Harder Contracting

Fences & Gates
Sherwood Park AB T8A 5P4
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Fences & Gates
Harder Contracting
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

73%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Harder Contracting

Average customer rating:
7.4 10 (14 reviews)

Sort by

Hayley in Edmonton
Hayley in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

New Fence

I contacted about nine different companies to rebuild a decrepit 40+ year old fence, and couldn’t have been happier with the choice to use Harder Contracting. Right from the very start their communication was superb, and they went out of their way to accommodate my work schedule in order to arrange a time to meet for the estimate. They were extremely fair with their pricing, and the craftsmanship was excellent. The owner, Stephan, even contacted me after the job was done to ensure that his crew did a sufficient clean up. All in all, I was extremely impressed with the company and their work overall.

Was this review helpful?
Marco in Edmonton
Marco in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Major home renovations

I used Harder Contracting for a major home exterior renovation this past summer. Because I didn’t want to hire 4 different companies for 4 different projects (siding, deck, fence and roofing), I hired them to coordinate all 4 projects. I was quoted $41050.00 + GST for all of this work combined.

Included in this price were a 16x24 composite deck, 140 feet of wood fence, new siding on the front of my house as well as stone up the support pillars, and a new roof.

Stephan overlooked the entire project and his workers were top notch. I noticed that most companies out there hire younger kids who don’t seem to care about much more than getting their 8 hours in, however the guys on his crew are exceptional. Harder Contracting has really put together a great group of guys who seem to pay attention to EVERY detail. At one point while building the fence, the guys weren’t able to get a hole deep enough (rock about a foot down into the earth) and after watching them fight with it for about half an hour, I told the guys it was deep enough and that they could concrete it in where it was. Jim’s response to this was “no chance, know what I hate more than having to spend a couple hours on a post hole? Coming back in a year to fix the issues it’ll cause.” This really stood out to me.... these guys ACTUALLY care!

Anyways, I would obviously highly recommend them to anyone looking for any of these services. It really is nice to see a company that cares about it’s clients and has a high level of quality control.

Although I was quoted $41050.00, my final invoice was $38400 which was a nice little bonus!

Was this review helpful?
Daniel S in Sherwood Park
Daniel S in Sherwood Park
1 review Sherwood Park, AB
10/10

Fence and landscaping

We hired Harder Contracting to build our new fence at our home in Sherwood Park. We hired them because they are young, local guys and we like to support local. I’m here today writing a review (not something we usually do) because we were overwhelmed with their service and work ethic. Stephan and Dale were communicative, finished the job ahead of schedule and ended up installing an extra tree for us for free! I will attach pictures :) Seriously great guys. I seriously don’t understand how these guys have ever gotten a negative review.
We went with the maintenance free vinyl fencing and had them put in sod, river rock, some black mulch, a retaining wall and some aspen trees

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for your review Dan, it was a pleasure working with you!

Raymond in Leduc
Raymond in Leduc
0 reviews Leduc, AB
0/10

DO NOT HIRE

Fence was built with absolutely no attention too detail. 2 days post fence build one of the posts was leaning so the gate would no longer close. The contractor claimed I had a “5 year” warranty on the fence but it was a hassle to get him too come repair the fence 2 days later. I was happy too hear that he had finally “fixed” the fence weeks later. When I came home from work I went too take a look at the “fix” and realized he had put a large lag screw threw the post and into my neighbours garage(Through the siding and poking through the interior drywall). When contacted he said that my neighbour probably wouldn’t notice and if he did, probably wouldn’t care. Also should note that he cut into my downspout when cutting the fence post tops.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Fort Saskatchewan, AB
10/10

Fencing and landscaping.

