DGH Doors

Garage Doors & Hardware
PO Box 74070 Georgetown ON L2G 5L1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

67%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for DGH Doors

Average customer rating:
8 10 (24 reviews)

Sort by

9/10

Garage Door Replacement

After receiving 3 quotes (two much higher for bogus requirements) I hired David (DGH Doors) to remove existing and to install a new garage door (1.5 car wide). David kept to his price and timelines and we are very happy with our new door. And he didn't try to sell me a unique system due to an awkward bulkhead in our garage. David also replaced my dad's garage door in Peel Village 13 years ago and to this day, my dad has had no issues.

Nicole

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for the kind review Nicole, It was a pleasure dealing with you and I am vary happy that you and your husband are pleased with our work, Merry Christmas to you and your family

Michael Ho Hing in Brampton
Michael Ho Hing in Brampton
13 reviews BRAMPTON, ON
7/10

Fixed Main Spring

The main spring on our garage door was broken. They came on time and replaced with a new spring. I have not had any problems since. The price was a little high, but I am still a satisfied customer.

Was this review helpful?
Aldas in Mississauga
Aldas in Mississauga
3 reviews Mississauga, ON
4/10

Garaga Door Installation

We have hired DGH Doors to install new garage doors couple of years ago.
The experience we had I would say was really mixed.
Dave himself was a pleasant guy, he recommended that we go with "top" quality Garaga doors (would not recommend to anybody).
We agreed on the price and waited for installers to show up.
It took this company three attempts to install our garage doors. At first they ordered the wrong door panels, ( the crew that works for Dave is the worst, unprofessional and doesn't have the skills for the job), then they installed our door with huge gaps and no proper alignment, the rubber part of the door had to be replaced because it got damaged from too much tearing. After all those attempts to correct the mistakes it seemed we where done with it. But sorry to say it's been couple of years now and my husband has constantly to repair the door himself, because the screws in the door just keep on falling out and who knows for how long this door will last.
Over all I am dissatisfied with the product and and the service. There are much cheaper installers with more expertise in what they do.
Sorry, but I would not recommend this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Very sorry to hear your feelings after all this time. We at DGH Doors are very curious as to why it has taken 2 years to write a review and if there was a problem especially to the extent of what you have said, How come we have never heard from you either by telephone or email concerning WARRENTY issues.
We do offer full warrenty of 1 year parts and labor + manufacturers warrenty.
Thanks

Gino  in Georgetown
Gino in Georgetown
1 review Georgetown, ON
2/10

1 Double Garage

I wish I would have read the below reviews prior to having this outfit that calls themselves a garage door installer come to my house. Honestly - I believe that the below positive reviews are by Dave / Owner himself. Clearly business has taken a nose dive or a proper crew would have shown up as implied when I booked the call. I would recommend that if you book with DGH that you request another installer other then Dave. My garage was not correctly leveled and is off by 1/2 inch to the right - Dave was adomate that this is not a door problem but a garage problem - how can this be if the previous door was level. Its to easy for these guys to run around and taking advantage of the commen person.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Shawn of Bolton or Mike from Georgetown for the kind words of advice or should I say Gino, another person whom I or my company have never had the pleasure of meeting or doing any sort of work for. I am beginning to think that I must have dealt with a very unstable individual who might have a borderline multiple personality disorder and is indeed in need of professional care. Business must be great for DGH Doors to be able to install 9 garage doors in 9 actual business days in this economy.
Thanks
Dave

Mike in Georgetown
Mike in Georgetown
1 review Niagara Falls, ON
0/10

3 8 x 7 Garage Doors

I don't usually write reviews, however in this case I feel I had to.
This was by far the worst experience I have had having something done to my house.
I found Dave very dismissive of my concerns and rude. I ended up having to pay another installer to finish the job properly and that is after paying Dave almost $3500.00.
I am very surprised at the other good reviews, Dave's quality has gone down hill.

Mike

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am curious as to why we are getting a review from a person that I or my company has not had the pleasure of doing any work for or even no. It is obvious to me that this person has nothing better to do with there time then to try and ruin a companies reputation in this business. This just goes to show you, Anybody can write a review on any company on the internet weather it be true or false.

Thank you
Dave

Paul Simpson in Georgetown
Paul Simpson in Georgetown
1 review Georgetown, ON
10/10

3 New garage doors

I hired Dave from DGH doors, He did a great job for my wife and I. I would hire Dave again in an instance. He installed 3 garage doors for us and 3 garage door openers, He went above and beyond what I figured a contractor would do and we are very happy with the service he provided us. I will gladly recommend DGH Doors to anyone who wants to deal with a company that believes in customer service.

Paul Simpson

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much. It was a great pleasure doing business with you and your wife and we appriciate the kind words.
If you ever need our assistance in the future, feel free to give us a call.
Thanks again.
Dave

Shawn in Bolton
Shawn in Bolton
1 review Bolton, ON
1/10

2 8 X 7 Garaga Garage Doors

I just had 2 Garaga garage doors installed and was very disappionted with Dave's work.

Dave informed me that he recently "fired" the rest of his crew, and is back doing jobs himself, perhaps he should have kept his old crew as based on the other reviews they did a good job.

After Dave taking over 3 days and spending $4300 on 2 new doors I had to spend my time adjusting them level and ensure that there was not a 2" gap between the door and the frame.

