just dropped us cold - as in with cold water. He said he wanted nothing to do with us. No reason offered. Terrible experience.
PLEASE NOTE: I offered to pay the technician on the call. The charge was approximately $200 but he recommended I speak to the owner first given more work was coming and they had just been there a few weeks earlier. The price noted above was for the previous visit.
****REPLY TO REPLY****: The owner's note is misleading at best, outright fabrication at its worst.
(a) I offered to pay. The technician recommended given the circumstances that the owner call me as you'll see in his note attached. My conversation with the tech was extremely pleasant. I offered him my credit card number and he instead wrote the attached work order note. (b) When owner Michael learned who built our home (new house 2 years old) Michael said some very nasty things about his work (he's wrong about that too). This was unprofessional and unpleasant.
(c) What is not perplexing at all is I am (was) a customer in need let down by a service provider and I am only taking the time to write this review because I felt it was important for readers to know that my experience of Michael's approach to customer service was extremely negative and worse than that as evidenced by his note, Michael doesn't care. He would rather get back at me and try to prove himself right than try to correct the situation. Again, blatantly unprofessional.
In future, please consider being fair and a little less condescending with clients and you won't need to worry about your reputation.
- Company Response
Thank You Sheldon for your review. Sadly, Sheldon's story is a very typical one whereby contractors install equipment and choose not to service the client post-installation. We, on the other hand, try our very best to provide warranty service for equipment installed by others and often, with no appreciation. In this instance, the client contacted us to repair a Navien combination boiler/water heater that was installed by a contractor who was not interested in servicing the client (probably for a very good reason). Nevertheless, we replaced a part under warranty in August and recommended that the equipment be flushed/maintained. The client chose not to take our advice and low and behold, one month later, there were issues once again. This time on a Saturday, we attended and the client chose to not pay us for the service call. Despite this, we ordered the required parts, under warranty, delivered them to the client's home, advising that it would be best to find another contractor.
It is perplexing to me that homeowners can take advantage of contractors who do their best to take care of them and when not paid, use this forum to attempt to damage their reputation.