After a recent move to Fort Saskatchewan from Calgary we hired Harder to undertake a fence replacement and re-landscaping our new back yard. Not a big job so we were pleasantly surprised and pleased with the prompt attention we received and the quality of the work. Dale and his crew were pleasant and professional, and everyone worked efficiently to complete the work on budget and ahead of schedule. We are very pleased with the results and will certainly call On Dale for future projects.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for your review!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
3/10

Fence construction

Hired Stephan and his crew to install a fence around our yard last summer (2018). One of the reasons we hired him was his promise that if we ever had a problem with the fence he would come back and fix it. We have contacted Stephan multiple times to come and repair the fence gates as one does not open correctly and the other is crooked. The fence has had these issues since day one of completion. In addition part of the fence is missing screws. We have been trying to get these issues resolved since last September. We are either told next week or ignored. What
started as a positive project being done by a young and promising company is now a project that has left us with frustration and disappointment as well as kids that can't open the backyard gate to their yard, never mind take out the garbage! Stephan if you are reading this please contact us to set up a time for to fix the gates and fence.

Was this review helpful?
Caylin in Sherwood Park
Caylin in Sherwood Park
1 review Sherwood Park, AB
0/10

Chain link fence and 2 gates

We got new chain link fence and two gates put up beside our house. The fence and gates look great, really well done. Our problems came with the lack of cleanup and care for our home. The put the extra dirt in our back yard (didn’t ask where they could put it), wrecked our rain barrel and didn’t tell us, wrecked our down spout and just left it, and punctured a hole in our siding. We have tried contacting them multiple time and it seems to have fallen on deaf ears. I have 3 children and home and don’t have time to clean up after professionals whom I am paying for a service. I am extremely disappointed in the lack of communication or care of my concerns. I am hoping maybe this review will light a fire under them. Time will tell.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for your review Caylin; we appreciate any review, good or bad as it helps us with our quality control, etc. I'm sorry you were unhappy with the cleanliness of the project, however in our contract it is stated that dirt tailings from post hole augering will not be removed from site, and that the fence line must be completely clear of any obstructions. Your downspout was carefully removed free of charge however we were unable to re-attach it to your new fence.

James in Toronto
James in Toronto
1 review Sherwood Park, AB
10/10

Fence and deck package

My wife and I live in Calgary, Alberta but have a rental property in Edmonton as our business operates there as well. We were referred to Harder Contracting by the people at the pro-desk at Home Depot.
Stephan was our estimator and kept in touch with us daily throughout the project. Our job was slightly delayed due to a couple days of rain but we were kept updated with pictures of the work texted to us daily. Both the fence and deck turned out great... flawless work.
Needless to say, our deck passed the City of Edmonton inspection about a week later. We have recommended Harder Contracting to my brother-in-law as well and he seemed to be pretty impressed with their work as well.

10/10 company, great communication and workmanship. Will post photos once the snow is gone :)

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks James, glad we were able to get this all done remotely!

Mary in Sherwood Park
Mary in Sherwood Park
1 review Sherwood Park, AB
10/10

Amazing Fence Contractor!!

I am so impressed with this company. Stephan was amazing to work with, the whole crew was friendly and our fence looks unbelievable! My husband and I have worked with many companies in the past but none have compared to Harder Contracting when it comes to
A) communication - we were given daily updates as we left town on the second day of the project.
B) Work quality - We came home to workmanship that was above our expectations.
C) Cleanup - When they started putting the posts in we were worried that our yard would be a mess when we returned but they did a great job of cleaning up.
We highly recommend this company to anyone looking for a fence :)

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Mary!

Ellen in Sherwood Park
Ellen in Sherwood Park
1 review Sherwood Park, AB
10/10

Pressure treated fence/dog run

We hired Stephan and his crew in August of 2016 to build our fence. It turned out great; the fence is beautiful, they were communicative and always on time, his crew was friendly and respectful... couldn’t have asked for a better group of guys to build our fence. Last month (February 2018) my husband hit the fence with our tractor and damaged some of the panels. We called Stephan and he was there the following day for the repairs. Although the damages weren’t covered under warranty, he only charged us for the parts and not for the labour - a total of $75 to repair our fence which we felt was pretty generous on his part. We will continue to refer his business to anyone who needs this kind of work!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Ellen!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Harder Contracting

Harder Contracting is a small family business based in Sherwood Park, servicing the Edmonton area, They specialize in fences and decks and offer the following products: Fences - Wood, vinyl, chain link, wrought iron/ decorative, barbed wire Decks - Wood, composite, vinyl wraps.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Fences & Gates pros in Sherwood Park?