When I expressed how upset I was to Dave he said "I don't care, what's 1 pissed of customer out of 100".

I also mentioned that unfortunently I could not give him a good review on HomeStars (which is where I found DGH Doors) he said "I don't get any customers from that site, so write what you want".

Again, I was disappionted on how things turned out. I feel that I paid good money (and DGH was not the cheapest) and yet Dave was not willing to stand by his work.

Shawn

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are very sorry that Shawn feels the way he does.
I can write back and defend every word that has been said, But why! That would accomplish nothing.
I had in fact scheduled this particular installation for 2 full days and yes it did take 3 days due to us arriving late on the very 1st day, but thankfully we could do that because Shawn and his wife did trust us enough to grant us access to there garage at anytime and access to there house fasilities well they both were at work.
Shawn took it upon himself to adjust 1 of his doors to his liking. We can not help that a building shifts over years so that the opening my not be square, We make sure the door and tracks are perfectly level on any installation. On Shawn's particular door there was a 1/2" difference from the right side frame to the left side frame, I explained and showed this to Shawn, The only way to fix this is to make the door and tracks off level, He was in agreement and we were told to leave it.
I do not appriciate as a person and the business owner that words have been put into my mouth as to "as he said". Words can be misconstrued and some people only hear what they want to hear.
As for DGH Doors standing by our work, We are commetted to customer satisfaction, We stand by our own customer guarantee and manufacturers warranties. If we didn't, Why did we return for a 4th time at Shawn's request.

Thanks
Dave

Larry in Innisfil
Larry in Innisfil
1 review INNISFIL, ON
10/10

Installed 2 8x7 garage doors

This is my second time using DGH Doors. The first time was in Mississauga where Dave and his crew put in two 8x7 steel sectional garage doors. I was so happy with the first purchase that when I moved to Innisfil and wanted to upgrade I called him again. He came up here from Georgetown!! This time his lead hand (Stew) was as professional as you can get. He removed the old doors and replaced them with Steel Sectional insulated ones. (both 8x7)He didn't rush the job but didn't take forever either. It was also very cold outside. I would reccommend DGH Doors to anybody anywhere. Thanks Dave!

Was this review helpful?
Justine in Toronto
Justine in Toronto
1 review ,
10/10

New Garage Door

After reading the lousy review from Allan of North York, I was a bit skeptical about calling DGH... but soon discovered that this guy (Allan) had absolutely no idea what customer service is about or anything about the installation or professionalism required from a reputable company!! DGH not only responded to my urgent need for a door replacement in a timely and professional manner, but put my mind at ease with Dave's patient and timely explanation of not only what caused the problem in the first place but what I could do to avoid the same thing from happenning again. I call this ABOVE AND BEYOND normal service......and I find it extremely hard to believe that anyone could think differently. Sounds like this "ONE OFF" reviewer was trying to get a FREEBEE.....and not interested in doing business with someone who not only knows the business but how to deal with people with the respect they deserve. Without hesitation I'd recommend Dave and DGH..... why bother with the frustration of calling anyone else??

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Allan in North york
Allan in North york
3 reviews North York, ON
1/10

Garage door

Contrary to most opinions expressed here I have to give this company a low rating.

DGH installed my Amarr double garage door 3 years ago and it has worked well until my son, a new driver, parked our Honda CRV too far out. The spare tire, which is mounted on the tailgate, was sticking out. Consequently when the door was powered down it slammed onto the spare tire. The safety mechanism in the opener reversed the door, but not before all four panels of the garage door crumbled and buckled. The most severe damage was to the top section, close to the attachment of the opener. The entire garage door was a write off.

I was puzzled by the extent of the damage. In my previous experiences with garage doors hitting obstructions, the doors generally survive with little or no damage. I took a closer look at the damaged door and realized it was incorrectly installed. The manufacturer’s instructions clearly state that if an electric opener was to be used, a reinforcing strut must be installed along the top section, close to where the opener is attached. This point was mentioned more than once, including in bold on the cover of the instructions, underlying its importance. This would make sense, as that is the point of greatest stress. If you are not sure what I am talking about, you can go to Amarr’s website and download the installation instructions and you will see what I mean. In fact, I also went to Clopay’s website and their instructions specify the same. In my case, DGH installed the strut across the bottom panel where it is least needed. In addition, stile stiffeners that came with the door that were supposed to be installed on the top panel for further strengthening were completely left out. I believe these two omissions contributed to the extensive damage to the garage door when it hit the obstruction. Much of the force of that impact went to the un-reinforced top edge of the top section, instead of to the strut.

When I spoke to Dave at DGH he was dismissive and condescending. He kept asking me what I do for a living which I feel is completely irrelevant. He also maintained that it is correct to install the strut across the bottom panel, despite what the manufacturer’s instructions state.

Because of the above I highly discourage anyone from using DGH Doors. Even if you do not have the misfortune of closing your door onto an obstruction, the way DGH installs their doors, without any reinforcement to where the opener attaches, will lead to premature mechanical failure.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about DGH Doors

DGH Dors has ben serving the area since 197 specializing in sales, service, repairs and instalation of residential, industrial and comercial garage dors and operators. We use only the highest quality products designed for al budgets in mind, and our service technicians are factory trained to handle al of your ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.