Project Hardwood Flooring

Floor Retailers
225 Industrial Parkway South Aurora ON L4G 3V5
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Floor Retailers in Aurora  >  Project Hardwood Flooring
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

85%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Project Hardwood Flooring

Average customer rating:
9 10 (9 reviews)

Sort by

Elisa in Aurora
Elisa in Aurora
1 review Vaughan, ON
10/10

Best service!

We recently purchased and had new flooring installed throughout our first floor. Justin answered all our questions regarding types of hardwood and recommended the best for our budget and needs. He let us take home multiple sample boards until we felt confident we had made best decision. We love that they carry Canadian made products and that it is a family run business. Installation was quick and professional and they take pride in their work. Highly recommended

Approximate cost of services:
$8.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Andrew in Aurora
Andrew in Aurora
2 reviews Aurora, ON
10/10

Livingroom carpet replaced with 3/4" Driftwood

The complete job from ordering our hardwood with Justin and scheduling our installation was handled professionally and quickly.
Our tile floors have 2" of concrete under them but Jack was able to build up the threshold so we have a beautiful gradual slope into the livingroom.
We could not of asked for a more knowledgeable installer and we will definitely be using Project Hardwood for all of our future flooring needs.
Thanks Andrew & Victoria Chalmers
Aurora Ontario

Approximate cost of services:
$1,500.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Private User
Private User
1 review Aurora, ON
1/10

Whole house renovation - hardwood floors

So in all fairness, my hardwood floors are gorgeous but that is the only positive thing I can say - and saying that, they sell Purparket and many other distributors in Ontario (despite the fact that Justin told me they were exclusive to them in Ontario) It was me constantly calling him to see if floors were in and always given a new date, when I would call on that day they were coming the next day (about 4 times) Then-crazy me- I assumed 2100 square feet of floor would be delivered to my home, but he assumed I'd be picking it up and didn't have delivery available. After ample communication, we arranged for delivery a few days later that he added would be over $250 - what a joke! A. That I would have to pay for delivery on a 17,000 order and B. That I could rent a truck for less than half - after arguing that Justin should've told me during communications that there was a charge I finally talked him into covering half which was still ridiculous! He also added floor cleaners to my bill without asking me coming in at over $200 and when I told him I never asked for these he took the charge off- finally, last week I went to return 2 unopened boxes of floor (which my invoice clearly says unopened boxes are returnable within 10 days of delivery at a 35% restocking fee) first his excuse was its not a stocked item - when I argued that this is not what was stated in our conversations during purchase, he then used the its past ten days excuse which was true because I had contractors installing and worked all on upper floor first and didn't get to main level until a couple weeks later. Also, if you do decide to work with Justin despite this review, be sure to be accountable and seek clarification for all aspects of the transaction (delivery, installation, dates, extra charges all one writing before you hand him money) print all invoices because he emails them and to open you are directed to a site - he has erased all previous ones of mine and I have access only to my most recent where all his mistakes have been corrected and the policy reads differently- I would avoid all together as all those brands can be found at other retailers that don't have unnecessary added charges and failure to communicate - I am in the process of renovating an entire house and no dealer miscommunicated as terribly as project hardwood - no dealer charged me for delivery, no dealer showed less interest in pleasing the customer (Justin was laughing at us when we stormed out livid that we couldn't return unopened boxes) and we spent more at project hardwood than anywhere else.

Approximate cost of services:
$17,000.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for your review, we are very happy you are enjoying your floors! However we would like to apologize for any miscommunication you may have experienced which we’d like to address.
Firstly, we are sorry you are not satisfied with our return policy. To be as transparent as possible, we always clearly state to our customers whether the product they are ordering is eligible for returns because we want our customers to be aware of this when ordering their quantity of product. During our initial communications via email, we asked you for your measurements for your home because stated that there are no returns on this particular product that you were ordering. We have our return policy written on our invoices as a friendly reminder. As for our return policy, we have a no return policy on products that we do not stock. There are two main reasons for this; firstly, some of our suppliers produce their products on a custom order basis, meaning that they themselves do not accept returned boxes from us, so we have nowhere to return them to and just do not have the storage capacity to hold extra product laying around. The second but also very important reason which we tried to explain, is that the suppliers that do offer returns, have a limited & strict deadline (typically 7-10 days after shipment) that products must be returned by, which in this case, over a month had gone by from time of delivery. Having said that, the suppliers which offer returns with a restocking fee, we have no problem giving back the appropriate refund for unopened boxes.
Unfortunately we do not have our own in-house delivery service but we've been working with the same delivery company for 4 years now to arrange deliveries to customers who are not able to pick up their orders themselves. When customers place an order, delivery of the product is always discussed and we make sure to communicate that; we can offer delivery but it is a third party and we can give you a quote for delivery. We’ve been told from many of our customers that the delivery fees quoted are competitive and fair. Secondly, we stored your product in our warehouse for you for over a month until you were ready for the installation. Lastly, when you were finally ready to take delivery, we arranged with the delivery company to make a special request just to squeeze you into their schedule because we wanted to make sure you received the floors asap as you demanded them the next day. We believe that the confusion may have been attributed to the fact that such a substantial amount of time elapsed between the time of ordering (Mid August) to when you were ready for delivery (Mid October), to help rectify the problem, it was our suggestion that we would like to cover half of the delivery fee for you to which your husband thanked us and said was fair and happy with.

Thank you again for your review, we’ve learned a lot through this and will try our best to avoid these issues in the future and we hope you enjoy your beautiful floors!

Anne Marie in Toronto
Anne Marie in Toronto
1 review Newmarket, ON
10/10

Hardwood installation

I had read the home star reviews and that is what sold me. Found them all to be true. Loved supporting a family business. Justin was always available to answer questions and work with our schedule. It is always a bit of a dance to coordinate Reno jobs so I appreciated the attention to time lines. The floors are lovely. Jack was efficient and there was attention given to detail. I appreciated that he even helped with prep of fireplace surround and hearth the next job tobe done. A great experience.

Approximate cost of services:
$6,500.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

It was an absolute pleasure working with you! We're very happy to have been able to make your renovations go smoothly and on time! Thanks again!

Nola Nikols from Aurora, Ontario
Nola Nikols from Aurora, Ontario
5 reviews Aurora, ON
10/10

New Hardwood Floor -Family Room and Kitchen Installation

As we recently renovated our Family Rm and Kitchen we were very pleased with the exceptional quality workmanship, service and professionalism of Project Hardwood located in Aurora, Ontario. Thank you to Jack and Justin for all your help in making the process effortless.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words Nola, it was an absolute pleasure working with you!!! We are very happy to help you're renovations come to fruition and on time!

Melissa in Aurora
Melissa in Aurora
1 review Simcoe County, ON
10/10

Gorgeous Floors, Superb Service

I highly recommend project hardwood!! Not only do our floors look absolutely amazing but everyone we dealt with from start to finish was fantastic. We dealt with Justin at the store and by email and he couldn't have been better. We came in several times before we were ready to purchase our flooring. Justin was knowledgeable, honest, patient and easy to deal with. He also arranged to have our floors installed exactly the day we needed them. The installers arrived on time, were polite, neat and worked throughout the day staying late until the job was done. Thank you Justin for a fabulous product and superb service.

Approximate cost of services:
$7,000.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

It was our pleasure working & helping you... Thank you for your trust & support!

Brad in Aurora
Brad in Aurora
1 review Vaughan, ON
10/10

Main floor renovation

We used Project Hardwood Flooring for our main floor renovation (including our kitchen). We were very happy with the service we received from everybody we dealt with. Justin was a pleasure to deal with on the planning/sales side, and Jack and Philip were terrific for the installation work. We really liked the fact that it was a family run business, and Jack takes pride in the quality of his work. Would highly recommend them to anybody, and would not hesitate if we need to install more wood floors to call them back!

Approximate cost of services:
$10,000.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Divya Roy from Aurora
Divya Roy from Aurora
1 review Aurora, ON
10/10

Hardwood Flooring Install

Justin was extremely helpful during the process and did a thorough job with the estimate, and let us know right away what our options were. There were initial date changes for when the work would begin, but Jack came in on a Saturday and started off right away. He even working during the snow storm, which showed a lot of dedication on their part to get the job done. Not only did they finish the entire upper level, they also finished our family room and 2 stair landings in 5 days. Overall the floors look wonderful and I would highly recommend Project Hardwood Flooring! They have a great selection of floors and frequent sales as well!

Approximate cost of services:
$8,000.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Mike Toneri from Georgina
Mike Toneri from Georgina
1 review Keswick, ON

First Review

10/10

floor renovation

If you want a great hardwood floor, this is the place. Jack, Phillip and Justin are experts and the finished job shows it. Our subfloor was a nightmare but Jack was able to overcome this and the floor is fantastic. Great job done on time.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much Mike for the kind words. It was an absolute pleasure working with you to make your flooring project come through! We appreciate your business and thank you!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.